Dr Lawrence Ang @ Sun Plaza

Hong,
Detailed scan at TMC is not 3D scan. The print out is on paper and it looks like those we done at the clinic.
But few weeks ago after my detailed scan i went back to Dr Ang and he gave me 1 free scan of 3D scan(but in black print out) on his machine.

Jenny/ Ann,

Thanks for ur reply.

Ann, i dun know can i request Dr Ang to do a 3D scan for me cos i usually see him at TMC and not sun plaza. wanted to see how my baby will look like. Like me or hubby. I very "wu lao" right! hahaha

i just went to See Dr Ang abt 2 days back as according to him is abt $200-$300/- normal delivery more complex delivery is at least $600/- and his consulation is $550 (package)... so which is true....

Hong,

hehe, actually quite fun to see the scan when he show on the screen. But i feel the print out in black not so clear as on screen. Is his clinic at TMC always full also?

Hve you done your detailed scan? Mayb you can ask him if he does 3D scan at TMC. My friend was with him too & he gave her 1 free scan too.

Hi everyone here,

I seen Dr ang when i had my 2nd daughter. My personal opinion was he is a gentle & patient gynae. Coz' i was staying quite far frm his clinic, so he suggest to me if nt he can c me at TMC loh. But sometimes i would c him when he having nite clinic. I told everyone he is fantastic in his stitching. I don feel any pain at all loh, n can get down frm bed after i woke up frm my sleep. He advise me nt to take epidural which i reali nv take. My baby came out after 45mins!! When im having my 1st baby at KK, i took epidural & she took 3 hrs to come out. He is reali a patient doc loh, n nw i even recommended him to my sis. She oso feels the same. N whenever i hav probs or enquiries i can oso call him up anytime of the day loh, n he is patient to ans all my questions on the fone.

karen lee
i agree with u. thumbs up for dr lawrence ang. i also din take epidural cos he say no nid to take.

Yes! I do agree with you that Dr Lawerance Ang is the Cheapest..
But I had encounter a bad experience from him.

When I was pregnant with my second child, I was recommeded by my friends that Dr Lawerance Ang is good & cheap, so I switch my Gynae to him! His clinic is also very near to my house!

Once When I had my scanning there for 2nd month of my 2nd baby, He told me that my baby heart beat is very slow & also cannot see clearly the heart. He give me injection & vitamins to consumed.
I was also told by him that, he was cheap b'cause his machine is not up-to-date yet!

But later at night I had lost my baby.(Miscarrige).

I'm so regretted that I had change my Gynae just because I want to be near my house & also to save $$ n find a cheap Gynae!!

Soon later I was pregnant again, I told myself that I will not visit him again.

So I go n visit Dr Hendry Cheng at Bishan. My elder daughter was delivered by him, very smoothly! So my next child was also deliver by him. But on my last trimester, I was told that I has fungal infection and this will cause lung infection to the baby. I was very scare.

He was very strict to me n make sure I was cure..
Ever nurse is also scare of him they why when I stay in the hospital, they did not mis-treated me..

Finally my next baby comes out smoothly. I can remember the day when I was in the operation room, he was so carfully looking after me so gentle & make sure nothing goes wrong.

I ever asked other doctor about him, they say he is a very famous gyna. He very responsible but a bit expensive lah!

So he is my best recommentation to u all.

KK kids Mum,
Dr Ang had upgraded his machine already.
Not trying to defend for Dr Ang but I think it is fate with the bb. If one has no fate with the bb, no matter how famous/expensive/good the gynae is, also no use. Which gynae wants their patients to lose the bbs? Cheap doesn't mean he is no good.

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">KK Kids Mum</font>,

Dr. Ang's charges is cheap doesn't means he's no good. He always respond to my sms even if it's 12 plus midnite.

When I had slight blood discharge during my 35th week, he insisted that I drop by TMC for him to check. I was the one who took it lightly until my waterbag suddenly burst in office. I was all alone &amp; totally freak out. I left a message for Dr Ang &amp; he called back within mins. Kept assuring me on the phone tt things gona be alrite &amp; he'll be in TMC waiting for me while I waited for my cab to come.

He poped by my ward quite a few times when I was waiting for contraction to kick in. He was also the one who encouraged me not to use epidural &amp; I delivered my ger in less than an hour.

He's a responsible gynae though sometimes abit too busy. I'm sure he didn't want tt to happen to u</font>

Jenny,

Dr Ang delivered my 1st baby also, and i agree tt he is a very nice and responsible gynae, he is also my sis and cousin's gynae. I understand ur pt in defending him but i think ur remark is a bit insensative .... imagine urself in her position and someone told u tt u and ur baby is not fated to be together and thus it happened, how do u feel? Pls dun say such thing to someone who has lost her bb b4, i think its very hurting.

KK kids mum,

Glad to know tt ur no.2 has arrived smoothly. Dr Ang is actually a very nice and responsible doc. For my 1st bb, his growth slow down during my 3rd trimester, and i was actually very scared and cried in front of him, he was very reassuring, and sent me for some test in TMC. I think he knows tt those test r not cheap, so he didnt charge me any consultancy fees on tt visit which he sent me for the test.

I changed gynae at my 20th week, so i didnt sign up any package with him, and i paid him per visit. He said its not worthwhile signing up the package since i was already in my 20th week. So i was charged per visit up to a max of $400. On the day which he sent me for test, i hadnt chalked up $400 of consultancy fees yet, so i was supposed to pay him, but he told the nurse not to charge me.

And on my next visit, the nurse told me tt Dr Ang has been asking her when was my next visit, so tt he can reassure me tt my bb is alright, coz i cried in front of him the last visit, he was afriad tt i had been thinking too much.

Just sharing my experience with Dr Ang. Hope all mummies will hv good experiences with him.

Hi newbiez,
I said I'm not trying to defend Dr Ang. I think you got it wrong.
I have friends married for years but unable to conceive, 2 aunties who had miscarriage 3 and 2 times each and friends who even had still birth bbs. It was hard time for them. Who choose to lose the bbs? No one will want. I'm not trying to pin point at anyone. Frankly speaking, I strongly believe it is the fate with the bb. Even the pregnancy is a smooth one, it doesn't mean the bb will be healthy. I believe fate plays a very impt part, hence we can be as a family.
I had a very bad experience after delivery and almost die. So shall I said Dr Ang didn't do his best to help me avoid the complications? No, it is my body, my fate. And I'm not blaming anyone for it. I almost lost my life after my 1st delivery, but I still go back to Dr Ang for my No.2 cos I feel he is a responsible gynae.
I feel gynaes are very poor thing. When one has a healthy bb, all they did was to say thank you and off they go. And if there is No. 2, they will go back to him/her again. But when there is complications, ppl will shift the blame to them.

I agree with Jenny althot my 1st child is not delivered by Dr Ang but i can sense his concerned for all this patients.

KK Kids Mum,
Sorry to hear abt the bad incident but i think is quite unfair to judge Dr Ang like this.
If he doesnt give u any injection does that mean u wun lost ur child? If Dr Ang doesnt do anything does it mean it is his fault too??

Ann,
I see Dr Ang at TMC but the machine that is not too advanced. Only 2D scan. I requested to see baby in 3D and he agreed. I think he understand all mums wanna see their baby before giving birth. I love the nurses in TMC. They are all very caring and nice.

I am seeing Dr Ang tmr morning at TMC. He will arrange the next visit at his clinic for 3D scan. Must remind him that he promised me that! hahaha.

I think the gynae experience is a very personal one and different people may have different feedback on the same gynae. Why? Because the consultation involves interaction between 2 (or more) humans and if one feels that one can't "connect" with the communication style of the gynae, one might not have confidence in him/her.

Let me share my experience with Dr Ang so far. I found myself preggie (1st child) in Jan this year and after scanning through the comments posted in various online forums, decided to choose Dr Ang as my gynae. When I visited him around "wk 7", we weren't able see any heartbeat at all and the baby was found to be undersized for its age. After some analysis, we concluded that the baby was most probably only 5+ wks. I was prescribed some pills to support the pregnancy and told to return 1 week later. The next checkup brought good news - we saw the baby's heartbeat. So my next appointment was fixed for 3 weeks later. However, during this checkup on wk 9, we couldn't see the heartbeat anymore and also the baby didn't seem to have grown much, meaning I've had a "missed" miscarriage.

Looking through my experience, one might ask, was there anything Dr Ang could have done for me? eg, should he have monitored me more frequently, should he have prescribed me additional hormone pills after my second visit etc, could he have given me additional advice so that I can take care of myself better? My answer is NO. Hubby and I feel that there wasn't anything amiss with his care-plan for baby and me. To us, he has executed his professional duty properly and there's nothing much he could have done to save our baby. According to research, easily 20% of all pregnancies end in miscarriage in the 1st trimester and one of the leading causes of miscarriage is due to genetic defect in the embryo. In this case, natural selection will cause the pregnancy to auto-terminate. I'd rather let nature takes its course rather than having my doctor trying to save the baby and I give birth subsequently to a baby with health problems. Just FYI, Dr Ang's wife also had a miscarriage for their first pregnancy.

In conclusion, yes, Dr Ang may be cheaper than other good gynaes <u>but</u> he does not compromise on his quality of care. In fact, I have decided (with the support from my hubby) that we will return to him when I am preggie again.

Fyi... Dr ang has upgraded his machine oreadi. My cousin oso went to a gynae at TMC, but den when was told that i recommended Dr ang to my sis, she said hw come i nv tell her long ago?? Her gynae (infact im nt quite sure of the name myself, tink its something like Florence??), she told me kept asking $$ frm her. Every nw &amp; then she will say my cousin need to pay for this &amp; that, but in fact my cousin had oreadi paid $880 to her upfront oreadi. She said she feels cheated men. So Dr ang is still the best for me lah. Even if im having my 3rd child, i will still go to him.

Any mummies here give birth by Caeserean by Dr Ang? My 1st girl was delived by Dr Ang through natural birth

I'm in my 30weeks but baby head had not turn down. Just worried if Dr Ang will do a great job in stiching back the wound.And how is Caeserean done?

<font face="Calisto mt"><font color="0000ff">Ann</font>,

My fren had Caeserean &amp; she said tt Dr Ang's stitiching is great. Even her MIL &amp; SIL commented e same. She said she can even wear back Bikini now

Try toking to ur BB, asking him/her to turn. it might helps</font>

Ann,
u are two week earlier than me.

My baby still in breech position too but i think he shld turn later.

My 1st daughter also liek that. I prayed and asked her to turn and she turn later.

Jenifur,
You mean Caeserean will cause scar if not done well?

Hong,
i ask Dr Ang, he say 99% will turn down but i'm still worry as my 1st was head down around this time or earlier. Mmm..my baby head is at the side of my tummy.
When's ur Edd? Mine is 10July. Have you done your 3D scan at his clinic.

Ann,
Last scanned my boy also at the side of my tummy.
My Edd is 18 July. I will be doing the 3D scan on 16 May.

Just wan to post my personal feelings for Dr Ang clinic. I actually get to know Dr Ang from this forum as well. Mainly choose him cos his clinic is near my place, I'm staying in yishun.

Although he seems to be in rush at times (many patients waiting for him), I do agree that he's still a nice gynae and will attend to your needs when you have queries. In fact, he's pretty detailed in his scan. No complaints about him.

My only complain is the attitude of his staff.. sometimes... Well, I know that his clinic is always packed and I can understand the intense pressure that his staff faces everyday. However, I somehow dreaded going to his clinic cos' sometimes, the reception (one of them) is not the customer friendly type.. I know she's a nice woman as well and she crack jokes with the clients. However, sometimes her jokes doesn't goes down well with some of us and one nearly cried although the staff was just joking with her.

The thing is we have waited one whole month just to see Dr Ang. During the month waiting, at least for myself, I suffered from insomia and tiredness from work. But when me and my husband goes to the clinic, I just dun feel relax. Even on making appointments sometimes I feel stress.

I do think Dr Ang can improve in the space provided and queueing system in his clinic. The reception (I shall call her aunty) is a nice woman but hopefully she will be patience with her clients as well.

hi Lucida how about switch to see him at the TMC clinic? the staff there are very nice very caring and it did influenced my decision to deliver at TMC.

cookie's gal i am sorry about the loss. I am with Dr Ang currently and i do support your views that he is very professional despite his charges.

Chose him from the comments on the web, and his affordable charges. Was worried that he was lousy. But he was very logical and clear in explaining to us how to take care of ourselves, and simplfy to us what to expect. Although first visit was also bad experience waiting outside his clinic (his nurses were quarreling!) but inside his room his voice/tone is very reassuring.

He's a christian, and has 4-5 kids himself, so i have absolute confiendence in him/his skill. Going to deliver in end June, will update all of you my experience ya!

cookie's gal i am sorry about your baby. I am with Dr Ang currently and i do support your views that he is very professional despite his charges.

Chose him from the comments on the web, and his affordable charges. Was worried that he was lousy. But he was very logical and clear in explaining to us how to take care of ourselves, and simplfy to us what to expect. Although first visit was also bad experience waiting outside his clinic (his nurses were quarreling!) but inside his room his voice/tone is very reassuring.

He's a christian, and has 4-5 kids himself, so i have absolute confiendence in him/his skill. Going to deliver in end June, will update all of you my experience ya!

Hong,
Hehe..my appointment 1day b4 you at his clinic..

Lucida,
Agree with you that the nurse attitude is not very nice sometimes. Whan i have my 1st child i was so scare of her(don't even dare to call her to ask to change appointment or to ask Dr Ang questions)..but this time round she seem more Ok.. still can remember my name and my mum name after two years+.

lucida,
You are referring to the older nurse right? Mdm Chan?? I do agreed she's not quite friendly when there's lots of patients. Complain and complain all the time. But hor, when there's not much patients, she can be very friendly. The other nurse, Jenny is much nicer. I guess is the stress at the clinic. Some patients called in yet couldn't tell her what happened, so sometimes she really got angry. Put ourselves into their positions. Its not easy for their jobs as well. There's once, Dr Ang needs to go off for delivery. Mdm Chan got to call the patients one by one to change appt, yet some still argue abt the appt slot that really couldn't squeeze them in. There's one who is due anytime, insist she got to work on the slot given. As I was beside Mdm Chan tat time, after she put down the phone, she told me what could be more impt than deliver the bb.

josephine,
Dr Ang is a christian. He's a father of 4. His wife had a miscarriage before. If not, he will be a father of 5. He's very profamily. Despite his busy schedule, he still makes time for the family. There's a few times while I was in consulation with him, his kids called. He still talked to them very patiently though he was seeing me. He then apologised to me for waiting.

i think dr ang ard 40+
he had help me deliver my boy last yr
1 thing abt him is he dun encourage ppl use epidural

i almost 1 2 take liao but dr ang encourage me not to take during my labour. so i endur another 4hrs + then bb out
my labour pain total 7hr+(1st child)
my mum say it's consider quite fast liao. think if i'm aspecting my 2nd child, i will go to him again. he really veri gd. help me save $$.
my cash payment for both me &amp; my boy is $50 only on the day of discharge

Hi jenny,

Yes, i agreed that Dr ang is indeed a gentle &amp; patient doc. I had him delivered my 2nd gal. He dun encourage me to take epidural. He said if can endure y nt try?? He kept assuring me it will be over very soon, etc...
N indeed my gal came out aft 45mins! N his stitching is fantastic. I dun feel any pain at all loh.

Hi doggy,

Yes Dr Ang deliver at Mt A too. He will ask whether which hospital u would like to hav ur baby delivered loh. I prefer TMC coz' i find the hospital very cozy &amp; quiet. The charges oso nt ex. I paid $100 plus only upon discharged.

mummies.. any one interested ??

selling

1) 2 pkts of Drypers Size M56 @ $24

collection along North-South Line (only btn Bt Batok &amp; Yishun). I stay at CCK Crescent

interested pls sms me at 91272716 (Joyce)

How do u find Dr Ang's stitching? The last time i gave birth under him, i hv problem healing fr my stitches for 3-4 weeks
I wonder whether i shld go back to him again ... no doubt he is a very nice, patient and caring gynae, but i hv a bit of phobia with the stitching.

Pls share with me ur opinion abt his stitching. Thanks.

hi ladies/mummies,
understand Dr ANg's package starts from day 1 and cost only $550 thru'out our pregnancy, is that true? How abt the delivery charges? can anyone share? thanks

Hi doggy,
Yes, $550 is the "nett" price. However, it excludes the cost for those optional test eg. triple test, blood test etc. For the package, I remembered medisave allow to claim up to $450 when I delivered my gal last Feb. Not sure if there is any changes now.
I can't remember the delivery charges now.

Hi doggy,

if I remember correctly which I checkout last month, Dr Ang delivery charges is S$600/= for normal birth and S$800/= forcep/vacuum assisted, both 2 night stay, based on 4-bedded ward. Caesarean is abt $1K for 3 night stay, 4 bedded. his rate is posted on clinic entrance glass door area.

hi jenny

i was told to keep the receipts to accumulate to S$450.00 .Wat is the purpose of that? does that mean that we can get back 450 after we gave birth?

lala,
To claim from Medisave the $450. Err you haven't given birth or have already given birth? This claim will be done at hospital when we discharge. Just bring along all the receipts and the nurse will advise on the claiming.

doggy,
Went thr my bills, yeap like what hoping said, Dr Ang delivery charge for me is $800+, after claiming FBI and Medisave, it is about $365 (based on 4 bedded charges, but stayed in 2 bedded).

hi hi, need some information on Dr Ang....
1) How is his package like? Cost?
2) When does his package starts?
3) His delivery fees?
4) Do he do free upgrade for patients(eg, when we book 4-bedded, will he upgrade for us to 2-bedded? I know some gynae do that)

I welcome any inputs.

1) Package $550 nett nett (charges for optional tests only)
2) 4th mth
3) Forgot le, but think is between $600 to $800 for natural delivery, charges depends on type of delivery.
4) Yes