DR FONG YANG at FONG CLINIC ( next to Tiong Bahru MRT )

hi angel

I am also worried I dont know how to carry bb in the right position to latch her on. Did u apply any nipple cream to ease the sore nipple ?

Labbit,

Yes, especially when return back to office, baby is not with you, supply sure drop.And when you are stressed it is worst, even with a full breast the milk just can't let down. So you must be relaxed and at ease to stimulate the let down.Or bring a baby towel which has the baby smell to help.

I tried to help many friends on bfeed. Some latched on successfully, but there are some gave up.Then when their child falls sick, they have a hard time and regret didn't bfeed their babies.

There are ways to keep supply up or maintain.One way is to pump more frequent, or another way is to take supplement like fenugreek, brewer's yeast and some other herbs.But once back home, try to latch bb on directly so there is a direct stimulation from the baby.

During confinement, try to take more fluid as b milk is also a fluid. If not enough fluid intake supply also won't inc much.

Fluid does not mean plain water.We chinese esp old folks will say can't drink water. But you can drink plentiful of red date tea, soup, milk, etc.
Imptly is fluid, cos during confinement, our body also looses alot of water.

Yin,

I suggest you get through the 12 weeks to stabilise the pregnancy first. Don't walk too much esp the GSS sale now is very tempting.

Once second trimester, you are even more energetic to shop than now.

hi angel

tks again, i will try my very best to keep up the supply. I have seen the difference in infants who are bfeed and non bfeed.

So pumping at 1-2 hrs interval is enough to keep the supply ? but sometimes when we gets too busy at work or stuck in a meeting, we may not be able to do it leh ...

Labbit

I suggest you establish a pattern to pump, but as for latch on do it as frequent as possible when you are at home with baby. This also bring up your supply first.

Once supply is established, you try to schedule the pumping time, like 2 to 3 time a day if your office permit.

Supply in the morning is the most cos our prolactin hormones is highest, then by afternoon supply normally much lesser.

With expressed b milk, normally, I prioritise to feed bb with b milk first, if really not enough I will give formula milk.

Labbit,

Don't be discourage first few weeks supply is low like 10 mil or so.Just continue your effort, and you see in due time, the supply will climb if you persist.

As for sore nip, I hardly use the nip cream. I use a little of b milk apply to the nip then let it dry in the air.It heals fast too.

When bb has sufficient intake of b milk, the stool will change. It is yellowish and very soft.( Like Mustard )It is absolutely normal.Some old folks will say it is not healthy as the stools are like diahorrea. And bb will motion quite frequent too.

But don't be discouraged, just be determined to give bb the best food.

hi angel

ya i read somewhere that if u notice bb's pee v often this also means the bb is getting enough milk supply.

wow your info is really beneficial to all mummies here !

btw how do we determine if bb has enuff supply or not to supplement with formula milk ? as in the bb will cry even after feeding ?

Labbit,

You are right. Normally,newborn wet their diapers very fast, it also tell us their body is functioning well as they are clearing the waste.

If bb directly latch on, we can't tell how much bb has drank.Only the expressed milk or formula milk can be measured.

Yes, you right, when bb is not sufficiently fed, they will be unsettled.

One more thing, newborns are also very sleepy as they are sleeping most of the time.As they grow, they will stay awake more.So for first few days, if bb doze off when feeding, try to tickle bb, stroke his hands or legs. My friend thought me one trick is to tear open the diaper sticker,which creates an irritating noise,it will wake bb up again.

labbit, angel
agree Dr Fong is gentle, that's why I say uncomfortable, not painful... hahaa

Oh I will be on C-section, hope i no need to go thr the cervix check with mid-wife... keeping my fingers cross... Any way, it's stitched up, can't check too :p

Since I can't walk. I intend to go to 1 shop to settle as much as i can

I am deliverying at Mt A too, think his Tiong Bahru do not have the CTG equipment

angel,
During ur C-section, u were awake?? not knock off one ah?? If prearranged C-section we can choose hubby to be inside or not rite??

Breast feeding
~~~~~~~~~~
Think I need to pump out to feed the babies, if not hands pain :p
Is it ok to mix formula milk with breast milk? since at Mt A they are give formula milk

Hi Mum of twin boys,

I was on epidural during natural delivery but end up c sect as bb got stuck. So I was all awake. But if you choose GA meaning knocked out,hubb can't be with you

If planned C-sect and you on Epidural, think hubb still can go in,but depends on hospital.Check out with Dr Fong.

I may also go for planned c-sect cos of my condition and placenta position.

As for twins, you can check with the lactation consultant on how to feed twins. There is a way to hold 2 babies.If both sides are latched on all time, I am sure your supply sure alot. As demand high, well stimulated, supply sure inc.

U don't mix both phyiscally together, but feed bb with b milk first. Not sufficient give formula separately.

Mum of twin boys,

Yes Dr Fong TB clinic has the CTG machine. It is at the back door, near the toilet entrance.

The machine is smaller compare to hospital one.

I have not seen paragon machine so can't comment.

I also keen to find out how much he charges for the 3D and 4D scan at paragon.

angel
I was asking hubby if he wants to go in, in case i ask liao he dont want to go in. Then he have not reply me yet :p
Did you express breast milk the other time?? if yes did you hold the milk in bottles or milk bags?
As i know milk bags take up less space, but the pumb need to be latch to bottles, then pour the milk into milk bags. will it cause more contamination??

hi angel

During the first few mths, I wont be using diapers for bb leh.. v ex to change so often. will be using the cotton nappies. My sis says can try to massage the baby's palms to wake them up also.

hi mum of twin boys

it will be very challenging for u to bfeed ur two boys !! try it out !

btw u ladies keen on 3d and 4d scan ? Heard on news that overexposing bb to 4d scan is not a good idea leh. If there is no medical benefits, I wont do it lah ....

Mum of twin boys,

It depends on wat type of pump u use,generally all pumps are connected to bottles.Those that are stored is bags are for storage like frozen.

For avent bottle, they have those bottle cartridge to hold plastic bags. Meaning pumping into bag.

I use Ameda electric twin pump,but my supply barely meet my boy's demand, so end I didn't have excess alot.Only can keep for one day, no chance to freeze.

When I pumped, my bottle is fitted with the avent adapter so that I screw it tight.As ameda pump uses bottle of NUK size, smaller dia on the opening.

My fren helped to buy the avent bottle adaptor from KK hosp.

Labbit,

Am not sure of the exposure of the 3D/4D scan. I saw my colleague's bb 3D scan. The feature on the baby face can be seen clearly.

But it is in one colour monotone. Golden brown colour throughout.

I will ask Dr Fong how much he charges for it in my next visit

Angel

ya i saw this website where they compare the 3d scan and the bb after birth. The bb's features does not differ much from the scan. So u intend to do it ?

I may want to keep it in suspense ehhehe ...

btw, does Ameda electric pump fits Avent bottle since they are wide neck ? so u need the adaptor ah ? I need to get it also cos medela is not for wide neck bottle. But my friend is passing me some glass bottles which can be use with Medela pump lah ...

Labbit,

Yes you can find the adaptor that fits the small dia of the pump into wide neck bottle from KK hosp.It is Avent brand only sold there, I can't find it in the dept store.

I will find out more info on 4D scan from Dr Fong next week when I go for checkup.

For the glass bottle, you have to get the cap.Cos the glass bottle original cap can't used as it can get rusty.

If you have excessive supply, you can consider the disposable plastic bags. But you need the special bottle to hold the bag and feed bb.

labbit
I intend to use nappies too, there is this waterproof product that is used for wrapping over the nappies. Need to add that into your shopping list, if it is not in yet.

breastfeeding 2 is a challenge, dont think i am up to it, unless feed one at a time. But prefer to express milk then hubby can help to feed and bond with babies too

I will not be going for 3D or 4D scan
unless Dr Fong request me to do it.

angel,
so with avent bottle adapter, we can pump into bottle?

My sis will be passing her avent breast pump to me, does that mean i do not need the avent bottle adapter?

Hi Mum of twin boys,

If you use the avent pump they will fit the avent bottles. Only we use other pumps like medela,ameda,other brands may need the adaptor.

For the cloth nappies, the water proof cover on the outside to prevent leaking tends to be quite warm. But you can try with one pc first before buying more.

You try to latch on first few weeks to establish supply, solely on pumping can't boost supply that much.You hold one baby to latch on, and get your hubb to hold the other baby on the other sides.

I ever tried to pump on one side while I latch my boy on the other side. That time desperate to inc supply, cos my problem is lope sided, one side produce more milk than the other.

Mum of twin boys,

Yes, those are for storage, esp some mothers produce so much excessively, they freeze them in bags.With bottles, it takes up space in the fridge.

If you see avent products, they have those disposable plastic bags but you need the bottle adaptor to fit the bag on so that you can feed baby directly than pouring into bottles.

angel
If use the avent bottle, i will be able to ppumb into bags?? oh... i am confused.

ya will get hubby to help hold the other baby to the other side. I saw in books on how to breast feed twins but think my arms will ache, i got weak arms

oh i get it one... even for avent products, i still need the bottle adapter (sold separatly) to fit bag to bottle to feed baby

Angel

wah need to go to KKH just to get the adaptor ah ? I called up Avent, they say can go to their office at Gateway East to buy the parts. See how then ... ya my sis also pass me this bottle with disposable bags. She says it is useful if u need to make milk for ur babies when u r not at home.

pls let me know what Dr Fong says abt the 3d/4d scan ok ? tks !

my friend mislead me initally, cos he say his wife pump into bottle then pour into bags to store. Feeding time pour back into bottle again.

No need la, pour here and there. Can feed direct one.If you have tt bottle adaptor that can hold the plastic bag in place then feed direct after warm up.

Ok once I ve info on the 4D / 3D scan I will post info here.

Wonder Dr Fong knows about this thread.All mothers talking behind his back .. hehehe

mum of twin boys

ya I think it's the VIA system right ? anyway some also uses chicken essence bottles for storage.

Angel

I did mentioned to Dr Fong before there are such motherhood forums but I din mentioned this specific thread ... hehe better not lah ... not v nice ...

You can collect the small glass bottles from the hospital nursery ward. Tell the nurses to reserve some for you store b milk. They can help. So you need not buy so many bottles.

Newborn don't drink so much initially.

So i suggest, when you initially pump 10 to 20 mil out, don't combine them into one bottle.keep it that way.Give bb directly from the bottle.Cos if bb can't finish you can't keep the milk anymore.Have to throw. B milk is precious.

So feed what is needed and finish it, not enough warm up one more bottle.

U all get what I mean.

Till you know bb's pattern and feeding amount, then you are confident that he/ she will finish it then you combine the b milk in one bottle

gals
bad news... hahaa
Dr Fong knows of this forum...
he asked me during my 1st visit who recommended him. I told him I saw from a mother forum, then he "oh that one, u all talk about a lot of things hor?"
hahaaa

angel
with the glass bottles, we still need the adapter rite?

labbit
chicken essence bottle cant tell how much baby drink

Mum of twin boys,

Yes the glass bottle is the size of those small dia opening bottles like Nuk. So you need the adapter to fit onto the bottle then screw to your avent pump

Next week, I see Dr fong, I will disturb him, say saw his name being mentioned on internet.Then don't elaborate. You know he has a Pc on his table,Who knows when he is free, no patients, maybe he is an audience reading all mothers talking about him !!

Finally I realised I am being promoted to "Junior Member" in this thread.

So we must hit 1000 messages to become member ??

angel
hahaa u so bad...
thought his schedule is very pack, will have time to surf net??

any specific name for the bottle adapter? the sales people will know what is it, rite??

Mum of twin boys,

I try to see if I can get a pic of it, did you check the avent website?

You tell them the bottle adaptor to fit avent pump to small bottles or avent bottles to other pumps, vice versa.

wow u two posts really fast heeh ... ya Dr Fong knows lah but I mean he may not know that there is thread under his name .. I just say generally there is such a forum out there .. and I assured him that his reputation among mothers is good

But I dun think his PC is connected to internet ? aiyah anyway he is so busy ! sometimes I ask him things abt what I saw in NEWS and he seem ignorant of it ... ask if he goes holidays, he say he do it only when he goes for conference.

angel, I get what u mean. Anyway I dun feel good mixing BM also. just monitor bb's appetite and adjust accordingly, means may need to warm > 1 bottle lah ... tks !

hi yin

I drink ANMUM chocolate flavour. You can start drinking it twice a day when u are in ur 2nd trimester. But remember not to mix iron tablet with milk, take them 1-2 hours apart. Milk or diary product reduce the iron absorption in your body. Dr Fong will prescribe u the iron tablets.

He goes holiday when he goes conference?? dun think so leh... the last 2 conferences he went, after he return, ask him how was the trip, he say very rush... think this year is a busy year for gyneas, see a lot of pregnant ladies around.

Seemed addicted to his thread, are all of in office?? Cham ever since P, work efficiency drop.
I also reduce walking and plan my walking trip in office.

Same goes to Folic, don't take with milk too.

I also disturb him before during my first P. Cos I saw his cert on the wall behind his chair. ( TB clinic )

He graduated in 1990 and I said seemed not far from me, so I can count his age too ... hehehe

Last checkup, I got from him a letter to certify whether I can fly, he asked where I am going.

Then he suggested why don't go Penang instead, nice food.

he did mentioned that if needs a break, he'll take the chance to go during overseas conference.

angel

yes I am in ofc. Ya have reduced my walking eversince I am pregnant. bosses are v nice, dun dare to stress me too much.

I am taking Enfamama. Take milk on empty stomach too, acidic environment easier to absorb calcium
i need to hit more than 2 cups of milk a day if not need to take calcium tablets too...

having constipation liao, so sian. I told hubby stomach pain, he ask me to call Dr Fong... hahaaa (in case it's contraction) i told hubby later Dr Fong fall off his chair

Drs have erratic schedule.So can be very stressful.Imagine run clinic hours, then can be activated middle of the night for delivery.

I told my boss alr, I will take only 2 mth M leave and the last mth KIV for bb checkup, dr visit etc. Cos newborn has to see dr very frequent.

mum of twin boys ....

did u try to take prune juice to ease constipation ? ahah contractions are not bearable leh ...

sometimes I get diarrhoea and then follow by stomache too .. i told Dr Fong, he say mostly caused by intestines as our digestion mechanism has slow down during P.

Dr Fong ask me to stop ANMUM and prescribed calcium pills to me .. cos my weight gain is > 2kg this month heehe I blamed it on the powdered milk.

ya Dr Fong is super busy, even his covering gynae Dr Kenneth lee has many patients also.

wah angel, ur boss must be please to hear that. I will take full 3mths ... as I still have a lot of annual leave to clear..

My first pregnancy, I drank alot of milk.at least 5 tins of annum. And many packs of those fresh milk

This P is a total turn off on milk. I rem nearly puked when I took the cream of mushroom soup.

The milky smell I can't take it.

angel...
how old is Dr Fong ?? hahaa I dont remember seeing his cert there... :p not observant recently then i saw his medals etc on the shelf at the counter (TB clinic)
Think I am more observant at the Paragon clinic. Told hubby saw his family photo, hubby say i bleeding liao still so kpo... hahaa

Oh you so fast told boss liao?? I have not told my boss anything yet

labbit
my boss too totally left me alone to rot liao after i went for my operation.

labbit
ur EDD in Sept right? will we be in labour during the same time... hahaa
Dr Fong will have headache liao

Enfamama is a reduced fats formula.

I taking full 3 months too, but not much annual leave left, cos company having shut downs

wow.. didn't know that i can't take calcium tablets or folic acid with milk. also afraid that i'll put on weight if i take too much milk.

mum of twin boys, i got a bottle of syrup from Dr Fong that helps in consitpation. it really helps.

hahaha ... it's a big secret if I reveal his age here.If he read all our thread, roughly he can tell who we are. Ok, you add yourself. Typically a guy finish medicine school at 24 yrs old. 5 yrs course of study from age 19.

So he completed in Yr 1990, so calculate how old is he now ?? Hahaha ....If he read this message, guess he is shaking his head, P mothers are so KPO.

Then we shall say, it is caused by the P hormones that make so KPO suddenly... : - )