Cooking Tips & Recipe

okie i think that subject is not suitable to talk here hehe...
annelise, pls pls help us to learn and share some kungfu here
he needs your help to 'fa-yang-kuang-da' !

I like to plant too, but my hb dun like... again! funny we seems dun have lots of thing in common but end up together..
he very bad one, whenever got denggi thing he will find excuse to get rid of my pant! soob...

Thanks little cat and annelise. Guess got to trial and error with the soups unless someone can share receipe.

Little cat, my baby is 37 weeks, still in my womb: )

aiyoh jennyn u really ks than me leh...
hehe, joke aside also depends on certain woman lor, some of my fren flow like non stop, some feed till face green green... but i do agreed on the supply and demand thing, the more the baby sucks it will stimulate more..
good luck! btw boy or girl ?

Littlecat,
I think quality of raising kids of course of course will be best if it;s the parents.. Afterall the parents' love are very important for the kids' development.
haha... Think the government so far thought of more kids than how to raise and who to look after the children...

Hi Jenny...
So you will be seeing your baby very soon
Engaged already? I am in week 32 or 33...

Hi Jenny

Remember not to drink the soup until after your milk supply has started to flow. When I had my 2nd one, I was too kiasu, drank the soup before the milk started to flow - at night, suddenly became super duper engorged - felt like got 2 big boulders pressing on my chest when I slept!

Oh, you want the entire recipe - sorry, I thought you didn;t know what else to add. Okay, I go ask my mum and I'll post it here later

Haha.. couldn't stop laughing about your milk supply experience ,annelise,I had the same experience also.. haha..

I have seen my friend's basil tree .. but the leaves are quite coarse and not so aromatic as compared to the bottled ones..

I planted mint years ago, in a little trough at my balcony, it was fragrant at first.. but mati cos my fingers are not green..
If you ladies have a garden, I think you can grow organic veg, using egg shells, apple cores as fertilizers.

Hey Jenny, I drank lots of fluid during bf, could express quite alot (abt 6 oz each time) and store inside freezer..

The papaya soup+peanut with fish tail(forgot what fish) helps+ a good milk pump.I find the Avent one very good at suction, and aft the let down, it's a breeze for milk to flow..
Eat lots of fish and do keep yourself keep yourself stressfree for more milk prod ;).

There's this confinement recipe book by Ng Siong Mui, that's quite good.. Can be found at popular. I loaned mine out liao, if not, can post some recipes here.

Hey cat, I think 1 kg of see hum is ok, aft taking out the shells, the total weight of the hum is about 300g only right ? Ok, Ok , everything in moderation..
Clam with sambal nice boh ? I love petai, my husband doesn't.. petai in sambal? the hei bee hiam sambal? The malay stall sells nice petai, ya

Hey lyn, there's one organic shop at yishun blk 925..near the eye clinic, bought a pkt of oats there. They have veg too. Dunno about flaxseed oil..

Ciao

lyn,
i hav been sahm 4 2 yrs liao. now 10 wks preg. so haven't been doing a lot of cooking. can't stand cooking now. hope things will be better when 1st tri over. when u giving birth? gd for u that u dun feel bored. think u will enjoy staying at home looking after ur bb!

littlecat,
my details
home, cck, sahm, boy(2yr), edd 16/11

annelise, choc06,
wah, reading abt yr bf experience I so envy leh! I not much milk despite latching on demand, maybe I never drink enough water.

little_cat,
me Hokkien, thanks for adding the column.

Jenny,
wow, yr bb is due soon, so exciting!

Ah.. sorry, my friend planted a bay leaf tree.. not basil..

cat, mine cantonese

sp, think the supply and demand for milk theory also works.. the mre baby suckles, the more milk is produced

HAve a nice long weekend mums! Can go spend money with the progress pkg liao!

*sheepish* Wah Annelise is a mind reader... yeah I had the intention to ask my mum to prepare the soup for me one week before delivery ;p, erhrm every other day... somemore hee hee;p. Cos my sis and mum said they don't have milk and I'm worried it runs in the family. And a few mums I know personally, they are only successful in nursing the second time round. So I'm super duper stressed and wanted to have a good 'foundation' so to speak haha.

Yeah Little cat, I'm very KS. Been telling hubby everything from the documented challenges, the proven boosters, the demand-supply theory to the "relax & don't sweat it" slogan so that he can encourage me when I'm bound to forget everything during tough times. My hubby said it's impossible for a kan cheong spider like me to be relaxed about nursing. He raised 2 hands in agreement that I should start on soups next week too hahaha.

One friend told me only when necessary. Another told me start on the delivery day. Erhm, Annelise & Choc06, if I try and get engorged, does it mean the soup will work for me when the time comes? I think my hubby will be the first to prepare FM if he thinks I don't have enough.

Lyn, my baby is in a breech position so I'm scheduled for a epi c sect.

Sp, yeah, we'll meet baby soon. Hope he stays in there till it's time. Don't want the procedure to become emergency c sect.

Pardon the long post unrelated to cooking tips & receipes.

Choc06
Have not heard of not pairing white radish with carrot,but have heard about NOT PAIRING persimmon with crabs, spinach with tofu,persimmons with white radish,Ginseng with white radish,Spinach with Jiu Cai,pumkins with lamb/mutton,persimmons with sweet potatoes.

<font size="+0">Foods Not To Be Taken in Pairs</font>

<font color="blue">First Pair: Persimmon with Crab </font>
Taken together in autumn may lead to vomit and loose bowels.
(Vans note: Chinese physicians also said both crabs and persimmons are coolingso cannot be taken together.

<font color="blue">Second Pair: Vitamin C tablets with Shrimp </font>
Large consumption of Vitamin C together with shrimps may cause chemical reaction creating arsenic which can be fatal occasionally.

<font color="blue">Third Pair: Sea Food with Beer </font>
We may have heard about rich/poor mans gout. Yes, gout may be on the way if we consume too much beer with sea food. So, beware!
Fourth Pair: Ham with Dairy Beverages/Yogurt
Frequent consumption of the above pair may cause cancer.

<font color="blue">Fifth Pair: Eggs with Soybean Milk</font>
Indigestion is frequently associated with mingled consumption of the above pair.

<font color="blue">Sixth Pair: Milk with Chocolate </font>
A common dietary misconception which easily leads to loose bowels

<font color="blue">Seventh Pair: Tofu with Spinach </font>
Mingled consumption of the above pair may lead to calculus/formation of stone such as kidney stone or urinary calculus.

Hi choc06,
How many milk bags did you use to store the EBM?

Hi Home,
Hope your MS will go away soon
In my first trimester, I ate lots of home made raw salad and fuji apples... Cos these are very light on the taste and sooth my MS
. I remembered that I went for a buffet, and I almost puke by eating one piece of "kong por" chicken!
My EDD is 18 June 06. hmm... I am prepared to bring baby out after confinement... kekeke... Think will face problems in the beginning but after a while should be able to cope...

Jenny,
When will you be delivering?

hmmm... I think my recipe book has a few recipes to increase milk flow. I have yet to try them, so dunno if they will work. If you want, I will find and share... My recipe book is vegetarian though...

Van,
Wow... seafood and beer can cause gout ah... I did not know that... Nowadays, a lot of men, when they go for seafood, there will be beer...

Priscilla,
sorie leh, can't find the recipe liao. duno where i throw it. when i go deliver again in nov, will get a new one from them

Lyn,
now i trying to find out what my bb dun like to eat. today and 2 days ago, i ate cakes and i throw them all out. guess bb doesn't like cake, same as his dad!

got a dessert to share with all, esp preg mums.

steam sweet egg
beat 2 eggs and add in a big bowl of water
add rock sugar
steam for 15 minutes

yum yum

Home...thanks. Remember to post here then...I am curious to find out. I have the unripe papaya and fish soup almost every day as it is not too oily and I do not add alcohol to it.

Hey lyn, I didn't use the ebm bags the last time .. I use the primitive glass bottles from my friends and the hospital.. I ask the nurse for the used little milk bottles, they have it. Then I got the plastic covers from kiddy palace. Got to go for refresher's course again.My memory is failing.. lao liao...

Yo Van, thanks for the research done! My MIL heard from Dong Fang Billy about the radish and carrot soup. Din know eggs can't go with soybean milk !
YOu velly IT savvy huh ..

Went to Tangs and saw the Karschar electric broom, quite effective, and sweeps well. But, my problem is that I can't bend now and I have lots of unreachable corners full of hair.. Recently, have been shedding more hair then usual !
I ended up buying the 3M cloth mop, works like the magic paper mop, but washable.. yet to try it..

Hey home, this dun dan recipe is good for pg mummies, thanks for sharing.. Have been looking for this dessert everywhere. They say can add ginger juice too.

Hey mummies, I find that eating lote of fish helps to boost milk supply..

Hey Prisc, there's a confinement tingkat website called prenatalessential.com , they have a menu for the confinement soup, check it out ..

Sorry, it's
http://www.natalessentials.com/
These few soups are used for confinement,for my experience, as long as you drink enough fluid , milk prod shouldn't be a problem..

lyn, I just express the milk whenever engorged, so didn't keep track of the number of bottles. I think Zoe Tay had so much that she could do facial with the bm
She said she just had a good and balanced diet

Hi Jenny

I couldn't bf my first baby cos' she couldn't latch on due to inverted nipples. So she drank ebm for about 3 months. For my 2nd, I was very determined to succeed - so was very kiasu and drank lots of papaya soup!

But ren suan bu ru tian suan - just as bf was very well established, my older girl broke her collarbone one week after my 2nd one was born! So I had to devote all my time to caring for her and I end up having to pump too so that my mum could feed her.

Okay, for the recipe:
Fish Tail &amp; Papaya Soup

fish tail (about 1 kg)
100g raw peanuts (soaked and drained before use)
1 green papaya (about 1 kg - skin, deseed and chop up into big wedges)
1 tangerine peel
2 slices of old ginger
1.5l water

Fry the ginger in a wok with some oil. Put fish tail and brown both sides.

Boil 1.5l of water in pot. Put in all ingredients, cover and boil for 15 mins on high. Lower flame and simmer for about 2 to 3 hours. Add some salt or soy sauce to taste.

I didn't eat the ingredients, just drank the soup by the gallons, haha! My poor dad and hubby ate the fish until scared! They still shudder thinking about it!!

I agree with choc06, the Avent manual pump is really good
Wow, you were up really late last night! When I was pg, by 10pm I'd be knocked out already!

Lyn, I used the avent ebm bags cos' I was too lazy to wash and sterilise the glass bottles. I'd pump into a big avent milk bottle - put 4 oz in the small feeding bottle for the next feed and freeze/ refrigerate the balance 4 oz. I can't remember how many boxes of ebm bags I used - but I stocked up on them during the Robinsons sale.

Hi Choc06 and all

Thanks for those who posted about confinement food...I am compiling them in case I need to prepare for my own confinement when I strike gold next year for a baby.

Just recovering from food poisoning and still feeling weak...

Ok...all you ladies have a good day, I am going to rest now.

Prisc
Poor Prisc, hope you are better now. I have quite "weak"stomach as well.,get food poisoning easily, even when others were eating the same food as me, only me got it.

Choc06

The Karcher electric broom's handle is made up of 2 removable/attachable joints. If you don't want to bend down you can joint them to become a long handle. If you need say,elder child to help with the "vaccuming",just remove one joint to turn into a short handle.

I have the 3M magic cloth mop as well, but I find washing the cloth troublesome, need to brush off the dust and hair from the cloth 1st then able to wash it clean.The paper Magic wipe is more convenient,compared to this cloth mop.

<u>Soup of the day:</u>
Corn with carrot,honey date,pork ribs and apple(apple? Yes, cut one red apple into half or quarters then add in to cook.)

Adding a little bit of Chinese almonds also won't alter the taste of this soup, and good for cough.

Yo Prisc,
Drink more fluids.. stock up on your charcoal pills ? Wat didya eat ? See Hum ?

Anneilse, hee.. yesterday we went shopping until quite late.. so, had a late supper. My kids went to grands house to stay .. so I could surf the net for a while..

Are the ebm bags ex? How much can it fill ? My glass bots all buang liao !
The fish to use for papaya soup is it threadfin fish ? will other fish be as tasty ?

van, got what you mean about the detachable joints.
Going to try out the 3M mop.. one thing lei che about this mop is you got to remove the mop manually and wash it. Right now, my concern is to sweep up big dirt like eraser rubbings. Hope this mop works.
Wah.. got to try out this soup recipe.. wat almonds you use? nanxing or beixing ?

Choc06
I used only bei xing for this corn apple soup cos, the corn and honey dates will give the soup a natural sweet taste already, so I only add a little bei xing.

Remember to remove the core and seeds of the apple.I usually use roya gala apple.Don't use Fuji apple.

I am double boiling soup too....red dates, chinese wolfberries, watercrest and pork rib.

And preparing steam minced pork for dinner. And to prepare early today as my neighbour wants my help to tutor her Grade 3 son.

Hey van, is this soup very sweet? Thought of making it tomorrow , good thing you mention the type of apple cos I only have fuji. Prefer to just eat the crunchy type of apple and cook the less crunchy ones.
I think I can't use the Karcher broom, got too many hidden corners, like a space between the cupboard and the wall( power point in the middle).. can't vacuum those areas too..

better now Prisc ?

What's cooking this week, mums ?

Choc06
The soup is very sweet if you put too much honey dates.

I am cooking for a small family of three, so usually I used about
1.5 litre of water
$3 pork ribs
1 big pc of corn chopped into smaller pieces
1 big pc of honey date
1 whole apple

My husband doesn't like soup that are too sweet,he prefer non-sweet types such as Giam Chye Duck Soup,Si Chuan Chye Soup, whereas my girl likes sweet soup, so sometimes have to find a balance.

<u>SOUP OF THE DAY</u>
Canned button mushroom with chiken pieces,white cabbage,white fungus,dried mushroom and hard-boiled quail eggs(to be added last)

This is my 1-pot-has-all soup,cook when hb is not coming back for dinner.Has all the nutrients that my girl and I need.

Served with 2 bowls of rice using steam method->no messive washing up.

Littlecat,

Have told my aunt about the tapioca noodles,asked her to inform me when she's cooking it next time.

So that I could go and take pictures of the ingredients and steps.

Aiyoh.. your husband like mine.. he also likes all the giam giam soup !
The chicken pieces for he soup of the day, did you marinated it? I like this non-fuss soup! Good ah !

I am frying rice with mixed veg tonight, dunno what to cook for soup.. only got pork ribs ! didn't go market the past few days!

BTW, i can't find the thread about the children's website.. can help me ? TIA..

Choc06

Keep stock of peanuts,black beans,dried scallop or dried squids at home. If you can't think of what to cook or didn't go market,but have meat in fridge, can cook peanut or black bean soups.

Thanks for the ikan bilis idea and the website! Me and no.2 like ikan bilis but not papa and no 1.. When it comes to cooking , very susah(troublesome) !

Hey, mums, you like picnics ? I just got a foldable picnic table cum 4 seats at the price of 29.90 from carrefour.. near the camping equipment section. This thingy is portable .

Hello gals...
Good morning... I havent got time to browse through... Going out soon...

By the way, any ideas how to cook watercress apart from boil watercress soup with pork ribs?
I read that watercress can "bu" blood, so I bought some during my weekend grocery shopping...
But now, dunno how to cook... kekeke...

Choc06
I have that picnic table as well, my cousin has that too. I always go picnic with my cousins, we pack lots of things and food.

I have another small and foldable table,also good for picnic.Sometimes I use it for doing art and craft with my girl.All my friends who came to my house saw it and love it.

Where do you normally go for picnic? We always go West Coast Park.

Lyn,
I have eaten stir fried watercress at Economy Rice stall before, not bad.

van, we had a mini bbq at pasir ris yesterday with my out-laws.. Kids made sandcastle and my hb bbqed from a little pit that we have. Find that the pasir ris cleaner than east coast beach, can swim.. We also go to seletar dam at times too, but uasually in the evenings, cos there r no trees for shade.

Haven't tried west coast, is it clean, suitable for swimming ?
What you normally prepare for picnics ? I've seen the malays bringing lots of stuff.. mee goreng, fried chicken wings, sandwiches, nuggets.. slurp slurp..But too much to prepare..

I just tapao a few pkts of cha beehoon there with some salads,no dressing and also chicken for bbq.
Small foldable table ? hmmm.. haven't seen it before.. metal or plastic ?

Hehe.. found half cabbage in my fridge, but the ends black liao..just trim the blacks away, think can use for soup hor? Just add some minced pork balls, gao tim!

Yah.. must stock up dried stuff for soup next time..my fridge got lots of sauces only.

I fried watercress before, quite nice leh.. just fry with minced garlic. My FIL says watercress can boil with sheng yu pian..

Choc06
West Coast Park has a few playground catered for different age group from toddlers to teenagers,even adults can join climbing up the pyramid. Can't swim there though.

Now that there is a Macdonald and McCafe there, we don't have to pack as much food as before.

We had different food each time. Fried rice,pineapple rice, fried beehoon,nasi lemak,grill small taiwan sausage,sotong balls,salad,bring bread and fried egg/launcheon meat to wrap there,sometimes also bring dessert there....Usually we have at least 3 families going together, each family bring different items.

Hi Amelia

I'm a little worried cos' her collarbone doesn't look very straight - there's a little lump where the fracture is but the paed reassured me that it's normal.

Hi Choc

I can't remember how much the bags cost - can store about 6 to 7 oz cos' need to fold and clip (special Avent clips). There's this Avent bag holder which you can attach the bag to when you pump so no need to wash extra bottles. If you use the light blue-tinted Avent teats, you can attach it to the bag holder as well and feed directly from there - so less washing up!

The picnic table set sounds like value for money - is it sturdy? Btw, you mentioned that you'll be shifting to Tamp soon - so where do you plan to register your daughter for P1?

Wah, Van, your picnics sound yummy! Do you use those premixed spices for your pineapple rice or you make your own rempah? I use Asian Home Gourmet which is quite good - have you tried any other brands?

Annelise
I use Asian Home Gourmet for pineapple rice as well.Didn't notice other brands,have you seen any?

Do you know how to make it yourself?

The picnic table with 4 chairs are quite sturdy.

Annelise,
Oh.. must check out the avent bags since so convenient ...The last time I used was 4 yrs ago.. thanks..
My big one also fractured her wrist when she was 2 yrs old, yah.. there was a lump, now boh liao..

Wanted to ask u which sch you sending too. I think I'll settle for east spring.. It's just next to my block . Initially we were thinkin about Gongshan and Yumin area as well as St Hilda's , but reckon that it is quite diffcult to get in cos my gal is born in the yr of dragon , also aft all the 2A and 2B.. not much chances .. Now it's too late to do parent volunteer work. My nieces are in that east spring

The table is quite sturdy, FIL is about 80kg, he sat on it and the other side is MIL who is quite light, heehee, didn't colapse. Then my kids joined in.. no crack sound ..

Saw the Asian gourmet mix for pineapple rice, since it's tried and tested , I shall buy it.
For novelty sake, I will buy the whole pineapple with skin , cut off the top part and scrap out the flesh to fry the rice. Do you all do that ?

A friend thought me a huntum recipe using tumeric powder and add the normal salt and pepper .. ok but not so original..

hi all, ok i will update the table tomorrow, today take leave stay at home idling

eh i like the picnic topics, we used to go Botanic garden, very nice place to go, even if u go later time still not that hot cos got big tree to cover, so quite cooling.

may be we can schedule a picnic so we can meet up there!

choc06, i bought 800g of see hum on saturday ! while peeling i can't resists and take a few, after that fried with chillie, garlic and the dau-jiang wow fabulous !!! guess what, at nite i got sort throat !! soob....
Yes the petai with sambal chilli and shrimp, yummy!

Thanks Van, will wait for your photo

Amelia, i saw the Organic shop at Bukit Timah, it is next to the Coronation (spelling?) NTUC there.. pai seh can't see the phone# cos travelling thru car.

btw anybody like mushroom? I like all diff type of it!
i found one new type (i think so cos never seen b4), they called it Chicken drumbstick mushroom, at sheng-song(jurong west branch), the lady said cut till think slides cook with chicken taste like abalone.. hehe trust 50% lah..
but i tried to cook last weekend, it is nice!

ok going to join my hb for the DVD, both of us on leave resting at home... try to clear leave too. ciao!

Choc06

For picnic and cooking for big group of guests,I used canned pineapple only. Where to find time to buy big pineapple and dig out the flesh.ha ha!

Hi van

I haven't tried any other brands. Dunno how to make the rempah myself

Hi choc

I'll be sending them to St Anthony's at Bedok North Ave 4. Prefer an all-girls school

Do you put lap cheong in your pineapple rice? I like the lap cheong from Bee Cheng Hiang - nice and aromatic - not so porky-smelling. For pineapple, I prefer canned ones cos' sweeter. Hosen brand is quite nice and succulent! Does it taste better in the fresh pineapple or is it only for presentation?

Little cat,

I looove mushrooms! All kinds too! I usually just slice them up and stir fry with butter and oyster sauce. How do you like to cook them?

Wah, so nice got er ren shi jie! 2 nights ago my hb &amp; me watching vcd - got interrupted 3 times cos my small one woke up looking for me (all of us sleep together). What movie are you watching? I haven't bought "I Not Stupid II" yet. Saw Corpse Bride the other day - very nice!

Annelise,

I added lup cheong to pineapple rice as well. Used the XO type.Prefer canned pineapple then fresh,sweeter and easier to cut.

Abalone mushroom cut into strips and stir fried with La Dou Ban Jiang is very tasty.Garnish with chopped spring onions.

Haha.. the pineapple for my kids only.. they like novelty and they eat it from the pineapple shell ! ah lau and I will eat from plate ..

van, you like entaining guests ? I will break out in cold sweat when I have a big grp of them
can only entertain one family at one time.. I dunno how to cook big portions..

annelise, st anthony's your alma mater is it ? Is it far from where you stay ?
The reason for us to shift there is bcos it's nearer to my sis.. got more help next time..

was wondering where you went, cat, thought you ate too much hum...and went.. LS.. jesting !
wah.. you must have added lots of chilli.. find that my taste buds recently not really working, have been eating 3 chilli padi at one go, last time, one chilli padi is enough to burn my tongue..

Did you set up a picnic table at bot gardens ? or sit on the ground?

tried the chicken drumstick mushrooms before, quite nice with oyster sauce.. I like mushrooms too ! Esp stew mushroom with chicken feet.

Hi choc

No, my alma mater non-existent already
St Anthony's about 10 mins drive from my place - it's on the outskirts of Bedok Nth. I'm staying betw Tamp &amp; Simei.

I used to entertain a lot when hb &amp; I were DINKs. Now with kids, no time &amp; energy to entertain already!