DR FONG YANG at FONG CLINIC ( next to Tiong Bahru MRT )

I am back from my holiday. Tired and my poor boy fever when back. Too heaty.

But good experience for him. He is so chatty during the trip.

Next visit to Dr Fong on 06/06. Any updates from the rest.

hi Angel

welcome back

just visited Dr Fong this Tues. BB weighs 704g at 24.5 weeks. Dr Fong says bb growing well
He also said my placenta is ok. Phew ...

Hi Labbit,

I don't know how much my bb has grown, the load like very heavy and makes me tired easily.

Last check up was 330 gm at 18th weeks.Detailed scan 06/06 then see Dr Fong.

wow 330g at 18 is good mah .. mine was 309g during 20th weeks detailed scan.

Baby weight incr more than double within 5 weeks, think it is the durians hehe ...

Sometimes it could be the weight of the fluid also. Remember to ask if the amt of fluid is enough in the womb.

Hi Labbit,

What I worry is my low placenta ?

I think bb should ve inc quite alot of weight. I have been feeling very tired lately. Feel the load on the front is heavy.

Now singapore sale has quite good buys now.Tonight I am collecting some reservation for my maternity clothings from Thyme Maternity. I buy their bottoms as they still can be worn after birth.

Their cutting also bigger and more comfortable. As for the tops not too worth to pay that price.

Doggiemummy is quiet, is she ok ??

hi angel
doc says ur placenta is low ?
mine was low in
my early 2nd tri, so doc said to avoid carry heavy stuff, no squatting and heard sme doc says no sex. if not, may cause bleeding.

me went robinsons yest too. bgt medela mini electric plus, and other bb stuff. still need to get bb car seat.

I am ok, you gals come in when I didnt log on

When for detail scan on 25th May, I am expecting 2 boys, everything is ok, 1 baby weigh 360 grams the other 300 grams. Think there is measurement error as the "smaller" baby is curled up during measurement

The detail scan says my placenta are not low. But due to the weight of the babies, Dr Fong still told me not to walk too much. I am still having light brown/beige stain. Dont know if it's due to weak bladder.

angel
glad you had an enjoyable trip

labbit
bb car seat is for baby up to how old?
I heard from some where that the fluid is from the water we drink? that's why we need to drink lots of water is this true?

hi mum of twin boys aka doggiemumy

baby car seat I saw is either from newborn to 4 years old OR from 4-5mths to 4 yrs... after which you change to toddler seat.

I saw some for newborns at Robinson but I dun really like the material as it looks thick and I am afraid baby may perspire a lot under this climate.

U mean the amio fluid ? eh I am not sure where it came from ?? but I do know preggie tends to get very thirsty .. and I do drink a lot of water daily cos I love it hehe ... keeps me moisturised and prevent water retention.

Hi Mum of twin boys !!

Congrats to you. Your in law must be most happy about the boys.Are you happy too ?? Most impt bbies must be healthy and easy deliveries.

Me also control my walking now and try to sit down more.

Labbit,

Me same case as you, am hoping as our p progresses it will move and shift. Hope it will go up instd of down.

All,

By the way, the bb car seat depends on your child. Theoretically mentioned up to 4 yrs, but if for big bb, by 3 i think can't sit anymore.And for small bb, maybe can sit up to 5 yrs. So it all depends.

And nowadays my boy does not want to sit in the car seat. Keep wanting to sit infront with his daddy.

As for the infant car seat, it normally for bb less than 13 kg.

angel
i sitting down more too. with a pillow to support my back so that i will remember not to sit upright, need to sit slanted to reduce the weight on the cervix.

all
So do you gals buy infant car seat? was wondering if i buy 2 but do not always go out with babies, think it's a waste of money :p
The only time i can think of that i will be going out is babies 1st month and Chinese New Year.

hi mum of twin boys,

u mean u r not allow to sit upright ? tot this is the recommended posture for preggies since we get backache easily ??

I need to get a infant car seat as I would need to transport my gal to my mum place everyday. Wonder if they have car seat for twins ? hehe ...

hi angel

doc says it will move up as the pregnancy progress.. dun worry. Just remember no straining and squatting.

labbit
I get stains when i sit upright

Think I will just get the baby car seat
need to budget for a lot of doubles now

angel
mine seems to move up already, as stated in the detail scan, so you dont worry ok

This GSS sale is a good time for us to shop and see the best buy. So far I use the Maxi Corsi car seat quite ok.

As for the infant seat, my boy sat till 9 mths can fit already as he is like those michellin tyre type. Alr upgrade to car seat at 9 mths.

Suggest u go to Ubi, Shun Li industrial complex, there is a baby hypermart, where they sell alot of these strollers,car seat etc.

Good to drop by there and have an idea.

mum of twin boys

oh din know it happen this way ... take care ah ... is there any way to avoid it beside the sitting posture ? is that what Dr Fong advised ?

Twins means more things to buy... but most importantly DOUBLE THE HAPPINESSSSSSSSSSSSS !

angel
my office is next to the shun li building, so i went to the hypermart before, true that they have a lot of things there but quite blur for new mum like me ... hehee The sales there didnt bother about us cos maybe it's during lunch time

labbit
Dr Fong say the cerlage is not a permanent cure, dont walk too much need plenty of rest. NO SHOPPING. hahaaa
As long as i can hold till week 34 till give birth, should be safe

Hi gals, does Dr Fong print out the scan pic for u? i've been visiting Dr Fong since wk 6. i'm now in Wk 10. already 3 visits but he doesn't print out any scan pic for me. is it too early to ask Dr Fong for the print-out?

Hi Mum of twin boys,

Ya, I also read about the cerlage stitich is not a total cure. It does not mean with that stitch on you can jump and run. Still have to watch and reduce strenous activities.

I am thinking of taking half day on friday to shop at the motherhood expo.Last time I ever buy the nuk wet tissue at $6.60 per bag ( with 3 pack inside )

Wa you work there in the East, are you staying in the East too? I am staying in P Ris.And I work in West.Everyday like east to west.

Suggest you start your maternity leave early cos last stage no joke esp when bb head is engaged,Can feel the load at the far low end, very uncomfortable esp walking.

Yin

U have to ask for it from Dr Fong.Then he will freeze image and print it. during my first P, I will ask for photo print out. But for second P, I don't bother already.

I got my boy's stroller, Inglesina which can open with one hand.And also it matching infant seat.it is very comfortable for baby esp the seat can go flat till like a bed. It is also long enough for diaper change on the stroller.

My boy still sitting on it.But we may get a small light one just in case the big one tired and do not wan to walk at least can transport him in stroller. No joke to carry a 17kg toddler and walk. More than 3 pkg of rice.

I also use the sarong when he was a infant.The sarong is very comfortable as baby sleep longer in there, cosy and hug close to mummy's body. At 4 mths I use the tommy tippe carrier where he can sit str up and can see things around.The baby wt will achored at your hip so you won't feel so tiring.

hi yin

i think dr fong start printing the images for you after you cross the 12 weeks mark. It is free. after detailed scan, which is at ur 20th week, he will ask u to bring a video camera to record your baby's movements on screen as the bb is too big to fit into the screen and thus cant print out as a picture.

hi angel

I still dunno if I want to use the baby carrier. But sis says it is good esp when u are going to crowded places and bringing a stroller is a hassle.

hi mum of twin boys

is it possible for dr fong to chk the condition of the cervix via ultrasound scan ? my friend got MC from now till delivery from her gynae cos the gynae says her cervix looks soft from the scan.

yin
Just tell Dr Fong that you want the print out
He will print out for you. I requested once, still not clear can't see where is what, but he printout nevertheless

angel
I am staying at Dover, me from west to east
opposite direction from you
I can't go shopping
but will sneak out once next month to get the babies' stuff before GSS ends
Any suggestion where to go, 1 stop with everything? Thought of Mothercare but not sure if their promotion last that long.

labbit
cervix soft on scan ah?? not sure.
he did the manual cervix check, use finger to check super uncomfortable :p

Sling
~~~~
Think sling or carrier is more comfortable for the baby, and not so troublesome.

labbit, wow can still bring video camera to record bb movement? sound great.

mum of twin boys, noted with thanks.

btw, in now in my wk10 of preg. what test will i be expecting from Dr Fong? Heard of triple test, oscar test, NT scan etc. do i really have to undergo so many test?

hi mum of twin boys

oh his fingers ah ? ahah like doing pap smear hor ? but I guess that's the most accurate way to check if you have dilated also.

As for the carrier, I dont know if the bb feels uncomfortable, being tied up and hanging there ... and i think only applicable if we are in aircon room ah else the bb will be v hot ?

hi yin

during week 12-14 u will be ask to draw ur blood for triple test. I did asked dr fong if we need to do the NT scan, he says the accuracy is the same as triple test so we can skip that. as for OSCAN test, I think it is of higher accuracy but I forsee he will not suggest it unless ur triple tests shows unsatisfactory results. In fact, if it does, i think he will proceed to Amio test straightaway.

yin,
Triple test is at week 16, detail scan is at week 20. That's all i went through
This is my 1st pregnancy too, now at week 21.

labbit,
Dr Fong will do the manual checking near labour time too

mum of twin boys & labbit, wow the 2 of u are way ahead of me. at which stage will Dr Fong tell us the gender of bb?

Detailed scanning meaning just purely scanning only rite? no blood test? i'm terrifed of needles. haha.. timid me.

Based one first pregnancy experience, he will normally do the CTG monitoring at his clinic during 36WK unless you have some symptons of contraction. I actually had early contraction in my first P at about 33 to 34wks. I didn't know it was contraction, keeping thinking it was braxton Hicks, false labour. When hooked on the machine, I saw spikes.

Dr Fong told me if I go on and walk or stand so much, I will end up in labour very soon. He gave me medication ( Ventolin / Sabutamol, Asthmatic med ) to stop the contraction. It really helps.

And the day I stop the medication, my tummy was in pain with frequent contraction like heavy mensed coming.

Frankly speaking, Dr Fong is already very gentle in checking for dilation. The midwife in the labour ward creates the most pain and discomfort. I screamed out when she checked my dilation and also the insertion of the tablet to induce labour.
Can't bear the pain internally and I really struggled with her. Wonder the midwife fingers are shorter so she try to poke further and further.

I am now 21 Weeks too.

Yin,

U just heed Dr Fong's advice.If bb corporates, normally by 4th mth should be able to see unless bb crosses legs then have to wait till general scanning.

If you are younger than 35, and blood test is normal, you don't need to do amnio test. The amnio needle is thicker than our usual injection needle.
I went thru, enduring the poke-thru, think tears flowed out but I control cos my pain also very low.

I also can't move as I worried the needle may poke into my baby.

But for the sake of baby, we mothers have to suffer all these pain. When your baby smiles to you, you will naturally forget about the labour, needle or whatever pain you had before.

hi yin

you will roughly know the bb gender on the 4th mth and during detailed scanning, it will be confirmed,... unless your bb refuse to coorporate
. Detailed scanning includes a lot of measurements of the bb esp the head circumference. They also chk for heart abnormalities, presence of kidneys, bladders, the legs and hands, and also the facial condition. I also saw the neck thickness on my report as well. They will capture a lot of images of the bb and compiled into a report, which you and Dr Fong will get one copy each. Dr Fong will ask u to do ur detailed scan at TMC, it cost abt $105 including GST.

hi angel

what is a CTG monitoring ?ya Dr Fong is v gentle I totally agree ! And that's why I prefer a male gynae. Did pap smear with female gynae... aiyo they are so "chor lor" !

Btw where did u delivered ? Wah the midwife so fierce ah ?

Hi Twin boys mummy,

I also thinking to shop at one stop, maybe John Little or Robinson. then above S$100 ask them deliver to home. No need to carry them

Most Dept store provides free delivery if you purchase above $100.

As for me, I only need to buy the consumables, like nursing pads, maternity pads,disposable undies,baby wet tissues. Couple of new infant clothes. My older boy's clothes can be passed down to the younger one.

As you for you, you also must start to source what type of milk bottles to use, sterilisers, warmer, breast pumps, etc.

Labbit,

Not fierce la, but they need to get their job done.So they did tell me to corporate if not all over again.

I delivered at Mt A, highly recommended. Nice environment too. Nurses are very helpful.

CTG is the machine that detect contraction and baby heart beats. There are thick belts strapped onto your tummy and the plotter will plot out the activity in the uterus. If they on the volume, you can hear bb heart beats loudly. The hospital has more sophiscated machine and they will strapped that on you once you are in the labour ward.

Angel

what do u suggest for such items ?

I bought Avent steriliser, Medela Mini Electric Plus, 2 Avent milk bottles, 2 NUK milk bottles .... in case bb reject either brand of milk bottles.

hi angel

oic .. so Dr Fong's machine can do that ? Good lor .. I think his machine at Paragon is very new.

I will be delivering in MT A too.

Labbit,

I also have the same feeling if I were to see a female gyne. At labour, if pain, they will say " It's like that one la" Cannot tahan how to give birth.Doubt they will be as gentle and caring like male gyne.

Wat you think ??

But Dr Fong is very firmed during labour. He will decide if can't wait have to emergency c section, have to go. But good thing, he gave pp last 2 tries before go for tt. That was wat happen to me 2 yrs back. 17 hrs labour and bb head got stucked in the birth canal, can't go down or go up. Made so worried cos I didn't hear bb's cries till 45 mins later during c section opt.

But the moment bb is out, I saw him carried bb to midwife. The bluish and slimy little one and midwife will clean and suck out mucuos and baby will take his first breath and you hear the bb cries. Then I heaved a sigh of relief

hi angel

YEs I totally agree with u, the midwife are experienced mah.

I think a good gynae shld be firmed lor.. i mean it's 2 lives in his hands. Ya it is such a relief to hear our bb first cry ..

so did ur hubby accompany u ? did he cut the cord ?

Angel, omg thick needles?? *faint*
i have super low threshold of pain. hopefully everything is alrite.

which means i need to pass the detailed scanning & triple blood test if i don't wish anymore needles poking rite?

btw i've been to Mt A. nurse really helpful. i did my 'washing' last nov there. when i was abt to discharge i blackout suddenly. the nurses came to me asking 'ai yo poor gal why u faint? u don't want to go home is it?'

Labbit,

I also use the Avent electric steriliser, warmer,milk bottles. The difference of Nuk and avent is that the teats from nuk is very soft. My boy initially do not want Avent teat cos it is hard.And the Nuk ones will make my boy lazy in sucking cos it is very soft esp the hospital used those disposable types are from Nuk.

If possible, when you supplement your baby with formula milk, try to transfer to the bottle type you use, then you will ve less headache when bb gets used to the soft teat and reject those Avent teats.

One more thing, you have to tell the midwife what milk powder type to give. If not, they will just grab the promotion of the month.

I give my boy with Similac infant then Similac follow on then now is Gain IQ.

Suggest once you deliver your baby, if natural and you are strong to sit up, latch on bb as soon as possible. The colostrum in droplets are the most nutritious to bb.It looks yellowish, don't be afraid,it is not white like milk.

The more you latch on the lesser chance of you getting engorgement.Cos I was c-sect and could only sit up after 48 hrs, but suffered bad engorgement till I had fever.

Let me know if you need info on Bfeed.

hi Angel

Tks for the info !!

As a start I will need to let bb try out both types of bottle right ? Else I wont know which one she likes. Thereafter I will continue to use it when I supplement with formula milk.

OK so GAIN IQ is a better choice ?

yes I heard all good things abt colostrum .. and I really wish I can give it to my gal. I heard the quantity of it is not alot right ?
Can we express it out for bb to consume in case we are not fit to bf ?

My friend also suffered high fever due to engorgement ....

You have more info on Bfeed ???

Yin,

You stay positive, not all need to go thru, seek Dr Fong's advice. I bargained with Dr Fong for local anasthetsia but he told tt LA jab is even more painful. So he went ahead without it.So he just poke that thick needle in. It was painful initially. Me is a type of person very "sayang" my own flesh. You know what I mean.

How many weeks are you now ?

Labbit,

Actually, for my case, it was an emergency C-sect and husband not suppose to be in the opt theatre.But I made noise say I can't go thru without hubby around. Dr Fong no choice, but to let my hubby in but he warned that the scene is very bloody.He was all dressed up in green surgical gown

Thank goodness, he sat beside me throughout.Better to have your hubb by your sides, then they will understand how much pain the wife has went thru.

Labbit,

Gain IQ are for kids one yr older, it is a follow on from Similac to similac 6mth then to Gain IQ.
I opt for the Similac Excellence. But it is more expensive. I read the contents quite good.

All mothers have milk for their baby. You must stimulate more and supply will inc. Latching on direct is the best to boost supply and prevent engorgement.Direct sucking by baby empties the breast better than pump. Mother brain and baby are kind of linked. I experienced that before myself. When baby cries during hunger, my b milk just let down and flow.The more you give to baby, the more you empty the breast, the brain will tell your body to produce more milk. That's the way to stimulate milk supply.

If mothers has no milk, what about olden days when milk powder was not invented yet.

I gave my boy up to 7mths, theoretically babies need B milk at least up to 6 mths. After that solely rely on B milk is not enough for bb growth and dev.

Gals, I'm so glad to find this thread. it is so informative & u gals are so helpful. Will try to pop in as often as i can.

Angel, i'm in my 10wks. Still long way to go.

hi Angel

tks for the precious info, again.

I will definitely heed your advice as I do wish I can bf my gal for at least 6 mths....

I think what u said is true...mind over body right ! I mean if a mum is determined, I believe the body will follow the instruction and produce more milk. But when I get back to work, I will need to express milk and bb will not latch on so often ... so the milk supply will reduce in time ah ?

You must mentally be prepared. Bfeeding need detemination. There are alot of obstacles esp first time mothers. I myself also was hit by so many obstacles from engorgement, to low supply to old folks not supporting bfeeding.

My close friend helped me thru, esp me that time first time mother have no knowledge of how to position bb to latch on.She held the bb and thought me how to latch on.Position also impt if bb keep sucking on the nipple, end up easily sore nipple which is very painful.

The MT A nurses are very helpful and they are very supportive to bfeeding.

Bfed bb are healthier, as the antibodies are from the mother. No formula milk can replace b milk.I hv read somewhere bfed bb are also more intelligent too.