Cup cakes for birthday

fatmum, yeah... i read too... i also used medium heat... (mine indication is one flame, two flame and three flames kind... i'm using two flame pic) .... still PONG.... hahahahah...

my mum says... anything kind of flour + baking powder or double b.p... sure huat one what... baking powder is to make things huat.... how can dun huat....???

duh... got point also hor?

so in the end, botak or huat is correct??? hahahahah

cat, i also tried the steamed milk cake, twice.

First steam : was using the high flame, according to the instructions given. Also huat like huat kuay. Then i think think, doesn't make sense to use high flame.

Second steam : use low flame but with 3 flames, turn to the smallest flame. Nice dome shape.

May I ask you all, do you wait for the steam to steam up before putting in the cake, or straight into the steamer after spooning the batter?

maruolin, why no sense to use high flame? ... duh?

small flame = 3 flames?!?!??! ... how? ...

i let water BOIL BOIL BOIL till STEAMING then i put in the cakes.... timing is ok... i will boil water when i just start to mix the things...

Yany, yeah... very easy to do... less than half hour settle and itz delicious no matter using b.p. or 2xb.p. or botak or huat!

Been following this thread religiously ever since i 'discovered' it months back! hehe, but i never posted anything yet...
Used to bake every now and then (but standard so-so only), now with 2 kids hardly have the time to bake liao... But looking that there's so many baking enthusiast here, it really brought back my passion for baking! Some of the 'fruits' i achieved when i started reading this thread is baking donuts and cupcakes :p
Really hope to try more stuff from the recipes that mummies in this thread are sharing

Thanks for sharing!

Right now, trying to dab my hands at fondant... originally wanted to make something special for my girl's 1st bday but don't think i hv the time to do so liao... anyway, am still interested and made my very 1st batch of fondant... However, need some advice here...

I did some MMF, by melting the MM and then folding icing sugar into it, of course, used quite a bit of shortening also :p
I have a couple of questions as i'm not sure the final product i hv is it correct or not:
1) after the MM is melted (it's hot), do i use it immediately or i hv to cool it? will using it hot/cold affect the final product?
2) the well-kneaded MMF should it be like very difficult to pull apart? or shld it be soft? mine feels a bit tough and difficult to pull
3) how long usually have to knead the MMF for?
4) after kneading, i wrap the MMF in clingwrap and put at room temperation... now, a few hours later, it feels quite hard to the touch... shld this be the way?
5) if i wan to use if to start putting color in it, can i use the MMF straight away or i need to put something else to make it softer?
6) how long can the MMF stay at room temperature for?

Many thanks!

cat,

I mean to get the dome shape, no sense to use high flame, cos likely to huat.

my 3 or 2 ring of flame, still can adjust to the lowest, that's why i did. and i got my dome shape.

oohhh.... i c i c.... my gas stove only BIG flame, medium flame and then centre smallest flame kind....

nvmd lah.. huat then huat lah.... HUAT ARH!!!

as long as edible and taste good can liow...

My 5th ???6th attempt??? Countless and feetless!!!

Got pong pong but surface very rough!!! My lao say i kisiao liao!!!!Now going Snooze mode!!!!

1824633.jpg

<font color="ff0000">LOOKING FOR TUPPERWARE SIEVE</font>

i'm tired using my sieve to do the almond already!!!! Must invest a gd one!!!

just discovered this thread...

i am a newbie in baking...been hoping to bake but didnt realised that i can do that with my convec oven...haha...and i gotten this oven for almost 5yrs *shy shy*

can I join in the baking craze too?

fatmum: WOW seh... you so yong gan ar... 5/6th attempt? Hehehe my hb ar.. if failed hor.. he will said THROW la... failed le.. still keep for wat?

Fatmum..do u have alkaline water at home...u can add 1 tsp to 100gm almond mix evenly, leave aside a while and boil with hot water..should be able to remove...

Yany...not yet start my 3 attempt...hehehe..maybe tomorrow will try..today holiday must rest also hahaha....

I'm gonna try attempting Macs in a while!!!!* PRAY* hehehehehe

Plim,
finally u are here! hehehe. I add icing sugar into the hot MM immediately out from microwave. Then i stir with a spoon for a while then start to knead the MMF while its still a bit hot. I dun think u should wait for it to cool cos by then very difficult to 'dig' out the melted MMF.
MMF shouldnt be difficult to tear apart. but if u rest at room temp becomes a bit hard, u can put back into the microwave and heat a few secs to soften it. For me I dun, becos my hands are very very warm, i jus knead a bit more the MMF will become pliable again.

Maybe u dun add too much shortening. In fact this batch of MMF i did the shortening was only for greasing the sides of the bowl and the top i was working on.

for colours sometimes i knead them in and use immediately, other times i keep store them in tupperware for later use.

Fatmum, i see if i can get any sieve for you. the promo jus ended, now like OOS.

Peng
Thanks will try out once i finish my pkt of ground almond. But for how long i need to boil it? I suppose I throw in after the water boil right?

S@L
Thanks for helping me to keep a look out.

Jst refuse to give up leh. but getting sian
liao ha..ha....

I assemble the fail mac with nutella chocolate.look like ufo ha..ha...

use the egg yolk to make tiramisu.

1825510.jpg

1825511.jpg

Today we ( meow, 1-0 &amp; me. And we are so glad that yany came and join us) had our 1st tries on macaroon and see the differ? Good sunny weather for the 1st one... we achieved the FEETS!!!!!! ( yippy) 2nd tries.. ALAMAK.. the feet dunno go where holiday.. or prehaps is the eggs or weather fault...

The rest if the updating.. will let meowmeow update....

1825986.jpg
1825987.jpg

<font size="+1">TUPPERWARE SIEVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!</font>
<font color="aa00aa">i also want leh..
where can i get it?
very tired of using the traditional sieve.</font>

lim... hahaha the nice ones hor.. we tries n tries.. end up no more lo.. the no feet one.. might still have some... No worries.. we will try again for the feets... so you keep your stomach for it ok...

lynzi, fatmum, i try to find la. i m actually dealing with tuppers...but not very active. but becos i also wan to get the sieve, i can try to find. keep u girls updated again.

i also baked macs today....dunno what went wrong. but i nvr xpected to succeed anyway ..ahahha.as expected, no feet. texture also 'sala'. ..jus try for the sake of it..cos there must always be a first time' right. tomorrow try again...kekekeke

fatmum, thanks!
my questions not 'chim' lah, mayb i still haven grasped the idea how to do MMF yet :p

S@L,
yes, finally decide to join and seek the advice of so many experts here! hehe...
er, MMF not difficult to tear apart, how u define not difficult ah? hmmm, is it the soft soft kind or stretchy kind?

re: macs
wow, looks like a lot of pple busy doing macs... hehe, i myself hvnt tried b4 (dun hv sweet tooth hence even when in France i nvr did try it also :p)

tupperware siever, how does it look like?

plim, u come over my pl la..i show u the MMF

its abit like the 'muah chee' we eat...but nt so 'rubbery'...

Yany and all who are doing macs...my mac came out like stone. the shape is there. egg white also peaked...but they tasted more like meringue. is it too much egg white or too little? i made 2 batches. one sat for 20min, the other for a few hrs..results both the same.

Plim, u can go Tuppers website to take a look.

MIA very very long...been very busy, so became a silent reader at times. Just to drop by as my friend msn me quite a few mummies are looking for the tupperware sifter. I was the one who sold them to some of the mummies here.

S@L,

Clarify here, this item, in fact, has oredi been phased out from company since long time ago. Just that I bot over the old stocks from my uplines and sold at the promo price. But very fast, they are sold out. I kept 2 pcs for my own use.

S@L, Fatmum, Lynzi,

I am checking with my other fellow tupperware consultants if they still hv stocks for them. Will update all of you again.

Well done to the westerner!!!!!

Don;t laugh at me ya....jst tried another bacth. How come inside hollow ar????

Jsmum
thanks thanks. I'm also asking my friend to check for me.
1826558.jpg

J's mum,
If you can find more of the sifter, count me in please.

Fatmum,
Your macs this time around looks a little strange. I don't know why its like that. Perhaps Pink can help?

S@L,
I think you overbake your macs. It should be soft on the insides.

Those who are making the macs.. Are you all using italian meringue? If so, its should not be so tempremental mah as italian meringue is quite stable.

Eron,
MMF cake looks good ! now no longer shiny leh.... very well done !

Fatmum,
i oso still blur blur with macs, still got failure rate.... haiz !
btw, i think as a start, dun try to ground your whole almond nuts, better concentrate do macs using the ready use almound ground.
if not, then very confusing, dunno wat cause the failure.

snowbelle,
no worries, you can extract the recipe in my blog

yes i have all wilton certificate
course 1, 2, 3, 4

ah yes, for figurine, woman singing with baby sitting on the flour, i think that would be very nice leh.....
you can prepare 1 week ahead, 2 week i think too long? i never try 2 week wor.... the most is 5 days.
singapore is very humid, unless your figurine kept at 24 hrs aircon room

janiviy,
Aunty yo and my recipe not content italian meringue....
actually, my recipe is exactly the same with aunty yo, only smaller scale and i reduced the sugar.
italian meringue means add meringue powder (wilton brand) ?
perhaps you can share with us the recipe? since you mention it's quite stable.

i'm oso very fed-up with macs, unpredictable result.

my pink macs, use to be very obidient, now become very noti.
the chocolate and greentea use to be very noti, now i can achieved.
really have no idea wat theory behind. perhaps you can guide us? we need an expert to share with us.....
i'm very amateur in macs, i never attend any class before, purely on trial and error and some advise from AY and chef veron.

just a very noobish question here.
everytime i see recipe, they just mention bake at certain degree for certain time. But do we actually need to preheat the oven to that temperature first?

i am going to try out some recipes u all have posted. Wish me luck.

<font color="aa00aa">MORNING MUMMIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

hi joannelim,
yup u need to pre-heat the oven first.
good luck!
share with us your fruits yah.</font>

my "fruits" during weekend:

Refreshment for saturday:
1827199.jpg

1827200.jpg

1827201.jpg

1827202.jpg

1827203.jpg

fatmum, we sama sama, see my pink macs !
what a shame, aunty pink failed her PINK macarons..
last week still very obidient... haiz!
1827204.jpg

Pink,

The cakes is done by you? Very nicely decorated!!!!

I wanna make a 1st birthday cake my my son birthday bash. Do you have any idea wad cake can i make?

Eron,kl148,yany,
I didn't get to see your postings &amp; emails until today. Paiseh, i'm unable to help you buy the mats as already placed order.

mash nope... it's juz like 'silicon mat' purpose but better quality and not silicon material and it can't be cut to fit oven...

please read previous posts/archives... read that we can roll fondants and cookies on them etc. ...

I need help.
How to get solid colours like u have for your MMF?? Add alot colour issit? Mine is so pastel..
Also, I can't seems to get Black color!

J's mum, thanks for clarifying..hehehe. thats why i said me nt very active selling la...only when i need certain items..thanks for helping me keep a lookout. if hv pls inform us...

i actually saw similar sieve selling outside, but is made of metal...have to press the handle then the mechanism will sweep the flour/sugar out of the sieve....Tupperware one works the same way right? heard good reviews of the sieve...why phased out?