IUI at Raffles Hospital?

Hi Got,

I did my IUI at Gleneagles with my RE. The procedure is quite simple and only takes 10 mins. Don't think the hosiptal is a key factor as compared to doctor...

Hi ixwong,
Thanks for ur reply
. I wanna find out if there are ladies out there who has gone through IUI in Raffles hospital, as they claim that they have over 90% success rate. I have personally gone thru the injectibles two months ago, & suppose to have IUI on that month but I had too many ovaries (7 of them). So doctor suggest me not to go ahead, as she might afraid that I will get more than triplets. So now I am going for my second set of injectibles with her. I wanna know does anyone has any comments on the hospital or doctors?

Hi ixwong

How much did u pay for your IUI treatment??

Would u mind sharing what you went through for the entire IUI process??

I'm currently considering on SO-IUI option by KKH. gotten useful information from the girls under the other Thread "Infertility & High Risk Pregnancy"

Hi Get

I dun think any REs/gynaes would dare to say they have over 90% success rate at their centre, especially for IUI. Even Gleneagles who have the highest success rates for IVF, their % is still at about 35%. The success rate for each ICSI/IVF cycle can only be as high as 50% depending on the couple, not to mention that IUI success rate are lesser than ICSI/IVF.

Do find out more from the Raffles hospital, like 90% success rates is over how many cycles on the average.

Hi Tomatoes,
When I sent an email asking about their fertility programs, this is what they replied "The Raffles Women's Centre often performs super ovulation IUI and the success rate is almost 90%. IVF will be the last resort should any of the above treatments failed." No, I didn't ask how many cycles do we have to go through. I should think that there are a few people in the program, so that is why the success rate in the hospital is so high. I heard from nurse that there are people in their program got pregnant on their 1st try but some prob tried 3rd to 6th times. So I am hoping that I will part of the 90% successful in the program.

SSL, I know the process of IUI, have been reading the forum too. & I don't mind to share with u my personal experience,
Hubby first must pass the sperm count test.. & I think 2 blood tests & procedure start
1) 2nd day of my menses I will take clomid til the 5th day
2) 2nd day injectibles til my 10th to 11th day (the first experience of personally poking the needle into my tummy was really stress...nurse keep telling me is not painful, but the idea of needle poking urself is quite stressful. But after one jab by myself, it is painless!!)
3) 8th & 11th day is my ultrascan
4) 8th - 11th day use clearplan to check for ovulation
5) 11th day is my ovulation day, but too bad, I produce too many eggs...
so I can't tell u the rest of the procedure.

I did not do injectibles, only took clomid (3 tablets) on the 2nd-6th days of my cycle. Then doctor did a v-scan on CD11 to check the progress of ovulation. Went in to doctor again on CD13 for the injection to trigger ovulation and arrange for the IUI to be done on CD14.

The process very fast, quite like the scan except that your doctor this time round will have a very good look at your private area. basically he inserted a cataret-type of tube into v. No pain at all and all over very quickly within 10 mins. After that, you are to rest and not carry heavy things, etc.

The IUI procedure costs abt $565 including the scan done on that day.

I'm pregnant from my 1st try. All the best to all and good luck!

Hi Get

Thanks for sharing the IUI procedure. seems very much like SO-IUI at KK. Not sure whats the difference though ??

HI ixwong,

have u ever done HSG? Cos not sure if the cataert-type of tube you mentioned is the " thing" that they are trying to insert into me before putting in the dye.

I had a very painful time when they are inserting this "thing" (i didnt get to see what was that) into me. I told the nurse it was very painful. maybe i'm too tensed but i tried to relax but still very painful.

I do not know if they took that out later cos suddenly there was no pain liao. then i felt the dye thing.

if its like papsmear, then its ok for me.
so the IUI is not done under GA right.

HI SSL,

I think the part on inserting the tube to transfer the sperm to the womb is similar to an ET process in IVF. Personally, i have gone thru the HSG and ET process and there is a lot less discomfort for the ET process. In fact, almost painless for me and there is no GA.

Hi SSL,
It should be almost the same as KKH. SO-IUI is with injectibles. Where else IUI only clomid.

I have done the HSG before. I felt abit uncomfortable, but just have to try to relax for a few minutes... everything should be fine.

ixwong,
Congratulation to u! Where did u do the IUI? And which gynae are u seeing now?

Hi Lilhope

I did my IUI at Gleneagles with Dr LC Foong. Still seeing him for now but will likely change gynae cos his charges are really ex since he's a fertility specialist. I'm thinking how to break the news to him....seem ungrateful huh?

Hi ixwong,
If I am preg now with raffles, I think I will do the same too. Just don't feel bad about it. Let's think this way, because of u "left" him, he can see more patients that need his help. You can also introduce him more people if u think he is good.
So not to worry too much, I think he will understand.

BTW, how much have u roughly paid in total?

Hi ixwong,

I am still with LC Foong... find him a good doctor and professional as well. His charges may be high but then he helped me to conceive.. so.. we decided to stick with him. I did SO IUI with him.... in fact started to see him in late July and I successfully conceived by late September. Really grateful for his help..
He is quick to diagnose I had PCOS at the first visit which was true..

Hi Picnic
How much you pay for your SO-IUI with LC Foong. My Gynae is Prof SC Ng...LC Foong partner. He recommend that I do SO-IUI too. You conceive on your first try?

Hi Hope,

Yes I did.. conceived on the first try. Actually, before then... tried to conceive on clomid and metfomin (as I had PCOS)... did not work. Anyway.... the IUI alone was around $495.... but it's injectibles that was ex... 700 iu for around $870... and this excludes the scans.... what I have quoted is ballpark figure. Need to go back to check my bills to double confirm. In all it was around $2K plus for the SO-IUI.

HI hopeformiracle

I have not gone for SO-IUI.

What about you? In March??

Am trying to find out more.

Is it true that SO-IUI is with injectibles whereas IUI is with clomid. Does that mean that if we can ovulate with clomid, doc will suggest we go ahead with IUI and not SO-IUI??

does KK have IUI?? think they only have SO-IUI.

Abit confused now.

Another question.

For SO-IUI, some woman may over-react to the injectibles - ie. too many matured eggs, hence have to convert to IVF or discontinue the procedure.

Will it happen if u go for IUI?

Hi picnic
$2kplus was what my gynae quoted me...thought not a huge figure but still it is hard earn money. Didn't come from rich family.

SSL
I am still considering too...probably will do it in march.

Usually a normal IUI will involve clomid but some just IUI alone. It think KKIVF should have IUI alone or with clomid too.

If you can ovulate either on your own or with clomid, you don't need to do SO-IUI.

During SO-IUI if you produce too many follicles (that's why you gynae will monitor you closely) he will advise you to do IVF if you think you cannot afford it, you can choose to discontinue but then you wasted the $$ on injection. Gynae will not allow you to do SO-IUI if you have too many follicles

Thanks, hopeformiracle. All the best to you. *baby dust to you*

Picnic,
I have more or less decided to switch gynae. Found another pretty good doctor thru this forum - Dr Lawrence Ang (TMC) at Sunplaza. I stay in Yishun so it's much nearer, compared to the 40-min drive each way to Gleneagles.

Agree with you that Dr Foong is very professional and I'm also grateful for his help, but on-going cost is quite a big concern to me. Dr Foong's antenatal checks can cost up to $700 more, and his delivery fee is about $600 more than Dr Ang's.

*sign* Need to save money after spending almost $2K for the 6-month fertility treatments. A bit stress over all these deliberation....

ixwong
Thanks for the baby dust

I thought of switching gynae too. Is TMC gynae cheaper? My current gynae from GlenE too. Dr Foong's partner.

Hi ixwong,

Understand that cost is a major concern. I had to see Dr Foong every 2 weeks during the first trimester.... the cost each time was around $170-$200 plus including tests and medication. We did think of switching gynae.. but since he helped us to conceive.. we just stick with him... oh well.... Like you, I spent like $3K on fertility treatments.

Anyway, wish u all the best. Take care !

Hi hopeformiracle,

Dr Ang's antenatal package costs $550 only, and I heard from other forumers that he charges about $800 for assisted delivery + $200 doctor's attendance fee. Comparatively, his is more economical. But his clinic sure is crowded.

All the best to you too, picnic.

HI hopeformiracle

i think sometimes i can ovulate myself sometimes it doesnt. But my cycle days are always not consistent.

Does it mean that if we go for IUI, then only need to take clomid. then do IUI. so no injectibles meaning cheaper??Any idea how much does IUI alone costs?

SSL
For a start, Gynae will give you clomid to help you to ovulate regularly. If you manage to ovulate you will proceed to do IUI. If you still cannot ovulate properly with clomid, injectibles will be recommended. Yes, injectible is more expensive. IUI alone only cost $400 - $600

Some people are able to conceive naturally with only clmoid without IUI. I went for IUI because my cervic muscus was no good for sperms to pass thru, that's why did not conceive successfully naturally.

My IUI costs $450.

Hi hopeformiracle

I thought one cant be on clomid for too many months. For me, i had taken 3 cycles of clomid (under my precious gynae) before and stop for 2-3 cycles. Now Dr Loh giving me clomid this cycle to see how's my reaction lor.

I also went to CM test. Its just like papsmear. the nurse will take a sample of your CM and mix with the sperm and see the reaction.

For me, the result was bad, it said that my CM kill 70+% of my hubby's sperm. But Dr Sheila Loh said that it could also be that at that time of test, I was having some infection so CM was " poisonous" lor.

For me, we did baby-dancing the night before then next morning go for a post-coitus test - like pap smear.

SSL, my result was also no good. Only 10% of the CM is good for sperm movement, even after the hormone injection.

HI ixwong

I thought we can BD on the day before CM test??

anyway i wasnt told prior to that but we didnt BD also.

Doc at KKH didnt ask me to do another CM test lor.

Yes, as long as not more than 12 hours I think. As I was seeing my doctor abt 8am in the morning, our doc asked us to BD the night before, knowing we won't be waking up so early to do anything.

I am new here. Need advise from all the senior here. I have minor endo, tried many months but still no news from my stomach. Dr from KK keep on asking me to go operation to take away the cysts which is consider small (comment from other doctor) So I went to see Dr Fong Yang in Tiong Bahru (recommended by friend). I requested him to do a HSG to confirm my fallipean tubes are fine. Then will proceed to do IUI. Wondering how is this doctor? Seems like all the successful cases are done by Dr LC Fong from Glen. A bit worry if I ge the right doctor..... thx

Hi AAbaby,

It's a process whereby your hb's semen are washed and concentrated (i.e. they will filter the not so good ones) and then they are inserted via a tube into the womb, like a pap smear, painless. The IUI will be done on your ovulation day, your gynae will monitor when your egg is ready via ultrasound.

Thks Annie! Have you done it before? Am i right to say that before IUI, husband has to go for a sperm analysis?

Hi aababy,

I did the SO-IUI instead because wanna have a higher chance with more eggs (and it was worth it).

Yeap, your hb should go for sperm analysis first.

You are considering this option on your own? Not your gynae's advice is it?

Hi Annie,

Actually i just thinking abt the options that i can take if i still cannot conceive. I have been trying abt 8 mths. Just started on clomide last mth but no effect. Was really disappointed. I used to have irregular menses in past.. regular a few mths then hey wire again then regular... Intially KKH said that i have a cyst but after seeking second opinion at NUH, it was clear.

May i know how many mths have you tried before you decide on SO-IUI? May i know where you did your?

hi aababy

ya, if you have irregular menses it's tougher, but can be worked out.

i tried for almost 9mths, as i am past 30 liao, i didn't want to drag till 1yr so went for fertility checks and was found that hb's count is low so my gynae suggested we try SO-IUI first. Clomid alone will not work for us as i do ovulate regularly and my checks were cleared.

I did mine at Mt. E, but performed by my gynae from Raffles Hosp, because Raffles do not have the facility.

Have a talk with your gynae about your concerns,i think they will give you better advice on your available choices.

hope you succeed soon!

Hello to All,
I am here new to forum. Would like to seek your valuable advices. I am 28yrs and have been trying for pregnancy for last 10mths. My 1st one was a miscarrigae and after that my gynea has put in on clomid for almost 10mths now. Sadly, i couldnt concieve. And since last 2mths,my periods are not regular. Last month, I had to take tablets to get menses and this month is same. When I consultanted Doc at KKH, he suggested me to go for SO-IUI. But I bit scared to go for it and would like to seek a second opinion from other Doc.
can you pls suggest whom should I consultant.
I heard Doc at Gleneagles are very good. Pls suggest.

Hi I'm also ttcing for a long while and was told by TCM that I'm PCOS....very sad. Had tried clomid, metformin, charting....still no results after 7 years.....Thinking of trying SO-IUI, but not sure (1) which Gynea to see - Dr. Caroline Khi (TMC), Dr. Shiela Loh (KKH) or Dr. PC Wong (NUH)...(2) SO-IUI costs..., (3) and does SO-IUI program affect work, ie needs to take leaves from work...i'm already pass 36 yrs....can't wait anymore....worried....Can anyone advise me...?

hi annie

Can I ask you the procedures to doing a sperm test at Mt E? Eg which floor and what we have to do, opening hrs etc?

I am so glad to come across this website! I have been researching around for the past couple of weeks on IVF and the options available in Singapore. I will be a new IVF patient in time to come but am now researching around for a good IVF doctor and hospital on your side of the globe. Does anyone have a good recommendation or has experience with a reliable doctor/hospital there?

Has anyone tried KK Hospital and how do you like their service? What about Raffles Hospital and Thomson Fertility Center and even Gleneagles? I'm currently living overseas but am considering coming back for the treatment. The only problem is I don't have much information pertaining to the cost of IVF in Singapore and how good one hospital compares to another. Can anyone give me a ballpark number as to how much IVF would cost me in Singapore? At my end, it is a minimum of USD$12K-13K just for 1 cycle of the procedure and our insurance does not even cover it!

Any feedback you can provide will be greatly appreciated. I am really desperate for help!

Many Thanks!