IVF-FET Support Group

Dear dodo

it's 3.30pm, 1 more hour to your FET and you should be at the hospital now. I'll be praying for you. You're right - since you're on GA, the procedure will be over before you know it. When I had my fibroid op 3 years ago and was given GA, I suffered aftereffects- vomitting and giddiness, couldn't function for 12 hours! But I must say FET will be more comfortable with GA - no need to bear the brunt of the cathether into the urinary tract and the instrument being inserted into our cervix. I really wish you success.

Yes, I had almost full bed rest for 3 days after ET - either lying on sofa watching TV or lying on bed reading magazines. On some days, I also surfed the internet. The objective is to remain as sedentary as possible. On weekends duing the 2WW, I went out for dinner and some window shopping with hubby. My gynae says no aerobics, cycling or strenuous exercise or lifting heavy objects, but normal walking should do. Hope you'll be home soon enjoying all these simple comforts away from work. Keep in touch!

hi ladies, i am new here. Have been trying for 3 yrs but with no result. Have seen Dr SF Loh in Feb07 and now considering IVF. Can someone advise what r e preparation tat i can do before IVF?

hi Winter..

I think the most important prep for IVF will be mental preparation.

I find that having an understanding boss is also very impt as there are many a times.. we need take time off the scanning , consultation, ER/ET and MCs etc..

I think physically... try to eat more nutritious food.. and you might wanna try some TCM or acupuncture prior to actual IVF procedure..?

hopes
thanks for your advise. Ya lor need to a lot of MC and leave. Is there any particular food that we should advoid? I am considering acupunture, is it the time for me to start now? Dr loh ask to try naturally, but i guess u know how i feel...sianz and time catching up...I love to drink coffee but difficult to stop leh (every morning sure one cup)...

hi winter..

I also not very sure whether there is any food that we should avoid or not.. hehe.. I'm quite a glutton.. so..it's like..i'll eat anything and everything leh.. perhaps the other sisters can advise?

Yup.. according to my Physician, best is to start abt 3 mths prior to actual IVF.. to condition the womb first..

If Dr Loh suggested that you try naturally, that means no huge problem with u and ur hubby's condition right..? Have you gone thru all the test to find out the root of the problem yet..?

I guess coffee and tea are not very good for ppl like us.. but ..i totally understand how u feel also.. I just can't give up my daily cup of coffee too! I used to smoke.... and I really thanked god I managed to quite just before my IVF. It was difficult.. but..I guess I have no choice. But as for coffee.. I'm still drinking..hehe..

hi angel,
thanks for your advice... ok, will heed your advice and take it easy these few days... haha... will try not to move too much. oh, and thanks for your prayers too! the FET went very smoothly and i had no side-effects from the GA! rested at the ward for 3 hrs after the proc, then went home.

this morning, i went to the nearby supermarket to buy some liver and pork meat to cook lunch for myself for the next few days... haha.. i did take care to walk slowly, haha.. felt quite weird to be walking s o s l o w l y. . . it also feels good to breath in some fresh air...

winter,
fyi, i also cannot kick out coffee... haha.. in fact, just had a cup cos was craving for it.. as for ivf preparation, i know that some of the sisters do acu and see chinese sinseh to prep their body. as for me, i was seeing a chinese doc before i tried my first ivf attempt on Oct 2007 last year. I thought then that I had a high chance of success but it failed. This round, I am doing FET cos I had remaining embies from the prev fresh cycle. This time, I decided to just go for the western approach with no chinese medicine intervention. It can be tiring going to so many docs and that add on to the stress level. well, this is really a personal choice, up to you.

another factor that is important is support from your colleagues and bosses. Do keep them informed so that work arrangements can be better managed and that would also reduce your stress level during the ivf period.

of course, support from your hubby is the most important! it will be good if you can let him know as much as possible what you need to go through... and involve him wherever possible. he would probably be the main pillar of support during this period, besides all the sisters here, of course!

hopes
So u love to eat huh...
Actually i have done a blood test on the 1st appt, need to check with him on next appt (i mean the result)...done u/s, Dr loh said ok..as for the SA oso will see him on next appt...
I ever went to a chinese physician, she said i got PCOS, cyst & adeno.. tat make me worry ...

I have check with Dr loh, and he said no cyst...very funny rite, my friends told me cyst will shrink ...

I think i should also go for acupunture and yoga now, hope that will help.
Read that the queue for IVF need to wait.

Hopes are you working presently?

hi dodo
Ya, i understand how you feel, sometimes its just luck. When is your FET starting? I wish Good Luck! Good Luck! Good Luck!

winter-vivi,

The chinese physician that said that to you must be Jurong East sinseh? cos she said that to almost all the women who went to her.

hi winter..

how come the physician can say u got cyst without doing scans or anything like that..? funny leh..

anyway, what dodo say is true also..dun try to do too many things at the same time.. maybe u can do acu and yoga first while waiting for ur IVF schedule.. once u start ur jabs.. can gradually do away with acu and yoga.. otherwise.. u'll tire urself out running here and there.. and I tell u..the Puregon jabs to "grow" the eggs are really very draining.. it just makes u feel depressed all the time.. (at least that's how i feel).

And yes.. KK IVF has a rather long queue.. if let's say u register now.. think gotta wait till at least June..?

Yes.. I'm working now.. but when I did my first IVF , I took like 2 wks leave..to rest.. unfortunately.. the embies still did not implant.. *sigh*

btw winter ..

here's an extract from our of the sisters with regards to the positive effects of Acupunture for your reference.

1) increase blood flow to the uterus, improving the chances of a fertilised egg implanting

2) increased endorphin production which in turn, has been shown to affect the release of GnRH involoved in regulating reproduction

3) lower stress hormones that interfere with ovulation

4) normalise fertility hormones that regulate ovulation

5) improved Ovulation cycles in women with PCOS

6) improved pregnancy rates in women undergoing IVF.

thanks all for your well wishes...

hopes,
ya.. i am taking the progesterone tablets as well as progynova (to thicken the lining of the womb). i am also using crinon, which is a progesterone vaginal gel. haha... go to my blog to see why i need to take so much medication! http://www.nafeeza.blogspot.com/

Hi Angel,

I made it! As BB had told me during my 2 weeks once tested +ve, must reported here to bring more lights and support to FET thread
This 2 weeks was really 'terrible' for me as I have been feeling very paranoid and stress thru out the process (tat is why i nvr post on line). I'm really grateful to happy, bb and few others friends for giving me mental support thru out tis period. Awy, I would like to share my 2ww 'experiences' with others here while the 'memory' is still fresh.

D1 (14th) - Bedrest for 10 mins after ET. After discharged, went for Bak Cho Mee b4 going home. Then idle at home for the rest of the day.

D2 (15th) - Went for 3 hrs window shopping

D3 (16th) - Back to work. (Stay in office whole day except lunch time.)

D4 (17th) - Stay at home whole day (except meals times)watching TV and surfing net.

D5 (18th) - Went upper pierre reservoir with nieces and nephews. (Alot of walking this day) In the later afternoon, went back to my mum place for manjong!

D6 (19th) to D17 (30th) - This period I did my usual activities like going to work and shopping etc.

In this 2ww, i dun experiences any symptons other than having light brown stains on Day 6 and D8. And on D15, experience traces of brownish stain also. Initially, i thought it was gone case even though a few sisters told me i may be having implantation stainings. So, pls do not be alarmed like me and worry for nothing should you really have stains like mine case.
Oh, i oso have cramps on/off.

Good luck to all who's is in or going to embark on the FET process. Hope to hear +ve news again in this thread soon.

baby dusts!
744389.gif

I had done IVF last yr at KKH and my bb son is now 7weeks
i have 4 embies left so will b gg for FET in Mar'08

Congrats to the ladies who had succeed via IVF/FET
Enjoy pregnancy & motherhood

Rae,
u goin back for FET? have KKH send you a letter and ask wheather you wan to keep on frozing your embries? if continue frozing it also pay thru medisave?

Rae,
how much u pay?
i thought faster use will be good coz the longer we froze then the chnace will be abit low? as they nd to thaw it rite?

hui,
i had checked the letter & will be paying $300.09... agreed with u, tt's y we decided to go for FET next Feb/Mar......

Hi witty

congrats on your good news...looks like the trip to Taiwan did you good! Am happy that the 3 of us who started this FET thread - BB, you and I are all +ve! this gives hope to all MTBs who are trying FETs. How are you feeling now? Any special medications or injections given? Do let us know and keep us updated.

BB and Dodo, how about both of you? Where have you gone?

Angel,

It is indeed a good news that all 3 of us succeed thru FET in just a short period of 3 mths. I am doing ok,what abt u? the last time you mentioned that 1 of the twin has slow fetal growth, hope he or she is catching up with the sibling now. Have u found out if they are prince or princess? I will be seeing the doc today, hope baby is coperative and i will know the gender.

hi witty,
congrats! really happy that there's another successful case!
747591.gif

angel,
i am still in the midst of my 2WW.... one more week to go! i had been having pretty heavy whitish discharge the past couple of days, is that normal? well, for this week, i am working from home, trying to limit to just 2 - 3 hours per day.. oso dun want to stress myself too much as still on hospitalisation leave.

hope your ms is getting better... jia you!!
747592.gif

Thank you for the wishes! Will keep u gals update after my scan two weeks later.

Angel,

I'm on dydrogesterone now.

dodo,

Keep cool. U'll be the next to report
747747.gif
news ya!

Hopes,

U'll be next after dodo! We will will add Petrol for u !!!
747748.gif

It's a brand-new week after the long Easter weekend. Care to share what's been keeping you busy and are you progressing?

For me, I had some dismaying fetal growth scan results on Thursday afternoon. My doc at KK found out that the bloodflow to both my umbilical cords are constricted and hence, my babies are much smaller than the standard range (maybe becos they are not receiving enough nutrients from the cords). Doc even told me a lady lost 1 of her triplets recently due to the same poor cord bloodflow problem. I went home and had a good cry. Will be going for another scan tomorrow at 17weeks. Ladies, please pray for me to hear better news this time round...

dodo,

Congrats, all the best for the next 9 mths, understand your feeling, me too now still abit in a daze as to not quite believe I am goin to be a mum, one gal told me that after the first scan to see the heart beat, our heart will be more or less more at ease and can really start to believe that maybe all these are finally coming true.

happy

I sms you 2 days ago but did not receive yr reply. How are you doing? Will call and chat with you one of these days.

Hi girls..

Could I know for FET... how many days did you all rested? anyone just rested for a day or 2 .. but yet still pregnant?

Dodo

Congrats!! seems like we are receiving lots of good news recently and i hope more to come.

Angel,

Hope yr scan went well today. Must stay positive!

dodo, atlas,

just went for scan last night, 2 heartbeats, glad that it wasn't triplets, was very worry about that. Me now 7 weeks, i take every step at a time now, now got heartbeat, next step is the 12 weeks scan, etc... hope can cross every step smoothly :) all the best to both of you.