Cup cakes for birthday

HI nikonnet1 ,
Muack !!!! thks for the link.... it's very helpful for me! she is doing in 7 minutes! wonderful !

thks!

fatmom (nlh),
no suaku lar.... me oso learn alot from you.
tis thread is for us to learn and share information mah....

btw, some brand not stated "coating" chocolate. muz ask the shop lady lor..

remind moist one... are you talking abt frosting one? that one usually using cooking chocolate mixed with whipping cream, this one very nice wor.... taste heavenly.....

jerician,
my fren on vacation wor... muz wait till next monday.
will let you all know abt the donut tray, actually it is also sell at amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/Norpro-Nonstick-Mini-Donut-Pan/dp/B0000DDVVL

preggy mom,
I've stand up now... have a seat pls

well, you can buy mohrenglanz at kwong cheong thye, it is at aljunied area....
but i never go there, always tumpang my fren
cos the shop closed at 5Pm...

phoon huat also have coating choco...

multi purpose flour is plain flour, if you want to replace it with self rising flour, you have to reduce the baking powder amount.

An ex-col of mine do this for his son birthday. Think quite easy to do cause the clown is ready made but it is colourful and nice.

1067681.jpg

thanks n2inpink for the info. Oh ya! If we do frosting on cup cakes do we need to reduce the sugar level in the cake itself? Else will it be like 2 sweet? Will it affect the cake?

If i used whipped cream will I get the same 'sight' effect as per buttercream? I read ur blog so the plain white cups are better for cup cakes? What size is recommended. Sorry for having so many qns ya!

n2inpink,

Not a problem at all. I can accede to your condition...haha. So when ok to borrow again? Sms me, okie? But tot you wan to try out oso? As for the chocolates, I bought the BakeWay cocoa block from Phoon Huat. It writes there for coating and cakes.

Slee16,

Think can use muffins moulds to bake the donuts, just tat there's no hole in the centre lor. Multi-purpose flour = plain flour.

Jerician,

Ya, I went Phoon Huat to check before, they dun sell them but only the silicon mould lor.

nikonnet1
Thx for the link. Eye opener to me. But I dun think I m able to do dat
Where did your x colleague get the clown? How much is it?

n2inpink
Thx for the seat. So sweet of u
kao_kiss.gif

I thot multi-purpose flour is some special flour
kao_embarrassed.gif
I always use self raising flour for baking. Seldom bake, dun wanna buy too many type of flour

JsMum,
wow the donut silicon tray realli so ex, heartpain to get, so I got this donut cutter instead. Can it be use? How to use u noe? Can skip baking soda? cos I din buy. Thanks.
I went to phoon huat n daiso today, bought so many things, going to bake some cookies n muffin in the next few days once I try to squeeze time. heehee Hope it will turn out okie.

nikonnet1,

Thanks for the video link 2. She could really do it in 7 min..amazing.

<font color="aa00aa">Sally,</font>

Good, that's a good headstart liao.

Must hv spent quite a bomb hor...but worth the experience lah.

U went Daiso? Do they have the mini donut mould tray? Ya, silicon tray is really ex. Where did you see it? Daiso? How much they sell?

The donut cutter is only used on cutting on dough but can't do it in my recipe above cos it's in batter form. I hvn't use a donut cutter before. U will need another type of donut recipe for the cutters but think those are of deep fried types...

This is my first attempt on donuts, so not sure abt skipping the baking soda. Maybe n2inpink can help? Sorry ...

JsMum,
Daiso dun have the mini donut mould tray. Saw the silicon donut tray in phoon huat. Super ex lei think S$17 to S$20 around that price. Cant remember clearly. Phoon huat has lots of nice silicon designs baking tray. Freak out when saw the price, quickly put back. Wonder how much BIY shop sells? But think usu more ex than phoon huat. Bought alot of nice cookie cutter from daiso. heehee Think I try cookies first. Last nite, my boi saw the pic of fatmom's doggie cookie, telling me he wan. hahaha

Oh, daiso dun hv...sob sob...tot can buy the tray. Guess got to wait for n2inpink to revert from her fren.

Ya, I oso bake tat when I saw her doggie cookie. My kids loves them and in fact 2 of them join in to bake together. They brought some to share with their frens in sch and proudly said <font color="0000ff">"I baked them myself"</font>... Haha!

Gim Hin Lee selling mini tray donuts $10 each.

A bake shop that sells alot of bake stuff, ingredients, etc. They have their own house brand which is Bake King. Which you can easily find this "Bake King" products sold in every supermarket in Singapore

Gim Hin Lee (Pte) Ltd
Block 10 Haig Rd #01-363/365 Singapore 430010
Tel : 6742-8388

Sun Lik selling for only $6.50 12 mini donuts in a tray.
Sun Lik is just opp Raffles Hotel back lobby at Seah Street

Hi Xiau Ling,

U gg to buy? Let me know ya. Wonder if they allows BP or not hor...can get cheaper better still, since so many mums are interested in getting the tray.

Hmm..maybe can call them to check out tmr.

i think i dont want to buy coz i seldom bake donuts. I through can buy from daiso coz all daiso shop selling $2 but now no stock oredi.

oic...daiso do hv but OOS?? Hmm...

Do you have the details from Sun Lik? $6.50 is quite ok for the tray if same as n2inpink's. Have you seen the tray from both shops? Got difference or not?

<font color="0000ff">Anyone working ard these area, can check for me if they allows BP? Can consider leh</font>

Just to share with all of u.

Today My first time do birthday cake. Pai seh to show u all my teriable cake. Coz dont know how do icing. Hehehe
Dont laugh. Hahaha
1068644.jpg

nikonnet1, nice cupcakes your ex-colleague did for her son.
simple yet very cute.
may you kindly check with her where to buy the cupcakes holder as seen on the pic? TQ!

n2inpink, kindly pm me your cupcakes order info.
need to standby in case my cupcakes making fail..

Xiau Ling
Thx for the link. The recipe in the link states fry the donuts. Can the donuts b baked instead?

Hey, dat's v gd for 1st attempt.

dear mommies,
wow... i din login one nite then the thread come so long..... ha ha ha!

baked mini donut last nite.....

1069110.jpg

1069111.jpg

1069112.jpg

fatmum, see the dark chocolate i'm using, very shiny rite?.
I'm purposly went to phoon huat last nite and by the "TULIP" coating choco, much more cheaper, only abt S$4 for 1kg...
i know you all wanted to try only, so no point to buy mohrenglanz....
1069113.jpg

hi nikonnet1 (nikonnet1),
nice cuppies, most important is: bake with love

kids will very proud when they bring the cakes to school and say: I help my mummy to make lei...

fatmom,
regarding your below Q:
If we do frosting on cup cakes do we need to reduce the sugar level in the cake itself? Else will it be like 2 sweet? Will it affect the cake?
n2inpink answer: it's depend on which cake recipe you are using, if using mine (will release this recipe for my workshop attendance only), no need to reduce the sugar amt.
not sure for JJ recipe, JJ, any comment?
fatmum Q:
If i used whipped cream will I get the same 'sight' effect as per buttercream? I read ur blog so the plain white cups are better for cup cakes? What size is recommended. Sorry for having so many qns ya!
n2inpink answer: yes you will still have this sight effect.... the problem is on the paper, not the frosting...

xiau ling,
u improved alot ! jia yew.....
practice make perfect ok?

c u lunch time, will pass to you mini donuts and cuppies

n2inpink,
wow yr donuts super duper lei. So nice n gorgeous.
can pm me yr price for cupcake n donuts lei. U make me drool lei.

this thread is so so so adddictive!!! If therez BP for mini doughnnut trays, lemme know can? ... If we can consolidate the order before the baking class at pink's place... that'll be even better! :p Just wondering... these mini doughnut trays...can use to bake mini pandan cakes too? ...

Pink, still didn't receive email regarding the baking class... had indicated interested much earlier... erm... still ongoing... hehehehe... very anxious! :p Thank you!

Always enthusiastic to bake all things... but normally things turn out too wet or heavy... hehehehe... i'm using a takada oven, no fan, with U-shape heating coil on top and bottom. It has indication of 1 - 5 for heat... dunno the exact temperature... anyone can help?

Hello n2inpink,

I have e-mail you but u dun reply leh, u working today? Cause i be flying off 17 Nov so want to get all ordering done ;)

Called Gim Hin Lee but dun want to entertain phone call enquiry, ask to go to the shop to see myself. Then I called Sun Lik liao, price is actually $6.80 per tray, no BP price cos it's fix. My aunt gg to help me buy later. Anyone want to tag along before 2.30pm? Let me know ya...can collect at Tampines.

Mini Donut Tray @ $6.80 each
1) Js'Mum x 2

Xiau Ling,

Your cake is nice mah..first attempt leh. At least you try liao, me my hand is still trembling...dunno when want to start. Haha!

Wah, pink giving you the donuts? Tried oredi? Must be very yummy hor.

n2inpink,

Yummy... Your donuts are so so niceeeeeee, so pro-looking. How do you prepare the glazing, esp the pink ones? My kids love choc and strawberry glazing. Can teach me?

Btw, still waiting for you to email me the packing.

Mdl,

Np, just a helping hand here.

Anymore tag along orders?

Mini Donut Tray @ $6.80 each
1) Js'Mum x 2
2) mdl x 2

hi mommies who drop me an e-mail asking for the mini donuts, here is the size.... it's only 4.5Cm
very tiny lei.....
throw inside your mouth... gone !!
1070026.jpg

thanks n2inpink for ans my query. ur donuts looks so yummy!!!! I'm drooling.

Btw Jsmum can help to order the donut tray many thanks. let me know when to trsf the $ to you.

4) fatmom X 2

n2inpink

Thanks for meeet up & thanks for cupcake & donuts very yummy.....

Thanks for give me to try wat different bake donuts & deep frying very different taste.

donuts taste cinnamon very fragrant & nice.

cupcake very soft & nice.

I think u can open 1 shop selling cupcake & donuts. Hahaha.....

hi xiau ling,
you are welcome ! nice to meet u oso....

yes yes, baked donuts and fried donut have a totally difference taste.
i like fried donut, more sinful hahaha!

baked donut also have two type wor:
1. use baking powder.... which is i pass to you one.
2. use yeast..... i'm going to try this type soon.

open shop? no lah... my standard is not there lah..
thks for looking me so high