Christian Mummy Support Group

sunbloom

This is to encourage and spur all christian mummies out there. May this be a blessing for those who need a voice and a unloading bay

Thank you for starting this thread. There's a thead for Catholic mummies and was wondering why there's none for Christian mummies.

oo issit? I thot we mothers need prayer & support. As it is, life v stressful. We try to allow kids to grow emotionally, physically, psych, spritually. V demanding!

Yup, it is very stressful and hope more mothers can come in. I am a SAHM and have been looking from a job since Jan but no success yet ... feeling a little depressed but try to keep upbeat about it. Thank God for providing us enough to live comfortably on one income.

i agree. been rather down lately. juz wondering how to go fm here. v demanding. sometime i wonder if i am doing te right thing.

how many kids do u guys have? I have 1 boy ~ 2 1/2 yrs old; 1 more on the way. u guys?

Hi, yes i need a lot of prayers ..been in a crisis lately..hope .to hear christian view on hubby on prono..anyone know where can hb get help if he's hook on it..he didnt tell me he was until i caught him 2 yrs ago stopped but lately caught him again. there are other views in here which is secular n said it okie n might as well watch with him. personally feel it's wrong n degrading to my self esteem.. anyone with similar exp? i even thou of divorcing him if he continues with it. he not keen to go back to church counselling as he feels no pt going back same place with same issue. to me i feel it as bad as hubby having an affair.

It's very hard when a spouse is a pre/post/non-believer.

It's wrong. End of story. If he doesn't see it as wrong, there's not much you can do about it.

*hugs and prayers*

I will need to dig out passage from bible. Meanwhile, I do know that promo is sin in the mind - as in man look lustfully @ a woman. Te problem is when our human mind begins to indulge - sin will manifest itself in other things as well - spiritually, losing temper @ u or something like tt.

Honestly i struggle similar stuff not too long ago. not so much of prono but rather news of old flame suddenly came to me. Have to keep head abv water & keep refusing useless memories.

Yur self-esteem
Dun let the devil have a wonderful chance to put his evil hands between 2 of u. Stay and fight for yur marriage. Man in such situation of course dun wan counselling - he may have to deal wif it head on and he doesn't sound anyway nearly ready to do so.

As for u - u need to deal issues - resentment, anger & maybe more hidden.

Anyone has any advise as well???

Dun give up - God has never give up on us, so why should we give up on ourselves. Rem, we are expensive, we are bot at expense of His blood

Jeremiah 17:9, "The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure. Who can understand it?" (NIV)

Proverbs 16:2, All a mans ways seem innocent to him, but motives are weighed by the Lord. (NIV)

II Samuel 22:31, As for God, His way is perfect; the word of the Lord is flawless. He is a shield for all who take refuge in Him. (NIV)

Let God be our shield

Good to see this thread. Indeed God is good and he never let me down. He is indeed my strength in times of trouble.

I have to confess that there are time when things goes wrong and day seems to be so difficult to pass by, the thoughts of just ending it all came into my mind which is wrong coz my life belongs to HIM and not my own. I have to thank and praise him for his faithfulness coz no matter what he is always there waiting.

can i join in? i'm a sahm mum of 2. Yes, many a times i just collapsed onto my knees and seek for God to remove me from all these trials. But thankfully, God always have better ways of solving the situation :D

coping,
don't give up... God works in His Time.

glad i found this thread. i have a lot of problems with my in laws. lately we have war man! worst is they complained abt me to my hb. they are not happy my hb do housework for me.
they say they pity my hubby for marrying such a woman like me!

how ah?? i cant soften my heart. i find my heart HARDEN

Can i join too? New believer... started only last year. wanted to know more.... especially with guiding my little one.

currently at-home-mum

mngo
well, for such situation. there is wonderous of turn deaf in BOTH ears!!! seriously speaking, it's like tt one. My in-laws are Christians they also complain when my hb do ironing. Prob is tt my hb is a lazy bum - only does HIS OWN IRONINg (well, wife tol him, no iron, no clothes too bad)

Prob is they love their son and they expect the women he married to serve him. Sames goes for my mom, she always grumble tt my hb is a bum. Only thing is i dun let him know abt the grumblings. I juz let it slide and manage my mom.

if possible, no need to let them know abt housework. Makes sure they realise it is a JOINT effort. So yur hb must automatic.

Meanwhile, as for heart - give yurself time to find a way out - at same time work on heart. easier tt way

Mikel,
What job are u looking for? hmmm, why not considering continue to be a sahm seems one income working wel...heheheh

singlemomof3,
u r amazing... mus share some of ur stories w us sometimes

coping,
can enable ur pm? or email me at [email protected]

mngo,
oh no... pil problem is really tricky n seriously need a lot of prayer for patience and wisdom. Not only that, gotta pray for the rs between u and hb also!! if not, easily break. i had this prob in the beginning of my marriage too, but now at least we can be cordial to each other lah.

fatmtb,
heheheh... y name urself 'fat'?

i just attended a seminar on teaching kids on bible. Finds it pretty enriching. They hv course on parenting too. You might be interested

http://www.family.org.sg/program.html

Wanna do it in a list so that it is clearer for us to support each other in prayers?

<u>Current Prayer Requests</u>
1)Mikel : for her job search
2)Singlemomof3 : thanksgiving for God's faithful providence
3)sunbloom : for strength and guidance
4)coping : God's intervention on hb's habit and healing/faith on her personal self worth.
5)fatmtb : wisdom in guiding her child in christian ways

mngo,
haiz~ yah lor. like what sunbloom says. Shut ears lor. Last time i also get remarks like "u sure the baby is urs?" etc when i'm preg and say right in front of me somemore.

Now the remarks r more like,"no i don't want to go ur place cos it is a smoke free zone." when we try to invite them over for cny.

Shut ear and pray for THEIR hearts to soften. After 2 years of praying, now mine at least treat me cordially cos i think they r touched that we still make it a point to visit them twice a month tho i dun like them to smoke in front of my kids!

Most importantly!! show hubby u sincerely still care for his parents!! then he will be more understanding and appreciative enuf to withstand the 'storm' with you...ahahhaha

sunbloom
I have a 16 month old son and he's been quite difficult.

brenda
I have no idea what I want to do. I used to be a teacher and that has been my only job, so I do not know how's it's like in the corporate world. I'm not too sure what I can do also. I don't want to be a tutor, need to work weekends which I don't want to. I'm getting sick of staying at home, I just turn lazy, not motivated to do anything.

mngo
So sorry to hear that but I don't know what I can advise you. Just keep on praying, God can work wonders on pre/post believer.

Really feel glad that we are here together!! Be strong!!

Hello everyone... what a good thread to have.

will try to read and pray for the prayer requests as soon as i have sorted out stuff here.

God is good... keep that in mind.

thanks for all your contributions.. i feel comforted n strengthened..yes gd to keep all of us in prayers. sometimes i do wonder y christians have to face so much trials..

brenda i will email u soon

Yea God is good
Just found out today that I'll be getting a small bonus for my performance. It's not much but this June holidays I can bring my 3 out for some fun!!!

It's hard but have to remember to take a deep breath and pray for patience. Turn the other cheek. Pray for strength. Forgive. Pray for wisdom and grace. It's a catch-all but hey, it works in all situations :D

Brendali: I like your prayer list, it does make it easier to follow all the details

Regarding In laws: better the devil you know than the devil you don't!! I never thought my in-laws would condone my ex's philandering and they even encouraged me to continue giving him $ even after we find out he spent over $15k on his mistresses ***still in shock***

Mikel: pray pray pray, God will provide an opening! Perhaps be a childcare teacher?

*hugs to all the strong women of God here*

Hi brenda, jastan and patsy!!!

Christian mommies... we hv the privilege and the power to pray for our spouses and little ones under our care.. don't forget that.

Life can be challenging but we can do all things thru Christ who strengthens us.

In case u think God does not know, He says 'I know.'... every situation that u are in.

singlemom
U hv custody of ur kids? Who looks after them?

coping
We face trials to make us more mature in our spiritual life and to make us uncomfortable here on earth so that we wl rembr our destiny is meant to be in heaven with God.

jastan
Ending it all? Don't scare me ah...

oh.. forgot to introduce myself, I'm a christian mummy, FTWM with a christian hb and a boy and a pair of twin gals.. despite all the tiredness and challenges, rembr to PTL at the end of each day!

Can I ask if some of u find that ur spiritual life takes a turn for the worse after u hv kids?

haiz~
juz managed to put my son to sleep

Seems like all of us have hurts and disappointments to share and heal. Singlemom, really not easy bringing up 3 kids. All the more, we shld find means to encourage our kids to follow God.

I read from 1 author tt he prays for his children and their future spouses, studies, career and even spiritual coverage when his kids are only toddlers.

Good idea hor - we mothers pray before for our kids and future to allow God to cover them.

I'm a FTWM with sole custody of my children. They are in child/beforeschool care. This is my one-two hours of alone time while they are asleep before I have to sleep before facing yet another day. I am TRYING to wake up early to have quiet time... the spirit is willing but the flesh is very very weak and lazy :p

I'm reading several books concurrently, notably My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers, The Revelation of the Cross by Cesar Castellanos and The Praying Parent by Stormie O'Martian.

Currrently reading The Invisible War http://www.crossroad.to/Books/InvWar/index.html to my children.

Children add joy, not curses
It's hard, but I believe that all things are possible through our Lord!

Where I am now, I can say for sure that we have to take care of our own spiritual lives first, then our spouse (if any!) and children's spiritual lives. Yes, we have to intercede for our family!

Jas, when i was v v young (many many many years ago) :p
when i was schooling - i was planning to end it all. Sheepishly i cannot rem why i wanted to end it all - too long already forgot. I only rem the emotions. I tol God then - "I give U 1 last chance ah, U no action then bye bye" strange thing is that I went back to my school (dunno why) and 3 of my Christians frens are learning the guitar chords of this song. So now (more than 15 yrs), I have NEVER LOOKED back.

We are the Reason

As little children we would dream of Christmas morn
Of all the gifts and toys we knew wed find
But we never realized a baby born one blessed night
Gave us the greatest gift of our lives

We were the reason that He gave His life
We were the reason that He suffered and died
To a world that was lost He gave all He could give
To show us the reason to live

As the years went by we learned more about gifts
The giving of ourselves and what that means
On a dark and cloudy day a man hung crying in the rain
All because of love

I finally found the reason for living
Its in giving every part of my heart to Him
And all that I do every word that I say
Ill be giving my all just for Him, for Him

Mikel,
hmmm teacher... actually if u can plan well enuf to give group tuitions, then don't need to use weekend. But more tiring tho.

Can lah! The corporate world not as scary as u think if u maintain nuetral to politics. I think nowaday kids r scarier..hahahahha

Coping,
Believer or not face trials everyday... just that we r more aware of it cos we know that it's wrong.

Singlemom,
Where r u planning to bring them?? wahahah, having fun is my passion and gift!

Stylobb,
HELLO!!!!

Yah.. saw a few mommies in my church take a back seat on their spiritual life n ministries when bb comes along. Not for me tho cos i high risk pregnancies leh, seriously prayer to keep my 2Js alive throughout their time in my tummy. After that i practice Stormie's direction to pray for the kids' future.

Sunbloom,
Think that's "The Praying Parent by Stormie O'Martian." Singlemom is reading. Even write out the prayers to show what/how to pray for each aspect of their life.

Just to share how i pray for my family everyday. I pray every morning to ask God for guidance n to be a good steward of all gift and providence given for that day. Then i hv a file which i printed out all the prayers from "The praying Mother" and go through 1 per day before my son's lesson. Next i segregated my house flooring to different area for praying.. so when i sweep/mop one area, i'll cover it w prayers while cleaning e.g the kids' room will play for kids, my room will pray for my marriage etc

4)coping : God's intervention on hb's habit and healing/faith on her personal self worth.
6)Patsy : to sort things out soon and smoothly
7)StyloBB : Less busy so can join us more often :p

coping
I think God wants us to grow with trials. And through each trial, we will learn to lean and get closer to him.

stylobb
Good to see you here.... Not scaring you.. that was the thought that came to my mind during many of my down moments.

I am one of them, my spiritual life is going down after having kid. I find that I am not any much better than the new believers, maybe in certain aspect worst...

sunbloom
That's a very nice song.... Thanks.

Any suggestion on how to introduce God to my boy who is 3yrs now? I was thinking to start with bible stories.

sunbloom
Actually hb/I prayed for our kids even before they were born. We cover them with prayer everyday.
Those of u who hv believing spouses, can email prayer every morning to each other. Hb/I do that. Nite time, also pray together as much as is poss. IF hb is not around, I wl always pray for him and the kids. Lately jesse wl tell me 'Mummy, pray for me please.'

We can always say a short prayer in the course of the day.

brenda
Actually I was v ON during my two pregnancies too.. and everything went well.

I used to be v active in church, used to lead children's group and other ministries. After the three came along, I am not so active anymore. But wl be going back to serve come July...

jastan
Need to find time loh... I have been flat out for some time. Now I try to make a point to read the Bible regularly. Wl write down my prayers in a journal.

Hehe..I think last time when I was a student, such thot also crossed my mind, but only fleeting thots. Just be careful loh, cud be the devil planting it in u...

Introduce God... stimes I don't know if they can grasp the concept altho they learn about Jesus in Sunday School. In practical terms, what hb/I do is we tell jesse 'let's pray for good weather tmw cos we want to go swimming.' Then he wl repeat after us. THen the next day when it's sunny, we wl tell him God answered our prayers.

singlemom
Enjoy your bonus with ur kids... just got reminded of Elijah and the widow in the O.T. of how God provides for the widow. PTL!
(not about the widow but about the provision part...)

It's true about what u say about taking care of ourselves spiritually.

patsy
How was ur break? Hope u had some quiet time with the Lord.

Ok, gotta get back to work...

8)Brenda : for smooth integration of Jem (elder son) into Sunday School starting on this month.

<u>Prayer tips for Family</u>

Just to share how i pray for my family everyday. I pray every morning to ask God for guidance n to be a good steward of all gift and providence given for that day. Then i hv a file which i printed out all the prayers from "The praying Mother" and go through 1 per day before my son's lesson. Next i segregated my house flooring to different area for praying.. so when i sweep/mop one area, i'll cover it w prayers while cleaning e.g the kids' room will play for kids, my room will pray for my marriage etc

Those of u who hv believing spouses, can email prayer every morning to each other. Hb/I do that. Nite time, also pray together as much as is poss. IF hb is not around, I wl always pray for him and the kids. Lately jesse wl tell me 'Mummy, pray for me please.'

Mommies, feel free to add onto the list esp. prayer list yah!!

Jas,
I started Jem and Jay with bible stories since young.. they dun understand lah but just get them into the habit of reading bible. However, they can appreciate those 1 sentence quotes like,"Those who listen to God are Happy!" esp. if u say it with some action.. somehow if u repeat frequent enough they look forward to join u as well.

Then for Jem who is turning 3 in 2 months. He was start on Bible study 2-3tx a week. Can just look for it online.. usually comes with a story, a colouring printout n some w crafts. For example, during Easter.. we make easter eggs and i went thru the story of Jesus going into town on the donkey. He gets to colour a page of the donkey. And i took palm leaves from church n we had fun waving it..hahahha

but hor.. tiring to prep lessons

wow thanks for all your sharing.. i am a parttime working mum with a son aged 4.. both me n my spouse are christian prior to our marriage..but ups n down in our walk with God,but it saddened me when the head stops being the head.. u know my fear when i caught husb on the porn site is whether my son will follow his footstep..i am a kiasu mum once i became a christian ( i came from a broken family so i tend to be particular about my own family)i pray for my spouse to be my children etc but the saddest part is no matter how much i had prayed the ultimate decision n responsibility rest on them.. i can only hold on to that fact that man can fail but not God.

u wont believe i used stormie bk from praying for the children, husband, wife n even her bk on how to be whole..but i tell u the battle is so strong..i realised the more i pray the more trials i faced till the fact that i decided to pray less so that i wont be attacked so much... i was a fearful prayer warrior cos the attacks were a lot.from doing QT for few hrs a night ( prior to having a kid) i stopped doing at all except for church n praying with my son daily..but the thing is the devil still attack my family.. so all i can do now SURRENDER all to God.

i am taking baby steps to God. i know the road ahead is going to be filled with heart aches n challenges t thill e day i see God face to face and i hope i still keep my faith by then.

so happy to hear from fellow christian mums.. i feel i am not alone..

singlemom of 3: u are really an inspiration..

i am reading barbara johnson bks to cheer myself up..

saw 1 quote from 1 of her books:

God will never lead u where HIs stength cannot keep you

waaah Brenda, u v organised leh... (shame shame on me)
i only managed to settle son in Sunday School - pray a bit here and there...

my hb began v hardened towds God. So I have to be the spiritual driving force. will try to implement something in this home for my little one...

Had to share this from my emailed devotionals... will reply to posts later!

No matter how bad things get God is still able to bring good out of it. Today, thank God that nothing no disaster, no delay is bigger that his ability to turn it into something good and godly.

Thank God and let go Thank God that he is sovereign over your past, your present, and your future.

* Give God the circumstances, disasters, hindrances, hurts, and sins from your past.
* Give God your current situation, your disasters, hindrances, hurts, and sins of today.
* Praise God that he can work anything in your future for godly good, that you can walk in confidence that there is nothing anyone can do to you, or anything you can do that will be beyond the reach of Gods grace and redemption.

Look for Gods hand Walking by faith means you see Gods hand even in the most difficult of circumstances. You trust his ability and his willingness to transform the bad into godly good. God is not limited by peoples motives. In other words, it doesnt matter why someone hurt you, God still can transform a deliberate, mean-spirited situation into something for his good.

What will you allow God to change? There it is: some situation, or event, or person in your life that, as far as you can tell, was meant for bad. How do you think God meant it for good? Ask God what he wants you to do with this situation (event or person). When he answers, do it. Were praying for you now.

Thanks so much for the arrangement.

I guess i'll just turn deaf ears ba... but u know. once a bad impression of me is form, there is no turning back.

I'll add a prayer request for myself here

Current Prayer Requests
8)Brenda : for smooth integration of Jem (elder son) into Sunday School starting on this month.
9)Mngo : God will turn the current situation around. and wake my hb :p

hihi, just found this thread. can i join?? im sahm with 5 kids. well 4 r with me and 1 is safe with Jesus
but he is always part of me thats why i always incl him when ppl asked me how many kids i hv

coping,
wow.. u sound dejected. Remember we have a victorious God

Our walk are similar... broken family, constant battle w the dark, hb facing same prob. etc

but like what singlemom have shared in her devotional.. God just have that higher plans that can change what seems 'hopeless' into Godly Good IF we remain faithful.

Don't Give Up!! SMILE n PRAY!!

sunbloom,
wahahah... u can come see my house n change ur mind abt my organisation skills.

Sunbloom/Mngo,
*shake hands* my hubby not even a believer. We jiayou jiayou hopefully they can soften/wake up soon yah.

blessedmommy,
u truly blessed hor!!! how i wish for more kids too..hahahah

Fairytale,
how's ur bb now?

my hb - seat warmer - go church to warm the seat. That's abt all.

as for ministry, i noe wat u mean. Part of my heart want to start the engine - the other wondering how man!

Used to be v active b4 kids. To the point on not home almost 7 days. Family took a back seat. now wif kids, i duuno how to go abt.

Hi brenda

My bb is still in ICU.I'm believing God for a miracle!Pastor came to pray for him last evening.Hb and I believe we will receive the blessings and healing for my bb.

<font size="+1">10)Fairytale : for her premature bb who is still in ICU. May he be well soon.</font>

Waaa so much activity... hard to keep track liao!

Current Prayer Requests
4)coping : God's intervention on hb's habit and healing/faith on her
personal self worth.
8)Brenda : for smooth integration of Jem (elder son) into Sunday
School starting on this month.
10)Fairytale : for her premature bb who is still in ICU. May he be
well soon.
11)Maple Babies : for God to bless her with a child!