First-time Mum

printsinpink

I just tested positive using pregnancy test kit on 1 June and have yet to confirm my pregnancy with a gynae. As I'm a first-time mum, can I have recommendations on the choice of gynae please? Thanks..

hi u can go to TMC.. There r a lot of gynaes & clinics there too..i was seeing Dr Enuice Chua @ TMC. She is a nice lady. I gave birth there for my #1 & #2. Services there nt bad. U may try there if u wan to.

Hi Paulyn!

Congratulations! For me, my gynae was Dr Judy Wong @ TMC. I find that she's nice too and I would definitely go to her again if I'm having my No. 2.

Her clinic details as follow:-
Location is at TMC #04-08
Contact is 62552823

Good luck with your search for a good gynae! =)

Hi Paulyn,

Congrats!! My gynae was Dr Janice Ching from KKH.. She's a nice lady and is very patient too.. Price wise was affordable too.. U may consider her if u r interested..

Also, have u heard of Prufirstgift for preggy mums? This plan covers complications during preggy stage and birth as well.. if u r interested to know more pls feel free to email me at [email protected] for more info (my hubby's with UOB)..

Oh, u may wana consider hospitalisation, endowment and life plans for your little one's future too.. considering the fact that prices for education and healthcare are rising so freaking fast, as a mum myself i strongly encourage u to have some sort of protection and savings esp for your little one..

Happy planning and looking forward to your favorable response.. =)

Lai Chuen

P.S. no obligations so pls do feel free to contact even if its only for advise.. =)

My gynae is Prof John Tee from KKH. A nice and v.experience doctor who also helps you to save money too.

Hi Paulyn,

Congrats

Thanks for all the recommendation, ladies.. I just had my first gynae visit with Dr WK Tan from TMC and will most probably stick to her throughout my pregnancy..

Congrats all 1st time mums! I'm also going to be 1st time mummy too! Really excited.. Hope my baby will be born in dragon yr coz EDD close to cny...

Am first time mum also, my baby now is about 5 to 6 weeks as my last menses is on 18/05/2011...

Any good gynae with reasonable price to recommend?

Hi mummies to be, congrats on your pregnancy. 

I have some pregnancy books to let go cheaply, wonder if any of u r keen. The titles as follows: 

The day-by-day pregnancy book by Dr. Maggie Blott (hard cover) 
$15

Your pregnancy week by week by Glade B. Curtis (6th edition) 
$10 

Conception, pregnancy and birth by Dr. Mariam Stoppard (hardcover) 
$15

What to expect when you're expecting by Heidi Murkoff and Sharon Mazel (4th edition)  
$10

These books offer very good info to guide u thru ur pregnancy journey. Let me know if u r interested. Email me at [email protected]

iris: Hi.. those famous n lower range gynae is either Dr Adrian Woodworth or Dr Lawrence Ang.. But i dun like abit the thing is the long waiting time. depends which location u are looking at.. my gynae's clinic is at Blk 108 Hougang Avenue 1. Dr Poon King Fu. He's very nice, soft spoken, patient n ready to ans to all ur queries.. n his staff all very kind.. =) and best is he open 2 weekdays evening n half day on Saturday.. =)

Hi mummy-to-be, congrats to all, I am also expecting my first baby after trying to concieve for 3 yrs, but i got diabetic b4 i am pregnant, and i am worried abt the pregnancy...

Hi mommmies,

First time mom here too! I jus had my first apptmt scan at KKH, but my husband does not have good impression of the gynae tat served us. Dr KT Tan. So he's thinking of changing us to private hospital.

Anyone can recommend..? Im staying in the east, and would prefer female gynae.

Hi mommies to be, congrats to u.

I have maternal milk sachets for moms to be to let go at $0.50 per sachet.

Anmumx3pkts
Enfamamax17pkts
Frisox2pkts
Similacx11pkts.

PM me if keen. Self collect Bishan or by mail with postage added.

Hi all mommies-to-be, congratulations.
I'm a first time mummy too! My EDD is 1 week after CNY. But gynae said that first pregnancy usually will be earlier than EDD.
I'm currently seeing Dr Chia Yee Tien from Mount Elizabeth Hospital. I'm seeing her at her CCK clinic most of the time except special scans and blood tests.

Hi chomp chomp,

Yes.. As logically most preggy will be more stable from 18 weeks onwards.. U interested to buy? I can refer u to my hubby.. No obligations..

Also there's also another 2 plans which provides full protection for preggy u as well.. PRUmum2be and PRUlink protection plus account.. Which u can consider too.. I can help u ask my hubby for more details if u interested..

Juan

P.s. U may wana email me for more details.. Thanks..

Hi Juan,

my hubby have his own prudential agent

thus thats why i knew abt 18 weeks preg and prufirstgift

but have not seen the agent yet cos i 'm still on my 1st trimester

Hi chomp chomp,

No prob!! Oh btw congrats on your little bundle of joy!!
if there's anything i can help pls do feel free to contact me..
happy preggy!!

Juan

Hi Mummies to be

I'm from the April mummies 2011 thread, given birth to boy-girl twins (their 3mths+ now!!)

Want to start selling my maternity clothings since ulikely I will be giving birth again.

PM me if you are interested in getting almost brand new maternity clothes (bought mostly from Spring) Sizes are L/ XL, blouse, t-shirts, bottoms, 1pc swimming costume.

Ps: Ive also some bb items to sell i.e. BN Bottles, Medela breastmilk bags, breast pads etc

hi, i'm a first time mum.. just went see GP and confirmed I'm preggy.. 5 weeks..

want to check how soon do i need to wait til i see a gyn to chk bb? 6weeks?

can i join this tread?

as this is my ist preggy, can anyone advise how to cure the tiredness in me and i do feel cramps in me.. am 4 weeks plus preggy.. thanks.. =)

hi ester,
its called pregnancy fatigue

as fr me, lucky my superior understands. and she lets me off in the morning, and reports to work in the afternoon. but of course must take own leave lah ...

Congratz! im 1st time preggie too, edd end nov.

For cramps, you can prop ur feet up using a pillow whenever u hv craps @ night. alt u can wear socks to sleep. oso, u can soak ur feet in hot water to help blood circulation, but b careful as bb cant stand high temp so u cannot soak too long.

btw r u lookin into maternity clothes too? i bought mine @ http://www.*********/ v pretty n cheap clothes, got time can go c

Hello all 1st time mummies!

I am a 1st time mummy too and now in my 17th week.. Current EDD is on CNY.. So i am quite worried about getting a CL... It has been an exciting time since i knew i was preggie... Always looking fwd to gynae appt so I can see bb!! cant wait to share our experiences together!

hi blue_sun80,
u went for OSCAR test?

i chickened out last minute and opt for normal blood test instead ....

yet to do the blood test.... am so scared

Hi Chomp chomp,

No, i did not choose to go for OSCAR test. My hubby and I agreed that we will not go for it. I just went for the normal blood test for rubella, hepatitis etc.. Don't worry too much.. stay positive
Your bb will like to sense your good-feeling hormones too...

Hi I am first time Mum n deliverying by caesarean mid Feb. My Gynae is Dr. Ho HK from Mt ALvernia. Been with him since 2002. Excellent service by him n his nurses. A clinic u feel warmth in. Am now 12 weeks and am not gng for OSCAR as results r not very accurate so will go for detail scan around 20 weeks onwards suggested by some frds who went as anyway will keep this baby no matter what. God bless all Mummies here!!

Chergie: oh you aren't going for Oscar? My doc made appt for me on tomorrow. I just turn12 weeks yesterday. I am first time mom and first time being pregnant. I've been bed rest since yesterday as I hav very very light brown dischagre. I am on injection last Sunday. Hav to take three more injections

Just share my experience for my 1st bb on breastfeeding. Bad engorggement after my delivery and really thought that I will not be successful BF mom's. Till my fren recommend me to get advise frm traditional & holistic postnatal centre. They really support on Bf and shares lots of tips & advise that makes me a successful mom.Get advise on bf as we will be more prepare and enjoy each and everyday bf sessions with our baby.

agree with anne tay! just delivered 7 months ago and really having adequate bfing information really helps:) congrats all MTBs here!

went to see gynae for normal checkup every mth

was in tears when saw lil fella moving inside... as if practising dancing moves

will be doing triple test marker next mth ....
and hopefullie can know the gender too

hope the test went well!

Hi chomp.. What's triple test marker? This is my first pregnancy and I v kan cheong...

Like some I also did not go Oscar. This child of mine is a miracle no way will I do drastic moves.

I m Also buying the pregnancy insurance plan but a bit complicated for me. I need to go to sgh to get med report for my past surgery and need my gynae to write a letter certifying that both baby and me r fine...

hi catherine,
this is my first pregnancy too

according to gynae, triple test marker is to check if your bb is high risk factor of Down Syndrome baby ...
doesnt your gynae tells you anything?

Oh that one. I refused to do it. This baby is a miracle I m not doing anything drastic. I want to stay positive and hope the 20 Week scan will b fine

I'm a 1st time mum too. Am 8 weeks preggie and no symptoms of MS, cravings, etc. The only thing is my hormones went haywire and face started breaking out non stop in the last 2 weeks. Any of u going thru this too? I wonder if I have to last thru 9mths like that! ;(

Hi harrods, I am quite similar as u. Gg to be 8 weeks on Tues and bb have been good so far. No giving me MS nor cravings, except the pimples which pops out on my face and even scalp. haha. For the sake of seeing the little one, I think I can survive the pimples issue. Thus, hang on gal. Btw, have you seen a gynae yet?

Hi mums to be, this is also my #1 and am excited! Am currently in my 9W now. EDD is on the 24th June 2012.I have no MS or cravings just feel bloated and loss of appetite in the evenings.

We are looking for the following WOMEN aged 25 to 40 years old for a 2hours English speaking group discussion:

1) Pregnant Women - 5th Dec, Mon @ 3:45pm OR 7th Dec, Wed @ 1:45pm (only upon screening we will determine which group you belong to)

2) Mothers with at least 1 infant aged 6 to 10 months or 1 child aged 1 to 4 years old who drinks formula milk - 5th to 7th Dec @ 9:45am or 1:45pm or 3:45pm or 4:45pm (only upon screening we will determine which group you belong to)

* Location at Scotts Road.
* Any race. Singaporean.

Cash Incentive of S$100

Please SMS your name and age to Zara at 9189-2420 ASAP. Please do NOT PM.

Hi dragon mummies, this is oso my first pregnancy n am due mid april 12... I started having very bad stains on my teeth since the 2nd mth of my pregnancy... Just went to visit the dentist n gosh it was painful! I wonder how do i survive natural birth wif such low torelence level for pain

larson - there is epidural lol .. i oso have low pain endurance but still , manage 2 natural birth and 1 coming on e way in march too =)

hi i m also first time mum to be.. edd is 9 apr 2012.. do u feel thirsty after every meal even if u did drink water..?? i always feel thirsty n throat is dry after eating...

##### Offering Quality Home-cook Confinement Meals at Affordable Price! #####

Dear mums-to-be,

We, as parents, we do understand the physical and financial strains after the birth of the little precious ones. Hence we are introducing quality home-cook confinement meals at affordable price.

We are introducing our 28-days dual confinement meals package(lunch & dinner), priced at S$1000/=. We assure you quality confinement dishes and delivery to your doorstep for your convenience. Each confinement meal consists of a soup, meat dish and veggies dish. Complimentary red dates tea & steam rice will also be provided. Our extensive confinement menu includes the following:

- sesame chicken w/ sliced ginger;
- steam herbal chicken;
- stir-fried sliced fish w/ ginger & onion;
- pork knuckles in ginger & vinegar;
- black pepper lean pork w/ capsicums;
- pork ribs w/ papaya & peanuts soup;
- and many more!!!

Do PM me for more details! :)