IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Hi Lachiesis & DHM,
Thks for making me feel much better...at least, there are guys like u who agree with me and wont find me too petty for such a decision.. though i have told them i am going for the gathering, but depending on the results, i may just pull out at e last min and using work as an excuse..

DHM: not fast leh....1 week only....time passes too slow still..tomorrow is my anniversary...so taking half day leave...n maybe time will pass faster...hahahha

Lachiesis: welcome to 2WW...kekeke...take care ...& jia you!! will also take ur advice n avoid using HPT...

*Baby dust to everyone*!

Hello DHM!

Haha, I also have the same thought as you before. Have twins then can close shop! LOL. Also started trying last year in hopes of a dragon baby, but honestly now just wishing for a BFP...nevermind what zodiac!

Yup just waiting patiently for the scan, think happy thoughts.. it's in God's hands.

Er, the progesterone level monitoring seems to be SOP at KKIVF leh.. I haven't seen my gynae yet, only seeing her after the beta HCG test. The 7dpIUI progesterone test is not a standard thing??

Hi girls, can anyone recommend a good gynae who is willing to perform IUI under sedation? I have vaginismus and DH motility is not good either.
And the clock is ticking to get therapy or dilation exercise, etc etc....

Lachesis,
Think diff hospital, diffferent protocol...
Each has its own reason for doing such...

Dream,
Happy anniversary n enjoy tom!
Yes! time will pass faster when the 2WW doesn't come in mind, haha!!!

Coco,
Not sure which gynae perform IUI under GA, n pardon my 'sua-ku-ness', I din know IUI can be performed under GA too, if there is....
Hv u tried calling various fertility gynaes to check?

Lachesis, ha ha it was quite gross at first. after that i had to do it fast cos got to rush to work in the am. ha ha. i lie down on one side on the bed and bend my knees .you can really feel the tablet being push in :p

Dreams,
I also had this feeling of cramps and discomfort after my fews days after IUI. so dun worry, remain cheerful and positive ya!! just avoid any tedious exercises.

Morning, ladies..
This website seems to have become a routine place which i will log in a few times a day...

Dian Tang: Yah...it sort of disappears but now back again...discomfort at hte area above the belly button...i totally dun dare to do any exercises...mayb i can still continue with my swimming...

7 more days to go....start counting down!!

Hi everyone..

I hope all of you are having a nice day so far.

I was telling hubby.. nowadays weather super hot to the extent that I dun even feel like BD. The moment he hug me, I feel so hot that I pushed him away.

The sway thing is my air con broke down. Bought a new air con but still cannot confirm when can install. Bloody hell.

yah....absolutely agree, Ann... We usually dont switch on the air con...but in order to BD, air con must be on in advance...haha...
hope u at least hav a fan in ur room? If not, that wld be too unbearable to sleep...guess there is a installation queue ...prob a lot of pple busy buying air con during this hot weather..i rem the guy telling me prices are usually a bit higher during the hot season.. dunno how true..

Ya lo.. We have to shift to the guest room and on air con in order to BD.. haha!!!

Ya.. long queue.. prices wise I also not sure if it is higher in the hot weather. But I think it should cause demand will go higher.

Dream and Ann, your conversation is so funny! Really makes me smile because it is so true! No aircon, no BD

Hi DHM, thanks

No lah, I'm no stronger than any other girls here. I find this whole TTC experience has changed me for the better in some ways. More emotionally resilient, more at peace with what life has instore for us and the wisdom for nature to take its course. We've come to realised that there is only so much we can do. The rest is up to nature. We can only give our best and if our best is still not good enough, so be it. This is the card that life has dealt for us and we will find happiness somewhere else.

I find that this rings true for us especially now that we are preparing for IVF. It seems to be our last resort now and if that fails too, we will have to find some way to come to terms with it. We are not prepared to try IVF over and over again, financially and health/mental wise.

Dream: after my first IUI injection, we went for a trip to PHuket. Not knowing that I can' do exercises as i still go to work after the iui, so i went for snorkling and play with the strong waves at the beaches. Then i felt that my lower stomach was quite painful. So i start to get worried and scared.I really regret what i have done after my 1st IUI..
As for my second iui, i didnt do any tedious exercises as the nurse told me not to do it.

Dian Tang: Actually, thks to DHM...she reminded me not to do any tedious exercises..actually, my nurse didnt say anything... now, i get so parnoid...dun even dare to run after buses... even when the bus is about to move off, i just hav to walk a bit faster, hoping to catch up in time... in fact, was so parnoid that when the bus or train jerk, i get worried...i must be going mad...hhahahha...

So glad tomorrow is Friday...!

Hi ladies, morning...i must be getting old...took half day leave yesterday n was abt IT show n then steamboat dinner..but this morning, i woke up feeling a bit groggy, concussed with flu symptoms....muz hav been e weather...time to pop vitamins c again...

TGIF!
6 more days to go!

Gd morn everyone! Hope everyone r doing fine!
I was so tired yesterday! Took nap in between the whole day! N this early morn, woke up @3am!!?!! Mge to go bk n sleep @ 6am! Aiyoh! My clock all haywire!
But I can't go without my afternoon nap... Cham!

Dian Tang,
Yes! No strenuous activity! No carry of heavy stuffs! U must act as if u r oredi pregnant during yr 2WW! Try to snatch a seat if u can to avoid being knocked down by pple on a crowded bus. Dun think jerking will affect tho', heehee..
Which day past IUI r u in now?

Dream,
How's yr anniversary date? U went IT fair ah? Wtd to go but too tired yest to do anything. Take good care of yrself! Weather abit crazy, can rain one minute n hot sun another..
So far so good ;) ?

DHM: Pregnant is like that one. When I am preggy with #1, I slept in the office during lunch hour or longer. My guy colleague next to me very good.. he will help me shield my sight from my boss. Haha!! Then he will wake me up about 2hrs later. When I reach home, I am so tired that I dun even bathe and just went straight to bed. Will sleep for 3 hrs and then wake up at around 11pm to bathe and then sleep again. So pregnancy can be very tiring.

Getting serious hot flush from clomid. It doesn't help that the weather is so hot! I sweat when I sleep, when I wake up, just sitting at my cubicle...

Dream - me counting down to 2 www too. 7 more days to go. Feeling so crampy lately.

When u scheduled to go for blood test @ TFC?

DHM: Anniversary date so so only.. initial plan was that DH wld go for IT show at 11 n i wld meet him at 1plus for movie, temple (to pray for success in IUI) followed by dinner...as usual, he was working at home till 3plus....by the time we are out of the house, it was alreayd 4plus...i also sian liao.. so just went temple & IT show (to be honest, i dun really wan to go IT show for anniversary...)...but luckily had a good dinner lor..aiya...already lao fu lao qi liao...

Ginapy: I was initially scheduled for the blood test on next wed (13th) but i postponed to next thurs instead...

actually, wld the blood test really be able to tell directly if u are preg or not??

Dream - i intend to do Clearblue urine test at home on Fri. if negative, i will think fail ba. but i will test again nxt week, or if AF still not here, i will go for blood test.

Btw, how you feel now? i feel so bloated & crampy. Do you have such feeling?

Ginapy: dun think i am going to do the urine test at home...in case i get false hopes..very scared of being disappointed...so i wld rather go on e worst case scenario - w/o any hopes...anyway, i think my chance is low ...cos i only have 1 egg despite taking med for 5 days..
but as long as AF is not here by Thurs, then i can still go for the blood test...if it is, i wont.. but usually, my AF will only come 20-21 days after OPK tested positive (cos my cycle is abt 36 days)...by DHM mentioned that it wld be reduced to 28 days if on IUI...so if cycle shd go back to 28 days..but even w/o blood test, still need to see e doc...
crampy - yes...but diff locations...initially, was at the bottom fo the belly button...now is like at the above it...i dun really hav bloatedness since after the first few days...but i also dun really know how to detect bloatedness...now is more of cramp...

DHM: almost forgot...i think unless u hav something to buy, otherwise give IT show a miss lah...more impt to stay at home n hav a good rest...esp since u are still at early stage..nothing more impt than a gd rest.. so dun go lah...if u need something, maybe ask DH to get for u??? Take care hor...

DHM and dream: I did iui last yr and early apr this yr. didn't succeed . So going for IVF in August as recommended by doc and also my DH troop can't bind to egg . So left with only choice. But I am not stress but still enjoy 二人世界。at least I tried to conceive , no regrets When I am old

Yes, beta HCG is able n more accurate to detect whether u r pregnant anot. Abv certain level, can't rem how much tho'.
Usually, 14 days past our IUI day we r able to chk whether we BFP anot.
Feel so tempted to go IT fair after watching the news on TV. Ya, these few days I'm so tired! Felt so drained!
I alw thank my DH for his support... I can't imagine if I'm still working now n to cope with this lethargy...
Feeling quite seasick these few days...

Hi dian_tang,

I'm doing ivf in aug too
My 2 cycles after miscarriage have been erratic so my gynae has not given the green light for me to ttc, hope it'll be ok by aug.. My gynae would actually like me to go thru another 2 cycles of iui but my hubby and i have decided to move on to ivf.. Like what you said, at least we know we've tried our best! Good luck to all of us ladies here!

Dian Tang: How did u doc manage to find out that ur DH trrop cant bind to egg? so i am hoping i can succeed thru IUI..but of course, u never know..i keep wishing that doc will find e prob so that we can solve e root prob...

Thks DHM!
Min81: my fren ever advise me to go ahead with IVF cos the chances are higher and we actually inject the medicine to our body and not good to our kidneys . So she said must as well take the procedures with higher chances. What she said is quite true .. Did the gynea explain y u shd go for IVF?

Dream: we are recommended to do this test but only after 2nd iui . But the test cost 200 plus . So this test can tell if DH troop can bind to egg. After this test, DH felt very discouraging and he sort of gave up on trying naturally .

Anyway I msg u the test name later

Dian_tang and Min81, we can be Aug IVF buddies

I didn't know there is such test to see if DH troops binding with egg. Hmm...that could be our problem. Good thing IVF will correct that.

Dream and Lil Ponyo: The test is called "sperm HBA test".

Lil Ponyo: u decide to do ivf too?We also dunno there is such a test until after our 2nd iui.my DH troops has very low % of binding to the egg, so iui is not suitable for us.

Dian Tang: Thks for the note..i will check with the doc if i am also having this prob if i dun succeed this round...

how fast...weekend is over...today is my 12th post iui..going for the blood test this thurs if AF doesnt come...*crossing my fingers & praying real hard*..yesterday was still still feeling bloated but not today...n no signs of IB too...hopefully, there's still a chance...

*Baby Dust**Baby Dust**Baby Dust**Baby Dust**Baby Dust*

DHM: Pls take care of urself & hav lost of rest....ok??... now is the best time to just do nothing & let DH wait on u...

Dian_tang,

Actually my hubby and I were the ones who wanted ivf.. Haha.. gynae was trying to dissuade us and wanted us to try out 2-3 more cycles of iui.. But we've decided we don't want to wait anymore.. I've just quit my job and we're kinda like putting our lives on hold for the moment.. At least we try one ivf and see how it goes..

Lil_ponyo,

So we're all doing in aug
Let's keep one another updated.. Jia you!!

By the way, where are you ladies doing ivf? I'm at NUH.. Just last saturday, my doc got my hubby and me to attend this private seminar for his ivf patients.. It's to give us better idea and help us be more prepared.. We gotta try out preparing the injections and also look at the apparatus that will be used in the procedures.. Was very informative..

Dream,
I'm feeling better. Just the occasional seasick attack.
Think my DH has running put of patience, haha!!!
Has been ordering him around and keep 'poking' him at the slightest thing that will irritate me, ha!
He kept saying.. I 'ren' you, wait.. wait... wait...
Oops...

I was KO yesterday!
Now keep feeling goggy. think Zzz monster cmg to get me soon...

Min81: I am with NUH . Subsidized patient. I also dunno if how many leave I need to take , will I get fatter la.. Many qn pop to my mind . Is there any IVF seminar in the next few mths? Wanted to attend but dunno there is one last sat.

Min81: your cycle still not stabilized and still spotting?

Dian_tang, lil_ponyo and min: I also looking sat aug/sept for ivf. Going for a holiday with my dh and inlaw during end jul and back in aug.. But I have not go visit the gynea yet.. Lazy to go and listen to those sad things that the gynea gonna say.. Very depressing.. U go the clinic and see pregnant women but you are there for fertility help.

Lil_ponyo: I know you are with Dr LC Foong.. Is there a queue for ivf? Or you just want to start ivf in aug only?

Dream: hope your AF goes on long holiday for 9 months!!

Thks, Saralyn...i hope so too...wat a dilemna...i don't really have any symptoms except for a bit of a cramp at the tummy below the belly button.. No spotting either = no IB...

My frens & I were doing some fortunte telling ...apparently, it cna predicts how many kids u will hva. she tried on a few of her colleagues n came out to be true.. i was pretty worried of trying initially cos worried it may came up as none..but in the end it came up that i will 2 daughters...

dunno lah...hope i can succeed in this round of IUI though this is only my first trial...

Trying very hard not to take any HPT

Saralyn, Min81, Dian_tang: Yes, I'm with Dr Foong at Gleneagles. It's funny, I don't see that many pregnant women at his clinic. I suppose it's because he is a fertility doctor and couples with no problem don't usually go to him. Anyway, there is no queue for IVF. He said he can do it this month if I wanted but I opted for Aug due to my work travels. He is pretty casual about it and there is no seminar to attend. We're seeing him this Thurs for ivf briefing and doing a scan. I'm taking Clomid this cycle and trying naturally.

Personally, I'm a bit scared because I've always known that IVF is the last resort. So now I have this fear of failing because we have not put any thoughts on our options if IVF fails. Also, the crazy thing is I'm worried that my fear of failing will jeopardise the IVF. How do you ladies feel about it?

DHM: it's so exciting to hear about your pregnancy symptons. Hopefully, it will be us one day!

Hey, Dian_tang, Min81 & Lil, i'm also doing my ivf in aug

Found my cycle buddies haha
My protocol will b a short 1 with 150iu (forget to ask nurse wat is d med). Btw I'm w SGH, Dr Yu.

I will b hanging more often at d ivf support grp coz from there, can learn more stuff to prepare urself n build up ur body. Do join me ther

Dream: is ok.. sometime no symptoms is a good sign too. Anyway, all my girl friends who got pregnant told me very different symptoms for each of them.. Don't lose hope.. As long as no see red then you stand a chance..

Haha.. Do you have alot of HPT? I still remember during my IUI time, I had 5 expiring/expired HPT.. Thus, I tested every alternate day..

Saralyn: i didnt know HPT will expire...actually, i only have 1...i have read stories abt how HPT may give different results to blood test.. think my heart is too weak for that...but yet trying to hold myself back..

in fact, i started off not wanting to measure BBT...but actually, i have been secretly doing that...in fact, even on weekends, my body will wake unconsciously around that time even though i dun hav an alarm for it..

While trying to keep positive thots, i am so worried abt being disappointed...sigh...

Wow, so many new posts!
Was sick as a dog over the weekend, thanks to a nasty cold, so didn't log on much.

Dream - was in the same boat as you. Think caught the flu bug from someone in the office on Friday (plus we were moving office so lots of dust etc). I'm taking my Vits every day leh, dunno why still get flu so often. Sigh.

Anyway, don't take any HPT! The nurses at KK advised me not to take as well, since it's not as accurate as the blood test. Check out this website for more info:

http://www.babymed.com/hcg-level

There's a long list of pointers - think the following is the best reason not to take a HPT:
Point #37: After hCG injections (Profasi, Pregnyl) to trigger ovulation or to lengthen the luteal phase, trace amounts of hCG can remain in the body as long as 14 days or longer after the last hCG injection. This may give a false positive on a pregnancy test.

This is my first IUI also... keeping fingers crossed. Got strange cramps, especially on the right side (which is the side that had the biggest follicle - 19mm, and I had only one follicle that was bigger than 18mm) - so maybe it's a good sign? Trying not to read too much into it though. Feeling bloated, boobs very swollen and sore... but just have to wait and see.

Dian Tang - getting used to the Progesterone inserts... now no problem already. ;) It still feels weird, but matter of getting used to.

Wow, didn't know about sperm not binding with egg! Is the Sperm HBA test part of the usual SA? If it's not, it should be! If sperm not binding then should go straight to IVF and skip IUI... o_O

Speaking of Progesterone - went to do the blood test this morning at KKH for Progesterone levels. Just called the clinic to check - my Progesterone levels are good. But the nurse was VERY QUICK to add "this doesn't mean you're pregant ah, just that your hormone levels are good". Guess they are VERY careful not to give people false hope, and I totally understand why. DH was all anxious about today's blood test result also, and I also told him the same thing - it's not indication of whether we "tio" or not!

Ann - hope your aircon has arrived!

DHM - better get lots of rest! Remember to keep us posted on whether it's really twins or not.

Baby dust to all you lovely ladies!

Dian_tang,

Hmm i'm not sure about it cos i'm not subsidized patient.. I had gone to nuh last year specifically to see prof p c wong.. Maybe the seminar was for his patients.. It's a small seminar with 10 plus couples.. He mentioned he holds it like every 5-6 wks.. You might want to check with the nurse at chr
Anyway, don't worry too much k, i din really ask questions there.. For me, i guess i'll just cross the bridge when i get to it, don't stress yourself out
Basically for diet, he said no smoking, no alcohol, no medicinal herbs when treatment starts, that's all.. He said he will allow only acupuncture to overlap the ivf period..

Saralyn,

I spotted all the way from my miscarriage for 5 wks then my menses came.. Flow was less than usual.. Then i was surprised when my 2nd AF came in 22 days.. The shortest cycle i ever had.. And first 2 days, my flow was super heavy, thankfully was during school holidays and i wasn't at work.. So prof wong said he wants to observe another cycle, cannot ttc yet..

Next time when u see preggy women at the clinic, tell yourself you'll be like them soon k.. Jia you and best of luck!

DHM: Twins?!?!?! So nice!!! One stone kills 2 birds. Heehee.. Can consider to close shop.. I always tell myself after 2, I will close shop.. but now, 1 also got problem.

min81: Ok ok.. take good care of your body k.. Did your gynea gives you any medicine to take?

Yes. I always tell that to myself. One day I will be sitting in there with a bb in my tummy.. We must jiayous!

Depressed gal, may i know how is the ivf q in sgh? I am planning to do ard sep or oct. But i am still waiting for my medical report fr nuh before i go to sgh.

lil_ponyo: now then i saw your reply.. heehee. Ok ok.. i am still not mentally prepared.. and my husband is asking me to think carefully which doc i want to go to for ivf..

I know if i were to go sgh, kkh or even nuh, there will be a queue and don't know when can i do..

i am those type once i decided and mentally prepared, i must do it on this very month else i will change my mind again if ask me to do in afew months time. Hehee..

Min: So, do you have to queue also at NUH? Seem like your gynea is not bad. Hold a private briefing session for his patients to mentally prepared them.. good..

Min81: thks for the advices . I check with nurses of chr. Ha ha I always remind myself to relax . I realize relaxing is imp and ur DH will not be stress by u too. Even dur the ultrasound scan and iui procedures , I felt better when I relax myself .
Lachesis: maybe one hr plus , try not to go poo poo after insert the tablet . White stuff may pass out which may be the tablet
Depressed gal: which thread are u in ? Now I start to drink the ensure milk, drink red dates and longan , eat red bean soup and boil 八珍汤 after period
Saralyn: enjoy ur holiday