Chin Leng, PLS TAKE NOTE!!!

Hi Fedup,

I think most people wouldnt share a nick, afterall, what is the purpose of sharing a nick when its so easy to set up a nick? The steps aren't like 100 steps to form a new nick.

Beside, most people don't share their ATM pin no. too, isnt it? I guess its a private thing lor.

Fedup,

This is from the "terms of use" :
Impersonate any person or entity, or falsely state or otherwise misrepresent your affiliation with a person or entity

Aiyo!!! Elections coming, possible US-Iran War, oil prices going up etc etc etc. Milk powder, diaper will becoming more expensive.

Let's focus on the more (real) important things, mummys! Live & let live loh...

>> What's a man doing at a motherhood forum?
>> If you has no "special" intention,
>> I WONDER, u ain't active in other threads,
>> what can a motherhood forum interest you?

Statements like these should be avoided, really. No where has it ever been stated that this is a woman's forum. Why target men?

Furthermore, I believe all forumers have the right to be interested only in specific topics. Is there a need to be active in more than a few threads to be considered a legitimate forumer? Take me for example. I am a guy, and only check out (and participate) only in a couple of threads (infant care and PD). Should I be black-listed then?

May I request that everyone here stop posting/replying in this thread pls... it's becoming an eye-sore...

leng leng.. i think you got to be a bit careful on the words u use lah.. cos my hubby feel abit offened also and he is the one that discover this great webby and told me about it and he is very active reading the threads and hope to learn how to be a good father in order to help me also.

He is asking.. "y man cannot visit a motherhood forum meh? i want to be involve also mah ..then i will start a fatherhood forum hahaa.."

Peace here!!!

Dear pinger & Lynette,
please read the whole story & not partial.

I do know of several Insurance Agents in here,
but they do not talk about Insurance
till I asked them what trade they r in.

I also know a few daddies in here,
as a matter of fact,
I introduced my own brother to this webby.

Leng Leng,
I am aware of the whole story [and I followed the thread on Insurance for kids until it was mysteriously removed by Chin Leng yesterday - I have protested against this as I feel it is unfair to those who are genuine followers of that thread, but then, I'm digressing :) ]

My point is simply that, like what Lynette have said, we just hv to be careful with our words. General statements like 'what's a man doing in this forum' etc is not quite appropriate here, IMO.

pinger,
reading only a portion will only cause misunderstanding.

Just "Be wary of forum frauds",
some mummies here ca be very innocent & get con easily.
When they realise, it's too late.
Just doing what I can to KPO.

SingaporeMotherhood.com like SingaporeBrides.com welcomes both genders. SingaporeMotherhood.com was a natural name to be chosen as it shows the progress of the stages of our lives, from wedding to parenthood. Since our first portal was SingaporeBrides.com, we thought that the natural name would be SingaporeMotherhood.com.

I'm a father myself so I wouldn't set-up a portal that is not welcoming to fathers, right?

I'm sorry that I had removed the thread "Insurance for Kids" as it had participation by insurance agents who had attempted to solicit for business. I couldn't just remove the messages made by them as the whole flow of the messages would be broken and it wouldn't make any more sense. It is with this reason that the thread was removed and hopefully a new thread with a renew clean slate can be started.

We have started this forum (soon to be portal) for genuine parents and parents-to-be. We are financing the operating costs of this portal through our advertising revenue from SingaporeBrides.com. But this would not be feasible in the long run. The portal has to be self-sufficient financially in order for it to be run for the long term. We don't mind financing the forum/portal for genuine parents and parents-to-be. But we think it is totally wrong for business owners and service providers to leverage our resources to promote themselves for their own financial gains. By doing so, our operating costs have been increased unnecessarily. This is not fair to us and the genuine users here.

We appreciate your understanding in this matter. Thank you.

Chin Leng.

Chin Leng,

Understood you perfectly, thanks for the explanation :)

However, I still find an anomaly in the way you made your decision to remove the thread.

Let us suppose that a very well-read thread was proceeding very well... with hundreds of posts. Then one fine day, this chap came along and start soliciting for business. You kill the entire thread?

You said you hope that a new thread with a clean slate can be started. Don't you think that this would be impossible? We all agree that insurance agents can post, as long as they do not solicit and only offer their views. However, it is almost impossible to expect that all agents would be so 'principled' ... even if a new thread is started, it would be removed in a matter of time (e.g. the moment someone posted his hp and say 'contact me'). So easy to 'sabo' threads in this way...

I accept your decision, but still felt it is sad that the useful info in that thead had been lost because of a couple of posts.

Hoping (against hope:) that you can re-consider reinstating.

Leng Leng,

Like I say, I read it all :) What I only want to say is that we should not try to second-guess the intentions of individuals unless we are absolutley sure. Enough said anyway about this.

About forum frauds, yes I agree with you (esp. that useful article you posted). I have seen many instances of these (like this car forum where A ask for recommendation of good sales agent, and B post almost immediately with how good his agent is etc etc ... really lame, this one).

It's good to have vigilant (and kpo) forumers like you.. ha ha :)

Hi Pinger,

We would normally avoid removing the thread. We would try to remove the affected messages instead. However, as there were too many postings to remove for the said thread and by removing them will affect the logical flow of the thread, the whole thread was thus removed.

To prevent such similar occurences, it would be best if the user was stop much earlier and only a few messages need to be removed. That way, the thread will still be able to stay.

Please let us know of similar occurences as early as possible and we'll do our best to avoid removing the thread. We don't like removing active threads too.

Chin Leng.

Forum terms of use: "Post, display or disseminate any CONTENT for advertising and promotion of any product or service, or any other form of solicitation unless express written authorization is obtained in advance from SingaporeMotherhood.com;"

Freeloader: "To take advantage of the charity, generosity, or hospitality of others"

Solicitation: "To seek to obtain by persuasion, entreaty, or formal application"

E.g. refer: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/395322.html?1145563301#POST1585257

Price=USD8.49 or about SGD13.57. Even with shipping divided equally among the moms, how did that come up to SGD19? Besides, was the 5% back in terms of drugstore.com dollars?

Tan Leng Leng, appears u are guilty on both counts based on the numerous bulk purchases that you have initiated and organised. What do you have to say?

Hi GreaterKPO,
wonder why you would not use your real nick, nevermind...

If you can sell under SG$19, please organise a BP,
I'll buy 2 bottles from you.

Kindly deliver to Sengkang.

PS: May even get more if your price is very attractive.

As for the "numerous bulk purchases that I have initiated and organised",
I find this a challange & something fun to do,
I'm too free at home.
U need more explantion?

No real nick seems to be the normal practice here for people to sabo others. 'Challenging & fun' - how does that explain that you have not benefitted from the combined buying power of the mummies here to get the items you desire and using this forum's bandwidth to do it? Hmm?

Hi GreaterKPO,

As long as it is a one-off exerecise and not benefitting from the bulk purchase financially but getting discounts or sharing of delivery costs is accepted for one-off genuine purchases, it is ok for the parents and parents-to-be to combine purchases.

However, we'll take actions, for example, when the organiser of bulk purchase is actually the business owner. Also, we'll frown upon any user who continuously organises bulk purchases on similar items again and again.

Chin Leng.

Hi Chin Leng, thanks for clarifying. IMHO, there's no foolproof way to be sure that anyone who organises a BP is not benefiting financially. Whether or not he/she is owner. Like Tan Leng Leng, I am also super KPO SAHM and plenty of time to kill. It is also my wish to protect some of the 'innocent' mummies here from getting conned easily. I think all boils down to willing buyers, willing sellers. Buyers need to beware. Internet is full of frauds as mentioned earlier. It does not matter whether one appears to want to do good by playing police and yet exploit the forum for his/her benefit in another form.

Personally, I will not do BP as it invites too many questions. Just my take on the whole thing. Thanks.

Hi Leng Leng,

..."we'll frown upon any user who continuously organises bulk purchases on similar items again and again"

How come i saw the same ppl organising the same product bulk purchases. After a few weeks, noticed the same person try to organise another product bulk purchase...To me..look like trying to distract others that she is doing it out of good will. Mommies, pls dont be offended as this is my observation.

I am confused and blur liao.

hi chin leng, i think u cant just to listening to one side story... after those KPO users had post those forum which they "THINK" ppl are doing their business, their ID will be block without any warning or explain. Dont u think that is not fair? some of them are really not selling or doing their busniess there...
In fact i have seen many other users have 2nd bulk purchase or 3rd or 4th n yet they are not being ban? WHY?

get a commission on the selling prices if members decide to sell something from their biz. it would be better than no revenue, right? Anyway, some mommies are trying to earn some pocket money so cant pay too much for advertisement fee.

All postings of the products will have to go thru the moderator. In this case, no arguement, lor.

blur,
I'm blur too,
you should be addressing to Chin Leng,
not Leng Leng.
kao_confused.gif

But I think sometimes it's mummies
who request a particular person to do the same BP again lah.
Simply because no one wants to do it.

i agree with leng leng here. i see a lot of mommies asking for someone to start a BP/spree yet unwilling to take on this task themselves (becos they know it's time & effort consuming, and some becos they dun have the experience so is scared to do so in case they get into a mess....which can happen if u do a huge BP).
hence let's give some credit to the BP/spree organizers (who have given the benefit of BP discount to many mommies; they too enjoy the discount but they have oso expended much of their time unlike mommies who just hopped on the BP)....as a courtesy, perhaps BP organizers should be informed and given a chance to defend themselves before their account are suspended for no reason. of coures it may not always be easy to tell the difference between genuine BP organizers and sellers posing as BP organizers....

hi kpo,
i think i saw this thread before. she is pheobemum. she explain in her thread that her firend is a librarian and she know the suppiler and she manage to get discount so she is asking pple about it .

Realise that there are ppl who r from the WL group and impersonate themselves using another nick to join the 10-18 mth PG thread..

Ginseng mum who claimed she has an 11 mth old son by name of issac is actually from WL thread. She doesnt hv any son but a 8 mth old daughter by the name of shanice. It is on the forum.

This is her conversation in WL thread to prove she has a daughter
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353635/371599.html?1139459019#POST1465753

Here she claim tat she has a son...
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/396474.html?1145920475#POST1645880

U can see that her username is the same (meowchan).

janetlee,

obiviously someone pointed out your post in which you lied about the age of the airport you trying to sell and you not happy.