Dr HO from Mt Alvernia

The Dr Ho you guys are talking about...Is this the same doc as Dr KK Ho? Both seem to deliver at MtA. Someone mentioned that the doc you gals are talking abt (Dr Ho) has a clinic in MtA itself. But Dr KK Ho has a clinic in Bishan and MtE.

Just want to clarify.

BellsBells
dun think he is pro anyone method leh. Cuz hor for me my baby was big leh 3.67 and i gave birth natural leh. Even the mid wife was surprised that my gynae said can natural. Think he will let natural take its place lor.

Lal
nope ours is HK Ho whose clinic is one and only in MT A.

Hi Etelle

I have downloaded the maternity package from Mt A website and noted that the package is fixed at $1764 for 2 days one bedded. Hw did u derive ur $290 per day for one-bedded... Sorrie.. i am a bit blur... kindly advise.

Many Thanks!

I'm a mum-to-be just know that i am 4weeks pregnant.. Thinking of delivering my baby @ Mt.A..
So now looking for gynae.. can i have more info of Dr Ho.

Hi there!
Does anyone knows if Dr Ho package of $600 includes supplement? Or its just consultation and scanning? I understand the detailed scan is $100 extra on top of package but how about supplements? I find it quite steep and at times Dr Ho seems to be too experience so whenever i try to ask funny questions (u know how anxious first time mother is), he will seem a bit impatient to answer and his answer is always so neutral which to me its not answered at all.

Hi crispy, the $600 does not include supplements. Dr Ho does have pretty high charges and but he is a very experienced doctor and he will always err on the side on safety. So you can feel relaxed in his care that everything will be ok for you and the baby. He has been my gynae for like 7 yrs liao and I trust his judgement. I know the way he answer questions is like that one... but I still ask anyway lor. If not, you ask the nurses they are very friendly. If not, just read up lor. Lots of info on the Internet.

crispy,
Wahahahahah, yep yep, dats the way Dr Ho is. I'm used to his way of answering qns oso and like mich, i still ask :p Makes me feel silly at times but he's indeed a very nice gynae and an assuring one too

Hi skyblue and mich,
now it makes sense.. hahaha.. anyway i dun dare to ask too much questions already cos my hubby also say no point as gyne answer is always like that one. so i just let nature take its course lor, relax and take care will do...

Hi crispy, glad to be of help. Yup, just take care and read up books, will be good enough. I have asked him my share of silly questions including why must have morning sickness. Then he answered me by saying if I want to have a healthy heart therefore must push your body and exercise, if you want to have baby, therefore your body will go through morning sickness... not very consoling when you are throwing up but on hindsight damn funny ha ha.

Crispy,

Know that Dr Ho is very experienced and highly recommended by my GP when i first found out i was pregnant. However, i later had a miscarriage (baby heart beat stopped). Upset as we were, we never thot anybody is at fault but had really wanted to understand what could be the reasons and hopefully take better care for the next pregnancy. As what you have experienced, he was rather impatient and unwilling to explain much. At one pt, even told my hubby that there're many books which my hubby can read up if interested.

No doubt i believe that he is a highly experienced and skilled gynae, but in circumstances like ours, I would prefer him to be more sympathetic and less curt. Afterall, at most time, we wait for 1 to 2 hours just to see him. don't think it's too much to require 1 or 2 mins more of his time. Anyway, I have now switched to another gynae who is equally skilled and welcomes all my questions. In fact, in my 2nd pregnancy, he did such a good job taking care of me and my anxiety that i truly enjoyed the whole pregnancy experience. Best of all, i do not have to wait long for my appointment each time; ave 30 min cos' he gives his patients ample time slot.

As for Dr Ho, I still regard him as one of the gynaes with the best stitching skills (from what i hear). But for me, the most important thing is that I need to be comfortable with the doc. Afterall, we only get pregnant once or twice in our life.

Hi Viola, i had my share of impatient gynae just because he has lots of patients to attend to.
Me shared the same sentiments with you, must feel comfortable,and able to ease my worry, cos gynae is more experience in aswering our questions.

I am now still searching for new gynae for my 2 nd one in future. Do u mind PM me ur gynae details as future reference? Thanks in advance

I'm 8 weeks pregnant & had made appt wif Dr Ho.But after reading the most recently,make me feel like changing gynae.should I stick to my appt or change??? any other gd gynae to recomm?? I intend to give birth at Mt Alvernia.

Hi rachiru, I think u can base on what people say, you should visit him and decide for yourself. If you dun like him, can always change gynae. As you can see, there are good and bad comments about Dr Ho. And there will be the good side and bad side for every doctor. So maybe Dr Ho will suit you, maybe it won't. So don't jump to conclusion yet. For me, the way Dr Ho answers questions doesn't bother me at all because the fact he is very careful and detailed is of greater importance to me.

Rachiru,

I also agree with Mich that you should visit him and see if you like him. As Mich has mentioned, different people have different preferences; at the end of it, only you can decide who and what you are comfortable with.

By posting my above message, it is not meant to discourage pp from going to him. It is simply to air a different view of what i prefer in a gynae. If you are not comfortable with a particular gynae, you can always consider others becos'there are many good gynaes around.

Dr Ho will still be my choice gynae even though it's abit far for me to travel to his clinic. Furthermore, i had to go to his clinic twice a week during my 1st trimester for jabs. He's very meticulous in his scanning and to me, when he doesn't say much, it's actually a gd thing. Cos afterall, all we need to know is dat bb is growing fine inside. If there're any pblms, Dr Ho will surely bring to our attention.
Then again, the most impt thing is dat we must be comfy with a gynae.

Hi, I'm another of Dr Ho's patients. So far I've been quite happy with him. To me he is a very cautious doctor and hubby and I feel safe under his care. In fact think hubby gets along better with him than I do lor.
To share my experience, I wasn't really sure about Dr Ho during the first couple of visits, because sometimes he can be quite aloof and non-committal about my condition (first two visits I kept hearing about the risks of miscarriages!). But after that when my pregnancy is more stablized he is more optimistic and finally told me my baby is doing well. Realised that that is probably part of his cautious nature lo, and he is very careful about getting your hopes too high up the early weeks of pregnancy. But we like him because he's realistic and frank la.

Question-asking: If you have no questions to ask him then he prob will not volunteer too much info (but during the 1st visit he will give you a mini briefing of sorts). But so far when I have questions he's always answered them quite patiently.

Waiting time: So far I have not waited very long unless Dr Ho is handling a delivery. My record is my last visit when I was in the clinic and out under 45min. Think your timeslot matters - for me because my company allows me to take time off for med appts I go on weekdays, either at the beginning or end of either morning or afternoon session (i.e. first or laast appointment). But the waiting room is very comfortable compared to KK or some other clinics.

Agree with Mich and skyblue that the most important thing is to be comfy with your gynae, so Rachiru, do pay Dr Ho a visit first before making your decision. You could also source around and visit a couple of gynaes, see which one you prefer.
Quite a lot of people do that during the early stages of their pregnancy.

Thanks for the feedback! Actually my appt wif Dr Ho was last Fri but due to work I postpone to 2 weeks later.Does anyone care to share his lastest charges,or each consultation fee???

Sherl,does Dr Ho issue MC for visit?? I juz started my current for 2 months only and not sure does my manager mind for keep taking leave/mc!

Hi rachiru, each consultation is $50. But it is $80 for the first consultation. If I am not wrong, each scan he does for the baby is $50. So everytime I visit him, it will be $100 + supplements. Then I signed up for the $600 package from week 16 onwards. Then I only paid for supplements each visit plus the $100 for detailed scan as well as $88 for some blood tests.

Rachiru
he doesn't issue MC for check ups leh. But maybe when you request he can give you time shit to certify that you have been there...

Sheryl
i agree with you that he can be quite aloof at times. And also if you dun ask him questions he wouldn't add ons. But like u said he is very frank and cautious. He will not take any condition lightly. He always make sure mother baby everything safe.

I went through delivery under him and i thank God i am in such good hands. All my friends are surprised that i can naturally deliver a baby 3.67kg big. But Dr Ho did it for me
So definitely will go abck to him for 2nd baby

To add on Etelle's experience, I also had a 3.62 kg baby delivered by Dr Ho. I pushed for about half an hour with the mid wives and when he showed up at the last stage of my labour, he took one look at the situation and quickly decided he will assist me with the vacuum as he thinks the baby is stuck at the pelvic bone. Within minutes, my baby was out. So I also thank God that he is so decisive and experienced because big babies are not easy to deliver. He later told me he is glad for patients who trust his judgement instead of arguing with him in critical situations as he has encountered a time when the baby did not make it because the mother insisted on this or that.

Yup, think it's important that we trust our gynae to do what's best for us. That's why I insisted on choosing an experienced gynae like Dr Ho, because I can trust that he will make the right decision when and if the time calls for it.

Mich,
You signed up for package at 16 weeks liao? Thought package can only begin at 20 weeks? In that case I'm going to ask also... kekekeke... otherwise right now I'm going back every two weeks, super xiong for the pocket.

Rachiru,
Yes, Dr Ho will issue MCs or time chits, whichever you need. Just need to ask for it.

Etelle,
Very true, I also find that in general, Dr Ho does not take chances. At the time of my first visit, I was experiencing minor spotting for two days. Straightaway Dr ordered progesterone jab and duphaston, and I had to see him one week later to make sure everything was ok.

Hi Sherl, yup, package starts at week 16 and I delivered just 1 year back so cannot be change so fast what... But the package only covers the basic visits so seeing him extra times outside package may be extra. Hope you don't mind me asking, how come you got to go back every 2 weeks? Is it because of the spotting. I hope everything goes well for you

Mich, I also dunnoe leh. I only had spotting at the first visit but since then Dr Ho has been seeing me every two weeks. I'm already at week 13+ liao, next visit another two weeks later, then Dr says if next visit all is well I can go back at week 18-19 for detailed scan and after that start package liao.
The package given to me starts from week 20 onwards liao leh...

hi Sherl, why don't you ask about the package? Say you heard from your friends it starts at week 16. But I think he wants to see you every 2 weeks is because he is cautious, just want to be sure everything is ok.

It may seem like extra trouble compared to what other gynaes would do but I think its good lor. Before I became preggy I had some abnormal cells in the cervix. After Dr Ho remove for me, he wants me to see him every 6 months to check (he says I should do this rest of my life). He says its better to be safe. Then I found out that other gynaes will check only every once a year if after 18 months everything is ok. So you see, its part of his cautious nature, which is why I'd rather see him

Mich
me also the same as you leh ha ha the midwives asked me to push then hor i thought just push ha ha think never do my best ha ah then when he come he said " huh only like that ah. cannot stella you need help" ha ha.... i dun understand at that kind of situation mothers will still argue with him meh ha ha for me is u r the pro here do wat u think is necessary hee hee

Mich,

My hubby going to try to do that at the next visit. kekekekekeke....
Yeah true lor, he super duper cautious...

Ask you gals ah, is the triple test compulsory for all Dr Ho's patients? Coz when I went for my appt yesterday the nurses told me I was due for the testing, but I'm in two minds whether to test of not coz heard about the high positive rates... I thought that NT scan results good liao then I will let it go because I dun want to stress myself out unnecessarily....

Hi Etelle, thank God Dr Ho willing to help to shorten our labour hor. I heard some gynae let you push till your face is blue still never help and say let it be natural. I so grateful he wants to get the baby out ASAP. So in the end, how did he help you? For me, he vacuum baby out. But before that, he even demo to my hubby and I the vacuum and promise it won't hurt the baby. So nice of him.

Sherl, the triple test is not compulsory. I was at Dr Ho's clinic last week and I overheard a patient decline taking the test and the nurses were ok with it.

Mich
he never demonstrate to me leh ha ha he just said i need assiatnce and he used vacuum also hee hee

Sherl
for me being a first time mum everything that i have to go through i went through ha ha eveyr test they said should take i just take i never decline or wat cuz i believe everything is done for its valid reason

hi Viola,
Could you pm me your new gynae info too... I had a miscarriage too... i can understand how you feel when the gynae couldn't tell you exactly what happen (which is normal cause they are not GOD) but what we expect is that little symphaty during our distress. My gynae didn't explain much too at the hospital but when we were back to clinic he was more symphatatic but i still feel that more test could have been done which is why i am contemplating changing gynae. I think most didn't realise the importance of the 24 hour emergency number till we get it unfortunately.

Wow...there's so many responses already after my last post. Contents are so interesting that i stopped my work completetly and keep reading.. boss not around nvm

Actually i stayed with Dr Ho because i trust his experience more than anything else and the fact that he is very cautions. That's why i can compromise to his aloof behaviour. in fact Dr Ho mentioned before that as long as he didnt say much, it means baby is doing well. And guess what? "Your baby is doing well" is the most frequent words i hear from him every visit which i think is good enough. What matters afterall is for baby to do well..and i have become very "steady" now, not so kan cheong like in my first trimester as now im in week 14 now.

Dr Ho also mentioned to me that as long as that day you visit him for detailed scan, that is the day the package will start no matter if you are at week 16 or 18 or 20. im going to visit him next week which is my week 15 but dun think i can start the package until my next visit 3 weeks later.

crispy,

Wow, we must be due around the same time then! I'm week 13+ now, going to be 14 tomorrow.
Hmmm, so far he only said once that my baby is doing well, the last two times I went he gave me cryptic things like "Oh, your baby is alive"... I'm like, huh? But take it as his non-committal comment lo. Anyway he did say that I dun seem to be having much problems so good.

hi crispy, looks like Dr Ho has new arrangements for his package. Coz last yr when I saw him, I started package at week 16, then saw him again at week 20 for detailed scan. Maybe changed liao... So Sherl, guess u have to check.

Mich,

Yup, when I checked with Dr Ho during my last visit he said can start package after the detailed scan, so depends on when you are scheduled for detailed scan lo. Thanks!

Sherl
he said that ah...alamk..maybe he emant as a joke but it's not funny ha ha :p well he can be very humorous too i remember once i asked him whetehr can know the gender already and he told me " gender. goose or gander" then he laugh laugh laugh and told me he took literature during his sec school and he love literature blah blah blah ha ha :p

Etelle,

Yeah lo, he said that... maybe that's why my baby scratched his head ah, coz his parents also scratching head and going "huh?"
kao_confused.gif

Think next time I go I will ask Dr straight out how my baby is doing, but knowing Dr Ho he will sure give me an answer like, "Oh, it's doing well, BUT you must be aware that etc. etc. etc. ..." haiz.

Sherl
actually everytime i go scanning that time. During scan he will always tell me during the scan good good. everything good. baby is doing fine. Then i think that's the most important le...cuz i just want to kow baby's condition...

Hi Sherl and Etelle,
think Dr Ho likes to make "cold jokes".. haha.. i dun remember him trying to make any jokes to me but even if he did i will also scratch my head whether to laugh or not after reading about your experience.. haha...
Btw, does anyone of you knows what is triple test?Is it the same as blood test after week 14?

crispy,

yeah, the triple test is the one done at week 14. I'm due for that at my next appt, so the nurses explained to me at my last appt. Will you be taking it?

Today I have my first appt wif Dr Ho!!!!

By right I'm suppose to see him next week but this morin woke up found that my urine was "pinkish".Went I reached office & same thing happened.I was worried & my colleague suggested I should see gynae immediately.... Luckily the nurse allowed me to see him earlier.

My experience wif him was like some of u gals' experienced.If you dun ask,he won't answer! And didn't give me any advise on my pregnancy ,indeed its my first pregancy.

I asked Dr Ho why my urine was in "pinkish" colour.he didn't answer ,juz said the baby okie and will take my urine for lab test.

I'll b seeing him again next week & hope he won't turn me off in seeing another gynae.

Hi rachiru, I hope everything turns out fine. He probably didn't answer because he doesn't want to speculate but give you a clear answer when the results are back. As long as the baby is ok... that's most important

hi rachiru,
i agree with mich as Dr Ho is a super cautions doctor, think he might not wan to worry you or he might not have a definite answer at that moment. dun worry too much at this point of time, have to stay relax and be happy!

Hi sherl,
i will be taking the test. actually the nurse didnt ask me whether i wan to take or not leh.. she just say "ur appointment will be when and when for blood test".. so i thought its compulsory.

I'm also wif Dr Ho due to deliver in Oct. To me, he's actually very experienced though it's true he's a man of few words but he will always answer any questions that I hav. Dunno whether there's any changes recently but my package ($600) started only in my 5th mth when I did the detailed scan (nd to pay $100). I also need to pay the 1K delivery deposit on my visit nxt mth. By then I will be 29 weeks+.

hi crispy,

The nurse also told me, "You're due for the blood test" and that's all lor, so I also thought compulsory... but I think before I take the test at my next appt I will ask Dr Ho about it first and consider on the spot.

hi Sherl, that's what the nurses will tell all the patients, you are due for the triple test. When I was in the clinic that day, the nurse said that to one of the patients and the patient said I don't want to take the triple test. The nurse asked so that means no matter what you will keep the child and the patient said yes.
In the end, the nurse didn't pursue the issue. But I think if you ask Dr Ho, he will recommend you take coz he is super cautious ha ha. At the end of the day, I guess it is individual choice.

i just had my checkup yest and went for the blood test + triple test which cost about $168. Think they took 3 "bottles" of my blood. If you wan to be sure and cautions, just take evrything but i get my own supplements from the pharmacy.

hi crispy, what kind of supplements do you get from pharmacy? I find Dr Ho's supplements quite expensive, so the next time I also want to get my own... folic acid, calcium, multi vits?

currently I'm taking calcium, sangbogin(?? the iron pills) and neurogain. I have checked the prices at Guardian out before, the neurogain is about 29.90, the iron pills about 8 bucks, add together is about $37.90. If I'm not wrong the last time I paid around $47 for the three types of pills at Dr Ho's, so guessing for these at least it's not that expensive?
But agree that the folic acid and esp the duphaston is very costly! I was so glad when I finally 'graduated' from those!

crispy,
So the blood test tests more than just DS probability for the bb?