Glenn Doman Flash Card Users Corner

poohy, I also quite kan cheong when my frens told me their bb can flip/crawl at 3-4mths while mine didnt even want to do anything. Later my boss told me that not to worry or compare lor cos every bb develops different and eventually they'll know how to do such things.

Giggler,
Thanks for the detail description! Sound very interesting. So u let Vane attend both GUG and BJG? But my baby is only 8 mth do u think is too small to attend GUG? Any babies around my son age? Do they are restless after awhile? I know the younger they are they absorb better but I am not sure he can stay there the 1.5hr!

Giggler,
Thanks for your detail description. Sound very interesting to me! But what worry me is that I am not sure my son (8mth) is able to sit thru the whole 1.5hr. He get a bit restless after a while when he attend the BJG.

so sorry for the double posting...
post the first time but didn't see it appear so re-key in again... who knows....

Giggler
I didnt get to try out the trials when you all went. Do you know how I can go abt it?? Call the gym, gotta pay for trial?
YOu mentioned there is a BJG at Pasir Ris, isit at White Sands?

Mom2nat,

The BJG at Pasir Ris is at Blk 443 Pasir Drive 6 #03-02. Give them a ring at 6345 9195 to fix the trial appt. I think is $20 for the trial.

Giggler,
I think the pause cant be avoided cos there is only 1 teacher in a class. As for GUG there are 2 so one can follow up after another.

I think pausing is ok, just a few sec rest of the children and the parents are gd.

U mean Ms April kept asking the children to come and get the equipments? Ok lah, train the children to work on their own and be helpful as well.

I find BJG method more suitable for Janelle now cos she get to see the words by flashing the cards. She is very attentive in the class so i am very glad. Glad that i didnt make the wrong choice.

happy, think the min age for GUG is 8mths. You can go for trial class and see if your bb is suitable lah. As you can see, GUG is packed with activities so you wont feel restless lor. Most of the time, I didnt even realised that it's 1.5hr liao.

Mom2Nat, some gyms offer free trial but most need to pay. You just need to give them a ring to book for trial. So when's your trial class at BJG?

hong, Jan sits down and looks at flash cards? For Vane, it depends on her mood. During the trial she's ok, can concentrate. But the most recent lesson, she kept wanting to walk away which is impossible to do in the class lor. I find keep walking to April very tiring cos I got to follow Vane as she still cant walk steadily.

Giggler,
I can understand. Can be quite tiring for the parents.

There is a few times i need to pull Janelle back cos she got so excited and sit very near to the teacher.

Most of the time when i called her she will come back and sit down.

Probably Van is too excited, kids are curious mah. Cant be avoidable...

Giggler,
then u will have hard time stopping her.
She is practising her new skill if she got chance... hahaa..

Btw, Janelle never stop running and walking at home. We all wonder where she gets all the energy from and she can ask for milk after 2 hrs..

Can i join this thread? I am eager & desperate to start my gal on flashcard coz she dont seems to be interested in Toys ot TV. Therefor, i am looking into flashcard, classes etc

Is it true that BJG gives away or lends the flash cards to mummies to flash for the week? Do they sell their own flashcards too? If so, how much?

BTW, any mummy who is selling 2nd hand GD Chinese & Encyclopedic flash cards? U can email me at [email protected]

Halo Ladies,

Can I know more about the BJG that you all are talking abt. My daughter is now 25 months(2yrs), am trying to look for a enrichment school for her. May I know wat is the programme in BJG? Is it the same as Shichida Method?
tks

Hi Miko, I think Worry_mum posted BJG's prog on the above. Not much discussion on Shichida method though.

Tks for the infor. Hmmm i finally found something i like. I have called to enquire. The programme sound interesting. They have 2 location the other one is at OCC (Yishun) this would be nearer for me. Anyone here had been to this branch? Can share with me tks

Hi Worry Mum,
I have called up OCC branch, they have no more vacancy in the morning, but they are planning to open once they manage to get more children. So im waitng for her to get back to me for the trial. I would prefer morning class as the brain is fresher....
Would that be too late to start BJG for my gal at this age she is 2yr old now. But she is attending GUG when she was 18mth till now, I have stop GUG as she already finish the whole syllabus i feel no point con't cos it start all over again.
Do you have any more contact of others Enrichment programme for toddlers, other than BJG, GUG, Kindermusik, etc... I had trial Zoo phonics (thomson branch) but din wanna sign up. Do you have anymore suggestion??
tks

Miko, how many terms have u attend GUG to complete the whole syllabus? My gal is attending both GUG n BJG now.

Hi Miko,

Maybe u can try Shichida and tumbletots, heard that they are very good...esp Shichida, but of course the fees is also rather Exp...

Hi Giggler,

If im not wrong is 3 term, all in total i pay 3 times. and within 6mth she finish from A-Z. I can see improvement from her, but one thing is im very tired cos she's very active cant sit still in class, stories time she will walk ard the classroom. But she enjoy the art n craft and "Cooking" and eating time. They have a session whereby the kids will learn to "prepare" thier food n then feed themself.

Hi Worry Mum,
I find out Shichida methods too, but its too exp, it go by thousands, i feel its too much. I've also tried tumbletots at Pungol plaza, I din like the place too cramp and the teacher are not up to my expectation. Some of them look like phillipino maid to me. and the teacher dun have initative to help the children. Lastly the equipment is very dirty. This is just my feedback.

Wow.. Miko, u have sent ur gal to so many places liao ah....heard that that's one at Woodlands Civic plaza.. mygym..maybe u can find out..
Regards.

Miko, if it's 3 terms than it fits my schedule nicely. Cos I thot of ending GUG end of this yr cos sending my gal to cc next yr.
You shd try mygym, I quite like it. But do u think Shichida maybe more effective? Dun know leh, they sound so pro.

Hi Worry Mum and Giggler,

Heehee, i had trial at MyGym too when my gal was crawling, n din continue cos journey is 30min by driving. But on n off when i bypass there for shopping will drop my gal there for play. she enjoy it, the place is big n clean n bright. They hv weekday playgroup was thinking if weekday was on leave nothing to do can sent her there too.
I also found out JG at Evans road, i loves their concepts, am still thinking whether shld i sent her there as the jouney is not near for me too
but i will try out BJG first....

Hi Giggler,
I started on 1st week of Jan and end last week of June. N in between there's no break so manage to finish the whole syllabus. How old is your child?? I started her when she was 18mth. I feel just nice for her, as she will be able to take 1.5hr session class. Some toddler might felt restless if the hr is too long.

Hi Giggler,
I will post my reply here regarding the shichida.
I find the flash cards effective. The rest, i cant say much, because i dont really practice it with my gal. But i do hear from my friend that their kids' classmate who attended the shichida class, have super memory. There is another brain-based centre at Delfi Orchard that have similar concept as Shichida. They teach the foundation of right brain teaching and take in kids from 3yrs old and above. The course is about 9mths. According to the guy who explained to me, the course is to impart the parents the skill of right brain training, and after this 9months course, the parents can teach the kids at home. Whereas for shichida, you need to follow them throughout the semester to find out new skills on different age group. You can check out the website at www.ecc-edu.com. I have not visit them yet. But might pay them a visit when my gal turn 3yrs old next year.

For those who like your kids to enjoy their toddlers year, I will suggest Rhythm in me. My gal have been to kindermusik before. Well, she enjoy her class, but those music are very "kids" music. Unlike Rhythm in me. They play all sort of music, rap, hip-hop, R&B,etc (but with the lyrics change of cos). I feel that the kids will experience different kind of music. Thats my personal opinion.

hi BJG nommies,
i m interested to go for a trial at pasir ris n have gave them a call. do u think it is good to sign in halfway thru the term? also any recommendations on which teachers are good? i m clueless n dunno which day (sat/sun) should i choose. best is can go for the timeslot with good teachers. i m looking at 930am time slot on sat/sun. anyone in these classes to share? thanks!

Miko, I started my gal on Jun when she was abt 13mths. Ok for her cos she likes most of the activities.

Sunny, I've 2 frens who signed with Shichida and told me that their bb can point to them the correct cards at quite young age (one of them abt 12mths). I'm quite impressed with the results cos I've been flashing cards using GD method but see no results from my gal. Your gal in both Shichida and Rhythm in Me?

mini, if you gg Pasir Ris, can go for Sat time slot. Teacher April is very good.

Hi Giggler,
So yours will be parent&Babes. I did not trial tat, so cant comment. But the Parent&tots is good. u can upgrade once ur child reach 18mth. Enjoy

Hi Sunny,
Where is Rhythm in me located at?? can share more on this ?tks

Hi Giggler,

my gal can point to me the correct card also after a few round(~ a wk). I am not sure of GD method. But i thought they are the same? Flashing the cards in high speed, 1s/card, right? My gal attended shichida when she was 1yr old. I stop her after 2 semester. Because she cannot concentrate in class. I will sign up Rhythme in me soon. The new semester start start in Aug.

Hi Miko,
Rhythm in me is at UE Square. Similar to Kindermusilk. singing and dancing with music. ending the class with a story telling
Is a small studio. You can go for the trial class. Is free.

Hi Parents, Can anyone share which are the Free Trial u have attended so far? with location, contact no, website..etc, please...

So Sunny posted one -

1) Rhythm in me - UE Square -

oops.. sorry parents, we side-track liao.. but is for our convenient right, hope u all dont mind.. and if possible paste the free trial class again...

Miko, why do u feel that Parent&Tot is gd?

Sunny, I also find my gal cant really concentrate in BJG class leh. Ok, I'll test my gal after she attends BJG for one mth.
Are u sure RIM got free trial? Last yr, they told me they got NO trial at all leh. So you prefer to let your gal enjoys herself in music rather than flash cards?

Hi Giggler,
RIM give my gal a free trial class leh. Maybe the class I join was not full, so they allow.

She like music and dancing, so I think is better to develop her interests. As for flash cards, I will do it at home, or when we are in the car. As and when she ask for it. We felt that no point to force her if she cannot concentrate in class. Waste our $$ also...
I am sure alot of smart kids out there are not trained with flash cards also. Alot of things are good to have lor.

Hi Sunny,
UE Sq too inconvenience for me....any way tks
maybe will give a try kindermusik, do you have any idea does Kindermusik have free trial?? tks

Hi Giggler,
My next class was parent&babes and i saw them carrying out their babies as some are crying, some mothers feeding their bb milk, some change diaper, how will the child concentrate. And once we had joint singing with the next class some children are sleeping !
As for parent&Tots they are 18mth and above most of them can concentrate well, follow instruction well. N most imptly they can walk n run by themselves. This is my personal opinon.

Hi Worry mum,
MyGym and ACTphabets (esplanade mall) got free trial.

Hi Mums,
Any good teacher in OCC branch for BJG? Im might sign her up once i got the trial lesson.....

I brought my daughter to ACTphabets before but she dun like it and she was crying half of the sessions.

I think some children were fussing and cried very badly and the others got scared and follow suit.

There are English and Chinese singin session...
My daughter dun enjoy it, so to me is no gd. hahaha.. may be going for another trial again when she is older.

Hi Parents, Just to update on the Free trials..

(1) Rhythm in me - UE Square - Posted by Sunny
(2) MyGym - Woodlands Civic Centre - Posted by Miko White
(3) ACTphabets - Esplanade mall - Posted by Miko White

giggler or any mummies who attended BJG..

may i know what is your opinion of the 2 branches OCC and Pasir Ris ? I am thinking of bringing my boy to a trial class but dunno which branch got better teacher leh...

Hi Poohy,

From what i know, they actually got share teachers among both centres, eg. on sat, A teach in OCC, then on Sun A will teach in Pasir Ris.