IUI/SO-IUI: Anyone?

Hope,

Good and bad lah...

Good is that I know I'm well taken care of...
Bad is that my wallet not taken care of, haha! Every time burn hole when c dr :p

Think it depends on the gynae how fast he would like to scan u. If u hv no problem, they will scan u from week 5 or 6 onwards. For my case, its becos Dr not in town and can only see me nx Mon.

But I read somewhere online that once ur beta rch certain level, Dr can perform scan the following week. So really depend on different school of thoughts.

As long u feel ok, no abnormal discharge or pain anywhere.. U r fine....

DHM: Yah...i let worry/ curosity get the better of me...i will force myself to stop doing that from tomorrow onwards.

But actually, based on previous cycles, my period only came at the 20th - 21st day after opk tested positive...and it has always been the case. so even if doc ask me to do blood test 2 wks later if period is not here yet, it seems too early to tell anyway...dunno;....

Dream,

Before doing SO-IUI, my period was from 35-60 days. I oso asked my gynae when shd I test.
He told me once I'm on the purogen jab, the cycle will adjust back to 28 days cycle with the help of medication. IUI will help us to produce healthier eggs cos by default, our body SHOULD ovulate at CD14.
That means whatever no. of days cycle u had previously had no longer exist. Once u done IUI, the sperm will go look for the egg in the fallopian tube then it make its way out to the uterus to get itself burrowed there. And this will takes 2 weeks exactly.
Some gynae will ask u to chk beta HCG and progesterone, once ur HPT is positive, to go back for blood test.
That's explain why IUI is more precise and easier to calculate.

BTW, r u on some form of 'an-tai' medication? I was put on Tab progesterone pill from the day after I done my IUI until now.

I started a new thread Feb 2013, I hope that all of you can join me there!

*bb dusts* *bb dusts* *bb dusts* *bb dusts* *bb dusts* *bb dusts* *bb dusts* *bb dusts* *bb dusts* *bb dusts* *bb dusts* *bb dusts* *bb dusts* *bb dusts* *bb dusts* *bb dusts*

DHM: U really know so much....i don't know anything. just follow doc's procedures and dunno what to ask as well.. I am on some medication but dunno wat medicine is that. i didnt take note of e name. is 2 pills per night and the pills are round (round as in 3D and not flat..haha)and while in colour... how to find your new thread??

*catching bb dust* *catching bb dust* *catching bb dust*

Dream,

All this is Dr tell me one... I oso dunno until he highlighted to me, I hope it helps..
Yup, round round like a little marble. That's 'an-tai' medication. Heard from the nurse that it is 'stronger' than duphaston.

My new thread is under 2013 Mum--> (2013/02) Feb Mum. Hope u can join me there! ;)

DHM, oh I wish I can join your thread soon too!
Still no AF yet but keep getting cramps that feels like AF about to come. I even put on a pantyliner yesterday (sorry if too much information. ha ha!) and kept running to the bathroom to check but nothing. Will see what happens today. So scared to pee!!

catching your baby dusts!!

Hi dhm

May i know who is your gyna?? Your doc sounds very meticulous and good with medicine. Envy envy man. My doc is nice and easy going.. Encourage us natural iui. No news till now. M scared of Ivf and she told me I probably can't try Ivf if I had a bad time for hsg which I did. Hubby and I r quite old already

Morn everyone!
I was woken up by my trapped air at my abdomen area.. Quite painful. Wonder is this called 'colic'?

Lil Ponyo,

Yes! I hope u n the rest will join Hope n I there!!!
No AF means got hope. Y dun u try testing once due for it. Cos morning pee v 'precious' @ this x... Hope there will be good news cmg from u...

Jessica,

My gynae was recommended by my sis in law n he happ to perform IUI too after reading about him at the other thread. So I decided to stick with him. His name is Dr Fong Yang. U can find more abt him at the other thread.
Personally I felt I make a right choice by switching to his treatment after I felt that I'm wasting time in Clomid treatment cos my body not responding to it. He actually ask me want to give Clomid another shot b4 IUI?
I insisted that I want IUI and I'm glad I made that choice.
And for Dr Fong, he will ask u what u want and after evaluation, he will support your idea, if its feasible, and help u achieve twds BFP.
Of cos he will rule out all risks and gave u the confidence that everything is under control... Quite comfortable with him so far...

Thanks dhm... Can I know what are his charges like if you don't mind sharing. M thinking whether I should change a doc. Was seeing fertility doc at Kk then Thomson but have up cos waited for long time and doc tended to want to tune me to what they want. Now my gyna sees more normal pregnancy, intro by friend. So m thinking whether I shld go back fertility doc and don't waste time. M 35 next year.

I am taking utrogestan (think also progesterone) during this 2ww.. Should I be taking only just before I sleep on an empty stomach? Currently I am taking it 9 plus n usually I had dinner at 8 plus.. But i usually sleep only close to midnight

Jessica,
I hv PM u his charges.
Well, u r still younger than me. I'm 36 this year. So dun worry, if I can mge to strike, so can u!

Dream,
Yup, we r taking the same med. The advise for me to take the med 15min b4 food.

DHM, still no AF but I try not to think too much about it as I'm currently on a business trip. Actually, I have been traveling for almost 2 weeks since my IUI. So I wonder if it may also be due to the traveling and jetlag that my AF is late. I don't want to test now because it would be nice to have my DH with me when the results are revealed. So I'll just wait for a few more days until I'm back in Singapore and see what happens. Meanwhile, although I'm still scared to pee, I keep running to the bathroom to check! So crazy!!

Jessica, you are not old
I'm 37 this year. The first gynae that we went to was a regular gynae whom we felt was unequipped to help us when our fertility issue surfaced, so we switched to a fertility specialist and it was the best decision that we've made (well... albeit I'm not pregnant yet).

Lil Ponyo: keeping fingers crossed for u! Good luck !

I still have a long way to go in my 2ww though succeed in not taking bbt this morning ..

Lil Ponyo,

I would like to think ur AF delay becos of good news than becos of ur traveling schedule. Can understand the 'fear' of gg to pee, and even now I'm oso scare to. Scare to see sthg that's not suppose to be there!
Ya, test when ur DH is ard to welcome the little surprise of joy together! Waiting for ur good news!

Dream,
Well done!
Stay relax ok!

Sorry ladies, just got my AF. So sad

Sigh, my AF was late for 2 days and now it is here. What a bummer. This is my 3rd IUI that I failed. I wish I am at home with my DH now but I still have a few more days of business trip before I can go home.

Okay, I reminded myself that we just need to keep going. Now we need to decide whether to try 1 more IUI next month before IVF.

Thank you ladies for your support and positivity. It really means a lot to me.

Dear lil

New cycle new hope... Take good care of urself when af comes. After af can drink red date n Longan tea suggested by some ladies here. JiA u!!!

Lil Ponyo,

Hugz...
Hope u feeling fine over there...

Well, do discuss well with ur DH n gynae too. IVF is not an easy process. C whether ur gynae can help to pin point where's the problems lie with.
R u seeing TCM as well?

Thanks DHM. Yeah, IVF won't be easy but it's okay, DH and I have agreed that we've come so far that we might as well go all the way. We've already scheduled it for Aug.
I'm diagniosed with unexplained infertility (duh!) because although DH's troops are a little slow, we have passed every test and scan thrown at us. I even ovulate on almost the same day every cycle. Doctor explained that there is nothing wrong with me that we know of or can be pinpoint but it doesn't mean that there is nothing wrong with me. Hence IVF would be my best bet because it will override a lot of uncertainties by taking nature out of the equation.

I'm not seeing TCM. Perhaps I should. Do you have any recommendations?

Lil Ponyo,

Is yr lifestyle v hectic? All yr previous IUI r natural or SO-IUI?

I used to see TCM, Dr Tan Siew Buoy. Think I'm not 'fated' to be treated by her. Was with her about 1.5 years with no results. Decided to take a break with her till I met my present gynae.
But saw other sisters @ other thread, they recommend a few.
Like Ban choon chan @ marine parade- my sis oso recommend me there. Heard that has helped alot of cases. Wtd to go there if I failed this IUI.

Few popular ones- Dr Zou Yu Min @ AMK, Dr Xia Rong @ Eu Yan Sang @ Paragon, there's another long Q one @ Jurong East, Dr Tan Kian Sing...
Each sinseh has different ways of dispensing med, some has to be brewed type, some order brewed for u, some pills n capsule, there's a few do acupuncture too.

Sorry if I can't help u much in selection of TCM sinseh...

Hi Lil Ponyo,
My TCM is Dr Tan Kian Seng at Clementi. Have been seeing him since Oct but no results yet. I got impatient (since it has been abt 2yrs since i was trying) and decide to switch to SO-IUI this month.

He's a nice person but be prepared to wait. His queues are very long and even if you do make appointment, u have to wait too...but his mediciane doesnt require brewing. Just mix with water to drink.

Let me know if you are int and i cna pass u the contacts.

Hi, today is only my 5th day after my SO-IUI last wed. But i am feel cramp and discomfort in my tummy (below the belly button.) It feels bloated and almost as though it will burst and AF will come..(just like the pms feeling..)
Is this normal?? Anyone know??

It's been a whirlwind week! Went in for the scan last Fri - biggest follicle only 12.5mm, so was asked to get a 2nd box of Puregon. Was also given the OPK to check if I'm ovulating. It was NEGATIVE on Sat, though the biggest follicle had grown to 15mm. But OPK was negative again on Sun (was a bit disappointed on Sun... sigh)

No side effects from the Puregon injections so far.

Went back to KKH again today (good thing it's not too far from our place). OPK was POSITIVE. Yay. Biggest follicle has grown to 19mm. Yay again! So was given the Pregnyl jab today, and the insemination tomorrow will be done tomorrow!! So excited and nervous at the same time!!

Oh, wanted to get some advice from the ladies out there- collected the Progesterone tablets today... any advice on whether it's better to put them in 'front' or 'behind'?

@DHM - I tried both Clomid (50mg, then 100mg), then Femara as well. Both didn't work.

@Lil Ponyo - we are in EXACTLY the same boat. I'm also 37, and the doctors can't find anything wrong with me, or hubby's swimmers. :p Hang in there okay... Our doc actually told us to try just 1 SO-IUI, and if that doesn't work to go to IVF. Make sure DH give you a lot of TLC when you get home from your business trip!

@Dream - from what I've read the symptoms after IUI feel like normal pms symptoms, so it's probably normal. Check out this detailed description, quite informative:

http://www.fertilityfriends.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=16321.0

Best of luck everyone.. baby dust to all!

It's been a whirlwind week! Went in for the scan last Fri - biggest follicle only 12.5mm, so was asked to get a 2nd box of Puregon. Was also given the OPK to check if I'm ovulating. It was NEGATIVE on Sat, though the biggest follicle had grown to 15mm. But OPK was negative again on Sun (was a bit disappointed on Sun... sigh)

No side effects from the Puregon injections so far.

Went back to KKH again today (good thing it's not too far from our place). OPK was POSITIVE. Yay. Biggest follicle has grown to 19mm. Yay again! So was given the Pregnyl jab today, and the insemination tomorrow will be done tomorrow!! So excited and nervous at the same time!!

Oh, wanted to get some advice from the ladies out there- collected the Progesterone tablets today... any advice on whether it's better to put them in 'front' or 'behind'?

@DHM - I tried both Clomid (50mg, then 100mg), then Femara as well. Both didn't work. :-(

@Lil Ponyo - we are in EXACTLY the same boat. I'm also 37, and the doctors can't find anything wrong with me, or hubby's swimmers. :p Hang in there okay... Our doc actually told us to try just 1 SO-IUI, and if that doesn't work to go to IVF. Make sure DH give you a lot of TLC when you get home from your business trip!

@Dream - from what I've read the symptoms after IUI feel like normal pms symptoms, so it's probably normal. Check out this detailed description, quite informative:

http://www.fertilityfriends.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=16321.0

Best of luck everyone.. baby dust to all!

DHM: hehehe grabs more bb dust frm you.
Today is my cd16 i think, (kinda lost track coz i leave it with faith) lotsa watery/ewcm :D

actually it's been a while since i experience such ewcm.. probably due to stress i'm facing for the past few cycles.... this cycle i really very relax :p

will action tonight wahahaha.. but for bb wise, i really leave it to nature already. hope i can join u in feb thread k. but i think v unlikely wahahaha..!

btw i'm with tan siew buoy now too. so far this is the 2nd cycle since i saw her.

Dream,
Yr bloatedness may due to the medication. As long no severe or abnormal pain felt over abdomen area, shd be fine.

Lachesis,
Which progesterone med u mentioned abt? The one inserted below or the one to be taken orally? Mine is Tab Utrogestan 100mg to be taken orally.. Cos when u mentioned 'Tab', u gave me the impression that it's oral tablet...

Today I went for my 1st scan (Week 5), my gynae saw 2 sacs!! I'm shocked! But the thing is, one sac is quite small n he can't cfm anything at this moment cos its still small. I hv another 2 more weeks of anxiety b4 I know whether this pregnancy is successful anot.. Am both excited and worried. Hope everything smooth smooth ah!!!

*bb dusts* *bb dusts* *bb dusts* *bb dusts* *bb dusts* *bb dusts*

DHM: not sure i know what's sac. but still, all the best! Don't worry too much. I know everything will go smoothly for you...

Will need your BB dusts....i still have many days ahead...

Lachesis: Thks for the link..it is very informative..wld have known better wat to expect if i had read this earlier. On Progesterone tablets, mine is similar to DHM. I am taking it orally.. so not sure how to advise u...

Dream,

heehee...
Sac means yolk sac which the embryo started their life in.
1 sac = 1 baby. 2 sacs = 2 babies....
I may have twins cos not confirm yet till 2 weeks later.
Most IUI/IVF may hv multiple pregnancies due to stimulation of follicles

woo! tat's exciting! Twins at one go....do keep us updated!
I don't think i have the chance of having twins cos i only have 1 egg. But it doesnt matter as long as i can BFP...

Dream,

Ya, think I was abit excited when I was in the clinic. Well, now another 2WW
kao_dizzy.gif

Actually when doing follicle scanning, I hv 2 follicles on each side, one at 17mm, the other at 15mm. I tot only got a follicle chance as the ideal size is 18mm. Not sure how this 2 sacs come about. Now I need to hv big big faith that the smaller one will grow bigger, as I read sthg like 'vanishing twin' articles online. 听天由命。。。

Well, u nvr know whats lies ahead for you. Maybe yrs will spilt into 2 lei? Praying for a BFP for u!!!

Thks DHM! Hope i can catch ur bb dust...i am now praying every night that my temperature will still remain high the next morning...

Morning ladies. Long time never come in. My son is down with stomach flu and his cough. So tiring. Everytime see him eat and vomit and cough non stop, i also heart ache.

How is everyone? In 2ww now?

Hope & DHM: Congrats. Hope I catch the baby dust for this cycle.

Dream,
Sound like u r still taking yr BBT every morning huh, haha!!!

Ann,
Thks. Hope ur son is better now. U oso hv to take care of yrself...

LuvChar,
Thks!

to Everyone!!!!

DHM: hahhahaha....u r so alert....firstly, i have already off the alarm for 630 (which i usually wake up to measure BBT)...so is more of ad hoc, as and when i rem or feel like doing it. so far, the temp is ard 36.9..pretty high but i wont set my hopes high..tat's been e case for the last 3mths when i was on clomid but it still didnt work out cos it dipped sharply the day before AF..

Ann: Hope your son is getting better..dun get too stressed out...yah..i am in 2WW...this is only the 6th day after IUI..waiting time is such a torture...other than waiting to see doc, now i hva to wait for results...

DHM - wow, most likely you might have twins? May i know what are the sizes of your follicles before IUI procedure? i have 4 follicles on my left 2 days before IUI procedure & i m just so worried about multiple pregnancies. Their sizes are 18mm, 15.5mm, 14mm & 13mm. My sperm SA is above average.

Dream - do you experieince giddiness when you eat the utrogestan? Everytime i eat, i feel so giddy & always seeing 'stars' aft i eaten it? is this normal?

i am now on my 2ww, aft doing my IUI procedure on 2 June, Sat oso.

Wish me luck & baby dust to everyone too!

Ginapy,

Sound like alot of follicles u had! I only hv 2, one each side, last measured at 17mm n 15mm a day b4 my Pregnyl jab. Not sure it will be a twin at this moment as one of the sacs is quite small. Now oso my 2WW to my nx scan, hopefully can hear heartbeats from both sacs. V nervous....

Hope for a healthy BFP for u! Good luck!!!

Ginapy: By the way, i don't feel any giddiness from the medicine. Maybe you wan to call up e clinic just to confirm u can carry on wiht the medication?

Good luck to u too!

Ginapy,
Yes, thats the jab that release the egg which we hv to find someone to help us jab on the day b4 IUI.
U taking Tab Utrogestan? This med will cause drowsiness. It's a kind of an-tai(安胎) med. Maybe it's another way of getting the body to rest during 2WW, I guess...

For those sisters who are in their 2nd week of 2WW, watch out for bloatedness. It's a good sign

Good luck n BFP!!!!!!!!!

Hi Ladies, I'm finally back in Spore from business trip. It feels so good to be home and I just wanted to let you know that your support really helped me through the past couple of days. It was a little hard to fail IUI and get AF while half way across the world and still having to be professional at work.

We are going to try naturally this month and see how things go.

Congratulations again DHM! Hope your 2nd sac will grow healthily and everything will be smooth! Yes, my lifestyle is a little hectic as I travel quite a bit for work.

Thanks Lachesis! All the best to you too. We're going to take things easy from now before our IVF in Aug.

Lachesis,
i insert the progestrone into the anus(behind) cos it is faster. If put front (vagina), need to lie down for a while.

I suddenly had a bad thought today..i am supposed to meet some friends next thurs for dinner. In that group, all of them are already mothers, with 2 of them having delivered recently. But next thurs is also the day when i will go for first scan after SO-IUI...if i don't get any good news, i am thinking of giving that meet up a miss...i dont think i wan to sit through a dinner when everyone is talking about babies and the arrangements before they start work blah blah...

Welcome back Lil Ponyo!
Yeah, just take things easy before Aug. Think we all sometimes stress ourselves out!

DHM - wow, so exciting.. let us know how the scans go! Do you or DH have a history of twins in your family? On the Progesterone, mine are not the oral ones, they are the insert below (where the sun don't shine!) ones.

Dian Tang - Yup, decided to go with 'behind', after asking the nurses at KKH for advice also. LOL. So far so good lah. I bought disposable gloves b'coz the nurse said have to push at least 2 inches in... eewwweeee..... ROFL

Ginapy, Dream - we are all in the 2WW. My IUI was yeaterday, so Mon 11 Jun going in for Progesterone blood test (if levels are not high enough then they will give me oral tablets to take in addition to the inserts). Then 22 Jun go in for pregnancy blood test! Btw, I asked one of the nurses about HPT - she advised me not to take b'coz urine-based tests are not as accurate as blood tests. Esp since we're pumping our system with meds. She said what if HPT is positive, then blood test negative.. will be so devastating. Think I'll heed her advice and not bother with the HPT at all.

So today is 1dpIUI - feeling a bit weird, like a bit bloated and boobs feeling swollen and sore though that's more likely due to O then anything.

Dream - totally understand what you are feeling regarding the meet up with your friends. Don't feel bad about thinking this way. Imho, I think it's a good idea to give it a miss if things don't turn out well (TOUCH WOOD).. don't give yourself added stress, and don't put yourself in a situation where you'll feel sad. Think we all have to take good care of ourselves during this period... think positive thoughts and take it easy.
HUGS to you...

OK all you wonderful ladies.. *baby dust* *baby dust* *baby dust*!!!

Gd morn everybody!

Lil Ponyo,
Welcome hm! n thks again!
U a such a strong woman! If me, I sure cry like nobody business. How is wish I can be as strong as you...
Take a breather this month and enjoy to the fullest b4 u gg for ur IVF this Aug. Who knows u may strike naturally without gg for IVF!

Dream,
R u able to cfm ur attendance for the dinner after yr scan? Its gg to be difficult to be in a group of happy mummies IF (TOUCHWOOD X 100000000) things dun out well. Or how abt bring the dinner fwd or much later?
Of cos, I do hope that everything goes well for u nx thurs! So fast hoh, u oredi 1 week past IUI!

Lachesis,
No leh... No history at all and my gynae dun encourage multiple follicles in case of multiple birth. I ever mentioned that I wish for twins so can close shop and stop worrying abt TTC. Now can only patiently wait for the nx scan and leave the rest to God....
Yr gynae monitor so closely for yr progesterone level one ah? For me, just give me 2 weeks supply and then go bk for beta HCG test if HPT is +ve.