Dr L C Cheng ( TMC)

liz... how come got to wait so long to start SO-IUI. Hope by Feb u strike naturally already so no need
Me resting at home now but going work tmr.. was actually on mc till next wed but paiseh to keep taking so many days mc...

gal.. yes health supplements tend to be heaty.. but I guess no harm trying, just drink more water

roxy
my cycle very long. got to wait for next AF which is early Feb.
huh? you better rest leh. Don't force yourself. Take good care!!!

went to see dr cheng again yesterday, follicle is a tiny bit bigger, so have to go again on Sat or Monday to see if it grows bigger again. if not, have to induce menses, so as not to waste time. but dr cheng is quite hopeful, he says he believes the follicle will continue to grow bigger....haha, he said that after i told him i dun pin high hopes, as i've been having high temp. but today temp suddenly drop to 36.17, hope it continues to drop for these 2 days, at least its signs that i will be ovulating soon...
anyway, told dr cheng tat we want to go for IVF should we "touchwood" dun strike again this cycle. but even if we start next cycle, collection of eggs will be during the CNY period, and haha, Rebecca says no need to worry, coz they will be opened during tat period! i was so surprised. then she say dr cheng is a robot, he dun need to rest one!
dr cheng say he wont stop us from doing IVF, but he thinks that i m still quite young, so why i want to subject myself to such pressure. but i really feel like telling him, i m already married for 2 years, and all those ppl around me are all preggy liao, all the more it makes me feel stressed. but i can see that he is trying his best to make me and DH see the whole picture, so that we will not regret our decision.

liz

if u do your SO-IUI and i do my IVF in Feb together, haha, we will have all the good luck and maybe we can strike together in Feb 2008!

I'm just curious. Any of you have gone through 5-6 rounds of clomid before going to SO-IUI? Wonder if SO-IUI will really help me. :p

Hi Worried,

Dr Cheng always advised those who r young & dun encourage them to do IVF cos they can always try & try. Hahaha...Even for my case aso. He dun encouraged me to hv IVF now although my hubby's age is at 36yrs old now.

gal

yah, but i thot i not so young liao, already 28, will be 29 next year. everytime he will say the same thing : You are still young, you are still young...haiz. Time really flies one, next moment
will be 30 liao.

worried
lol. i feel the same way as you. Dr Cheng very relax leh... he also feel that I still young. got time. haiz...

i'm refer to Dr cheng not long ago.I have 1 tube blocked,PCOS and tilted uterus.And my hubby has low sperm count.We have beening TTC for around 2yr before seeking a pro.we also want to opt for IVF straight but he prefer us to chose another way 1st that is unblocked my tube.I'm 28 tis year and my hubby is 33

Liz

Maybe dr cheng think that our prob is not a prob at all. how to explain to him leh...the fact that we r married for quite some time, and yet not preggy yet, thats why we r stressed, and wants to get preggy fast mah. ppl so gan chiong here, then he always sound so relax...

jaslyn

i thot dr cheng mentioned before that IVF has nothing to do with our tubes....he said that if going for IVF, tubes blocked or not is not a prob liao. i guess, his theory is, unless u have very serious prob, if not, its quite unlikely he will let us go straight to IVF

worried
lol... ya lor. he very relax leh. ha ha... but he not gan cheong also good lah. I think he hopes that things can be achieved as naturally as possible so as not to complicate matters further. but if cannot tahan his relax mode then got to look for another gynae

liz

yah. i think that is the only bad thing about him. other then that, i think he is still a very good gynane lor, only that he is too ex liao. haha.

gal

not so much of age prob now. its just the stress that everyone around me is giving me. i m married for 2 years liao, and those around me are all wif kids, some even expecting a second one. so everyone is like keep asking me when i m having one. and who knows what they will say behind me..someone even ask if i m undergoing treatment....i dare not tell them the truth...aiyah, i guess, only those who have ttc probs like us will understand all these difficult situation. all those who can get preggy like nobody biz one, they will never understand our difficulties.
so u r also on clomid now?

Worried,

Nope...i dun ned to go thru any clomid. Every mth, i can ovluate. Good sign for me lor.

Actually, u married for 2yrs & it is considered very early liao. For me, im married almost 8yrs coming soon in March 08. Haizzz....

gal

oh, i hope our wish can come true soon! just too bad that those ppl around me r all wif kids, thats why its very obvious to everyone tat i m married for 2 years, still no kids. hope all of us will have some good news soon!

Finally make up my mind to see doctor to check wats wrong with me ..ttcing for 2 years but still no good news.when everybody around me strike it so easily..sian...and evrybody keep asking me why no bb ? really dunno how to answer.

hubby picked dr.cheng li chang from tmc . heard he is good but expensive.
i want to ask, how much is the charges to first consultation ?
and how many times we shld go for the treatment ?and the second n third visit's charges ?

hubby called to make appt. but the nurse there asked us to make appt on my first day menses.. why ?

Yun,

Yup...Dr Cheng's consultation is abit expensive but i can see that he is quite good. Regarding abt the 1st consulation fee, i cant remembered aso. Maybe u can call the clinic to find out since ur hubby had already called to make the appt liao.

The nurse asked u to make a new appt on ur 1st day of menses cos they wanna to take ur blood test to check on ur homones. Even myself was aso the same when i've 1st visited Dr Cheng but i went on the 2nd day to take my blood test. By the way, when is ur 1st day of appt made?

Yun

If I remembered correctly, first apptmt, inclusive of scan, admin fees, consultation, etc etc, will add up to around 400plus.

worried
so how are you now? are you terminating this cycle? Or has the follicle grown bigger? I hope it has. Good luck!

liz

i've sent u an email, in full detail one.
follicle is same size, so now induce menses.
if nothing goes wrong, will start ivf from next cycle.
so funny, dr cheng says take the medicine for 10 days, and AF should arrive in 2ww from now. but these today, i've been experiencing abit of brown discharge....

hi ladies, what is the consultating hour and day for Dr Cheng? How many days in advance we need to call to make appointment to see him on Day 1 of mense?

dear gal,

i haven's make my appt yet since the nurse asked me to call again on the 1st day menses. then they might probably arrange the appt on my second or third day menses ,but how if their appt list is full on my second or third day menses ? means i hav to wait for another month ?

hi gilian,
my hubby said the consultation hours will be 9.30am to 11.30am only. but dunno its true or not.

Yun,

Y dun u check wif the nurse instead of the appt if they asked u to call on ur 1st day of menses to arrange ur appt on ur 2nd or 3rd day of menses.

Regarding abt the consultation hrs, the nurse tot me that they start from 830am - 1130am but most of the time, Dr Cheng will see patients till 12+pm...i thk the latest by 1pm lor cos i've ever came across one time like that till 1pm.

Hi Gillian

For my first few apptments, i also see Dr Cheng on Saturdays. I guess they are quite alright wif us going on 2nd,3rd or 4th day of menses. so long as you call on the ist day of your menses. i think they should be able to fit you into a slot on either of these 3 days

Worried
paisei. haven't been checking my email.

with regards to the brown discharge, did you check with Dr Cheng?

Gillian
Dr Cheng is open on Sats. However, there will be days where you need to see him on certain cycle days. Btw, how are you?

Liz

yesterday, i called to ask my blood test results. Cindy was the one who attended to my call, so i asked her abt the brown discharge. she says its alright, wat we r waiting for is full blown menses..which should be here in 2weeks time.

worried
oic. so you will be starting IVF immediately when your AF reports? i.e start taking the jabs? Good luck!!!

liz

hmm, not really. can only start in Jan menses cycle. this mth, is to induce the menses, after that, got to take some pills, wait for jan menses to come, then go and see dr cheng, and the whole ivf process will start. but in dec need to go back for counselling. really hope everything will turn out well. so excited, but abit scared of the jabs also. will also DH to jab for me, if not, he like nothing to do leh.

worried
huh? so complicated? thought can start immediately after AF report. No wonder you said that we will start around the same time. I'm also asking DH to jab for me. Don't think I dare to do it myself. :p But you are really very brave to be going through IVF. Wishing you all the luck!!!

liz

thanx! immediately when dr cheng say my follice is not big enough, i told him IVF. i think he also sick of me saying the same thing everytime, so he says we r allowed to go ahead if we really make the decision. now just hope everything will go on smoothly. thanks! wish you all the luck for this cycle too!

hi liz, thanks
im fine, but just feel abit of disappointed that there is no good news for the past months.. so thinking its time to find a infertility specialist and decided on Dr Cheng. So u will be starting on SO-IUI for the next cycle? what's the estimate cost? im wondering if i have to go through the whole procedure like blood test on ovulation, HSG etc since i have that before

Gillian, alternatively, if u want to see Dr Cheng in the afternoon, you can see him @ WC Cheng & Associates,his clinic on Lvl 1. Then once confirmed on next steps, perhaps he will refer you to see him at Thomson Fertility Clinic (TFC Lvl 5)

P Leong

Thanx!! Do u log into the forum often? I may need to ask u alot of questions around Jan next year, when my menses is here. My first hurdle is done now. No prob wif blood test. Previously, my "prolatin" (not sure if spelling is correct), is too high....then when I took blood test last Saturday, Rebecca was saying my IVF project has to stop if my "prolatin" is still high. Ever since the blood test on Saturday, I cant sleep well. I was thinking, if i m damn suay, it stays high how? Then i have to delay IVF again. Then whole of Monday I waited to see if the clinic calls, but in the end, the clinic did not call. On Tuesday morning, I cant take it anymore liao, so I called up the clinic, and was glad that blood test result was alright. So, now looking forward to my menses for this month and next mth, hope it comes on time. Cant wait to go for my IVF!

One question to ask you, after taking the hormone injections, are there any side effects?

Liz,

I have the cost of the SO-IUI, but all the information are at home. Will let u know tomorrow. I kiasu, that time ask abt cost of IUI,SO-IUI and IVF.

SO-IUI : $2k-$3k

IVF : $10k-$14k

Can use medisave for 3 times, first time $6000, second time $5000 and third time $4000

worried, I am back to work so logging on not so often..feel free to ask questions..I will try and answer as much as possible cos I 've been through it and knowing how stressful it can be !

For me I dun hv the high 'prolatin' that you said in fact when I did it last Nov, was given the medicine to take to induce menses..thereafter only started the jabs. Glad tat yr final report was OK ! WHICH IS GREAT !

No side effects for me, I stayed 'upbeat & positive' through, got to have confidence in my hubby to do the right jabs. I only felt a little bloated on my tummy, through the ongoing scans to measure follicles, Dr Cheng was assuring, progress was fine.

For me the 'scare' came during the ET (embry.transf) not sure if I mentioned b4, it took so long cos position of womb tilted.

At the back of my mind, I tot 'chia lak' maybe chances slim. Rebecca, Samsiah (maybe wrong spell) told me dun WORRY just take care, REST and treat myself as if PREGNANT, well and IT HAPPENED !

But during jabs, I have alot of 'hei-ching' and u also can see tiny needle holes on your tummy, each time we try and poke diff places to minimize that...

P Leong

Thanx again for your reply. So u just went back for work? Then your mum looking after your baby?

I am now waiting to induce menses, which should be here around next week or week after. There after, on CD 5. have to take another medicine, then go for counselling in late Dec, then start whole IVF process in Jan.

U mentioned that after the ET, you had 2 weeks of mc. Is it a must? I was thinking, if really have 2 weeks of MC, how to tell my boss....Dun really want them to know that I am going for IVF.

I think my womb also abit tilted leh. Sometimes, Dr Cheng says my womb tilt to one side, and he cant see anything...Guess i will experience the same thing as you!!

As for the jabs, I must ask DH to jab me, i dun think i have the courage to jab myself!! Even for blood tests, the nurses have difficulty finding my blood vein leh...so scary.