Hi ML

: ) I was reading e pass threads u had 60 folicies. woah!! Were u in pain?? e last IVF cycle I had 7 dominant folicies and a few more around. That hurt my sides so much. They wanted coax that cycle for a few days to make sure my blood level or something in the blood went down. God knows la, I get so irratated when they I cant understand the terms they use. Feel like an idiot for asking so many questions. hehehe

So when is ur IVF cycle?? Will we be cycle buddies? hehehe : )

All the best to you. hope for good news to all!

nicole
was ok during the injection stage. but was painful after the ER. i am in the middle of my IVF cycle. so can still be cycle buddies. ha ha.. i think you will do your ET earlier than me. Got to rest my body for 2 mths due to the over stimulation of the ovaries (i.e 60 follicles). So will be doing FET in may or june.

All the best to you too.

Hi ML
Sorry I just re read my post, I meant my last PIO cycle. hehehe.. IVF in may would be my 1st time. Oks so ur how many did they retrieve and how many did u freeze.. Its so costly man. when I saw the breakdown on cost I almost died.
Im keen to do Accu but my HB is not. Does it really help? I know ppl all say its individual body. : )

nicole
oh... retrieve only 15. freeze abt 6. if you are keen to do acu, then go ahead loh.. read some articles that it helps. no harm trying right? must cover all bases. :p I already started my hubby on acu just in case we need to do another cycle of IVF. so no need to waste time to tiao mah...

ha ha.. the bills are still lying on my table. dunno dare to calculate. ha ha.. think i will be a richer person if no need to go for IVF.

Nicole
I have tried few sessions of IUI, failed. The chances are pretty low as they just injection to estimate ovulation and wash the sprem sample. It costs me abot $1k including all the lab prep and scans. Not worth trying i would say. The previous gynae did not even ask me to test my tubes first before IUI. After all the failed IUIs and a change of gynae, i did a HSG and realised a blobked tube. My chances of IUI was even LOWER!! need not even go thru IUI in the very first place, waste $ , effort and time. Worse was the disappointment. My advise is if u wish to try ==== check ur tubes first then consider

ML
ur hubby doing acu too?? is it dr zou ? she does for men too?

Nicole
we can we cycle buddy. me starting ivf in april/may. starting with pills for april first

nancy
wah! your previous gynae very irresponsible leh. Dr Cheng checked that i got no blocked tubes before letting me start on SO-IUI.

nicole
PIO same as SO-IUI? erm...i guess should just go for IVF lah. i did SO-IUI twice. First cycle failed. second cycle had to convert to IVF. so i guess no pt trying IUI lah. waste time and money. btw, what's the reason for doing IVF? if you don't mind me asking.

nancy
yap. dr zou also. ha ha.. i don't want to waste time lah just in case got to do IVF again. at least already tiao my DH body liaoz. weird leh. how come dr cheng started you on the long protocol? I didn't take pills before the IVF leh. he say no need. erm.. how come so different leh?

ML
thanks for the info. my hubby will not want to do acu i think. He is so afraid of needles. Maybe because of my age. He said to start pills first dun know why. I have yet to call for appt cause this month let dr zou "tiao " first. Ur hubby takes her medication too? maybe my hubby will consider taking sigh....u so lucky hubby so cooperative !!

nancy
yap, my hubby taking her medication. No choice lah. My hubby sperm not very good also. anyway, tell your hubby acu not painful lah... next time we go thru childbirth even worst. :p anyway, for hubby, the acu is once a week.

I'm new to this forum and hope to get more information before I proceed with the IVF in May. I had done the IUI twice but failed. I'm wondering if there is anything that I should eat or do to increase the success rate of IVF? Thks!

Anyone with KKIVF under FS loh, pls tell me more abt whole procedure.

Currently I've started injected Lucrin for abt 12 days and tomorrow i'm gg for the blood test and scanning, do anyone know why need to do the scanning and blood test?

normally need to inject lucrin for how long? and when can start puregon injection?

Hi ML & Nancy
Thanks for the info on IUI. PIO is something like SO-IUI, I took Menagon injections to help me foliciles grow and when they of nice size like 16 -18mm I think I was given HCG injection to release them. Than we tried on our own. But both time mayb timing or god knows what is wrong inside me body my menses came when I was suppose to do my preggy test. : ( There is PIO -IUI but I wanted to try on our own as my HB sperms are oks. The problem lies with me. I have very low hormones so do not menstruate regulary unless medicated. We spend about 1.5 - 2k per cycle so in total we have spent close to 3.5 -4k on PIO!
Its such a disappointment when thinks dont work out the way u want them too.
Thanks for your feedback on IUI. The gyny didnt say that IVF is our only hope but she said its such a waste on the eggs we get from the injections so its better to do IVF. The only think I feel about IVF is that I will know the quality of me eggs. Than if its bad I know that we just try for 2 tries and thats it. But with IUI u dont know n I read on the internet that there are ppl out there that do about 9 - 10 IUI than proceed with IVF. I dont want to waste time n emotional heartache I rather go to IVF straight.

So the injection bit of IVF is ok for me as I went thru 2 cycles of injections. I was told you Puregon is something like Menogon that I took. Its the emotional bit of IVF that scares me. Both my good friends are pregnant naturally and will be due in Sept & Oct. I was so happy for them when I found out but I became so depressed with the situation Im in. I think God blessed me with a wonderful HB which I take for granted most of the time. I just wish n pray to have a baby to complete my family so times u just ask its that to much to ask.
Sorry for such a lengthy post.
N Yes nancy we will be cycle buddies. I will start my injections sometime in may. apparently they donot need to induce my menses. Im still so blur n gave up calling the clinic as I feel so silly asking the same questions over n over again!

All the best to u both n all out there. Im glad I found this site. It helps.

I think Oink Oink must have mange to sleep for abit. Hope she did!

Hope I ans all the questions, if I didnt please ask again k, more than happy to ans.

I've done SO-IUI but failed. This my 1st time doing IVF, 'm quite worried cos thk doc requested to inject 600 units of puregon. Not sure whether my body can "ta han" cos heard frm previous gynae tat normally 600 units for woman arnd 40 yrs of age..

it's too much for my age... 'm mid 30...anyone also injecting 600units at my age?? Pls share with me your experience?

Hi Nancy
May I know where u went for ur IUIs and will you be going to KK for IVF? I will be doing mine with SGH Care. Wanted to check out KKIVF but the we have to start consultation all over again and some gynys want to try this n that 1stt than do IVF, I just dont want to waste anymore time so have to stick with SGH Care, I was hoping to find ppl who did with SGH Care and my gyny. only Oink Oink did @ SGH Care but not with my gyny.

Hi ML
There is no way my HB will go for Accu. hahaha. I too am so worried about the cost of IVF. I hate the idea of ball park figures. amm so worried cost saving have depletted with PIO cycles.
just keeping fingers cross that 6k from medisave n mayb max 2k in cash is enough.

Hi Nicole G
Just too bad I am allegy to milk will get rashes on the whole body for week.
Care-SGH,their procedure is much simple, starts with pills, follow by lucrin for 10days (I think)then continue with puregon, after ET will given some progestrone pills and insert progestrone vaginal gel at night till last blood test.
SGH they don't encourage you to take chinese herb and also will advise you to stop all your own vitamine.
I think diff Hospital/clinic got their own way to treat IVF but end result we want is to get pregnant ....

Hi Nicole G
My hubby also afraid of needle and refuse to go for Accu at 1st. but I reason out with him and advise him to try it out cos not only for IVF but also for his own health, tell him will help him to improve his sperms and help also in Sxx life and is for long term benefit him ma. think this will encourage him to try.
also also tell him if you can go through all the pain injecting just for baby seek why not help you to get it success in 1 try and also save cost.
some man just need to push...

oink oink, good morning hope u had some sleep!
No la my hubby wont. like I said he got himself all tested. all arrows point to me la, the problem one. Even the doc can say he shld donate, very good. I was so mad @ that moment that I said sorry if I sound SELFISH but he is not donating anything until I have me babies! hehehehe
so to me at the moment dont want to spend to much $$ la

Ohh oks. so I wont be on menogon. Yikes up the bum! I took the pills while waiting for the preggy test that too was 2 weeks. hehehe..
Silly menses came the day b4 on both cycles! so upsetting man.

How u feeling now? Less sleepy? try to sleep well tonite.

Cheekygal
My body responding very slowly from the gonal f jab..today already on day 7..had my scan today, my biggest one only 9.5mm…sigh…
will have to go back for scanning this sat n see how …

Oink oink
Why not u try on some relaxing music or spa music?? Whenever I got sleepless night, I like to listen to such music to relax my mind/body…Hope it’s work for u!

Zeena
We need to do scanning after injecting for 2 weeks, this baseline scan is to make sure that there are no cysts in the ovaries.

Nicole, Me doing with SGH/Care with Dr Yu... so far so good. Think we are around the same age too.

Cherish, there are aboutt 20 -30 follicles at the moment. I am below 30 but HB is closing 40.

Noi, me just like you.... @ 5 day only 5mm.... Need to go back to SGH this Thurs to scan again.

Who is Cycling now ... Hope i didnt miss out anyone...

How about Cherish ?

Myself .... @ Gonal F stage
Noi...@ Gonal F Stage
Oink Oink... 2WW
Cheekygal ... 2ww
Zeena .... @ Lucrin

Hi noi, do not worry, your follicle size should pick up by Sat. My follicles were not growing fast enough at D6 and my Dr increased my Puregon Dosage from 600iu to the maximum 700iu.

hi zeena, welcome aboard. Rest assured that you are not alone. I to was on 600iu Puregon initially, but as my Dr was not satisfied with the pace of my follicle growth, they decided to increase my dosage to the maximum 700iu. Then only did the follicles "wake up". I'm also in my mid 30s.

Would like to find out, which kind of jab is more painful? Lucrin or Puregon.

Today, day 6 of Lucrin Jab, feels like it's getting more painful each day

Hi Msfamily, thanks for putting together a list of who's cycling now. I am not really on the 2ww yet. Going for my ER on Thurs and ET probably on Sat.

All the best to your scanning this Thurs. Don't worry, your follicles size should be catching up

Msfamily - Wow! Plenty of follicles, should chant daily "grow follicles grow & produce plenty of good quality eggs"! Good to be young. I decided to cycle in Apr.

Noi - Chant together with Msfamily & grow your follicles.

All - Did anyone's body went into auto spasm/stretch every morning towards end of 2www? Can do stretching exercises throughout 2ww?

An update .... hope we can all move to Mother-To-Be thread together ..... Jia you....

Zeena ... @ Lucrin Stage
Budderball...@ Lucrin Stage
Myself...@ Gonal F
Noi...@ Gonal F
Oink Oink ...@ 2WW
Cheekygal... ET on 20/3
Cherishball...Going to cycle in Apr
ML - Going to cycle in May
Nancy - Going to cycle in Apr/May
Nicole - Going to cycle in May

I am planning to borrow lots of DVDs to tie me through the 2WW.... me quite a workerholic...

hi budderball,
do you jab yourself or go hosp?

I'll be doing my ivf next month if my FSH is below 12. sigh... it seems my chances are very slim coz my FSH is so high...

FSH ??? Why is it high ? Dun remember testing for this wor.... but they do so many test until i am also not sure what has not been done ...........

Do u think what we go through is worth it ??? I am trying not to think abt the whole procedures....just take it as it goes.

I am excited about the whole cycle yet dun dare to put in too much expectations. Not Certain if i can deal with the disappointment later.....What if i fail ... What can i do next ????

Throughout the last 1.5 - 2 yrs dealing with infertility... it has been really tough to deal with an "baby-related" news......

I am sure all of you can relate to my experience and my emotional turmoil....

hi jenn,

would like to share with you.
i had FSH level very high which was 23 before and i went for acupuncture , took EPO and wheatgrass, the following month test result was down to 13. And I insisted to go ahead with IVF.
Now currently I have 5 follicles with a good size each.
And my ER will be on Friday..
Do not worry too much, try to eat healthy foods, take supplements , and prepare your body for IVF..

All the best for all ladies here...

Msfamily
thanks for the list of who is doing what
Yes, i can understand how u are feeling. I have been trying for abt 4 years now. BBT, ovualaton kits, TCM, IUI , u name it i tried it. My last resort is IVF which is my first attempt in april/may.

Although i have yet to start, i am taking it a little as it goes. Making plans to cut down my job stress, going for acu twice weekly etc. We are all afraid of that final negative test at the end of 2ww. The lucky ones will get a postitve. I tell myself if i dun try CONFIRM NEGATIVE as zero chance to conceive naturally after all these while. If i tried and i failed at least i tried.

Yes.it's upset that we have to go thru IVF journey while some just simply get pregnant without even knowing what is ovulation and what does IVF stands for? Once i accepted my condition, i slowly began to accept it. after accepting it, i begin a journey that will countless numbers of trips to clinics, X numbers of injections, $XX amount spend, tears shed, fingers crossed, disappointment and much more. But the end result is to get try to conceive. After the good news of conceiving, we worry if the fetus will grow well and have a smooth 9 months ahead or worse a MC. After a smooth 9 months of worry, we worry if the labour is going to be okay or complications....the list goes on.

Life is like that. We are all in this situation that no one would want to be in but this will only make us stronger emotionally and look at life in a different perspective.
We all try , do our best to succeed. If we do succeed, it's worth it. If it fails, we try again. If it still fails the last attempt, we did our best and move on from there.

Oink Oink
Thanks for the tips. I will try to persuade my hubby to go for acu/ take the medication. sometimes wish he can be more supportive.sigh

Noi
Does ur hubby goes for acu or take medication from Dr ZOU?

Hi Jenn,

My hubby jabs for me at home. I have yet to get the FSH report, should be review on my next visit.

Did you asked your gyane what is the reason for having FSH? Have you started your Lucrin jab?

noi
don't worry. i had the same issue. the eggs only decided to "wake up" at the later stage of the jabs.

oink oink
hope you had a good night sleep!

MSFamily, Nicole,
totally understand how you all feel. it is mentally very straining to keep trying and trying and only have our hopes dashed. I have been trying for 3 years liao. it doesn't help when i have friends who told me that their kids were "accidents" and they have no bloody idea what is ovulation, IVF, bbt, etc etc..

nicole
what is the estimated cost for the IVF at SGH? I have already spent around $10k including the $6k from medisave. Very very siongz!!! Haven't include the cost of the ET yet and all the misc costs on TCM, etc.

I wish to go for acupuncture, any recommendation?
Is it painful? normally how many needles to poke per session? what is the cost per session/ package? is there a package/programme specially to prepare for IVF?

I will be starting my cycle early April. Don't know why, as the time draws nearer, I am starting to get more worried. Perhaps I am scare of failure again. My DH told me not to add unnecessary stress to myself, but I just can't help. I am not working, should be stress free. But sometimes, I just can't sleep properly. Keep thinking 'what if i fail again', 'if fail, how am i going to face it', 'if successful, what if i can't get a job again'....'what if...what if...' haiz

This is my third cycle with KKH. Managed to get a positive for the first cycle, but lose it at 8 weeks. For the second cycle, got my AF a day before blood test. Really don't know what will be the outcome of this coming cycle.

My family members are not aware of what I am going thru. I didn't tell my friends as well. Worst of all, my DH will be away this month end and I will be starting the cycle all by myself. Just felt so lonely.

Hi MsFamily
Im glad I found u. hehehe.. How come you on Gonal F. Did u take Menogon b4? Did u try out PIO or IUI or straight to IVF. I went thru 2 cycles of PIO with Dr Yu and she suggested IVF not to waste the no of follicie/eggs I have. Responded well to menogon. follicles grew but at the end of it it was still negative. Im will be doing IVF in may.
Please let me know how is everything from the start. All they told me its about the same thing as PIO, same injections and scanning and than the ER & ET and 2WW. I also have to take Growth Hormones with my injections for IVF to better the egg quality or something like that plus I lack of hormones too. Please share what is your at the moment. All the best to you.

Yes Ladies, sometimes we just question it this all worth it?? but if u dont try than how will you ever know rite? Life is just such, its just a pain to hear ppl concieve without knowing saying its a mistake n blaff blaff blaff.. when all of us here go thru the pain of injecting the waiting n the hoping, some get the positive and some get the negative at the end, the best thing is to
just hope n pray.

Hi Jan

Please try to remain positive. n dont worry the ladies her sure help keep you occupied with all the post so u wont feel lonely. : )All the best to you and try try to remain positive.
Same like you I have not told and will not tell my family or friends about me going thru IVF. so I understand what how u feel on that point, no one to talk to about this. That a great thing about this site. u are able to share ur feelings. Keep positive girl! : ) I will begin my IVF journey in May.

Hi ML
I have not started the IVF journey yet. begin in May. Was given all the estimated cost of 6k - 8k I think. Was told that 6k can use Mediscave the rest is cash la. There is so much cost so worried that there are hidden cost. Will find out from MSFamily what her total came up too since she is doing IVF @ Care SGH too. MSFamily share with us oks : )

nicole
wah.. a lot of diff leh. the estimate cost for mine was around 11-13k leh. wonder if it is the difference in the meds use. I was using GonalF.
oh ya! no point telling frens and family lah.. those who have not gone through it won't understand one. end up having to explain all the technical terms and details to them... faintz!

Jan
keep your spirits up!
we are always here to hear you yak!!

thank u, thank u! no matter how, i will try my best to go thru this cycle. i stop work to get my body 'tiao'. sacrifice so much time, effort and $$$. i won't give up like that. just that along the way, my mood swing beyong control...

i am doing acu with Dr Zou twice a week. somehow, i look forward to going to her. cos' i like talking to her and listening to her positive story, it gets me going.

realise that many sisters here are with her. her clinic could be our meeting place...heee. anyone see her this Thursday late afternoon???

jan
dun worry too much. u already did once and keep ur spirits high. We try our best and do whatever possible we could. Me also seeing dr zou for acu twice weekly. Have u been seeing her since u started ?

Money is also an issue for many of us but money can always be earned back right? but if we past the child bearing age, no matter how much money we have then, it's game over. so take it easy dun think too much. Think abt positive things like names for ur baby.

nicole
i'm doing it at TMC. aiyo.. don't worry lah.. your dr already tell you around 6-8k. maybe the pricing is different leh.

nicole
I was asked to prepare $10-15k for the ivf. does ur $6k already taken account the medisave part? Ask for a final estimate so u can prepare and not stress over $$$ issue.

Hi Ladies, (Noi, ML, Cheekygal, Nancy)
Thanks for the tips to help me get to sleep, I am a very light sleeper, can't sleep when there is noise, so every night got to cover my ear with pillow and closed all the windows but 1 thing i can't stop is my hubby snoring noise really irritating , at time I even thot of giving him a tight slap...sometime I would just move to the sofa and sleep...

Manage to get some sleep yesterday , think I am really too tired after many days of insonmia.
My girl got stomach flu and was on MC today and she requested me to put her on mask as I told her I can't affort to fall sick at this moment .. I am very touch by her move and understanding.

ML - Last round I spent almost near to $14K including 6K from medisave for IVF/ISIC at SGH in did very siong, think KKH still cheaper from what I know.

Cheekygal - All the best to your ET tom, hope you will have many good eggs too .. ) Jia you Jia you

jazz
We are seeing doc Zou in amk block 505 ave 5. We usually do acu twice weekly. Each session $25 for 40 mins. Medication abt $40 for 5 days period. acu not painful just some small currents going thru . Tel 6456 0833

Jazz
the clinic is closed every wed.

Oink Oink
Haha ...my hubby snores very loudly too. i have been using ear plugs after we got married. me a light sleeper too. Your girl is so sweet. I prefer girls . more to mum's heart hee.

oink oink
good to know that you had a good sleep. wah.. your gal very sweet leh. Anyway, that's a lot of money! thought SGH should be cheaper. I think mine should hit around 11-13k. I haven't calculate yet. :p