DR FONG YANG at FONG CLINIC ( next to Tiong Bahru MRT )

I am still trying to cope with bf but not struggling like the beginning. Went to see a lactation consultant yesterday and manage to breast feed bb now. My bb only like to be latch for abt 15-20mins after that fell into deep sleep. No matter what method I tried to wake him, he still sleep. I have to feed him every ht. Damn tired. Ant remedy?

Joy

this is normal cos bb is having jaundice now and this makes them very sleepy. You need to wake bb up such as removing mittens and booties and you can try to massage their hands or feet. You can also attempt to take off their clothes or change diapers to wake them up. or try burping them.

hmm.... i think that's what I do. but once jaundice is clear, bb is more awake.

so dont worry, you are doing fine, as long as bb is contented, sleeps well and has 6-7 wet diapers a day, and also gaining weight after 1st week checkup, you are on track !

joy
nurse told me to tickle their neck or ears... unwrap them... basically dun let them feel too comfy so they can stay awake longer to suckle.

im sure u're doing a great job oredi.. jiayou!

Hi Joy, happy to know you are coping better. For the sake of Jerrick and yourself, persist and jia you!

Sunny, your spewing incident was funny hah! Ok, I'll remember to ask for Sister Kang. I think I read about her name somewhere too. Since preggy, I don't think my boobs have grown significantly larger; sometimes I also wonder if I will have enough milk as I do want to BF for as long as I can, be it one or two years.

I went to see Dr Fong on Mon. Bb's at 3.1kg, not much weight gain since 2 weeks ago when she was 3kg. I suppose this is normal? As I haven't felt any constractions nor much pressure at the bottom, Dr Fong didn't check me for dilation also.. Hope my bb hangs in there.. hehe..

BTW hoh.. I saw many mummies in the Feb thread whose gynae asked to induce when they just dilated like 2cm. Is this necessary? Cannot wait for natural meh?

And then so untimely, on Tue I got sick, had cough then fever. Fever has subsided but I think cough will take some time. Just when I reached the final 2 weeks, I had to fall sick! Think too many flu bugs going around. Apparently MOH issues alert liao..

Aiyoh try to avoid being induced if possible. I gatal last time, didnt' want to give birth on 13th so asked to be induced. Also Uncle was a bit worried cos baby was like 3.5kg already. The nurse and doc didn't tell me but hubby found out later that with the medicine that they give you to enable faster dilation, the contractions come faster and more painful! I opted for natural birth actually but after overnight plus few hours beh tahan and asked (err.. screamed) for epidural

faith
as long as bb hb stil strong n bb stil growin, shd b ok. Anythg wrong, dr f wil advise accordingly.

mus take care of urself, yes, outside a lot of ppl sick.

mine oso scared bb too big n induced. I guess it's a personal choice. Mayb they 1 2 miss the initial CNY period, so rather choose to induce now.

size really doesn't matter when it comes to BF, cos ive know some well-endowed ones who dun hv BF at all. But I thk most impt, u hv to be determine...

u on maternity leave oredi?

sunny
so dr f's estimation of ur bb close or not?

So sleepy.. ytday my gal decided to wake up at 3am n didn't sleep til close to 5am! *yawn*

sunny
so slightly smaller than his estimation...

oh.. forget to ask joy wot was her boy's weight.. dun thk she posted.

but I thk i make the rite choice to induce leh.. oredi so diff to pop her at 3.4kg.. imagine if i were to wait for another 2wks...!

Nope, not on leave yet.. I will work till I deliver loh.. temp staff just joined and I have to handover my duties first then take 16 weeks one shot.. hehe..

Ok, look forward to seeing Dr Fong and bb again on Mon.. hehe..

think joy's baby born weight is 3.05kg if im not mistaken...

joy,

yah, wake baby up esp when they have jaundice. my bb was fed hourly too for the first month.. no choise but i gotta pump out to feed him after latch so drag the frequency to 2 hrly.... you may consider but it is tiring for u too since u don have helper to help u with the breastpumps cleaning and sterilizing all that....

Hi mummies, is it normal tat we dun feel as hungry at tis stage? My appetite seems to hv slowed. i only had a waffle tis morng at 9am but nt hungry yet at 1pm. usuali i'd feel hungry by 11am..

faith
shd we say, when we're preg, our appetite seems better n we thk we shd eat for 2! haha

Now w the bb n all overwhelming u, sometimes, u're jus too tired to thk abt food.

But do stil eat, u ned all the energy to take care of ur little one, n we can't afford to be sick now!

Has anyone ever asked Dr Fong to keep aside their placenta for encapsulation?

Was browsing through the forum and found several threads and businesses which actually specialise in processing placentas in pill form. Recommended for consumption during confinement to reduce PND plus other benefits... I didn't have PND the last time but just wonder if it would be worth it?

sunny

i saw my beautifully shaped placenta for my first birth, it looks like a piece of pig's liver ;P

but no, i didnt ask to keep it.

Hi Sunny,

I oso saw my placenta, well I should say peek coz I am damn tired already so just open my eyes to take a look, don noe how to describe the shape but can see that it is small.

Btw, any mummies here given birth and felt pressure at the pelvis? I had it and was thinking is it my uterus or womb wanna drop out? Those who have piles, hw u mummies maintain? Operation to remove? I am latching my boy now and bm has kick in already. Now feeling like 'milk cow'. I hv difficulties latching my boy, he seem to be cannot suck my nipples. The nurse said that my nipple is short. Any remedy? Does bb need water? My mum asked me to feed my boy some water if not next time he don like to drink water, is it true?

faith
Jus realised I mixed up u n joy! haha Silly me... ignore wot I said.

How r u feelin?

joy
I ask dr f abt the pelvis pain n he said its the uterus contracting. But the lower tailbone ache for me is quite bad.. the 'suan' feeling is terrible if I sit too long. I stil feel a bit of it now n then.

I pushed my piles out during delivery... it was quite terrible. I thk I ache more from the piles than the stitches. I did apply those TCM med but not muc use. In the end, I thk keepin it clean n as dry as possible helps, it eventually went back in.

U can try n massage ur nipples to make it more pointed... n let ur bb open his mouth bigger b4 u BF... He shdn't b jus sucking the nipples but the whole areola, wil giv u a lot of pain that way! Gd to hear ur BM supply has kicked in!

NO water.. their kidney wun b able to take water now n might harm them. BM is gd enuff... water only aft 6mths. That's wot most PD wil tell u. I follow that n my gal stil loves water n soup!

Feeding water now might make their tiny stomach more full n in return, drink lesser BM. BM is not as 'heaty' as FM... so dun worry abt the water part.

Happy New Year to all...! My gal slept early today aft a very eventful 1st CNY for her.

Joy,

BM is make up of 80% of water, so no water at this time until they are > 6mths old as their kidney would be mature by then.

if u have any doubts, do call back Dr Fong to check.

congrats on the "arrival" of your BM ! :p

Mummies...
Which brand of diapers r u all using?

Im thkg of changing brand.. hv been using Huggies Ultra & Dry Comfort.

Jus bought Pampers Active BB... i was hoping to find somethg that can last her longer thru the nite... a lot of brands claimed can last 10-12hrs but I seem to change her like 3-4hrly...

hi hazeline

I used to use PAMPERS active, always buy them when there is sale at NTUC. Now i use DRYPERS.

funny thing is that,my Richelle pee very little at nite so her diapers are not very wet, she pee more in the day. hehe sounds as if she is toilet trained hahaha

Anyone know whether is dr Fong on Chinese new year leave huh? When is his clinic reopening huh?

Need to seek his opinion urgently.

Hi sunbelle

The clinics are closed today. The Paragon clinic will open tomorrow. Dr Fong has an emergency number if you need to call but it's a common number which will be picked up by an operator who will re-direct or know how to contact Dr Fong.

How's everyone's CNY? Holidays always passed so fast.. I'm still at work.. haven't delivered yet hah! Seeing Dr Fong tomorrow, then I'll know if bb's ready. When I saw him last week, I've not dilated yet nor fully engaged.. hehe.. supposedly due 2 days' time. Maybe if bb's not ready tomorrow, I should ask Dr Fong if can "dong" till 14 Feb or not hahaha!!

Happy CNY everyone!

Joy, same like Hazeline, I pushed my piles out during 1st delivery. Look like the kong bak pao's pao
The hospital gave fucicort to apply I think. Quite good to stop the pain... it never really goes away...Went down a bit but now body heaty again so can feel it 'growing' again. Sigh.

Keep it up with the BF. If inverted nipple can do, I'm sure you can too. Dont stress. Give whole areola.

And same like other mummies, I didn't give water. And girl loves her soup. Sometimes, dont want rice, drink soup enough already.

Hazeline, using drypers for 2 plus years now. No problems.

faithnhope, wah you very good la. still at work today! Do let us know when you're going off

im back at work today.. so sianz.

I let my gal try Pampers active at nite, she seemed ok... at least not as wet as when she's on Huggies.

She pee a lot leh.. drink a lot n pee a lot. I hv to change her once in her nite feed (yes, she stil wake up once for nite feed leh...) n sometimes, wil disturb her sleep. So I tot find somethg that can tahan thruout better.

faith
looks lik ur gal very comfy inside... hehe

U stil feelin ok? I'm swollen lik nobody's biz in my last stage liao... haha

I'm feeling ok.. I only had light cramps the last 2 days but they went away after a while.. I do not feel the "pull" also leh.. so I'm not sure if I've dilated or if she has engaged low enough.. I presume she's still comfy inside loh hah!

I'll see what Dr Fong says tomorrow; I hope he won't admit and induce me.. cos if induce, then wait for contractions and dilation, I don't know if I can still tahan without epidural.

Faith&hope
Why tahan without epi?
Your first one was purely natural? WOW kow tow

anyone had a TCM doc predict your kids sex by comparing the pulse rate on your wrists?

My 1st one, I went to TCM for v bad blocked nose during 1st trimester. V experienced physician at Tjg Pagar, always long queue outside her clinic. She just felt both wrists and offered to tell me the sex. V confident, never even try to siam a bit. Said I was having a girl. Was correct.

Just went to Eu Yan San to see their resident physician for cough. Walk in so dont know how experienced or good he is. "Persuaded" him to give me prediction. He said boy cos left pulse is stronger (stronger may not equal to faster hor...and my chinese is also half past 6 one). I'll let you ladies know whether or not accurate when I do the detailed scan at week 20 :D Am only at week 15 now.

(hmm... think I post a lot of strange topics on this thread hehe ... )

sunny
oic... good luck then.. i guess dr f always tell u.. gender not impt? :p

dat's wot he always tell me during every scan... but I want to know as soon as possible so I can go buy bb stuff mah...

faith
how's ur chkup? any news of popping as yet?

ya he always "tsk!" and sigh when I ask him for baby's heart rate hahah cos there are some websites where you can input the heartrate and the birth weak and they do a prediction for you

Hi sunny, this will be my first born, and I'd like to try natural without epidural.. Yah, "try" is the word hahah!

haze1ine, me ar.. still no signs of labour hahah!! Did VE and Dr F said just at the finger tip only, and baby's still not engaged. Did CTG and no signs of contractions either, but baby's still doing fine - the CTG showed upward spikes which Dr F termed as "baby reserve", a good sign that baby is still well. If it's downward spike, it means baby is distressed. Thank God baby's good!

I'll be seeing Dr F again this Fri. He said if still no labour signs, then I have to induce over the weekend, and perhaps can target V day baby hah!

sunny
guess u're excited to noe if u've got a 'Hao'..

faith
woah... ur gal really too comfy inside liao. But since she's doing well, guess u dun hv to worry.

I myself was a mth overdue as a bb! I came out over 8 pounds... reali huge! haha

I thk gynae nowadays dun let bb overdue dat long, quite dangerous.

Yeah... V day BB... the luvvvvvv child! hehe

FaithnHope, V day BB... pity your girl's future boyfriends/hubby - every V day sure v stressed cos double the pressure! LOL!

Hey, what time is your appt on Friday? Mine's at 12.30pm.

haze1ine, you mean you were a 10-month baby?? Really? Your parents must have been stressed no?

Yah, she's probably as lazy as the mummy hahaha!! She hasn't gained much weight in the last 2 weeks tho.. I would have eaten durian over the last 2 weeks if not for my cough which I am only just about to recover.. then again, I'm also concerned if she will get too big after I eat durian hahha! She's about 3.2kg now.

sunny, my appt this Fri is 12pm; walk-in though cos no slot already.. so I'll prob show face, do urine test then go walk around TB and do lunch with hubby till they call me loh..

FaithnHope
oh okay cool, hope to bump into you then
Don't go into labour on Friday morning hor... then I have to wait long long time for uncle ... hahaha sorry, very selfish of me
Am a bit anxious to discuss my Oscar results with him...to see whether or not need to do ammio.

hi sunny, how was yr oscar results ?

faithhope, so excited for u ! i like the feeling of waitg for bb to come but then nightmares comes after delivery hahaha.

hi labbit
the results was quite good for the 1st 2 chromosomes tested but for the 3rd (i forget what it's called now, starting with "p"), the risk was doubled or more. Dont know whether am supposed to or how to calculate a composite result. Most pp seem to have 1 score only but the nurse read to me 3 ratios.

faithnhope
lucky the weather is still not too hot. My confinement was in Oct - was so hot... and then kena bathe every other day with (boiling) hot water..after finish bath the whole bathroom like sauna.. come out lagi calat

hi sunny

dont worry too much. I also had a false positive for 3rd pregnancy. Seems to be very common nowadays, so I wonder how accurate is the OSCAR test !

Haha no worries, sunny, I also hope I won't deliver on Fri since she has given me hopes to be a V day bb hahah!!

Thanks lbt! Aiyo.. I scared of the delivery process leh.. but trying not to think too much, else scare myself more haha!

Weather's blowing hot and cold, no wonder so many people fell ill. It's this kind of humidity that kills! Think unlikely we'll get much rain in the upcoming month..

Hi faith,

thank you very much for your information.

Yo I think you must be very excited abt delivery.
hehee very happy for you.

Jus to understand how much is dr fong's maternity package ?

When must one take the maternity package?comparing between KKH.

Ladies, what makes you all go private huh? I just need some opinions.

Hi sunbelle, i chose dr fong quite randomly actuali. i wanted a gynae in d west n found favorable reviews abt him on web. so i made appmt, saw him, found it comfy even tho he's a male gynae. Clinic locatn at tiong bahru is convenient for me.

Package at tiong bahru is $700 startg fr 5mth onwards coverg consultatn, scan n urine stick

Hi faith,

thank you for your prompt reply.
Are u given one mth mc to rest in your first trismeter huh?
I have one loss in 2009 so thinking to take leave or mc during this critical period. Just felt that wan to do my best.

Hi sunbelle, no, I didn't ask for long MC during the first trimester nor throughout my pregnancy; just one day on ad-hoc basis when I feel tired loh.. hehe..

If you want to rest, by all means, ask Dr Fong for MC. He's very willing to give MC so mummies can rest well..

faithhope

u r sstill around ah ??? ahhaha waiting for your V-day present ?

sunbelle,

if u have such concerns, better talk to your gynae. if your work allows u to be on leave during first trimester, I think it is beneficial to you and your bb. And try to be positive !

Hi lbt, yes, I'm still around and at work today hahaha!! But I'm taking leave to see Dr F tmrw. If I still have not dilated or have constractions, as he doesn't encourage term to go beyond 41 weeks, very likely I will have to be admitted over this weekend loh.. so I'll start my ML from 14 Feb onwards loh..

So, yes, now I hope to receive her as a V day gift!! Hahaha!!

Hi faith and labbit,

Thank you so much for your advice. yeah I m still having brownish spotting now at week 5.Yeah not sure whether is it normal. I have seen doctor and is okie.

Sometimes the decision of goin a long MC also disturbs me but also wanted to want the best for baby. yeah to be honest I am a real workoholic. ESP now jus switched dept. The new head had high expectation of mi. Still thinking whether shld let the bosses know early so that mi k be less stressed. But intend to ask them to keep it from the rest for the first three months.

yeah what do u gals do huh?

Sunbelle - for me, I would definitely tell my boss. Esp since new dept, and start of new fiscal year. Cos on their side, they need to think of manpower replacement planning as well as revisit the dept budget if your job is such that the dept definitely needs an extra hand/temp during your absence, whether in 1st trimester or after birth. For me, both times, I told my boss almost as soon as I found out cos (i) there's only me and her in the dept and (ii) we work in an MNC, so budgeting, secondment staff etc all need HQ in Europe to approve. In fact, for no. 1, I told her on my first day at work! Cos after they hired me, I needed to serve 3 months notice so boh pian, first day at new job was first day of month 4. How you present to your boss is impt. Say, unexpected and normally, you would keep quiet until after 3 months but you're just informing him/her in case...., I'm sure your boss will appreciate your consideration.