Glenn Doman Flash Card Users Corner

sweetheart, BJG has shifted from Katong to Pasir Ris so no more at katong. Its at Blk 443 Pasir Ris Dr6, still got to take feeder service from mrt station. Quite inconvenient. 1 term is $330, $40 registration, $10 uniform, $100 deposit. If you got friends to sign up together, you can get 5% discount.

Giggler, yes, I will flash my own set of cards at home. I use the concept and flash other songs to my son. If u r interested in OCC branch, u may try to call Catherine, and see whether she could provide the same discount at OCC.. OCC is more convenient for you right?

oops, there is a increase in course fees liao ah? I paid $320 for 1 term. At OCC, if you are OCC members or Popular card members, I think they can give 10% discount.

WorryMum, oic...may I know how old is your baby that you start sending her/him to BJG? You mean the baby there will sit there listen to the teaching?

YeeYee, my son attended the class when he is 15 months old, now with OCC for 2 terms, coming 2 July starting for 3 terms..
Oh yes, he can sit still and listen to the teaching....

YeeYee, the teacher at BJG will make sure that your bb listen to the teaching.

Worry Mum, am I rite to say that? Pasir Ris starting their term on 9th Jul instead. I've decided to sign Vane for both GUG & BJG. I'll see which one suits her better and will drop one off after one term.

Giggler,

I think different centre got they own term commencing. OCC term commence on 02.07.05. Wow, so u have decided to sign Vane up for both.. ooohh, that's good. So do keep us update on both.. thanks. Take care.

hi, mummies
i happen to chance upon this thread when i did a search on BJG. i brought my son there for a trial last wk and was quite pleased with the fair allocation of play and learn. am considering to sign up but hv a few concerns:

1. the place seems pretty "cold" compared to Gymboree and Kindermusik (which i hv brought my son to trial before). the place is not as fanciful as the other gyms .. anyone shares the same opinion?

2. my son is 9mths old and not crawling yet, but the teacher makes assumption tt a 9mth old bb shld be crawling, till i correct her tt my son isn't. then she replied tt she will teach me how to help him crawl at the gym. when we were at the gym, she separated the bbs according to can crawl and cannot crawl on different sides, and my bb sat alone. she then tried encouraging him to crawl and obviously failed coz i hv tried alot of methods to encourage him but its just his natural self tt he is not ready to crawl.

so, i explained this to her and she then accepted and invited my bb to try the other activites that the crawling bbs were doing. for this, i was glad tt the teacher is acceptable to parents' comments. i hv gone for gymboree trial previously and the teacher kept asking my son to roll balls on the floor instead when she knew he can't crawl, was annoyed as we cld hv roll balls at home instead of coming for a trial if thats all she think bbs who can't crawl can do.

hence, am considering BJG though procrastinating at the same time.

Hi littleprince,

Think i was at the trial class too : )

Ya, agree that the place not fanciful, maybe its new so everything not in place yet??? I will be trying another trial at OCC branch this sat. will then decide if i wanna to sign up.

And anyone going to DIY flash cards??? Where can i get cheap white boards??? Though my girl consider a little old liao, but wld like to flash cards to her if i'm going to sign up for BJG. Cos the teacher comments that we need to reinforce at home, if not, not tat effective.

Hi Kis
the baby gal in a yellow dress? you wear specs rite? what a coincidence! my baby was the one that kept screaming and chuckling during the class lah :p

Worry Mum, does OCC give you flash cards to flash at home every week? I just started my class at Pasir Ris and they gave us a set of cards after the lesson. Not sure if we got to return them and also if it's regular.

WOW... so good huh...???!!???? Have been with them for 2 terms but nothing received from them leh... not even class schedule etc....

Surprising for this new term, we only received a list of songs which going to be teach in this term and a list of products that sell in their school.. that's all..

So they actually got different management in different centres.... So sad... if we were in Pasir Ris.. then we can have it...

WorryMum, can you check how much are they selling their ency cards? Think they got diff mgt in the 2 centres.

hi all, chance upon this thread.
I signed up my boy too at BJG Pasir Ris for one term. Like their mix of songs/flashcard and gym. As what giggler mention, they will provide some flash cards and songs lyrics for us to bring home for rein-enforcement.

Jas & Hong, both of you attend class at Pasir Ris too? My col was telling me OCC's facilities look better so I may switch to OCC after this term if I continue.

Jas, do u know if the cards are given to us or we need to rtn them the next week?

giggler,
Yah.. i attended the 1st class on sunday and Jas's Joel attended the 12:30 class.

Is OCC nearer to u?
I give u a "Fu" U can come all the way to Pasir ris for the class..

hong
I didn't get it yet coz the lady told me is not ready, and will only get it the next lesson which should be this coming Sunday.

giggler
I think the cards are given to us if I heard them correctly.

hong, no choice leh cos heard from someone that the teacher is gd. Also, the in-charge compensate me for part of my cab fare lah. OCC is nearer to me so I may transfer to OCC next term.

Jas, so the cards are given to us? That's very good leh.

Hong/Jas, I go for Sat class 4pm.

Girl, think Worry Mum got lobang for blank cards.

Hi to all,
I am really new to the idea of flash card and my boy already 23 months dunno whether too late to enroll him to classes or to start showing him the cards...

To Worry Mum, can you send me your pics of the DIY cards that you made, I thinking of making too. Need some guidance to kick start the whole thing. My email address: [email protected]

To other mummies, can you also share your experience on DIY cards and what are some words and topics that you have created for your precious ones??

Lots of thanks to all!!!

giggler,

your baby has been attending the BJG rite.. so how's the feedback so far ? since u r also flashing cards at home.. is there any value add ?

My boy is 4 mths old already and I am thinking of sending him there for trial class. He dunno how to crawl yet. Do u think it will be useful ? cos I am already flashing cards to him at home...

thanx

poohy, I think the class is useful cos though majority of it is flashing cards but they still go thru some games to stimulate their right brains. Think the min age is 5mths old. Doesnt matter if he doesnt know how to crawl cos there's a 15min gym session and the teacher will teach him how to crawl. Also, you can learn the correct method of flashing cards from the center. If you go to the Pasir Ris branch, you'll be given cards to flash at home every week.

giggler...

ok thanx... ya the person there told me that min age is 5 mths old but i also heard of people who sent their kids as young as 3 months... i hope they can teach my boy to crawl cos i feel physical training most important. So far he hates to be on his tummy

Giggler,
How is the class?

Janelle like the class, better this week and she can concentrate when the teacher flashing the card and i hope she will continue to be like this.

Both me and Jas got the homework from BJG.
Giggler, Jas, do u sing the same song to Joel?

Hi Giggler,
May I know what flash card did BJG gave you after the lesson? Is it the same as those taught in class? I understand that OCC doesn't give flash card. so sad but Pasir ris is too far for me.

Heard from OCC staff that they are going to increase the course fee. Is Pasir Ris also the same

Worry Mum,
I read tht you have been with OCC BJG for two term. Do u think it is good? Who is the teacher? My baby attended the trial last wk. May I know if i sign up the course if I miss a lesson do u think they will compensate me?

hi jj(happy)

My boy's teacher is Joycelyn. Oo... last week I was working, so I am not there to attend their class. Their previous terms the class actually at 2.30pm, but this terms onwards they have change it to 11.30am. So sad....with this changes... cos I couldn't be there every week.

As for the miss of a lesson, they will compensate in the way that you are allowed to do 2 make up class.. but if you wants to chose back the same teacher.... @ OCC, then I don't think she got other classes there.... So far I have not miss any lessons... As what I was told by other parents, they said can postpone to the next term..

Worry Mum,

Same teacher as my son trial lesson. Maybe u can change to Sunday 12.30pm? I wanted earlier lesson but no more vacancy. After attending for two term what do u think abt the lesson? Is it worth?

Hi happy,

Cos my son has been with Teacher Joycelyn for the past 2 terms, I doubt that if I change it to Sunday he might not like it...as it is not teach by Teacher Joycelyn.

So far, I think if I still can afford, not harm let him attend the class, until next year, cos he will be attending daily playgroup by then.

Hi Worry Mum,
O.k. But rather disappointed they don't have the buy 3 term and get 1 term free anymore. I was told they are also going to increase the fee.

poohy, I feel that there's no need to rush your bb to crawl lor. My gal only knows how to crawl when she's 6mths. I feel that it's a matter of time that they'll know such things.

hong, I got the chinese cards but I dun know how to sing the song. I find the class quite disorganised, maybe I shouldn't compare them to another centre lah.

jj, I got some chinese cards from them.

WorryMum, you got to work alt Sat? Why not change the class to Sun?

giggler,

i read from the childbrain forum that glenn doman's physically superb programme is actually the best of it all. By rite the bb should be able to crawl quite fast when they reached one month (if i din remember correctly)... this crawling milestone is actually the most crucial in brain development ... i am just abit worried my boy may end up missing this milestone if he keeps wanting to stand. Because he tends to merlion his feed, we seldom place him on his tummy when he was younger... thus i am afraid it may have slowed him in reaching this milestone....

giggler,

Yup, I work on Alt Sat, I didnt want to change to sunday cos my son gets along well with teacher Joycelyn for the past 2 terms, and I am afraid that if we change to other days, other teacher.. he might not wants to attend it... U know at this age, they are very demanding.... haiz... anyway me and my hubby will take turns there loh....sad..

poohy, I feel that there's no need to stress yourself too much lor. Think it's common prob for us, we read too much liao.

Worrymum, the teacher didnt take out those cards that she wants to flash aside before the class. So during the class, she'll look thru the box for the set of cards. And, they kept asking the kids to go to them in front of the classroom for things. I find this very distracting and tiring for me. There seems to be lots of 'pause' in bet the class when we dun know what to do.

Giggler,
U have attended GUG what is the dif betw GUG and BJG? Is GUG the one at United Square?

poohy,
I agree with giggler that eventually baby will crawl. Of course there are some babies that will skip crawl and proceed to walk. Don't be so stress. My baby also crawl at abt 6mth.

happy, GUG is the one at United Sq.

Below is what I posted at the other thread after I attended their trial:
I find the lesson at GUG very comprehensive so quite worth the money lah. Though it's 1.5hrs long, Vane was enjoying herself throught the session. First, they got a chance to sit ard and play toys. And the teacher will chit-chat with some mummies. Guess it's for the bbs to get used of the environment. Then we have some sing along session like what Kindermusik has. After which, the teacher told them story. Next, she intro an animal that coincide with the letter "W" cos they're covering it yday. Right after it, they went thru zoo-phonics. They taught phonics by connecting it to an animal eg a-alligator. They passed each letter card to the bb and asked them to look for matching one on the wall. Surprisingly, Vane knows how to look for it leh. It really surprised me. Afterwhich, they got to rest to eat Watermelon, both the flesh and the juice. The teachers blended it infront of the bb to let them know that watermelon can turn from solids to liquids. Yday, we even got to watch a mini-play by the teachers and one of the mummies. We had some bye-bye songs and that's it. There's 2 teachers in a class and we only have 8bbs yday. I find the teachers really professional, they always sing songs to ask the bb to do things.
Oh, I missed out the Whipped cream part. After the watermelon, the teachers brought out Whipped cream. They even let the bbs touched it and added a drop of red colouring to show them that white + red = pink. Another one, the Water... they poured water over the bbs' hand to let them have a feel. I quite like it lor.

happy, but I feel BJG and GUG are 2 diff things, dont belong to the same sch of thots. So it depends on what u believe lor. I strongly believe in flashing cards so though I find GUG gd, I still enrolled my gal for BJG to try out lah.