Child Adoption

Hi, my office interview was schedule next week. Can advice on the time frame cos some say there is individual interview some say don't have. Thanks

Undecided: u taking from lovely babies rt? Dun worry lah, think they can get u one fast. They seem to be faster than most agency. Maybe the girl is still there when ur hubby return next week. Wat meant to be urs will be urs....

a few cents worth of stuffs about what i did...

Please dont rush to get BB stuffs before you have finalised the BB. You might want a girl...but what if you get a boy?
look for thin kid...get a chubby one? look for short one...get a long one?

1. List of items required for the baby: Was recommended to go to Robinsons at Raffles city (they have a fair selection of items for babies from strollers to bottles). They also have a list of items that u would require. Just pick it up & use it as a reference,
2. Milk bottle & powder : if u are adopting the baby very much in a infant stage (less than 3 months old), please continue to use the same milk powder & the same kind of bottle (standard style base- dr.brown/ piegeon/ pureen/ tollyjoy & wide style base-like avent. Same powder because, change in powder, will lead to constipation in babies. if u use the same style of bottle, then it would be easier for the BB to suck.

I'm using Dr. Brown's (because my son had mild
3. Stroller/ carseat: i use capella stroller (works good for the last 19 months). i dont have my own transport. So, the only drawback, its kind of heavy to carry in bus. ( for public transport use, mclaren was recommended to me). A senior in this forum, also recommended bugaboo strollers. (it was quite over my budget).
4. dress: get rompers, hoodies & mittens.

got to go now...will continue it later

Hi mrs ha,
Thank u for the advice. Really appreciate it.
My hubby also say buy only after bb is identified. He say can make better choices.

U mean for milk powder, use wat the nanny of adoption agency give? Normally wat brand of powder they give?

The milk bottles, would they give us cos our bb use b4 Liao or we hv to buy from them?

Hi undecided
Dun b disappointed.. If bb is meant for u, she will still b available when ur hubby is back. Hv faith!

May I knw where is ur bb from?

pokoyo - i m fine now after a nap! lol... thanks.. i believe everything happens for a reason n God has his plans for all of us.

mrs ha - thanks for the great advise.. we only got the stroller coz hubby's quite particular about it. we bought the quinny buzz coz hub likes the big wheels but i find it quite heavy. we got a hand me down cot n some bb toys.. picking up all the hand me downs to consolidate early so can do stock check and wash n what not.. the rest of the stuff.. haven't bought anything yet coz lazy!

priscilla -- i used SBL.. u need to know something?

priscilla - the office interview is at tampines.

they were pretty efficient and friendly. the office interview was casual but long... about 3.5hrs. u guys will be alone in the room with the assessor, so it will be nice and private. interview was conducted in 3 parts..

part 1 - shared views
part 2 - hubby's views
part 3 - your views

questions will be similar to those in the questionnaire u filled. the party not being interviewed (part 2/3) had the option of leaving the room to take a break.

my assessor looked pretty stern but she was actually v nice! key to it all is to relax!

we scheduled home interview for the week after (depending on assessor's availability as well) and 5 weeks later, approval!

was this wat u wanted to know?

priscilla - local babies avail for adoption r far n few beyond if u r thinking of goin to govt agency such as project cherub.. i have friends who adopted local babies but all the babies were sourced thru personal contact.

lai ling - for SBL, u can choose to be together thru the whole session or leave the room when they r conducting the 'individual' interview with your husband and vv. or just step out for a break n come back even while the individual interview is goin on since it is gonna be such a long session - visit loo, have a drink atc..

the individual session is called thus as they will ask personal views n opinions rather then couple's view.. such as how were your parent's parenting style while growing up.. and they will ask your partner the same questions when it is his turn. questions that they may ask as a couple wud be more like who brought up the idea of adoption..

Lai ling -- yes, u can start calling the agencies the moment u get your approved hsr. Most, if not all, will ask if u have completed it n r more willing to assist if u have.

Hi there, for those who are doing medical check up and not sure if 'fasting' is required, well I got the answer! (even the home study agency can't give me an answer).

The blood test is mainly testing for any hepatitis B and HIV, not cholesterol, etc. As such no fasting is required and FYI, blood test can even be taken in the afternoon, for those who can't do it in the morning.

Hope the info. helps! Good luck!

priscilla - yes, u need to prepare about 30k. It's a huge sum for us too coz we r not like rich or anything and only hubby's working..

if u prefer, u can register with project cherub.. but the wait is really long; at least 1.5-2yrs. plus, u may not even have a match after all that wait.

the last alternative is of coz to source for a baby thru friends and relatives locally.. but then that is really a matter of fate. (and some luck). You wud then be able to save quite a considerable sum ie the agent fees which cud be about 22-25k.

Undecided, wat does SBL stands for?

Priscilla, 30k is oso a huge some for me too. Juz to share, I hv written something to reach out to the govt to provide some form of assistance for ppl like us. We r oso trying to help to increase birthrate. Hope they can really do something for us..

Hi prospective, great that u are open to other non Indian kids and that u don't mind people knowing about the adoption!

On the other hand, my advice is that u continue to try and get a child with similar background, actually adoption it's not just abt, the feelings of us adults anymore, it's abt. the feelings of the child... Basically by having a non indian kid, your child will most likely be questioned in school by many kids (kids being kids they may tease) why the parents look so different, etc etc.

Unlike the westerners, s'poreans here are just of a different mindset when it comes to adopting a child of different race and culture, unless u put your child in international schools, if not the teasing among local kids are inevitable and the child will feel rejected and lose confidence (no matter how much we assure our love) cos day in day out they may get bombarded...

My point is as much as we adoptive parents are very proud to adopt and no worries if someone get to know abt. it, but sometimes it's still better to be hush hush and keep a low profile abt. it. We usually are open to close friends but not to strangers abt. our child true identity

I may be wrong but if u ask the kids if they want to tell people they're adopted kids, I guess most would say 'no', so I would suggest try to adopt within the same background as much as we could.

Good luck and may God bless your heart!

Hi priscilla, undecided n all, just to share why hubby n I decided to adopt.
Initially we also feel the sum is very huge n we barely afford it but think back, after so many years of fruitless trying, think we also spend a lot. That's why decided to close this chapter with a happy ending n move on with life.

We believe that the $ can be earned back but the exp of bringing up a child is something that once gone, can't turn clock back to experience it again.

It's better to adopt early than late cos we will hv more time to bring up the child to independence n support her education as much as we can. I dun want a situation where I can't work but my child still not independent to work n earn a living for herself.

hi everyone! nah! i was washing some clothes n toys my gf gave me.. i know this sounds silly but just lookin at all the tiny little stuff hanging there makes me happy!

hubby's not back yet thou.. not till sat! sobs!

what have u guys been up to?

waiting waiting for hsr approval...
hoping to receive on wedding anniversary
zun zun 2 weeks from home interview, guess that will be the best gift from god

Little_girl : where r u going? So nice.. Me going to Hong Kong makan makan end of this month!!

Mary : yay! Happy anniversary in advance!! So nice!!

Few of us should have babies just months apart!

i am going korea year end. 8 days.
thinking go for a holi b4 i become mummy and cant run to far country for many years liao.

U going HK end of mth, then ur bb how?

little girl

i also not sure but assessor did mention abt 2 weeks.. so juz keep finger crossed

undecided... tks for your well wishes

lets hope everyone got their bundle of joy soon

little_girl : bb wun be here yet.. which is y i was also thinkin of goin away for short break b4 bb arrives..but hubs only has 4 days to spare me so HK was my best choice..

mary : i thot it takes about a month for report to be out? 2 weeks is real fast!

which agency will u guys be using for the adoption? or planning to register with a few?