Dr HO from Mt Alvernia

2day I was at Dr ho's clinic for check-up.Paid $50 for consultation,$50 Scanning,$3 for Folic Acid and $7 for Urine Test.

Next vist I need to have a scan for Down Syndrome,anyone know how muh will it cost? Btw,I'm now 8 weeks preg.

I find that their Antenatal package quite late... it only start fr 20 weeks onwards.Every visit to him,my wallet will shrink!

After seeing Dr Ho for 2nd time,I do agree that he's a very cautious doctor and do feel more relieve where my baby is in his hand.

rachiru,

think you're talking about the NT scan. It costs $80. You'll get to see your baby for a longer time than usual, and clearer too. Have fun!

Hey girls
recently just went to follow on on the fibroid i have after delivery. It's gone. Thank God. One thing to share about Dr Ho. He told me that he will not let patient's undergo unnecesary surgery. Cuz some gynaes if they see fibroid see cyst ask u to operate. But for Dr Ho he said he will normally monitor like he say most of the time the fibroid after delivery one will disappear on its own....hee so no need patients to go under the knife unnecessarily.

He is one fine gynae. I will go abck to him for my 2nd one ha ha....

Our 1st child was delivered by Dr Ho just last week. He is really one fine doc. Although man with few words, he can be very chatty when he is not so busy with his work. He likes to give analogies in layman terms to help us understand certain medical conditions. We discovered that he can be also very fatherly at times. My wife was going through slight post-natal blues and his words of comfort was really very reassuring. Overall, I find him a skillful, knowledgeable and decisive doctor. He is the no-nonsense type so try not to tell him which auntie or uncle say this condition must do this or do that...he will give u a useful lecture. Trust him, he knows what he is doing.

ski
i agree with you when he's less busy he cracks jokes and is quite chatty hee :p His analogies also ha ha ha :p......hee loves asking hm for advices leh ha ha and when he said "no worries" means no worries hee :p so he is one man who can take him for his words...

Just went to see Dr Ho for pre-pregnancy check-up and pap-smear ... wanna check with you all ... did he check your breasts? I thought it was abit wierd when I was asked to loosen my bra and he lifted up and then used his stethescope to "listen" to my heartbeat or what ... was thinking ... why need to "see" my breasts?

blueskeye
on my first appointment when i was pregnant. he checked my breast also. Think check whether got lumps or not or wat....

Dr Ho is very professional not to worry. he wouldn't do unnecessary things one.

I am currently expecting my 2nd child, the elder one was under good care of Dr Ho and i am comfortable with him so go back to him for this pregnancy as well. I am due in 2 months time. Dr Ho package price has increased abit, package at $600 only start after 19wks or 20wks after the details scanning. Delivery charges increased to $1050 (inclusive of GST). However, he is a skillful gynae, i was able to get down from bed after i gave birth to my elder one, wound heal quite fast and painless.

blueskeye,

I thot for pre-pregnancy and pap-smear check up, all gynae will check your breasts too? I went to a female gynae for pap-smear b4 i got this pregnancy, she did check my breast as well.

Hi blueskye, whenever we go for well women check ups, he will also do a breast check but its very fast, so fast that before blink of an eye its over liao. So whatever he is doing is part of the routine.

Hi cheryl, delivery charges for normal delivery is now $1050? Used to be $800 leh... but he is such a good doctor, I dun want to change gynae even if he is pricey.

cheryl
the package price is the same leh. I delivered in feb 06....the price u listed is wat i paid for so increase fromlast time ur first delivery..how old is ur first child? Dr Ho is good i would go back to him when i preggie with 2nd child.

mich
last time only 800 ah wow a big jumo hor...i agree i would also continue using him even if pricey...he very good leh...

blueskeye
for my 1st pregnancy, dr ho did check on my breasts, he said he only check once, then for my 2nd pregnancy, he din check anymore, cos he already check before..

Etelle & Mich,

When i first went to him for my 1st pregnancy in Y2003, the package start at 16wks at $600 and the delivery charges is $700. 3 yrs later i go back to him for my 2nd child, the package price still the same but start after detail scanning but delivery charges go up to $1050 (inclusive of GST). However, i am the type of lazy pple, don like to search for other gynae even my frens advise me to do that as Dr Ho is abit pricey. Since i am comfortable with him and he is a good gynae, i don mind to spend that kind of money, after all i don give birth every year.

Hi Jeslyn, I gave birth to my no. 1 in May 2005, at that stage normal birth was $800, assisted was $1000, C-section was $1500 or something like that. Looks like the rates have gone up by $200 across the board liao.

Hi cherly, yah lor, I also think like that. Coz now I just found out am expecting again so considering if I should go back to Dr. Ho esp. since his rates have gone up. But then again, he has all my history so it will be very mah fan to go and change another gynae right then have to explain everything all over again. So by default I will end up with Dr Ho again.

cherly
same here
when i 1st delivered in yr 04, package was $600, delivery charge was also $700...
now they changed already
i delivered my 2nd bb in dec 05, bt the delivery charge go up already.....my frds also say that dr ho's price is abit high, but nvm, since im v comfortable with him, my aunty's children was delivered by him, my cousin's son also delivered by him....so i still feel ok, as long as my family member recognise him can already....
if im preg again, i sure go back to him, no doubt if his price is high...
but but but, his consultation fee seems drop lei...1st time i go there is abt $70/80 then one year later i went there, it became $50/$60 (i cant rem)

during my 2nd pregnancy, i rem i lost alot of blood after giving birth, i was under observation in the delivery suite, my baby was push back to the nursery....dr ho save me..he help me remove the blood clot and i was glad that he ensure me that everything was fine, ask me not to be scare...

so, to me, i find that he is a good gynae..

Jeslyn,

So u got 2 darlings now? Both princess?? Cos yr nick is jeslynluvRenee&Regine. I think his consultation is not change but up price for other like urine test, scanning b4 package. I have the habit to keep all receipts for entire pregnancy so i took up the album to compare the price in Y03 and now. Anyway, he is a patient and good gynae since i don intend to give birth every year, i don mind to stick with him as i have some med allegy.

Jeslyn, I think its normal the consultation fees drop since the first time see him for new condition/pregnancy, he will charge $80 then subsequently its $50...

Sorry for late reply ... what I find it strange is ... he wasn't checking the breasts for lumps. He was only using the stethescope to listen to heartbeat (like what many GPs do when you are sick). So there's no need to see the breasts right?

cherly
i oso got keep the receipt, but all dumped into my drawer...v messy... :p

yes, got two princess..

mich
ic...not sure, so long nv go back see him le..

blueskye, he did check my breast lei, i mean he pressed and checked for lumps, only 1st time....

Hi blueskye, I remember he did that for me once also... like to check for the density of the breast or something like that lor...

hi, is dr ho located in mt alvernia or does he have other clinics? i live in punggol so very troublesome to travel...

krex78
only clinic in Mt A no other place le

blueskye
if u doubtful actually u can question him ah. but like most of them have said mine is the same...throughout whole pregnancy he only checked the breasts once.

hi dear gals here. Just wondering... what type of doctor is Dr Ho? I am more the kancheong spider kind of person and prefer a gynae who doesnt worry me unnecessarily and not overly careful. =) What is your opinion of Dr Ho? More of those that tell you everything for "just in case" thingy? Or pretty confidently relaxed?

Hi cOco,

Dr Ho is the calm and confident type. He will only tell you things that you need to know so that you will not worry unnecessarily. He is very decisive too. Overall, he is the type who knows what he is doing.

thanks so much for your feedback. =) will prefer a doctor who doesnt give me too much info. hee. Silly hor?

c0co
actually dr ho don comment too much, as long as he scanned ur baby and ensure baby is healthy, its great already...normally the waiting time will be longer than seeing him :>

coco,

Agree with the mummies here... Dr Ho doesn't really talk much and usually he will only give his advice if you ask for it. Otherwise he will only tell you what you need to know.

Ooh...Dr Ho can chat alot but only when you happen to click on the right topic with him...He can deliver a long lecture ;)

haha... thanks... =p
heard from a friend who told me he is the more cautious kind, prefering to give the worst scenario. haha... i guess depends on situations

coco,

he does give you worst case scenario one lor.... I had to wait till 2nd tri before he told me my baby was doing fine, but even then he also say it doesn't mean we can let down our guard.... kekekekekeke... But I like him because he keeps us realistic lor. Guess he's also been in this line very long and see a lot, he wants us to have a realistic view and to always be prepared for the worst...

ski,
yeah true.
My hubby always has long chats with him when we go for my appt.

hi sherl, was there any reason why he was very cautious with your pregnancy? =)

are you a mummy already? =)

coco,

Coz I experienced a bit of spotting during my 1st tri.

I was just discharged from hospital yesterday, popped on 22 Jan. Thumbs up for Dr Ho's stitching... my wound doesn't hurt, and hubby says he can't see any stitches.

maybe that is also a good thing. To keep our expecations low. =) But really happy to hear that your baby is here!!!!!! =p its really a blessing to create a life. =p

Hi lavender, I am under Dr Ho's care for my 2nd baby... due in June. He has been my gynae for 7 years already.

hi there
i just tested bfp today
seems like there's alot of good comments for him.. does anyone have his contact details to share pls? and also how much does he charge for first consultation and scan.. and does he have a package?

im only 4/5 weeks preggie now.. should i see him now or wait till 2 more weeks? thanks everyone!!

besides Mt A, does Dr Ho delivers in other hospitals as well?

Also, how much is his charges for pre-pregnancy checkups?

Hi Roxyz,
Dr Ho clinic nos as follows:
63538833 clinic located onli at mt alveria
#02-06/07, first con si abt $80, scan also abt 80 exclude medicine lor..
his package will onli start at weeks 20

Thanks!! I just booked him liao... very busy, no weekend slot.. hopefully, dun burn hole in my pocket heee

Sorry, can anyone share Dr Ho's package with me. I called the nurses and they were super unfriendly, refused to share with me

My MIL recommended me another gynae, Dr Tan Hong Yang from Gleaneagles. His first visit is abt $200 - $300 , but from 2nd visit onwards, can sign up a package at $1200 which includes scans and delivery charges. Is it much cheaper than Dr Ho?

roxyz
his package only start on week 20 if I'm not wrong...think it's abt $600 as written in the previous posts if u scroll up. The nurses are actually very friendly one... keke.. think they didin't want to reveal over the phone. U can always ask them when u go for your visit.

He's a nice man... fatherly figure.
any questions can just ask him... he'll answer for ya.

Thanks lavender...
I saw the $600 mentioned above also then saw some mummies post $1,050 for delivery so I was thinking is his whole package $1,650? If it's just $600 will be good... but if whole thing is $1650, no choice also.. wat is most impt is that he is good can liao

roxyz,

I just popped in Jan 07, when I signed on in Aug or Sep, the $600 package includes only normal u/s scan, urine test and consultation. Gotta pay extra for medicine, detailed and growth scan, and lab tests. You can sign on the day you do your detailed scan (18 to 20 weeks). Delivery depends on what kind you go for, but starts fom $1,050 (that's inclusive GST) for natural delivery.

Lavender is right, the nurses are all very nice, but over the phone they may not entertain this kind of enquiry coz they are very busy, and they may not want to tell you too much first also. The first time I asked about the package at the clinic they also declined to tell me about it coz they said still too early to talk about package. The second time my hubby asked Dr Ho directly about the package and he got the nurses to explain to us, heheheh.

Sherl
congras!!
u had natural delivery? With or without epi?

roxyz
the $1000+ thing is actually charged by the hospital if I'm not wrong.... u can go to Mt Alvernia Web site to check out the price for the hospital. The $600 thingy is the price paid to Dr Ho. Hope it's clearer now.