Glenn Doman Flash Card Users Corner

Giggler, forgot to tell u. Last week when we attended the BJG class, I overheard the conversation between the staff and some parents that if you sign up after the trial class, the trial fees is waived... so please note it if you really 1 2 sign ur daughter up after the class. Dont forget huh..

Hi Michelle (xuerkai), FYI, I did not laminate my cards, the quality of the blank cards is already q good, 410gms. I am worried that if I laminated the cards, my boy will get cut by the sharp corners...

Giggler.. u attended the trial at Kindermusik right? so how is it?

Worry_mum, I'll check out the fees if I intend to sign my gal up. I'll be at Katong from 3-4pm. I heard abt the Zoo phonics at Bt Timah from my cousin but not sure if it's good. I'll try out growing up gifted next. How many trial can I go to at BJG? Not sure my gal enjoys Kindermusik or not. Most of the time, she's watching the teacher during the session. Only the balls there caught her attention.Other than that, she kept staring and watching the teacher lor. But I quite like their environment lah. And my hands ached till it break cos I need to carry my gal ard to join in the activities.

oh, we attending the class at Yishun, anyway it should be the same for the trial fees... As for how many trial can u go, that I'm not sure, u have to check it out tomorrow..

hi trishbb.. i guess we got the same problems here of BF.. mine will choose to go hungry till am back.. abt 7+ months.

hi pkemon933.. wat files is that? if its useful for my child of another one with coming 3 years old.. can i have it?

Worry_mum, I haven go for the trial yet cos Vane was having fever when we intended to attend it. We can only make it next mth liao.

Hello All,

I am also keen to try the GD flash cards and from what I read, seems like no news from Karen. Could any of you send me the files if you have at my personal email address --->> [email protected]

Btw, where can I buy these GD cards?

Hi GD flash card users,

Wanna check hw muxh did u buy the set of GD flash cards?? Was tempted to buy during the Motherhood exbit, cost abt $480 if i still rember correctly..

hi worry mum,

i'm new on this thread but am interested in BJG for my bb. how old was ur kid when u started? i wan to start mine on the little crawlers cos she's less than 1 yrs old. do u think it's useful for a bb so young?
i was comtemplated btw send bb to BJG or buy GD kit. i'm kind of confused.

Hi! Babykhoo,

I have tried both BJG & GD kit on my son. He is currently 14 months old. I sent him for a trial lesson at Katong when he was six months old. He enjoyed the flashcard and songs but was too young for the gym part. I guess it would be better to start your child with BJG when she is able to crawl and creep well. As for GD kit, I bought maths, english and chinese kits from GD baby (They have a store at Motherhood fair recently.) when my son was eight months old. You need some time commitment to flash those cards to your child everyday. If you have a busy working schedule, I would advise you to think twice about getting those flashcards.

J&M, so did u sign up your son for class at BJG? Got news that it's moving to Pasir Ris, really far for me cos I'm staying at Jurong West. But I'll still go for a trial to see if it's really gd. How much did u spend on GD kits? I thot of buying their BITS card.

Hi! Giggler,

I did not sign up with BJG. They have two branches. One at Orchid Country Club and another at Katong Mall. Oh no..Pasir Ris is just the opposite end of Jurong West. Math/English/Chinese GD kits cost me abt $1200++ after discount. Why don't you do your own BITS cards?

j&m,

how's the bjg trial ? how come u decide not to sign up?

all:

regarding the use of GD cards... can we show maths dot card and word card, encycopedic cards to bb of 3 mths daily? or we can only show 1 type of cards?

have anyone read glenn doman book on multiplying our bb intelligence? i am trying to get hold of it... just wonder wat its abt?

Hi all, sorry for the late reply, was away for holidays..

Babykhoo, I signed up for the BJG class when my boy was 15 months old..for the little walker class. He had already in BJG for 2 terms, and can see he really enjoyed himself..

I did not buy any GD cards, but I DIY myself. The original cards is too exp..

Regards.

J&M, I not sure how to make the BITS card so thot of buying them. How come you didnt sign up with BJG? That's why I'll just go for the free trial but most prob wont sign up with them. Too far for me liao.

Worry_Mum, can you share how to make BITS cards? Are u still joining them after they moved to Pasir Ris? Any idea if everything is the same at their OCC branch?

Giggler, all the while we are in OCC, sorry I have no idea about the Katong branch.

As for the DIY BIT, I search from the internet and printed out the picture and facts to show it to my son.

Worry_mum, you're in OCC all the while? Is it inconvenient to go there by public transport? Is there any way that u can show me your DIY BITs?

Giggler, yes, we're in OCC all the while. It is very convenient. u can take the MRT till Yishun, there is free feeder bus service (Bus Plus) from Yishun MRT to OCC (near bowling alley). (The OCC Baby Jumper Gym is directly beside the Bowling alley).

Sure! I can show you some of the DIY cards that I prepared. How about giving me your email and I will take some photos of the cards and sent via email to you? Or you prefer to meeting up? But I rather busy recently...

Hi! Poohy & Giggler,

I did not sign up with BJG cos it's very inconvenient for me to send him to Katong or OCC branch myself every weekend. Also, my hubby works on every Saturday and alternate Sunday thus he is unable to ferry us there.

giggler,

wat time is the trial this saturday ? I may bring my boy to just go and take a look ard since its openhouse... my boy is still young (3mths) so prob cant join their trial yet..

My son is 12mth old. Every time I show him flash cards, he snatches the cards fm me. DO u gals hv tis problem wif your bb?

J&M, I'm torn bet BJG & GUG now leh. I like BJG cos I quite believe in Glenn Doman's teaching methods. But same as you, I live in the west and the center is at the extreme end at Pasir Ris. Sounds crazy for me to go all the way there hor?

Worry_mum, have u tried GUG? I find GUG can really expose our bb to lots of things but I feel that bb shd start developing their photographic memory first. Phonics can start later lor. What do u think?

shook, I think you can try flash faster and only flash 5 cards at a time.

giggler,

can u share with us how is the trial lesson u had at BJG like ? what did they do ? Did your bb enjoy ?

How bout GUG ? what do they teach over there ?

I also believe in glenn doman method and wanna send my bb to BJG if they teach that when he is 5 mths old.

Worrymum, I rec'd your email thanks. I replied u liao. Now, I not sure if I want my gal to go thru GUG which has more exposure or BJG which has right brain training leh. Can u share what's the actual class like? Cos BJG had their open house that day so they didnt really have a proper class.

poohy, BJG mostly do flash cards, they flash words, dots, ency, picture and even sing song as they flash the lyrics. Also they have a short session on gym.
GUG covers lots of things, they have phonics, story-telling, music & movement, then they show related things to the letter that they teach that day. For eg, they covered W, they intro water (really take water out to let bb feel), watermelon (let the bb eat and drink watermelon juice), whipped cream (let bb feel and even add one drop of red colouring to show them that white + red=pink). Very interesting hor? Which one will u send your bb to based on my description?
My gal enjoyed both GUG & BJG.

giggler,

I think I will send my boy to BJG first... I am more into glenn doman method.

do u flash cards to your gal at home though u r sending her for classes ?

btw, how old was your gal when u start flashing card ? The book recommended 5" words... but i only use 4"... did u print the words out using your printer or write it yourself ? i find it waste lots of ink...

poohy, I flash cards to my gal at home but not very diligent lah. If something crops up, I'll stop flashing. I think my gal was abt 6mths old when I start flashing cards. I wrote them using the thickest marker I can find at Popular.

poohy, I also thot of sending my gal to BJG first leh cos I into Glenn Doman method. But I also feel that I may have to expose Vane to other areas and not just flash cards lor. Sigh... headache man.

giggler,

i am thinking of trying to train my boy using GD method at home first... then send him to BJG when he is older...
You can start by sending your gal to bjg and then later on to other classes...

Giggler, I am currently showing the English flash card to my baby since he was 2 mths old. Now he is 8 mths old...wanted to send my baby for classes so am considering BJG & GUG. Can I check with you GUG got any trial lesson? What is their fee like and how many time per week?

Thks

poohy, heehee... I still cant decide bet GUG & BJG till now leh.

YeeYee, the trial class at GUG is $38. They have weekend classes which once a week. Cost $280 for a term (8 lessons).

Giggler, poohy, and other parents,

Just 1 2 share with you, how BJG teaches during the class.

1. Hello song + flash cards with lyrics
2. 2 to 3 sets English Nursery Songs + flash cards with lyrics
3. 1 to 2 sets Chinese Nursery Songs + flash cards with lyrics
4. 3 sets of RBS flash cards
5. RBS game (simple) - puzzle, matching, sewing, bowling, scooping, etc
6. Gym session about 10 mins
7. 2 sets of story time + flash cards
8. 3 sets Picture/Ency RBS flash cards
9. 1 set Maths Dots Flash Cards (sequence of 2,3,4,5 6,...10 etc
10. Goodbye Song + Flash Cards with lyrics
11. Children get "stamp/chop" on their hands/legs.

Total 1 hour per class, sometimes it might exceed till 1 hours 10 mins or so..

Total 1 term = 10 lessons, please do not expect you will have 10 different lessons, same songs will repeat for 3 - 4 lessons. Total 1 term = 3 different session.

RBS = Right brain stimulation, they will use 2 similar cards, namly A and B, the teacher will shows Card A for a few seconds, then shows both Card A & B, our children will have to take the correct card that shown earlier.

1 term = 10 lessons, but in actual facts, there is only 3 different session => the 3 - 4 weeks having the same repeated topic, so that the child can learn.

Worry Mum, thanks for your info. I'm still considering if I'm going for BJG class. How's the teacher at OCC? Do u show the same cards as the teacher when you're home after the lesson?

my boy likes the teacher very much..she is very friendly and easy get along with kids. I don't flash the same cards at home.

Giggler, thanks for your information. So you actually have gone for the trial lesson in BJG & GUG rite?

WorryMum, BJG teach so many things in 1 hr...is it good for the baby? For me I flash the card at home, wondering is it too much if I send my baby to BJG?

Worry Mum, so you'll flash your own set of cards at home? My col told me that her fren will write the same words as what BJG flash that week and flash to her kid. I'm given great discount at Pasir Ris branch so most likely I'll try out there for one term.

YeeYee, yup I've got for both BJG & GUG and we like both of them. My gal seems to enjoy both too. I also flash card at home too but I think it's shd be alrite lah.

YeeYee, each song about 3-5 mins, personally I don't think is too many, you can see that the child is enjoying... as it is only once a week, so I feel alright for that..

have been following this thread. Can i just check that BJG has ctrs in OCC and Pasir Ris? no more at Katong?

Giggler
where in Pasir Ris? Easy to travel by public transport? And how much is the class for 1 term?

sorrie mummies for the many qns