help! i'm on day 12 of lucrin n i can't sleep! i haven slept for 24hrs (i didn't sleep on sat night) n i can't sleep now! the thing is i don't feel tired! how? i wanna sleep but jus can't. shld i call the clinic?

stardiva,
Yah, u better call the clinic to check...could be a side-effect. See if they can advise u.

Nano,
I haven't gone to library to get the stuff yet...maybe today. I can't eat as much as before, but at least felt happy with the buffet variety, cos I'm getting a little sick of home-cooked meals.

ophelia,
Don't be scared to ask ur doc questions, no matter how silly, cos u r paying him a lot for his services. If he didn't mention anything specific to u, he prob means that generally a preg is not stable yet until it passes the 1st trimester. So if u can, stay here until u pass ur 1st trim, before deciding whether to fly back. Cos u've spent so much time and money on this precious baby, must try to listen to doc.

stardiva,
You better check with the clinic, as i thought lurcin is for controlling the hormone level. But there is something i notice ever since i started on the journey, i tend to wake up in the middle of the night, and will have problem going back to sleep again all the way till morning. This is something which doesnt happen to me in the past.

During lurcin stage, i did not feel much bloatness but can see my tummy getting bigger, might be sore from the jab.

Nano/petal,
What is it from the NLB that we can get? Freebies?

hi little twin,
i suggest at day time you dont stay at your bed room. may be watch tv go outside. take a 30 min walks. and only at night time during sleep you just go to bed.may be it will work.
i didnot have that much bloatedness but i feel so tierd. tomorrow i have a meeting with dr pc wong. tomorrow my 14 days of lucrin going to finish.

Ximi,
Nano said she got a free cd n baby journal from library. I called the library hotline n they said most branches will have, while stocks last. But for MTBs, must show ur ic n gynae appmt card.

Petals,

Wow that is nice. Hmm showing my gynae appt card at the counter? I have a IVF ID chopped at my appt card too.
dont know if the counter is okay with that or not.

Petals, Ximi,
No need gynae appt card leh..they only asked me to fill in a form which state yr EDD, personal particulars etc and will ask for yr ic to verify details.

Just got my blood test result today, it showed high risk of 1:75. Guess I have no choice but to go for the invasive method liao...wish me luck

Petals, Ximi,
No need gynae appt card leh..they only asked me to fill in a form which state yr EDD, personal particulars etc and will ask for yr ic to verify details.

LB,
Sorry to hear abt yr results. I guess that means you going to do the amniocentesis? After hearing yr results, it seems to me that even if the scan shows that everything is well, there is no guarantee tat the blood test will yield +ve results...now dunno whether mine will be ok. Do you have to confirm with Dr Loh again before proceeding for the invasive tests?

Nano,
My next appt with Dr Loh is 7th Nov (2 weeks away), donno if I will be too late for the amnio test...so I hv made an appt to see Dr kwek this wed to go thro the results but hv kept Dr Loh posted via email. Cause I need to decide if I want to do Amnio before wk 16

LB,
I think it's gd tat you've made an appt to see Dr Kwek tis Wed and at the same time see what Dr Loh will advise in his reply. Dun worry so much, though there is risk of doing tis test but i remember doc Loh told me before that the miscarriage risk of doing tis test in kkh is very low. Heard tat most high risk case will get normal results when they do amniocentesis.

Stardiva

I do feel bloated as well.. my tummy got bigger as well.. I'm on D25 of my lucrin jab and still going on... really long protocol..

Apart from the above, I guess the inital jab did kind of triggered my asthma.. I'm still having my cough..but I stopped the cough mixture already...read the leaflet that one of the side effect can be cough.. so the only remedy for me now is warm drinks..absolutely nothing cold.

Instead of not being able to sleep, like pupi, I'm alway tired.

LB,
Btw did they arrange for u to go for a screen scan at ADC ard 16 wks? They gave me an appt for the screen but i can't remember what is it for.

Petals

I remembered you gals mentioned about thalassemia test..

Given a choice would you do it before your ET or after you are confirmed pregnant? I just called to check with the nurses if it's to late to test now that I'm on lucrin.. Haha... her answer "no point doing it now, you dun want try for bb if test turned out bad?" Wait until you're pregnant den you'll test.." At that moment, yes! my answer is I rather not have bb if anyone of us is Thal major.. Why should I subject my offspring(s) to unneccessary risk and suffering? That will be very selfish of me to bring them into this world.

just went to see gynae this morning. not ready for ER yet. my follicles size are not very big...biggest is 17mm and smallest is 12mm and most are concentrated on my left with only one bigger one on my right.

what is a good size when harvesting the egg?

HI HELPMEE,
you have given stimulation for how many days? usually they will give you from 12-14 days. and i know that 18mm is the biggest

Tigg3r, pupi,ximi, petals,

i jus called the clinic. the nurse say it is one of the side effect. she also mentioned tt i could b stressed n not know it n told me to drink warm milk b4 sleeping...mmmmm i'm lactose intolerant so can't stomach too much milk. i tried milo last nt n somehow it worked....i finally slept at 3am

tigg3r, pupi,
i started feeling tired n could sleep well but it became insomia n i feel hot at night ....like menopause!

pupi,
my dr app n blood test is wed so we r 1 day apart
hope we get the green light to start puregon

tigg3r,

ya, yrs is a long protocol too. yr lucrin is a long one....hang in there. mine is the 5wks of contraceptives tt is crazy. now coming to end of lucrin. my mense is here, plus the jabs...mayb tt's y bloat even more. 4 yr cough, u can try warm "chuan pei pi pa gao"or woods peppermint...but better call n check with nurse if it ok to take it

Nano,
Yah, I just went to collect the free cd+journal. Also comes with a height wall chart. U're right...just fill in a form, no need gynae appmt card. I think ur Wk 16 appmt is the std Wk 16 detailed scan. I read from the mtb thread that there're detailed scans in wk 16 and wk 20.

LB,
Sorry to hear that. Good that u email Dr Loh to keep him posted. But see what Dr Kwek says abt ur results. Maybe it's not that bad. All the best!

Tigger,
Actually i'm quite blur abt it...I can't remember whether I've ever taken any thalassaemia test before. Anyway, now I'll just have to check with Dr Loh during my next appmt whether it's necessary now.

Went for my ET this morning. I was told that one of my embroyos didn't make it. So i'm left with 5. I was quite disappointed. TMC do a grading of 1 to 4 with 1 the best.Two embryos transferred today are graded 1 and 1-2. The rest are graded 1 and 2. That makes me feel alot better.

The nurse make me lie down for abt 5 to 10 mins, then i went to empty the bladder. I can't hold anymore, so i hope i didn't flush out the embryos.
Then she make me lie down for another 45 mins, and gave me pregnyl and proluton jabs. My god, it was painful. Now my butt still feel sore..

After ET, is it ok to walk abit. I get so paraniod that when i left the clinic, i walk really slow, and also when i board the bus, also super slow lor, one steps at a time. Once i reach home, i lie on the bed immediately. But everytime i tried to get up from the bed, i think to myself, oh shit, did i over-exert....even going to wee wee, i try to wee really slowly and gently.
Am i to the extreme?

Helpme

i am not working. During this 2ww. i will stay with my parents because my DH not in singapore.

Mum is worried so she wants me to move in with them. At least they can cook for me. If not, i have to do everything myself.

hey vivi,

wow u have very good quality embies. u can relax and rest yr mind. this 2 wks, make sure u don't carry heavy things of do any hsework. must really rest n watch tv ya.

looks like i need to bring towel to bite when it's my turn for jab

Stardiva

I'm so worried now. So cautious on my movement now, worried that any movement will affect the embies.

The pain is bearable la. Just that i didn't expect it to be that different from the Gonal-F jabs...
Jia You..

HI VIVI,
wish u good luck. did u tried accu? during this 2 week try to take more water, fruits, vegtables,brazil nuts.

mint

finally took the courage to went back for another blood test. My HCG dropped all the way as expected . The pregnancy has stopped.

chevall
so sorry for your result. but dont disappoint. try accu next time. give rest your body and mind.
surely u will success. at least u know u can become pregnant.

vivi,

don't be stressed. try to be happy n cheerful for yr embies sake ok...mayb try talking to them to hang in there? i will do tt in my 2ww
walk slowly...try not to take cab..the cab drivers here r very rough. jus rest, rest, rest at home. u've done yr best

chevall,
sorry to hear about it. ivf can b quite an emotional ride tt's y we stand by each other. rest well, go see tcm to eat meds to "bu" yr body cos it's important during this period so u can prepare for yr fet in mayb 2mths time? i also told my hubby, i'll give myself 3 tries then make plans.
don't give up, go for fet k

Vivi,
At least u have 5 of good grades. Don't worry about the embie that didn't make it, cos the lab will only choose the best ones for freezing and wouldn't keep any that has any indication of defect. I also pee-d immediately after my ET, couldn't tahan...and I still got a BFP. I read that when we r peeing, don't try to stop or control, else we may not empty bladder fully and may get infection. All the best for ur 2ww!

Nano,
The current issue of Mother & Baby is giving away 2 free baby bibs (out of 3 designs). I bought it today.

Chevall,
Sorry to hear that. Please don't give up, ok? Maybe go on a holiday with ur hubby to take a break from this. Take care.

chevall..

Sorry to hear that too... yes.. go for a well deserved break first and try again..

pls remember to drop in.. need any TCM tips..let us know..the sisters here will be most glad to help..

jia you!!

Question to ask. I have constipation problem. I felt the urge this morning, so i went to the loo. And i did abit of pushing as it was quite hard.(Sorry, abit gross) Would it affect my embies?
I tried to sit on the toilet and see if it would come out naturally but i was in there for abt 45mins and nothing happened.
Anyone having the same problems with me? I'm so worried now.

Nano
I have not been given wk 16 appt yet, probably will be given on my 7th appt w Dr Loh.

Petals,
Thank you, yes Dr Loh repied very fast, told me amnio is quite safe in KK and to look at the situation positively (1:75 means 74/75 babies will be ok). Quite reassuring.

Babywishing,
Not to worry, after my ET, I went toilet immediately. Saw on the web, our uterus is like 2 slices of bread with jam in between, so our embies wld not fall out so easily.

LB,
Hee hee...ur description of our uterus is quite funny. I'm having bread for breakfast now somemore.
Dr Loh so nice to reassure u...don't worry ok?

Vivi,
How about trying prune juice like what some of the other sisters did? Eat more fibre and fruits too. I think better don't sit there n force for an hour...just go when the urge strikes u.

Petals,
Ya it came wif a height chart. Oic..will be going for my screen scan end of Dec. My nx appt wif Dr Loh is 5wks away..seems quite long hor but at least tis wk can see the scan again when i go FTS. Ok thks, me will go chk out the mag when i go for lunch later.

LB,
Happy for u that Dr Loh sounds very assuring. Have u decided whether to proceed for the test?

Petals

Thanks.Already get my mum to buy for me. BEfore i start the IVF, i know constipation is gg to be a big problem for me. I've been having this problem since i was schooling. So i try to eat lots of fruits, prunes and yoghurt and also drink more water. But still, it never went away.

Just now i didn't push until "big sweat, small sweat" la. Just worried that any pushing affect the implantation.

DH always tell me to just sit there and wait till it comes out naturally but that is impossible. I still need to do abit of pushing.Somehow guys seldom get this problem. Hiaz..i'll try to take it ez...

Vivi

I do have constipation problem too... you got to get it out before the tip turns harder and it'll be more difficult for you to get it out. My last resort.."Fleet"

Have you tried fleet? or those from the chinese medical hall.. "huaqi" brand. Fleet is the bigger one time used bottle.. Those from medical hall not so big... Both serve the same purpose to lubricate and soften the tip. Making it smoother.. of cos it triggers the tummy ache kind of feeling. Hold the gel as long as you can before pushing.. no point inserting and immediate discarding (may not be soften enough) Before you use, try to figure out the diff muscles you use to push..

Call the nurse can check if you could use it if you are worried..

Mrs Teng

Thanks for the information. I have never tried "fleet" before. I'm seeing the nurse again this thurs (for jabs) so will ask her in detail.
As long as it helps, i don't mind trying.

I'm considering IVF, but wasn't too sure about how the whole process works. Would appreciate if someone can help to give me an idea of what kind of injections and test are involved for IVF.

Petals,
Are the bibs packed together wif the Mother and Baby mag?? I saw the Nov issue jus now but no bibs leh.

nano,
Yah, the mag is in a plastic bag with the 2 bibs behind. Oh, I just realised mine was the Oct issue! Huh, they still selling Oct issue now?! i got it from Cold Storage and was even choosing diff combi of bibs.

Hee, you also getting blur leow..must be the pregnancy hormones
Think the Nov jus came out today, no free gift. Will take a look at the oct issue if i pass by, thks.

Pupi,
Doing acu doesn't mean necessarily mean 100% succeed. On the other hand, this study u mentioned is only on 97 people and they only did a 25-min acu session b4 and after ET. I think that's not enough, compared to what Dr Zou does which is twice a week for at least a mth b4 ER. So it doesn't seem like a detailed enough study. Don't believe everything u read, just go with ur gut feeling and do what u think is right.