Calling mommies staying near commonwealth

Hello Foxy... I saw on one of the variaty show that there's a shop selling ice cream really cheap at Hoy Fatt road. Is that true?

Glad that I found this thread, I stay around the area too
Can I join in?

By the way, does any mommy here sends your dear kid to Zhangde Primary School opposite Tiong Bahru Plaza? Is it a good school?

no probs !!
by the way... buy already must feedback

P/S: anyone coming to the ACS Carnival @ Barker Rd must come by to stall P.26 LeeWee Nasi Lemak and say "Hi"
kao_shy.gif

Afternoon! Working today.

So you are a LeeWee fan? I love their Otah. hehe... Hubby and I usually buy the raw ones from Tangs basement and keep in our freezer.. when got craving, will cook in the oven and go with rice for dinner. hehe.

Hi sc,

Can you share more info on River Valley P.S? My boy is due for P1 enrolment nxt yr and we r within 1 km. How's their 'culture' & what does the principal advocate? Is it the kind where it's study study and no 'play'? My boy is v. active n if they are quite 'dead' in their method of teaching, it might not suit him. Any idea abt Radin Mas culture?

snow (foxy),
i have yet to try the icecream too... is it a shop that sells in bulk or single ?
kao_drool.gif

Maozai (maozai),
i have yet to try the Leewee nasi lemak... and 700 pkts were all sold out by 12nn at the carnival last saturday !! so busy until didn't even buy a pkt to try !!
but indeed i have heard their otah, asam fish, bbq stuffs are very yummy.

hi smurf16

Not very sure abt radin mas only know that their standard is pretty high too.

Rgds river valley, they are quite balance in both studies and play. For p1, dun really have tat many homeworks but must revise with them. As RV has CA and SA and their papers are slightly tougher than GEPS and Zhangde. RV students are more academic.

If you have any more questions, pls free to ask and will try my best to answer.

Hi all. Been a busy week at work, so no time to read forum. :p Any mummies have the following to exchange or sell?

- 1 BN Pureen pack XL to exchange for L size diapers.
- Looking for BN avent 260ml bottles and size 4 teats. YES! my boy finally knows how to drink from Avent.
- Friso 2 or 3. So if you have >6 months old bb, maybe can try to call for sample and sell to me?

Hi SC, txs.. Wat's CA & SA (blur~~) is it continual assessment and semester assessment? It's gd to hear that they are quite balanced in wk & play. Cos these days children learn a lot thru play and the 'olden' method of 'dead' teaching doesn't seem to interest my boy. Am thinkg of hopping to both schs these few days and compare their PSLE results. It's the best time to do so. erhhh, hope I'm not appearing too KS. (shy)

hi smuf16

fyi, rv p1 is in afternoon class, p2 to p6 in the morning class. p1 and p2 has a compuslory cca (our previous eca). p3 onwards then they choose wat they like.

you will be invited to watch their performance for every cca they have learnt eg dancing, wu shu, musical instrument.

p1 timing is 1 pm to 6.30pm.
p2 to p6 is 7.15 am to 1.30pm (as they incorporate cca timing into the lessons)

ya ca is continual assessment and sa is semester. mainly their p1 n p2 are pretty relax in studying. Although they are not using the old method but their tests are not easy you have to be kept on your toes. If you are not on par, they will put you in remedial lessons.

But overall rv is more academic and holistics meaning they are good in brass band, dancing but sports are only ok.

rv has 100% passing rates for p6 for the last few yrs. believed it the same for radin mas.

Let me know if you need more info. This is what i can think of.

hihi sc..

my nephew is in rv p4 this year, no wonder always heard my sis say have to go school :p

anyone's kid in gesps?

Hi sc, thanks so much! I'm so glad to be part of this forum cos of the communuity spirit.

It sounds like even thou RVPS is not one of those branded top notch sch, it's certainly abv avg.

When u say their tests are not easy, are you comparing to the rest of schs in this region (ie, GESPS / Zhande) or other schs?

Also v. curious... the P2-P6 students get their CCA built into lesson timing. So it means all lessons + CCA will definitely finish by 1.30pm. It will not be like some schs I heard where kids come home arnd 3pm+ cos of CCA? Btw, how they settle their lunch?

In conclusion, are you happy with this sch? any complaints so far? H'bt teachers? Helpful + Caring? (Dun wori, am not a spy.. really a KS mommy who wants the right sch for my boy =) )

Mommies, you are very good into details like these. When I picked the school for ds (FMPS), we went for the nearest available.

Btw, where do you go on weekends? I'm running out of ideas for the kids.

CCA is on fri morning from 7.30 to 9.30am. thus all classes were extended to 1.30pm, it used to finish at 1pm. Except for wed, there is teacher meeting, it will end at 12.30pm.

On certain days, the children do come home late as there are extra lessons (eg supplementary or remedial) which will fall on 1 or 2 days depending on schedule.

Give them extra moni, they will lunch at school. Cos the timing is only half hour and unless you bring them out, the school wants them to eat in.

So far no complaints, the teachers are helpful, anyway nowsaday you will have teacher's email add, you can email them any queries.

Yes, the tests comparing to zhangde and geps, rv is more difficult. Haven got chance to compare radin mas.

But would like to highlight, once you step into p3, there are more homeworks and also projects start to come in.

So far, my p3 girl still got time for play so no worries.

hi snow

hmm, is it becos of the cca? bcos they have to train for performance?

My fren's kids are in geps. you need more info? Can check it out for you.

hi smurf16

No prob. They are doing fine. Anytime you got questions, can pm or post it here.

Btw, my 3rd boy will be in rv next yr too.

Last yr they have 20% discount on school uniform on the day of orientation. Hope they have it again, if not the cost it real ex.

i m thinking of sending my gg who is going to b 2 v soon to childcare. any recommendations n advice? thanks

hi Dramaqueen

I prefer non air-con so I sent ds to Sheerwood at Ayer Rajah Industrial park when he was 2. Still like the place very much.

Hihi.. my gal is in Leng Kee CC under Brightkids Sch. Like jpooh, I also prefer it to be non air-con. However, its only for playground till N2. K1 & 2 area is air conditioned.

I'm not a really fussy mum. As long as daughter comes home happy, knows her words, speaks well, I'm satisfied with the sch. Actually you all can suggest what I should be looking out for?

sc, i'm not sure but always heard my sis saying that she need to go school (rv).
My eldest is in gesps p3 this year, how old is yr friend's kid?

maozai, lengkee cc near my house wor :p
my second is in NTUC childcare, non aircon.

Foxy, the reason why I choose Lengkee is cos its the nearest to my house. NTUC is the one at Blk 96 over at Hendersen?
How's GESPS? I'm thinking of enrolling daughter there next time. But heard so much about Zhangde, Radin Mas being better, etc. What's your opinion? Btw, are they all morning sessions?

maozai, Lengkee cc oso nearest to my house but they insist mi to pay $600 cash for dep (i'm applying under CFAC) den no choice gotta put her in NTUC but still ok cos straight bus (63) to the childcare

I find gesps not so good, better think it over.. p1 n p2 is afternoon, p3-p6 is morning..for mi i'll try CHIJ for my 2nd..

hihi. what's CFAC? For me, convenience is the most impt factor when choosing a sch cos we do not have a car. And the thought of taking bus, or waiting for sch bus, etc, kind of sound really "troublesome" for me. But I think as a parent, sometiems we got to make certain sacrifices. That's why now dont' know whether should I go for convenience or choosing a more reputable sch for my children.

what's the not so good things you find about GESPS? I'm only afraid my children get to mix with bad companies.. cos I think my daugther is the kind who easily gets influenced rather than influencing others.

Is CHIJ all morning sessions? and do they have after sch care available in the sch compound? I'm a FTWM, so got to plan for all these as well.

maozai,

check here for CFAC http://www.mcys.gov.sg/web/serv_E_CFAC.html

we dun have car too.. and that moment we dun have the amt request from lengkee cc so no choice have to enrol her to NTUC, but its still ok cos bus stop is jus infront of my block.

gesps, my elder gal is oso vy easy influenced type.. once ever stole $3 from mi when she's in p1 to buy things for classmate, she say another gal bring $7 to school & treating classmates titbits y can't she have same amt of pocket money

i'm not sure abt the running of CHIJ, my 2nd is k1 only so i've not yet to find out..

Hi foxy

my fren kids are in p4 and p6. hmm geps is not tat fantastic as they have erractic teachers.

CHIJ all morning class, no after school care. Whereas zhangde has after school care.

rgd rv, unless you are have performance or competition then you will have to stay back. For supplementary, they put it in one day and remedial on another day if you fall below par. In a way, you only stay back 1 day a wk for the supplementary.

Hi foxy

my fren kids are in p4 and p6. hmm geps is not tat fantastic as they have erractic teachers.

CHIJ all morning class, no after school care. Whereas zhangde has after school care.

rgd rv, unless you are have performance or competition then you will have to stay back. For supplementary, they put it in one day and remedial on another day if you fall below par. In a way, you only stay back 1 day a wk for the supplementary.

sc,

i dun mind if CHIJ doesn't have after school care service as there's 1 next to my block.. i thinking of trying CHIJ cos i think 'christian school' (correct mi if i'm wrong) will be better bah..

as for rv, my sis jus went to fetch her son again lol

I'm from Jan'06 Thread and I stay at Redhill area, Henderson Crescent to be exact. Hope to join in this thread =) My ds is 18 months now =) Hope to be able to hear and learn more from you all with the kindergartens/pre-schools around the area.

I've heard good reviews of Milk and Honey Daycare Centre from a churchmate who used to send her dd there. Thinking of putting DS there when he turns 3.

sc (bearlover),
thanks for asking, but don't need already

milk & honey daycare, feel free to ask me
as i'm a 'self-appointed' parent volunteer there

hee... there's a mum here "no name", her 4yr old son is there now.
my church is hephzibah and cc belongs to the church...

my son was there when he was 3.8yrs and now in p1 already. m&h is really one of the cheapest childcare in s'pore, it's non a/con and very impt. good food served. the cc will be 18yrs old this august.
the teachers there are all very motherly figured, lot's of love for kids. you can see they are the type who can retired already but still want to work, b'cos they love what they do.

but pls note that there is a waitlist... the centre is pretty much full already for 18mths ~ 4yrs kids. only k1 & k2 still have some placing.
what you can do is put yourself in the waillist, and let Mrs Jacqueline Tan the supervisor to call you back.
Milk & Honey Day Care Centre
350 Alexandra Road S(159946)
tel: 64791858
email: [email protected]

jasmum
Wow, thanks for the info =) I did call Mrs Jacqueline Tan up and requested to be on the waitlist and if there's any vacancy, to let me know. My church gf had very good reviews of the place. So am thinking of putting ds there, to me I think impt part of growing up, in a christian based cc, is one of my priorities for my child, more impt then any other enrichment classes. =) There's another cc I'm considering called Daystar at Holland area.

Hahaha, even kept reminding myself to quickly sign up to be on Fairfield's alumni as I was an old girl from both FMPS and FMSS. My mom's an old girl too.

Does the mummies on this thread meet up frequently for playgroup sessions? I'm currently PTWM, free on Thursday and Friday afternoons. My boy adores playing with older kids. =) I will try to bring him to the next door delta gym where The Atlantic City is for him to play.

MamaChan,
heee... wow you so fast huh

oh, which church do you go to ? is it nearby ? who is your gf or her child ? heee...

PTWM, where do you work... so Thurs & Fri are off days for you ?

milk and honey hopes to have a "face-lift" this year... but so hard to plan the time b'cos need a few days to do major cleaning, painting, touch-up jobs and Mrs Tan is finding so tough to close the centre to get the job done.
that's the thing about childcare centres, doesn't follow MOE's school holiday period...

wow FMPS, heard alumni there very good & strong... it really pays to join alumni just to get a placing in the school. my dh is acs old boy and ds is there now at barker rd. i'm a parent volunteer there too
must keep myself busy & active.

so far, no one plan any outings or gatherings leh... maybe you could try heee...

snow (foxy),
M&H cc is along Alexandra Rd at the corner near the Commonwealth Ave / LeeKeng traffic light junction. it's between Dawson Place & Q'town MRT (7mins walk from the stn)
you can spot the chrome yellow bldg of the church, it's got a big banner saying we keep the Sabbath Law = church service is on Saturday only.
the cc is on the ground level.
i am not too sure about the fees now... but it's really cheap as compared to the bigger establishment. it's an out reach ministry so there are welfare cases (from CFAC / Beyond) too.

and it's teachings of morals & values are indeed base on the Word of God.
there is worship, prayer every morning and kids will be taught to say Grace before meals. we observe the korsher diet = no pork / lard / shell fish meals.

hths

jasmum
I'm attending New Creation Church at Suntec, been attending there for years, met my hb there and got married there, hahaha. My gf is Eileen Leong, her girl's name is rather unique that at times I get mixed up with both her girls' names. If I'm not wrong, it's Etelle Lael Pang.

I'm really for teachings of morals and values based on the Word of God at this tender age =) coz all things else will fall in their rightful "place" thereafter.

I used to attend Queenstown Good Shepherd Kindergarten when I was little, think they are still around huh? Any idea of they are still good?