Dr HO from Mt Alvernia

Hi Blur green
My spotting was red in colour, Like menses only diff is the blood is kinda thin. My spotting lasted for 1.5 days. After that no more already. But doc say must take the injection and pills until 13th week. After that the risk of miscarriage will drop dramatically.

I still dunno gender of my BB yet. BB not cooperative. Hands and legs all over the place except at the right place. hahahahaha

But I'll be having my detail scan early Dec. Hopefully by then I'll know.

So how many weeks are you now? When u have spotting the weeks pass very slowly one. Coz u everyday worry if the BB still alive inside u. Try not to stress out lor. Most of the time BB will be grow smoothly one. No need to worry too much. Just try to catch as much rest as u can. Hsework and other chores ask ur hubby to help.

Hi sgmom

mine was light brown in color...then the brown is kinda thin. You take the injection and pills for how long then it okie?

me now 5th week lo...yeah week pass slow...always wan go toilet and check.... sigh

me jus have injection yesterday and the 3rd pill to today...may be it is too early for it to be no more rite...cos i tink not immediately one hor.

Hi Blur green
Yes I can u/std wat u are going thru. My spotting happened on the 6th week. Altho lasted "only" 1.5 days. But all the way till 13th week I was checking for blood everytime I go toilet. Damn scared see blood again. Dun really dare to do anything (anyway Dr Ho is against me doing anything). Everyday pray no blood. Every week when I go see him damn scared BB no heartbeat.

Dr Ho did say there are some pple, on and off have spotting but still have a smooth pregnancy. So I guess as long as u dun feel a sharp pain in ur tummy and u be good, rest more, remember to eat ur folic and the hormones pill, everything shd be fine one la.

I've also read somewhere that miscarriages normally happen coz the Bb didnt get to be developed properly. It's the nature way of "preventing" defected BB from being born. So I guess everything is up to GOD lor. But have faith in urself okie. Alot of pple goes thru the same thing and still have healthy babies.

Just hang in there okie.

Hi sgmom

thanks.i will pray hard that every thing will be fine

Hello blur green

Not too sure about his age. He looks late 40s to abt early 50s to me.
He seems pretty nice and "stable" to me.
Take good care of yourself.
Hope you will have a smooth pregnancy.

Got an appt to see Dr HK Ho this coming Thursday. This forum seem to be getting quite quiet these few months. Any latest update abt Dr HK Ho?

Anyone who had high risk pregnancies seen him before? i had stillbirth last year at my 36 weeks and planning to start planning again in April (after half a year). Really hope that he will be gynae for me. i didn't have a good experience with my previous gynae. hope he will be different. i'm also in a dilemma. My girl was borned in Mt A. To go back to Mt A to see or even have my next kid born there is something i do not know if i can cope...

I had Dr. Ho as my gynae and already given birth to my first son.
He is a very caring doctor i must say and his services and nurses are great too.
let me know wat info do u need

Hi Chiat,

Did he insist to see you more often when you are in your late stage of your pregnacies?

Is his consultation very fast and short?

Hi Chiart,

I PM you to ask you something abt Dr Ho, but did not get a reply from you. Hope to hear from you soon.

Hi sereneoh
when I am near delivery, he will ask me to go back often..but only twice then i deliver my baby..eg. i due on 1st dec..so i went to visit him on 30 dec then 2nd dec..then i deliver on 3rd dec...it is a must for most pregnancy cos dr has to check if the baby is engaged.
as for his consultation, it is considered quick..and he will answer your questions if u have any....about 10 min?
hi frutti
i didnt receive the PM. perhaps u can email to me at [email protected]

Hi mashy
i didnt go for any pre-conception check up..cos i got preggie shortly i got married..so too late for that

Hi Chiart, thanks for the info.

Hi All, i've seen Dr Ho today. Found him a nice man..better than the Dr. John Tee and Dr Koh CH i've seen previously.

I am planning for babies. But too sure if Dr Ho has any pre-Conception check up and roughly what is the rate like.
Can anyone advises?

Hi kyl

Just called Dr Ho.
The nurse said $100 for 1st consultation, $100 for scan. Think have more checks will be more expensive.

Hi Kyl,
I did my pre-conception check with Dr Ho.
Think I paid about $380 (around there) in all, for consultation, detail scan, pap smear plus blood test(hep, Rubella, Aids, etc- those basic ones) for both hubby and myself....
I think there was a recent hike in price, so it will be better if you could call the clinic to check.

Juz went back to dr ho recently...
the consultation is $80 and the scanning is $50 if im not wrong...

I went to Dr Ho during my 3rd trimester ... I must say he's the most caring gynae that I have seen .. the only one that holds unto your hands to comfort you ... can;t say the same about the nurses in Mt A though ....his personal nurses are good.

i oso had a very gd experience wif Dr Ho. He's very assuring (as i was spotting during my early stage)n his nurses r all very nice. I'll go back to him when i have my No 2.

Hi Skyblue, when u have spotting did you do any hormones test???

i am in my early stage of pregnancy too, and there is slight brownish spotting. my gynae took hormones test and find everything is alright but it seem that the spotting did not stop... i am on hormones pills now...

pochacco,
i did not do any hormones test. I had hormone jabs 2/3 times a wk n was on hormone pills till 1st trimester was over. U must rest more...i was on bed rest for 2 wks then. n i minimised all walking.

Skyblue, thanks for the information.
can i check what is the name of the hormones pill u taking??? i understand there is natural and synthetic one.
Did the Dr Ho tell u why there is spotting???

pochacco,
I forgot wat kind liao. Cos dat was like 1 yr back. Dr Ho didn't tel me the exact reason leh...

I think Dr Ho only raised the price for 1st time pre-conception checkup. If it's for 1st pregnancy consultation, it's still $80 cos pre-conception takes longer cos of the questioning and such lor.....

anyway, call the clinic up if you wan to check....

hi girls
seems like Dr Ho is pretty good. Hee got his picture anywhere on the net or not so can look at his picture and consider also :p
By the way check with u girls if say on the 1st visit we dun like the gynae we can just switch??

I booked my first appointment with him for june. The consultation is $80, scanning $80 and urine test $7. So round off abotu $170. Is it a quite alright price?

hi there,

i realised that the consultation & scanning charges for Dr Ho is quite expensive. heard from my colleague that her gynae charges only about half of Dr Ho's fees. so he's actually on the high side isn't it? i believe he's a good gynae, but can anyone kindly give more examples of how good he is, so as to justify the much higher fees charged. thanks

Hi hippo
actually his pricing is alright i think cuz my friend who went to a nearby gynae at her house also charges about the same price. My first visit to his clinic is $147 in total. $80 consult $50 scan and $7 urine test $3 medicine and GST $7.

I only went to him once and he is very patient and very open for questions. He is also very professional and his nurses as well. They will ensure that your comfort and how you feel at ease most important to them. I have never visited a gynae and my first visit to him he makes me feel very comfortable leh.Maybe you can try him out and see for yourself

I have my 3rd and 4th babies delivered by him, the 1st one at KKH and the 2nd one at Gleneagles.

Actually I think he is quite expensive but he is the most caring gynae I have seen so far. His stitching skill, if you have natural birth, were great, I was able to walk around normally and I didn't feel any pain at all, not even swelling. My friends and relatives were amazed at the rate of my recuperation.

I think Mt A also the best service, hehehe, as you see, I have tried a few hospitals already and my sister in law who delivered at TMC complained that the nurses aren't that friendly.

Hi Mummy Bs
glad to hear your comment about his stitching. We have heard so much about him but yet to hear comments from individuals who have really tested his stitching hee hee
So his really good huh....expensive in what sense?? Why do you say his caring?

Yah i heard people comment Mt A service very good leh hee hee can elaborate some more about how good they are?

Hi Mummy Bs
Thanks much for your feedback. It makes me more assured. I would say that his pricing is more than average. I have colleagues who's gynaes are even more exp.
But, if he is so good with stitching and delivering, I think it is worth it.

Hi Etelle,

Well, my 2nd son had CHD after he was born and accordingly, his defects is too major to be missed according to some doctors that we later saw. Sadly, he passed away at 4th months and when I conceived my 3rd baby, I actually went around sourcing for another gynae and someone recommended him to me.

I felt very comfortable with him at the first visit and had stick with him till now, my 4th son, 7 months old now, is also delivered by him. As you see, he understands my fears and worries and make me feel assured and secured throughout my pregnancies. As for his pricing, well, he is the most expensive gynae I have seen so far and a lot of my friends I recommended comment the same

Mt A service? How good they are?? What I can say is that it is the best among the other hospitals I have stayed before, hehehe, sad to say, I have been quite weak and have been in and out of hospitals a few times.

Hi mummy bs
Thanks for the feedback. I think i can now be assured of being in good hands of Dr Ho. Will be seeing him tomorrow and certainly look forward to it. From the first visit i know he is very assuring and displays greats amount of calmness which really helps to know that your gynae is pro and he know what his doing

Hi Mashy,

I really didn't want to mention his name here, all I can say is that he is quite popular in Singapore.

Anyway, my advice here is that no matter who you are seeing, go for whatever tests you can get and do a full detail scan by a specialist if you want to have a peace of mind. The one Dr Ho recommended me is quite good, Professor Yap (hope I got it right) @KKH. Also, dun take things for granted, maintain a healthy lifestyle, be a good girl and take whatever supplements your gynae give you, have well balance diet, moderate exercises, try not to be overstressed and learn to relax with plenty of rest, and await the final moment for the arrival of your "little miracle" from God.

Mummy Bs
So sorry to hear abt your 2nd son. Can I check with you on the detailed scan? You said yours was done at KKH. But, when I called the clinic, they said that the detailed scan will be done by Dr Ho in his clinic. So, I'm a bit confused. Thanks for the advice. On hearing it, it motivates me to be a good girl & take my supplements.

BTW, did u need painkillers after the stitching after birth? All my friends said it was very painful & took painkillers.

Hi krissie,

Dr Ho will do a detail scan at his clinic at around 20th weeks, I think he charge an additional $100 over and above the package that you will have to pay at around week 16. For mine, just to be very sure, he did one for me and recommended me to have another one done by a specialist - cos mine is a special case.

Painkillers! no pain how to take painkillers, just to give you an example, i delivered at around 7pm and I was in the toilet cleaning myself and walking to the nursery to see my baby the following morning at about 7am, NO PAIN! there was a visitor I spoke to outside the nursery commented that I didn't look a bit like I have just delivered a 3kg baby! The lady within the same ward, who also delivered at about the same time as me, couldn't get out of bed for 2 days, only during the morning when we were about to discharge I saw her walking slowly to the toilet, with her husband's assistance!

I understand what your friends went through cos I have the same experience when I delivered by eldest son at KKH, I took painkillers for almost a week and can feel the stitches for some time.

Hehehe, looks like I am giving Dr Ho a free advertisement. Must get him to give me a discount next time when I have my no. 5.

Hi krissie,

just to add on and not to confuse you, I think you can request for the detail scan but be ready to pay an extra of around $200.00. to clear your queries, you can speak to Dr Ho personally and get his advice during your next visit.

Hi mummy Bs
your feedback is so assuring hee hee no pain for the stitches amazing
so u planning to have no. 5?

i second mummy Bs cos i was oso seeing Dr Ho. He's a super solid gynae n i won't hesitate to go back to him if i have no 2
His stitches r really gd as said by mymmy b oredi. Like her, i was oso walking to nursery on my own less than 12 hrs after delivery.

Mummy Bs / sky blue
Thanks lots.. so relieved to hear the accts. Now I must pray that my bb will not come out earlier, if not will clash with Dr Ho's overseas leave, then, some other gynae will deliver for me.

Mummy Bs
The $200 detailed scan is for the KKH detailed scan, right? Ok, I will discuss with him during my next visit. Thanks.

krissie,

you due in dec 06?? mine clashed with his holiday in dec 05 but I requested for an early induction, i told him I will not be comfortable with another gynae and I would feel more confident and assured with him, but having said that, it must also depends on your gestation. Mine was finally arranged and induced at 371/2 weeks, just 2 days before he left for holiday, cos my boy was quite alright and of stable weight, around 3kg.

Etelle,

No. 5, yap when no. 4 is slightly older first and then see how, told my husband that will "close shop" at 35, still have 2 more years, speaking of which, anyone out there have any "secret recipe" for baby girl, have tried the "Calender" and "Special Diet" method but without success leh! hahaha

to add on to mummy bs comments, i second dr ho as well...simply painless...
i didnt manage to have natural delivery so need to go for c-section instead...even for c-section, i didnt take any painkillers as well...i can get off the bed the following day..and even walk down to the cafe downstairs with my friends.....
so for my 2nd child, i will definitely go back to dr ho

congrats to all mum-to-be as well

Mummy Bs
Based on the chart, I'm due on 6 Jan, but 1st scan shows 2 Jan and 2nd scan shows 31 dec. seems to be moving earlier and earlier.. then, they say that 1st child usually will be earlier than EDD, so am worried that will clash with his leave. BTW, can u rem which week in Dec was his leave last yr? He told me that he'll be back before Christmas.

BTW, didn't know can induce.. wah, I can consider that if bb's size is ok.

Chiart
Thanks for the feedback.