Dr Tan Kian Sing from TCM

PGhua,
How you find Dr P.C. Wong? You see him as private? or with referral?
I have been ttcing for 2++ years liao.

Tanny99, why hb also need to go for blood/hormone test? For my case, he only asked me to do the blood test and my HB for SA test. Aiya, I think we all facing the same problem, Dr. Tan also comment my FSH high then some other either high or low. But the blood result figure in the report all fall within the range leh. the blood test in Raffle cost $80 and if you go to Raffles medical clinics, additional of $5.35 will be charge.

AnnissaKoh,
Keep monitor, maybe will shoot up to 36.6 tomorrow. So you seeing Dr. Tan tomorrow?

HeatherWhite
I see him as a private. He only see his patient in the morning except for 1st time consultation will be in the afternoon. I find that he is v. friendly and he will answer wathever questions you ask him but sometimes I feel that he is v. busy and hardly sits down long enough to talk especially when there is a lot of patients on that day. He keeps shuttling between 2 rooms.
Not sure whether by BBT is it too low,2day is CD8 and my tempt is 36.27. I have been ttc for almost 3 yrs. liao. Sometimes was thinking maybe is fate that I will be childless.

Heather> I got existing sa tests results which I shared which I shared wih dr tan. He says can't c one more analysis- something abt viability like Hr survival of sperm in the cervix miscus as sa test did not hv that data. Yr hb sa test got this data? So dr tan said my hb to go for hormone test which will also show LH, FSH and others etc; so that then he can aim the appropriate medicine.

Annissakoh> i got a referral letter since march but did not fix an apptm cos I was sick for a while since April to June...

Anni> not sure if I fix now, will they test for me rightaway the tests that I want or they will ask doc to give me the standard consultation first...

Doc tan says FH v high, no good cos i think he said this means womb linining is thin; difficult for implantation... He also say I may hv pcos. Errh but dr fong dd not say I hv this leh...

Today is my o day but my hubby too tired this am cos yesterday pm Bd. Sigh... Dunno toniight can a not... Else must wait next cycle....

Hi PSP, the operating hours are as follows:
Mon & Sat - 9.30am to 6pm
Tue, Wed & Fri - 1pm to 9pm
Wed & Sun & PH are closed.

Tanny99, I tot you going to try IUI?

Tanny99,
I got my fishmaw from Fajar wet market. You can try your luck there if you living near Bukit panjang. I tried going to Sengsiong and Gaint but couldn't get any.
In fact I still got two portions of fishmaw in my freezer, so wasted. My HB is not able to take the medication with the fishmaw.

PGHua,
How's the consultant charges like as private with Dr. P.C. Wong? He is the one who helped you did IVF also? I will get the contact with you again when I going to see him. Hope can get good news before seeing him. Will stick with Dr. Tan for few more months and see how.

Your BBT is good, should stay low at this range until you O. My BBT always high at 36.6C, Dr. Tan keep shaking his head when he sees my BBT chart.

Ya, I believe in fate. If it meant to be yours then will sure get it. We can only try our best to do whatever we can. If still don't have then just enjoy our life lar. My HB say if really childless then we can plan go tour every year. The only thing we scared is when we both old, and one go, the other party will be lonely.

Anyone watched the cartoon movie 'UPS'? The plot was so touched, the old man was so lonely after his wife died. They been a loving couples for years without kids. Sob...

heather> how much does yr fish maw cost?

yes, i had my iui yesterday. now its a 2 week wait for good news i hope. but i dont harbour too much hope else more disappointment. my hb count also not v good..so this time is really trying my luck..

hmm, what do u mean by yr" HB is not able to take the medication with the fishmaw.". thought we need to mix the medication with the fish maw?

Should be:
Mon & Sat - 9.30am to 6pm
Tue, Thu & Fri - 1pm to 9pm
Wed & Sun & PH are closed.

I've posted where to get the fish maw from Clementi Ave.2 wet market in earlier post, you may check the post for exact store number. I've also posted the picture. Not expensive, $6-8 per piece. 1 piece to be cut into 3 portions, to be cooked weekly in slow cooker. Dr will explain the recipe in detail to you.

HeatherWhite
As a private, the 1st time just consultation alone is ard S$130++. There will be additional charges if he do the scanning etc. on the same day.
If u want to enjoy the subsidised rate, think is best to get a referral letter from polyclinic but I was told that he do not see patient under subsidised. If you are thinking to see him, call n check with the clinic 1st.
Yes, IVF was done by him. Hopefully u have good news and dun have to see him. how long have u been seeing Dr. Tan???
If we are childless, is true can njoy life but I still think that the family is not complete without a child. As mentioned by you, one gone n the other will be v. lonely. Haiz... Try our best a jiayou jiayou.

PGHua,
Ok, noted with thanks. I will call the clinic to check it out before planning to see him.
Yeah, hope we can keep encouraging each other till we all get a BFP! I only see Dr. Tan for 2 cycles, coming will be my third cycle with him. Time pass! Previously was on 3 cycles of clomids, intended to do IUI. But no good numbers of eggs every time, so end up never try at all. Really is on fate...

Tanny99,
Clomid don't really help in stimulate more eggs for me. There is one month with 2 eggs at right size (~16-18mm) but my O falls on long weekends (natianal day). Missed my best time to do IUI, so decided to give up the IUI chance on that month. Thereafter, I stop and switch to Dr.Tan.

HeatherWhite
Still here. Nothing much to contribute these few days and have been a little busy. AF started at last yesterday but spotting only. Today also. Haiz... I just hope for the flow to increase and be a normal cycle. Hope I O this month and have high temperature coz next week will be staying 1 night at local hotel and week after will be going genting! Hope it'll be the right timing to BD :p Will not be visiting Dr Tan this cycle liao, just for a break since the next 2 weekends also not free.
I shall be happy this cycle. ha ha ha, if only it's that simple!
Yup, no exercise at the moment. There's ALWAYS something which spoils my plan one... :s

ProblemG,

Wah, actually is good to give yourself a break...Has been checking at HB's schedule planning to go for holiday. But he is busy all the way till next Jan. Haiz...
So you plan not to see Dr. Tan and stop taking his medicine this month ah? How about your HB? If can just go lor, don't stop, once stop will tend to be lazy later on. Keep going!

HeatherWhite
HB will still go. He has appointment tomorrow but since AF just started for me, can't go. I'll just continue with the meds I have until all finish lor. Will go back to see Dr Tan after I come back from Genting. Then again, the sat after that both of us have event... oops (next month super busy weekends liao). By then I may have O already so I go also only to get the post O meds. See how lor. Will ask HB to make appointment first.

oh... i see, really busy weekends. hehe... But still good to go poke poke if free lar. I believe it helps to warm up the womb and blood circulation around. Additional booster.
How you all go genting? By coach? I am planning a KL trip with my gals friends next month too. Go shop shop. hehe...
Feeling super sleepy here, the haze makes me feel sick, throat irritation.

HeatherWhite
Yup, going by coach. I'll be going up to genting for 1 night then down to KL for 2 nights.
I rather go to Dr Tan's when HB is going. I don't like to go alone :p
Everyday after lunch I also sleepy one. ha ha!
Thankfully haze doesn't really affect me except give me headache from the smell.

Sob... I also prefer to go with HB, but he not free leh. Sianz... Anyway, shopping trip also not for him too lar. He don't like to shop de. Hehe... Hey, the RM exchange is good these few days, can go change first. hehe...

Ladies, it's FRIDAY!!!!

There is medicince for EWCM!!! Dr Tan prescribed to me, not sure if it will work.

I decided that I should track all the medicine that I'm taking from him.

BBT was 36.2+ for 1 week, today was 36.1+. Nothing on OPK yet. Waiting game!!!

AnnissaKoh,

Yeah, It's Friday.

There is medicine for EWCM?! For how many days? Also in those powder forms? That is interesting. But why he gave to you?
Waiting game for O is the most exciting part in a cycle. I don't like 2ww.
keke...

HeatherWhite, I was surprised that he said he is going to give me medicine for EWCM too. I do have CM but not the EWCM during fertile days. Yes, it's in those powder form, to be taken for 1 course:
<table border=1><tr><td>For EWCM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dang Gui </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chong Wei Zi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jin Ying Zi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shu Di Huang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dan Shen </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cu Xiang Fu </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gou Qi Zi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ze Lan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wang Bu Liu Xing </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chi Shao </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yin Yang Huo </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

just taken my first medicine with mr tan. i hvae 15 small packs mixed with 1/3 of another pack - need to take it for 6 days. yucks, its very awful!!! but need to tahan for the sake of a bb!

went to wet mkt at my area but seem like they did not sell. i went from previous threads that clementi ave 2 has, but cant manage to find the post that says the stall no.

Tanny99, if I remembered correctly, is #01-28. It's the stall in the middle, selling the more "premium" fishes like cod, salmon.

Yeah, the haze has gone; hope it won't come back again.
Haiz, Monday again. So blues... My AF reported as excepted. Sigh, cycle need to restart again. so mentally tired sometime.

Annissakoh,
So do you see any EWCM after taking Dr. Tan's medication? Actually I also don't have EWCM during O.

Tanny99,
Fresh Threadfin fish maw is rather rare. Just go round the wet market and ask those fish stalls. PM me if you want to try your luck in Fajar wet market. I got the lady tel number whom I got my fish maw from last time. But I forget to note down the stall number, she told me to call her next time if I wanna look for fish maw before I go down. She said they don’t have fresh threadfin every day.
If really can’t get any fish maw, maybe can ask yr hb to try taking Dr. Tan's medicine alone first. Really not nice to drink it with fish maw. Maybe is good to get him used to the medication taste first then adds in fish maw when he gets comfortable. My HB now is trying to overcome his phobia in with the taste, will try adding in small amount of fish maw slowly, hoping he can take it till full recipe.

Wat do you mean by EWCM? CD13 still did not ovulate. Cycle range from 28-30 days. Today BBT was 36.

Hi PGHua,

EWCM mean egg white cervical mucus, a long strechy egg white like discharge during ovulation time. This can be an indication for your ovulation.
I think CD13 is still early, you should ovulate around 14-16 day (the lenght of your cycle - 14days). For my case, my cycle is 29-31 days, I will start doing my OPK on CD14, and should be able to get +ve on CD 15 or 16. Hope this helps you a bit. I am quite bad in explaination... hehe...
I think if you go back to Dr. Tan during these few days for poking, he will help you to press press your belly and estimate roughly how big is your follicles and when you will O. You not seeing him?

HeatherWhite
Tks. for your info. n explanation clearly understood.
Went poking on last sat. He did press my belly n bcos he said I was so sensitive n he can't feel anything. Supposed to go back again on either Tues./Thus. He ask me to walk in after work but Mrs. Tan said all appt. was fully booked. Need to wait until Fri...

PGHua,

Haha, his appt is always fully booked afterwork and weekends.
But I think will be a bit late to go back on Friday, most probably you have ovulated already. Just closely monitor for this few days and work hard ya. keke...

Sigh, I haven't booked my appt to see Dr. Tan yet. Poking routine again...

Hiya, I have been secretly stalking this thread for some time now. I am also a patient of Dr Tan. Hehe. I have been ttc for coming to two years! Hopefully he can help all of us!

Btw, some of you mentioned that you do not have sufficient EWCM during your fertile period. I have been taking Blackmores Conceive Well Gold for 3 months now and during the first month, I noticed improvement in my CM. Not sure if it will do some help for you girls too but personally I can see the difference in my CM after taking the pills.

HealtherWhite, no difference for me on the EWCM medicine. I can feel moist during fertile period, just that no EWCM.

Phylee, I've tried the Blackmore for 3-4 months but no difference for me.

PGhua, just go, I feel there is no difference between appointment and no appointment. If the slot patient hasnt turn up, they'll allow you to go in first. I ever kena called to go earlier when the slot patient cancelled at last minute. It was ok for me as I stay nearby.

Annissakoh
Tks. I just got a call from them last night, there is a slot available on thu. liao. Mrs. Tan told me if there is no appt. made, I need to wait even longer. They have to attend to those with appt. 1st. Me too also stay nearby.

AnnissaKoh,
This is my first time heard about Blackmore. Where do you all get it? Maybe I can try it too, is this a western or eastern medicine?

PhyLee,
How long you been seeing Dr. Tan? You seeing gynea too?

PGHua,
How's your OPK testing? See any dark line already?

ProblemG,
My BBT still high! Can I exchange my thermometer with you? sob...

HeatherWhite
Still did not see any dark line, wonder what's wrong. For the past few months when using OPK, I did see dark line on ard CD12-15. Mayb ovulate late this month. My BBT is low, CD15 @ 36.16.

PGhua,
No dark line but got fade line? Don't worry, maybe like what you said this month O late? Maybe dark line tomorrow.

Today is my CD4, temp at 36.67C
Hope can go down these few days before I see Dr. Tan next week. If not he got to shake his head when he sees my BBT. I think I need to sleep on ice bed in order to get low temp. :/

HeatherWhite
Ha ha. I also wish I can. Today is CD7 for me, AF is so little from day 1 till now, don't know when it will end. I just hope it can clear by Sat. Haiz. This cycle, my temperature is on a steady decline, reporting at 36.01 today! :s
I cross my fingers that I will O this month coz I started taking EPO last cycle and really hope it helps...

ProblemG,

36.01C! I will be happy enough if I can get 36.4C. Hey, you think should I start seeing fertility doctor? Because I have ovarian cyst and polyp, has been thinking should I go op to remove them then try? Sign... coming to year end again. Another year of trying... Last year hope to have a little tiger, and now hoping for little rabbit. Argh... Hope next year this time I can hold my rabbit in my arms.

HeatherWhite, have you spoke to Dr Tan about your cysts? Did he suggest you to go for op to remove them? I have a friend who went for keyhole surgery to remove the cysts but they came back a year later. Before she went for her 2nd surgery, she conceived naturally
I think it's good for you to seek a 2nd opinion from gynae too.

The blackmores conceive well pills are like vitamin pills. You gotta take 2 pills (1 tablet and 1 capsule) daily. You can get them at guardian/watson. I think one box (28 tablets and 28 capsules) is about $46.

Have you tried Preseed lubricant? It can help if you have little/no EWCM. Preseed is sperm friendly. I tried them for one month only but later got lazy :p I saw on some forum that we can also try applying preseed on hubby before bd. I might try this method this month

I have been to two gynaes. One said I have PCOS while the other said I don't since I have regular menses and I "don't look like a man" (in the gynae's exact words. He meant I don't have excess body hair. haha) I had seen Dr Tan for 3 cycles beginning of 2010 but stopped cuz I was a little disappointed. Dr Tan also said that Im pretty healthy. After which I went to the two gynaes for fertility checks. But recently i kept getting sick so will go back to Dr Tan again with all the medical records, hubby's SA etc for him to take a look, shun bian tiao my body.

Good luck girls. Our cycles are quite close! Im on CD5 today. We must encourage each another here
all the best and baby dust to all

Heather> I think it's good to c gynae for a check first, at peat if need help can start earlier. My hb juz told me that hs frn's wife saw tcm one year also no news. Then c gynae n went for some surgery to remove cysts, afterthat conceive naturally !! How long u seeing dr tan? Oh I have >half a box of blackmores. I don't really like it n stopped eating. Now I'm eating gynae pills. If u wanna try try first, cam help to get fr me (special price)..

Hi PhyLee &amp; Tanny99,
Thanks thanks for your advice and encouragement. I shall go seek for second opinion with fertility doctor. I have been to 2 TCM doctors and 1 gynea. The very first TCM Dr I saw is a lady in JE (Yin chuan), but I only see her one time. And I stop cos don't really comfortable with her. Both TCM Drs say no need to remove cysts and polyps for my case. I think according to Chinese TCM, they don't like patient to do operation if not necessary. Cos operation will disturb the body system.
And my gynea I was seeing also nv push me for any operation. Her suggestion for me that time was to try naturally with the help of taking clomid. But later on she suggested going straight for IUI after seeing HB's SA result. If no news then will need to proceed to IVF. But before IVF I need to go for op to remove my polyps and cysts. She also explains clearly to me that the cyst and polyp will reoccur after sometime. Then partly I am also scared to go through operation and decided to try naturally and hope got luck with Dr. Tan’s treatment. After try and error for so many months, maybe is time for me to look into operation choice.
Now got to ask my favorite question again, any good fertility doctor to recommend? I am considering seeing PgHua’s gynea at NUH - Prof. PC Wong. But I am not able to get others comments on him when searching online.

Tanny99, I think I will not try the Blackmore now. Already lazy to take Dr. Tan's medicine sometime. Hehe, I bet I will take the pill and capsule everyday. haha...

Yeah, hope we all gets our ‘rabbit’ soon!

HeatherWhite
Low temps also headache coz it doesn't go up enough after O! ha ha.
Good luck with your progress. I also wish for a bb real soon.

I tried calling Dr Tan Kian Sing's clinic this morning but nobody answered the calls.

Is the clinic closed? Do we need to make appt or can we should walk in?