Dr Tan Kian Sing from TCM

Nope, Dr Tan's not in on Sat.
Today is CD33! The suspense is killing me. I keep expecting to see red everytime I go to the toilet since I keep getting AF like cramps every now and then :s
I don't dare to test as my AF has been late before and it's not known to be on time. Haiz...

ProblemG,

I know your feeling. I hate the suspension feeling when AF is coming too. One hand don't hope to see it, on the other hand PMS feeling telling you AF is sure reporting. And mood will hit the valley when seeing red. This is the up down feeling I experience every month. So sick of it. But what to do? Just hang on there ok.
You O on CD22 this month right? If so, CD22+14 = CD36 should be the day. But finger cross for you, maybe you can test if AF still not reporting by Friday? Now I learnt not to think too much, also save my pregnancy test strips. So don't think too much for this few days ok? Try something to divert your attention?
So did Dr. Tan’s assistant call your husband to inform you all that Dr. Tan not in on last Sat? Just started my Post O medication today, actually suppose to start yesterday but totally forget about. Haha…

HeatherWhite
My temperature today is 36.3, still no rise during this period after O. Sian lor.
Yup, hubby got the call so he'll just go this Sat instead.

How's day so far? This thread is getting more and more quiet.
Hmn, anyone believe in Feng Shui? One of my friend advice me to get a pair of fengshui elephant to enhance fertility luck. Hee... She very believe in all these. Should I go and get a pair too?

Ya, is Dr. Tan also good in female problems? My friend is interested in seeing TCM. She just had an operation to remove cyst and now thinking to tiao her body. Don't know if she is suitable to see Dr. Tan too? She just want to 'tiao' her body not seeing for fertility issues.

HeatherWhite
Today is so boring. Only interesting thing is the email exchange between me and an Aussie colleague about books and guys. Ha ha. I'm so sleepy now. There's work to do but trying to put it off till another time... I want to go home to watch TV :p
So bad right?!

ProblemG,

Hehe, same here! So boring and sleepy, and its only Tuesday.
Got work to clear but no mood to do. hehe... Was chatting with my friend on MSN too. Ops... Just between U and me here, haha... Very bad, but very lazy. Support you... let's wait for knock off time! hehe...
Wah, topic abt guys? Sounds interesting... ;) haha...

Going to knock off soon liao, 5.30pm.

It's about the type of guys we like to watch. I like Simon Baker and she likes Jon Hamm. It started out with us recommending books to read then I told her my time was torn between reading and watching Mentalist (just coz Simon's HOT). :p

hello gals, how are you doing so far?

Last Sat, didnt see Dr Tan, good 2 weeks break from those awful medicine.

It's health screening at work today. dreaded blood test again this morning. I'm too sensitive liao. the puncture wound still hurts and i don't dare to bend my arm... only half as productive today :p ha ha

Hello! I am back... was busy these two days at work, no time to log in. hehe...

Wah ProblemG, blood test for health screeing again? haha, i think you getting more and more experience in this liao.

Hi Hwei,
Same here, my bbt is high too, specially this month. But not sure if is the effect after seeing Dr. Tan. Maybe you can discuss with Dr. Tan on this, I think he will be able to adjust your medication. He does take out certain herbs and add in those with clear blood, cool heat's herbs for me. I guess just need to be patient on this TCM treatment. Sometime I do also wonder how long should I stick with this treatment. Nobody knows, sigh, just follows instinct ba.

HeatherWhite
Health screening is once a year so just do it. Luckily, the needle prick wasn't too painful this round and I didn't feel anything throughout the process. It was only after talking to my colleague did I realize they took 3 tubes of blood lei! Of course I didn't dare look so I thought they only took 2. :p

ProblemG, hey today is ‘Friday’! hehe… any sign? If not, then can test test liao… **wink wink** praying for you ya…

Hi Hwei,
This is only my second cycle with Dr. Tan, HB is also seeing him at the same time. He has count and morphology problem. My BBT was not able to go down even after he adjust my Pre-O medication. And he was very puzzled on my high BBT too, at least yours is able to go down to 36.3C, mine on average is 36.6C. Quite worrying for this too. Sigh…
For this month I tested OPK positive at CD 15 nite and my BBT tt day was 36.6C but only went up to 36.8C on CD 18. I also not sure is the best timing to BD. According to Dr. Tan, he only told me to BD continuous for 3 days after seeing the LH surge using OPK. I find this way can be more stressful, and in fact I don’t like to BD cos we need to do! So not in the mood! Sigh… Actually my friend suggest me to do alternate day without looking at your BBT or OPK. Confused… helpless… just try and error. ^-^!

HeatherWhite
Haiz. AF haven't come... but hor, my temperature never go up also. Today still stuck at 36.2. It's so disappointing. I will test tomorrow morning before I go see Dr Tan.
I wonder if it's possible to be preggy without temperature rising?! Today CD37 liao but I have missed AF by 3 weeks once before
I hope don't need to wait so long this time.
Funny thing is by evening, when I take my temperature again, it'll be about 36.8.

Hwei
For my case, very funny. When I take the ATY, my temperature will drop 0.1 degrees the next day... I only took 2 rounds this cycle then don't dare to take liao...

Anyone take temperature again in the evenings? Is it always higher than the morning?

ProblemG, what time in the evening you measure? This curious me on my temp in the evening, shall measure and see my temp in the evening... Hehe… Oh, you be seeing Dr. Tan tomorrow? I think will be many people seeing him tmr since he was not around last Sat. I am on 2 weeks break from his poking… keke…

Hwei,
Yes, my BBT is high till scary, ave 36.6C. Dr. Tan keep saying no good to have high temp before O. He did help me to analyze my blood test results, but he went through too fast and soft, can’t able to catch him cleary. Just remembered he comment some high some low lar. Sigh, BD to us is coming a chore?! No good no good… Ya, I think I will try alternate day for my next cycle. I am on 2ww too! My cycle quite ok from 29 to 32 days. If no strike, next week will be meeting my ‘aunt’ again

Have you been seeing western gynea before?

Hwei
Maybe my mind is thinking of excuses for me to not take the ATY bah. ha ha ha. This cycle my temperatures all below 36.3 one. If this means I don't O, very sad lei. This is 2nd month like that liao. All the meds like not helping.
My HB's sperm count also very sad and volume very low some more.

HeatherWhite
The timing I take during evening is not fixed one but I try to make sure I've been resting at least 2hrs before taking. Meaning, if I get home around 6pm, I'll just sit at my computer with the fan on for 2 hrs before taking temperature. No food or drink. If I have dinner at 7pm, I'll take my temperature around 9pm, bathe only after that.

Hwei,
Wah, you can remember all the test results ah? I can only remember my HB morpho only 2% and with low count and volume too! Sigh… Was depressed when I see his first test result. He actually went for a second test in CARE requested by Dr. Tan last month. Expected and sad to know not much improvement from his first test result. Still low at 2% morpho, I ever read some info from internet, some studies say there is no solution for morphology issues. And no one knows what is the actual cause too. HB was also on multivit (Vigor-ace) since Feb. But stop after 3 months and switch to mega-man from GNC cos the vigor-ace must prescribe by gynea. And he stop taking multivit after seeing Dr. Tan and switch to his Chinese medicine. Just follows what we been instructed with hope.
I am also thinking to look for a fertility specialist after no luck with Dr. Tan. Maybe will set myself a timeline to follow. Fingers cross that I no need to go into IVF path!

ProblemG,
Ok I try to measure. Yeah, getting ready to knock off lor! Throw all the worries behind… hehe… TGIF!

Gals, have a nice weekend ahead ya.

Yesterday saw Dr Tan, he touched and told me got 3 eggs, not sure which will be released, fingers & toes crossed. Will see him again on Thur.

if preggy, dr tan can give herbs for an tai? hmm,, can do acupuncture in the first 3 months preggy - cannot right?

heather> my HB too. his morphology is 0-1% in 2 SA tests!!! v headache...

Tanny99, no accupuncture after ovulation, he prescribes 安胎药 after ovulation. Though nothing confirm yet, but needs to eat till AF reports.

Did he ask your HB to take fish maws?

I did not hv a chance to see him yet. Had fixed an apptm few weeks ago but was cancelled by him cos he wasn't available those days. Then managed to book this Tue evening apptm but........My gynae told me he is gg to do iui this Tue pm...So I wonder if I shld still see him this Tue evening? Doesn't seem like a good idea cos shld b at hm resting. But then his apptm is like so hard to fix. I think I c him Tue night to see what he say and maybe some herbs to help the implantation or conceiving for this iui?

Hi, New in this thread. Just started to c Dr. Tan for abt a month. Any advice fish maws need to take for how long???

Hihi morning ladies, hope everyone had a relax weekend.

ProblemG, how’s your visit to Dr. Tan last sat? Any advise he gave you? I measured my night body temperature, slight higher. The difference not very big tho, my morning BBT at 36.92C and night one is 36.94C like tt. Ending on my 2ww soon, my AF symptoms reported. Guess this month no strike again.

AnnissaKoh,
Dr. Tan felt 3 eggs? Waow... tt’s good news… Jia you!

Tanny99,
If you are doing IUI this Tuesday then maybe change your appt again? I think better back home lie down and rest? But you can see Dr. Tan other day if you want to take ‘an tai yao’? Which gynea you seeing?

PGhua,
Welcome to this thread. Not sure HB need to take fish maw for how long, probably till satisfying improvement? My hb can’t swallow the medication with sticky fish maw texture.

Hwei,
I am expecting my AF to report soon. So sian leh. I am in the up down mood again...
Waow, your HB SA improved? On morphology? Too bad my HB can’t take Dr. Tan’s fish maw recipe. But still hope his SA will improve also.

HeatherWhite
Just waiting for AF to report. HB had to wait 2 hrs to see Dr Tan!!!
Thinking to start a proper exercise regieme but everytime sure got some excuse to not do it... ha ha ha

HeatherWhite
Tks. My hb also can't swallow, need to force himself to drink it. Went for 2 rounds of IVF both was not success, had a miscarriage for the 2nd round. Hopefully, Dr. Tan can help and dun have to go for 3rds of IVF. Haiz, stress sometimes.

ProblemG, my hb getting more and more lazy to go see Dr. Tan. He never make appt for his next visit after last week session. I didn’t push him for seeing Dr. Tan, thinking to give him a break too. I think he is also tired liao… hehe… I told him to wait for my AF then go together after that.
Haha, exercise? Hehe, been thinking of that for ages too! But a bit hard, always scare of doing vigorous exercise during 2ww. I think this is simply an excuse too keke… Just being lazy. I support you! Go go! Go plan… hee… I should plan mine too… ;P

PGHua, I didn’t force him to drink the fish maw recipe. I can see he tried his best to swallow it but I think he really can’t take it. He vomited all his lunch out after trying to drink it. Haha…
I really admire you for going through IVF. I am so reluctant to push myself to try this. How’s the experience like? Can share a bit here? I also hope TCM can help all of us here to get BFP! The more I hope the more I get disappointed sometime. How I wish I can totally give up on this hope sometime.

HeatherWhite
I only told him to try his best if really cannot swallow then bobian loh. In fact, I was so reluctant to go thru IVF cos is was v exp. n scared of injection. Not a plesant experience. The whole cycle took approx. 6 weeks n u need to have patience and you must have the courage to "pok" your tummy area. I dare not do it myself so hb have to do it for me every morning for 4 weeks n later another 2 more weeks morning and evening. I always get v. disappointed when my AF report.

PGHua,
Thanks for sharing. I know it needs a lot of courage and determination to go through it. Injection everyday is no joke, I don’t think I can pok myself too.
That’s y I really admire you to have gone through IVF before. You are so strong, I can’t even dare to think of this at this moment. Any side effect after going through IVF injection? What does Dr. Tan say when you first seeing him? He is a very encouraging doctor, in fact he boost my confident level in conceiving naturally after my first visit with him. Pray hard that he really can help us up.

Last night, I took my temp, was lower than morning. Morning was 35.26 then night was 36.17, this morning was 36.25.

Dr Tan commented that stress is a killer in TTC era, especially for woman as compared to man. Let's learn to relax more.

He mentioned, BBT temp should rise steadily after O, should not have any downs.

Heather> my gynae is dr fong yang.

ProblemG> Yr hb waited 2 hrs to c dr tan? I tot got apptm? Got apptm still need to wait so long? Or everyone took ver long?

Fishmaw - how to cook it?Dr tan has a recipe? Actually I love fish maw a lot leh- Not smelly - Taste v nice. Can cook it like those clay pot style?

My hb morphology only 0-1%! My hb still v funny say it's a lot- it's 1% of millions sperms so it's still a lot! All it takes it's juz one. Alemark!!

Tanny99, it's FRESH threadfin fish maw, not the dried one.

Yes, with appointment also needs to wait. Last Sat, my appt was 5.30pm, so many patients at the clinic, we went for dinner then go back around 7pm, still needs to wait for another 2 patients.

tanny99
Yup, have to use fresh one.
The usual waititng time is 1 hr. I think last Sat had such a long waiting time coz Dr Tan wasn't in the sat before that.
Typically, for us ladies, we see Dr Tan from after AF to before O. For guys, if there is a need, it's a weekly visit.
Your HB very cute. He's so optimistic! ha ha ha.

HeatherWhite
No side effect except blue black on the injection area. I mentioned to Dr. Tan, he just ask me whether at that time did I go to any TCM. Just hope that Dr. Tan can do miracle in helping all of us here.

Tanny99
We have appt. last Wed. @ 8PM., waited until 10pm.
Is a 2 hrs. wait.

annissakoh > oh ic. eeek must be smelly. i rem u buy it from some supermart like sheng shiong? do u hv the recipe as in how to cook it -or dr tan will provide the recipe?

i think my hb may need it too - wait till I go n see dr tan.

ProblemG > so ladies see him after AF to before O - is it weekly basis? means like every tue? so he will also poke needles/ acupuncture if he thinks we need it?

ya lo,i told my HB - "u only got 1 working sperm, cos morphology so low". he refuted and say 1% is actually still a lot, cos its supposed to be in millions! (like that also can! hahaha) btw, my gynae says 2% morphology is v common with men in Singapore.(maybe all those who seek help fall into this group...)

hey... my gynae also know about this chinese tcm dr tan! he can give me this dr tan clementi contact/ address when i asked him which tcm his customers go to.

Annissakoh,
Sigh, I agree we all are under certain ttcing stress especially after so many fail attempts. How to relax when seeing friends around me breaking their 'good' news to me one by one.

Tanny99,
Haha, as what AnnissaKoh say the fish maw is the fresh kind! Very different from the dried one. And it is drink together with Dr. Tan medication powder for HB only. haha... Imagine the fishy sticky texture… lucky not for me… keke…
Your HB is right it's juz one out of the millions need to make the miracle happens. Sigh, why so hard leh... just one will do!

Tanny99,
Yes, threadfin fish maw. And Dr. Tan will actually explain and give you the recipe himself if he think your HB need to drink it. Normally he will recommend husband to drink it once a week during weekend.
For poking, I usually go back after my AF is cleared. Dr. Tan will request you to go back one or twice before you O. Thereafter, no poking is needed will need to wait after anohter AF. But Dr. Tan will give 'an tai yao' for taking after O till next AF for everyday. My HB go back to see Dr. Tan everyweek. You seeing him today or other day? Dr. Fong Yong's clinic is at Tiong Bahru there? Is he good?

tanny99
From the time between after AF and before O is usually 2-3 weeks for me. I usually just make 1 appointment for after AF then when I go see Dr Tan, he will advise when to go back and see him again.

HeatherWhite
I've seen Dr Fong Yang once before, he was the first gynae I saw on my TTC journey. Didn't like his verdic on my 'condition' so went NUH for second opinion. Never went back to him after that but otherwise, he's quite ok bah. From what I hear, his clinic at Paragon is better.

ProblemG,
I am thinking to look for NUH fertility doctor too, any recommendation? Are you going there as private? How’s the charges like? You still follow up in NUH now?
I think I will stop taking Dr. Tan 'an tai you' today...

<font color="aa00aa">tanny99,
You can search through the archive on the preparation of the fish maw with Dr Tan's medicine.

My friend's HB morphology was only 1% when she was pregnant with her second child. So, there's definitely hope for everyone here.</font>

yeah bbloh, I like what tanny99 HB’s philosophy: "All it take is just one out of the million!" Should go back and share this tots with my HB tonight. hehe...

HeatherWhite
I went Jurong Medical Centre and saw Dr Su Lin Lin (if I remeber correctly) when they still had a clinic there. It was closed down soon after and Dr Su was transferred back to NUH. I find it too out of the way so I didn't go back. Dr Su is quite nice and I find that she's the most gentle female doctor (males are still gentler though)I'm encountered so far. My last doc is Dr Ang from Gleneagles and likely to stick to seeing her.

ProblemG,

Thanks for your info. For me NUH is near to my work place. So I am thinking to see if there is any good fertility Doctor. It will be easier for me to do the follow up. My previous gynea is from TMC, quite inaccessible also need to take leave everytime.

How's your exercise plan going? hehe...

Dun mind I ask how long have u all been ttc?

HeatherWhite
For NUH, u can try Prof. P C Wong. He is also my gynea.

HeatherWhite
Exercise... er... ha ha ha! Yesterday HB came home late so by the time I finish dinner already 9pm. No time to go for jog liao. Last year, HB and I would go to the gym at sports complex nearby on Suns. It lasted about 5 weeks then no more. I don't like to move when it's at the peak of my AF. ha ha!

PGHua
I've been TTCing for more than 2 yrs. lost count exactly how long liao.

I just went to see dr tan today and yes, he also asked my hb to take fish maw.he also prescribed a bottle of pills for him to take. He's going to send both of us for Blood /Hormone Test at Raffles Hospital. He want to check if I have PCOS..So I need to wait much later to do the test.

I think if this time fail, I try TCM route. Too much English medicine is not very good - a lot of side effects here n there..

Says my FH is too high and LH is too low. (Dun understand also - say need to have at least 14 days before next cycle)

Heather> Dr Fong Yang is ok so far - Im quite comfortable with him and his nurses are v nice n frenly too.

PGPhua> I've been ttc on n off for the past 2 years plus.

Dr Tan says he has several couples who conceive under TCM, just before they need to do IVF! That is a booster!

btw, i was thinking if we go kkh (by polyclinic referral) to do blood test, it will be cheaper? This test he mentioned cost $75/-

Tanny99, if you do referral, will need to wait right?

My BBT is haywired for this cycle, I'm having 36.2+ for the last 4 days, no positive OPK detected yet. Usual is 2 days 36.2+ then 36.6+.

Please dont tell me Dr Tan is good at "estimation" of my egg, he said can see me on Thur.