Durian cake for my auntie BD

B4 Deco
1513313.jpg
1513314.jpg

After Deco (but Ugly La)
1513315.jpg

Left over some durian cream so make into durian puff

1513316.jpg

Jen, ugly la, u can c the cream spread untill nt even. very difficult to spread leh, specially the side. Really peifu those expert here can deco untill so nice like hotel standard..

<font color="0000ff">Jen</font>, hopefully i will improve soon enough...ill practice more. and hopefully can do nice ones for my baby's bday.

Joanne,

Your cake looks good. Don't care about the decor la, most important is the taste of the cake.

So, you work at kaki bukit. Shun Li?

Maruolin,
After reading some of the postings in cakejournal, I am so tempted to take half day urgent leave, buy all the tools and materials and start rolling the fondant straight away!

hahaha, cookiepie.

Be prepare to burn a BIG hole in your pocket. Sometimes I also have the urge too. but i tell myself, it's not time yet. (hehehe)

maruolin,
I can never reach that standard lah, my fingers are not nimble enough. Arts &amp; craft has always been my poorest subject in school leh! But still feel like playing with fondant, heeheee....

Peng, must thanks kendy for her sponge cake recipe lor..think it the only cake that i bake it successfully leh...the rest all either too dry, too wet or too hard...maybe god c i so filial wan to give my auntie surprise so pity me let me success this time...haha
But hor dunno my mother will jealous anot coz her BD i nv bake any cake for her as tat time i dun hv oven &amp; no recipe also...

jessel, at least u bother to practice. i say want to do, but will do once only. haha. not nice also bo bian.

Ladies, any idea where to get nice see through cupcake boxes/cases for 1 or 2 or 4 cupcakes type? like gift boxes those? thanks!

As usual so many nice "fruits". Me down with bad flu n sore throat. Sigh!

Chiffon Cake
Thinking to attempt as I have got the mini chiffon pan from daiso.
- May I check how full to fill the chiffon pan? half? two-third? or 90%?
- Baking time for mini chiffon pan?

Thanks mommies.

Sally,

Me not a chiffon expert, (still practicing) i usually fill up to two-third. In my opinion, the higher I fill, i have a higher chiffon. Likewise, if you half fill it or lower, you get a thinner cake (which may be not so nice looking lor).

Chiffon experts kindly comment.

Hi Sally, just baked chiffon cake ystdy using the daiso chiffon pan and I agree with maruolin that the higher you fill the nicer it is. I did 3 pans, 2 3/4 filled and 1 1/2 filled, the 1/2 filled one looks quite wierd.

But thing is... my chiffon cake not light still quite dense. Anybody can help with this? is it cos i never beat my egg white properly? or i folded in the egg white too fast? Or is it my recipe? i used this one http://lilyng2000.blogspot.com/2006/03/pandan-chiffon-cake.html

Maruolin,Suzanne,Peng,
Thanks for the info.

Peng,
How long u bake using mini chiffon pan?

Suzanne,
I found this video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5p-kvyL5Uys&amp;amp;feature=related
Not sure useful to u or not?
I thinking to use this recipe cos no need to blend the pandan leave to get the juice:
http://bakingmum.blogspot.com/2007/04/pandan-chiffon-cake.html
Me trying to find the simplest recipe.
Oh n Pink also has step by step instruction in her blog: http://myhumblearts2.blogspot.com/2008/04/orange-chiffon-cake-step-by-step-method.html
Lets pray our chiffon will be successful.

Suzanne,

I also have this problem, most of the time. The most successful i have achieved was the green tea chiffon, super dry in the centre. The other day I baked cream cheese chiffon. My baking time was around 25-30mins mins for a 18cm chiffon tin. The mini chiffon pan around 15-20mins.

On the pandan chiffon, I personally prefer to blend the pandan leaves, it gives a more natural fragrance. An extra drop of the essence will enhance to the flavouring as well.

Talking about folding, I have tried my best to fold at the fastest pace, to avoid the white from sinking. However, after baking, the chiffon is still kind of heavy. I was told it might due to the white has sunk before i finished folding.

Peng, any advise?

Again, practice makes perfect. But when i see the amount of sugar use for each baking, I very scared lei! Like that how to perfect?

Maruolin...so far my chiffon texture not giving me much problem :p did u fold from bottom to top, maybe some egg white underneath not properly mix? my folding method : fold 1/3 of the egg white into the egg batter, mix evenly, then pour back to the balance egg white and fold again! dunno this helps or not? or next time try the hand mixing one! kekeke

Sally...kekeke i see the hand folding so very yucky but no harm trying mah..i use a normal spatula to do folding.

Cookiepie..thanks sharing this blog, though i can read chinese but then see mandarin blog i really got headache! hahaha and folding method seems more leceh especially folding the flour at 2nd last step...

Hi cookiepie, I took alook at the web you provided. Quite keen to try. But can anyone translate for me? Me no chinese leh.

Want to try after I have collected my tins.

Hi Sally,
Thanks for the links are you goign to try the baking mum's recipe or PENG's recipe. Try oredi let me know how it goes leh... then i'll try again. I actually tried Baking mum's Pandan chiffon recipe II and it came out dryer than the one i just did. So maybe that's why i can figure out if it's the pan or the recipe.

Peng, can i check with you, do you beat your egg white only when you are about to do the folding or you can beat in advance. Cos both times i made the cake I beat in advance and i found a bit of egg white still at the bottom of the bowl could this be why my cake is dense?

Cookie pie, got english version anot ah? SOrry my chinese v v v bad. I can't figure out what's the content.

I did a quick translation with my half past six english and chinese(cantonese). Hopefully you understand:

A. Preparation:
1. Sieve the low protein flour (cake flour, I think) and baking powder 3 times.
2. Warm the vegetable oil, vanilla essence and orange liquor (as shown in the picture)

B. Egg yolk mixture:
1. Blend the egg yolk evenly
2. Add the sugar in the egg yolk mixture
3. Use electric mixer to blend the egg yolk and sugar. Tip the mixing bowl and move the mixer up and down while mixing until the mixture turns light yellow and thick
4. Add the warmed veg oil, water, vanilla essence and orange liquor mixture from A
5. Mix lightly

C. Egg white mixture:
1. In another mixing bowl, mix the egg white until bubbles form. Add a pinch of salt.
2. Add 1/3 of the sugar each time and continue adding until you finish all the sugar.
3. Continue mixing until stiff peak forms (as shown in the picture)

D. Combining the various mixtures:
1. Add 1/3 of the egg white mixture to the egg yolk mixture and mix well.
2. Then fold-in 1/3 of the flour mixture
3. Add another 1/3 of the egg white mixture and combine
4. Fold-in the remaining flour mixture and combine
5. Add in the remaining egg white mixture and combine
Note: The steps in Part D must be done a quick and light manner.

If you are baking a vanilla chiffon cake, you can put the mixture in the oven now. But if you want a marble chiffon cake, continue with the following steps:

E. Coco mixture
1. Dissolve coco powder in hot water
2. Mix the coco mixture in (1) with some batter from (D).
3. Scoop some of the mixture from E2 on the chiffon cake batter
4. Mix lightly using a chopstick and lightly knock the tube pan once against the table top
5. Bake at 180 deg for 30-35 minutes.
6. Invert the tube pan once it is out of the oven.

Ingredients (for 16.5cm tube pan)

Veg oil – 50ml
Water – 50ml
Vanilla essence – little bit
Orange liquor – little bit
Low protein flour – 70g
Baking powder – 2g
Coco powder – 10g
Hot water – 15ml
For egg yolk mixture:
Egg yolk – 3
Sugar – 30g

For egg white mixture:
Egg white – 5
Sugar – 60g
Salt – a dash

Peng,
I scare the folding part, cos I read the web the success of chiffon lies in the beating of egg white n folding in. How long roughly to beat the egg white to stiff? Medium stiff? N I also no confidence to know if my egg white folding in properly or not. kekeke so scare to try.

Suzanne,
I think I will try the chiffon on Sunday maybe or next week. Must wait till I fully recover then can test. Now giddy with all the medication, with nose leaking veri hard to make sure I bake properly. kekeke

Sally the translated version v funny!

Cookiepie thanks! Have you tired making this into a pandan chiffon version before?

Peng, You pandan chiffon recipe in your blog tried and tested one right? Did it turn out like your beautiful carrot chiffon? Small chiffon tin you bake for how long ah? 20mins?

Suzanne,
I have never tried the pandan version before. Only tried the one in the blog and the green tea version. The lady in the blog also mixes the egg yolk mixture using electric mixer. This creates a lot of bubble and I think it helps in supporting the overall mixture.

Hi Can try this recipe also. Hv tested, the texture really soft &amp; nt dry

For Pandan Chiffon Cake:

A:
    120ml pandan juice (blend 6 pandan leaves with about 140ml water, strain)
    4 egg yolks
    90g castor sugar
    160g all-purpose flour, sifted
    1/2 tsp baking powder, sift with flour
    1/2 tsp baking soda, sift with flour
    1 tsp pandan essence
    50g corn oil

METHOD:

To prepare pandan chiffon cake:

1. Add all ingredients in (A) and mix well until the mixture is smooth and consistent.

2. In a separate clean mixing bowl, whip egg whites and cream of tartar of Ingredients B at medium speed until the egg .
whites are bubbly. Add sugar and whip at high speed until stiff peaks form

3. Fold 1/3 of whipped egg whites into mixture of Step 1. Then, pour this mixture to the remaining egg whites
in the other mixing bowl. Fold lightly to combine both mixtures.

4. Pour this combined mixture into a 9-inch round cake pan. Bake at a preheated over at 170 deg C for
40-45 minutes. (depend on ir oven, mine i use 150 deg c baked for 30 min only)

5. As soon as the cake is removed from oven, quickly invert the pan and let it cool.

Hehe thanks Peng and cookiepie.. lots of qstns lah... tried twice both times also not what i expected. Must practice somemore.

Joanne, can i check you strain using what? Muslin cloth? You think i can just use a clean towel?

Suzanne,
No prob. I tried 4 times during 4 different recipe and only succeeded on the 4th attempt using the lady's technique and recipe, heehee...But my cream puff still fails after 3 tries, so baking cream puff is my latest experiment.

Aiyo me blur la, forget to put (B) inside. Here the whole recipe, u may cut dwn the sugar if u dun like too sweet &amp; if u wan to add coconut milk then reduce the pandan juice amount, eg u put 20ml coconut milk then reduce the pandan juice to 100ml.

For Pandan Chiffon Cake:

A:
120ml pandan juice (blend 6 pandan leaves with about 140ml water, strain)
4 egg yolks
90g castor sugar
160g all-purpose flour, sifted
1/2 tsp baking powder, sift with flour
1/2 tsp baking soda, sift with flour
1 tsp pandan essence
50g corn oil

B:
    4 egg whites
    60g sugar
    1/4 tsp cream of tartar

METHOD:

To prepare pandan chiffon cake:

1. Add all ingredients in (A) and mix well until the mixture is smooth and consistent.

2. In a separate clean mixing bowl, whip egg whites and cream of tartar of Ingredients B at medium speed until the egg .
whites are bubbly. Add sugar and whip at high speed until stiff peaks form

3. Fold 1/3 of whipped egg whites into mixture of Step 1. Then, pour this mixture to the remaining egg whites
in the other mixing bowl. Fold lightly to combine both mixtures.

4. Pour this combined mixture into a 9-inch round cake pan. Bake at a preheated over at 170 deg C for
40-45 minutes. (depend on ir oven, mine i use 150 deg c baked for 30 min only)

5. As soon as the cake is removed from oven, quickly invert the pan and let it cool

Peng, i used normal round pan as i use it to make the pandan kaya layer cake..

Suzanne, i use those normal sieve to strain out the juice. First blend the leave with the water, pour over a sieve, use hand to squeeze on the blended pandan leave, easy rite...juz like hw u strain the coconut milk out from the grinded coconut,,,

I truly enjoy reading your recipes here and had plan to try a few of yours on my own, just when i was about to get started I found out that I'm pregnant. am not enjoying the 1st trimester as the nausea feeling is extremely bad. This is my 2nd pregnancy but it seems worse than the 1st. It lastthe whole day and night.Anyone has any remedy or recipes to combat this? Am really feeling horrible. Appreciate any solutions..

Hi baking mummies

after reading all the posts for chiffon cakes, finally plucked up the courage to try making one. was always afraid of beating egg whites :p did an orange chiffon cake, texture wise seems ok and but the tops rose too high and are cracked! can you all please enlighten me as to why the top is cracked? is my oven too hot? also why the bottom of my cake is not flat? many thanks!!
1518971.jpg

1518972.jpg

1518973.jpg

many "fruits"....... very well done!

hi augustmum,
happy wok hunting ya?
wanna share abit abt wok, if u dun mind

perhaps u can concider to use stainlessteel wok / fry pan...
yes it's abit difficult to handle, but.... practice makes perfect.
now my maid oso very expert to use it liao.
my aunt, who is cancer survival, very fussy abt cooking utensil, anything muz be stainlessteel. according to her doc (cancer specialist), stainlessteel is the best cooking utensil to prefent cancer. i've discussed and cross check with my church member who is cancer specialist, he said the same thingy.
try to get good quality stainlessteel, get those which can cook "asam" thingy. tupperchef is one of the stainlessteel utensil which can &amp; safe to cook "asam" thingy.
juz my two cents worth advise

angel_baby, cookiepie &amp; joanne,
thanks for sharing the recipes!

jessel (jessel),
u new with us? or i'm getting older? :p
congrats on your 1st attempt of fondant.... nice try, practice makes perfect....

you use ready-roll fondant or you make your own fondant? try MMF, it's nice to eat and easy to handle.

sally,
get well soon !

sunblockash (sunblockash),
oh dear, hope u get better day by day!
welcome to this factinating thread, do visit us often ya?
are u able to eat chicken? if so, perhaps can try to use american ginseng to double boil the soup.
it's very good, not heaty.
til now, if i'm over work and too tired, will double boil chicken ginseng soup, it will boost my spirit, not easy tired and help blood circulation etc. my kids loves it as well.
happy trying ya?

motheragain,
ha ha.... u hv very sharp eyes....
I like the custard consistency oso!! looks like just set enough to be super soft but will not soak thru the puff kind...
actually, the secret is: no secret

juz need to pay attention to oven temperature and get the right consistency before u throw in to oven.
- too watery consistency will cause it raise too high, wet inside and then sink down when it's done.
- too hard consistency will cause it didn't raise and flat....
so, gotta train your eyes to catch the consistency.
eggs measure by gram is the best ! the most accurate.
oven temperature is oso important, i find 200C is too hot (for my oven), so i reduce a bit and increase baking time.
I'm using my mama old fashion recipe, no baking soda, no baking powder etc, very simple. i'll post the recipe shortly.

Hi PENG,
Yes i'm using Creme patisserie (pastry cream / custard) for the 1st pix.

ah yes, can i put /link your blog in mine?

puff with custard filling : no custard powder required.....
1519260.jpg

durian puree filling:
1519261.jpg

PUFF - Pink's version

Ingredients (makes 24 small puffs)
110g butter
270g water
¼ tsp salt
150g plain flour, sifted
260g egg
¼ tsp vanilla essence

Method:
Boil water, sugar and butter in a pot over medium heat, mixing well, turn off fire.
Add flour immediately and mixed to a smooth dough, cook on low fire until white film form on base of pot. Remove pot from stove. Leave dough to cool slightly.
Beat eggs lightly and stir in vanilla essence. Gradually mix in egg mixture to the dough and blend well till dough is smooth.
Use piping bag to pipe the dough onto a baking tray.
Bake at pre-heated oven of 180ºC for 35mins or till golden brown, remove and cool.
When puff cool down, slit an opening at the side using a pair of scissors, piped in filling.

Yield 24 puffs - 5cm in diameter

wah, today super quite?
little sharing from me.... non-bake Cream-O cheesecake for my mama belated b'day :p

using sponge cake as a base:
1519753.jpg

1519754.jpg

1519755.jpg

1519756.jpg