Calling mommies staying near commonwealth

Don't think I hv seen u, what time do u usually go down? I worked fulltime so maybe I may not notice u. Are u living with in-laws? U moved here quite sometime already? This place seems to be a fertile place... I moved here and after 2 months I am pregnant! I was married for 5 years before I moved here.

Hi mummy1030,
I usually go down at noon time..and sometimes I bring baby to the park at evening time. Yeah I think we may not have the chance to meet..next time you see someone with a maclaren stroller in the lift..maybe it's me
I've been cooped up at home for so long so it's nice to know so many other forum mummies staying nearby and even in the same block!
I'm not staying with in-laws..only with hubby and baby.

Hi Yunyi,
I will look out for u the next time I take the lift. Oh, btw, try not to bring your baby to Dawson Place too often cos' the aircond is quite cold and when u go there back and forth, the change in temperature can make babies fall sick easily. Also, its rather windy here but its not too good for babies too cos its dusty. Don't know if yr unit is facing Dawson or facing Margaret Drive but now with the construction going on, its dusty either facing! How long have u moved here? Oh, welcome to motherhood!

Hi mummy1030..
hai I've realised my mistake..my girl started having a running nose today..so I won't be bringing her downstairs for a while.This is the first time she fell sick since born. Anyway my living room is facing the construction site and the noise is terrible! Not to mention the mosquitoes! My girl gets bitten now and then.

Hi Yunyi,
Keep your girl indoor cos' with the haze and weather, its not healthy. Since u are facing the construction site, keep your windows close and its better if u have day curtains too. U should buy some mosquito repellent and apply on your girl everyday. Though I am on the high fl, my girl still get bitten too. I use quite a few repellent including the electric ones. Oh, when you massage your girl, use different brand of moisturiser or cream to prevent mosquito bites too. Cos' they don't like creams with smell and I used to alternate two or three fragrances to confused them! Hope it helps, any mosquito repellent with citronella will help but try to get 100% natural ones. I am now using hempershop balm, hv tried Burts, CB, etc. btw, what is the color of your stroller?

Wow quite a few strathmore mummies here! I live at blk 48 strathmore avenue, has a 11mth old boy, due to delivery bb gal in early may, works from home.

Although my hse facing ikea, its still very dusty. One day never clean, can see dust settling on the furnitures already.

Hi mummy1030,
thanks for your advice! I've tried mosquito repellant patches and mosquito nets but these are not very practical. I guess I'll use the apply on type like you then..can you pls tell me where you got your balm from?
My stroller is grey in colour..but sometimes it's my mum (she comes to help out sometimes) using it to bring my girl out.

Hi Yunyi,
I bought different repellents from a shop at People's Park on the 3rd fl. The shop carry CB.Burt',Badger, Jason's, Hempershop and many other natural ones. The shop's name is Kim Leng Store. U can ask for a VIP card and get dicount. I hv one and theres no expiry date. I find CB bug spray not effective. So far, I like Burt's and Hempershop. For soothing massage, I buy Badger balm.

For mosquito repellents, I used to use the Johnson's clear lotion anit-mosquito (in green bottle), quite effective. Can be bought from NTUC, Watsons, Guardian (I found Watsons price the lowest - at least some time ago). I stopped using those applied ones as I was worried about any health impact if I apply it on my son everyday and it is absorbed into his body.

Now I use a natural one called Antimos - made in M'sia - just open the small can and put it in the room. Can buy this from most NTUCs and Guardian - but if you can, get it from M'sia - much cheaper. See website http://www.antimosonline.com/. I found it very effective.

hi all I am also a mother of 1 who stay in telok blangah area....same block as mama yeo ;P

any comments on eager beaver childcare or cherie hearts at bukit purmei ?

Hi mummy1030 and catherine,
thanks for your advice! I rushed downstairs just now to get the antimos..and when I'm free I'll go to people's park to take a look at the repellants at the shop.I think I'll get the balm too..I've always wanted to massage my baby but always forget.

hi kk,

I'm gg to sign up my boy for chinese enrichement cum han yu pin yin in alpha genius. its at blk 111 jln bt merah - opp the mkt. its a small tuition ctr but heard the teacher is quite experienced n got good feedbk fm neighbourhood moms so just giving it a try to see how.

i'm actually quite 'blur' not sure which moms have kids gg P1 next yr, but anw, my son came bk one day and told me that his teacher taught them not to any how buy stationery in primary school else they will not have enough $ for food during recess. if they need stationery, ask mummy to buy. I thought that was gd and told him to remember his teacher's advice

haiz, i just quit my job - again. it's the 2nd time i'm quitting in 1 yr. V tired of corporate world. just hv the general feeling that these days employers pay us $1000 but want $2000 worth of work frm us. sigh, so unhealthy le.

Hi everyone, I have some good lobangs to share...my neighbour is clearing some tables from his office. Anyone wants to buy for your kids or yourselves? There are 5 sets altogether. See pic.

1272210.jpg
1272211.jpg
1272212.jpg

For 4 sets, the tables are 120 x 75 x 75 cm each. Selling for $120/- each set.

For the 5th set, one table is slightly longer at 150 x 75 x 75 cm. The other one is also 120 x 75 x 75 cm. Selling for $140/-.

Retailing around $400/- plus for this type of configuration. Do expect some wear and tear like scratches. However nothing is broken and they are alright for home or office use, esp for kids cos they always tend to stain the tables. This is a great buy.

Email me at [email protected] if anyone of you are interested. Pickup point is at Bukit Merah. Pickup from my neighbour.

halo mummies~

anyone's kid studying in Zhang De?

wld like to know if they've before & after school care ctr inside the school & is the teacher teaching well..

is there any other school near us with that service?

thks!!!

Hi Catika,

Yes, set as per picture. 1 set means 2 straight tables and a quadrant table. Let me know if you are interested. Thanks.

thks mbb

was thinking if they have the service so my girl can wake up in the morning as usual, Gan Eng Seng having afternoon class for p1 & p2, i'm afraid she'll slack after 2yrs of noon classes

Can I join? I am @ 73A Redhill Rd (any mummies staying ard this area), have 1 (5 yr old boy & a pair of 2 yrs "Long Feng Tai"

Hi snow,
Zhang De have student care but a lot of students are on waiting list...

hihi Hapi Melodius,

thks for the info

i'm staying at Hoy Fatt Road (Lengkok Bahru), i've 3 girls (9, 5, 2yrs old) & 5mths preggy now

hi HM,

i think this is gal again cos i saw the scan report wrote something like : Sex F

lol...

ya i'm SAHM, how abt u?

where's yr 5yrs old boy studying?

hi snow,

wow 4 girls, really envy you...

I am a FTWM, stay at home I will go bonkers leh... your 5 & 2 yrs old gals are the same age as my twins, born in 2003 & 2006 rite?

My 5 yrs old boy is in Moral Childcare, wat abt yr 9 & 5 yrs old gal?

HM,

oh... mine is 2002 & 2005.. cos not yet birthday so i count as 5 & 2 lol...

my #1 is in gan eng seng pri sch, #2 is NTUC childcare, #3 dun wanna go childcare so she stay at hom ewith mi ^_^

Snow,

You must be very buzy buzy at home with yr 3 princess...

oic, when is yr EDD, are you staying ard Blk 40+ there? Can ck with you normally where do you buy milk formula, got lobang on milk formula?

hello mummies, long time no chat..

hi lay koon
thanks for your useful info & tips, sure need more advice from u when time comes...

hi mama yeo
are u also mrs yeo from singapore brides? if yes, i am your neighbour at blk 14...hahaha

hi mummy1030
i visited maris stella the other day. can i pm u for some comments?

hi smurf16
yes, its difficult to find a good employer nowadays. so, have u started your son on the chinese lesson? let me know your comments, if its good and the timing fit into my schedule, i may also consider, then our kids will be classmates liao...

hi snow (foxy)
my kids also same age as yr #2 & #3, hoy fatt road is it near ABC market? happened to pass by there and saw a few banners on preschool, childcare, tuition, enrichment classes etc.. aren't u sending yr #3 to nursery?

Hi Snowy, you mentioned your #1 is in Gan Eng Seng. Any reason why you are looking at another sch for #2? Cos I stay at Blk 74A Redhill Road and did consider GES for my gal due to the convenience. She is 5yrs old this year. But seems like alot of parents are avoiding GES.

Hi Maozai,

I am @ 73A, my boy is also 5 this yr. Abt GESS, heard a lot of negative feed back on this sch, sorry no offence for those mummy who put their children in this sch. River Valley, Fairfield, Radin Mas & Henry Park are quite gd Pri Sch but sure have to ballot...

For girls can consider Kellock's Convent @ Bt Purmei if you want to put her in a girl sch, that is quite a gd girl's sch...

Hi Mummies, can i join? I stayed at Blk 68 Redhill Close. You know whether there is a good pediatrician around the area? I have a 4 months old girl.

Hi alyjas,

Welcome, Dr Edmund Koh @ Padetric Centre located at Tiong Bahru is quite gd. My children normally will go to their regular PAEDS @ Kinder Clinic (Mt Alvernia). Dr Terence Tan is fantastic

HM,
i stay blk 50.. my kids taking fernleaf cos they drink milk like nobody biz (1hr-2hrs once) so cant afford grow milk lol.. wat brand yr kids taking? u can check blk 59, the old shop have some milk powder but i'm not sure wat brand..

mbb,
sorry didnt read yr reply the other day

have not started playgroup yet, as usual #3 refuse to enter -_-

kk,
ya near ABC mkt.. i did send her to nursery last year but she jus keep crying from home to childcare ctr -.-""
now even take bus passby the place she'll tell mi 'mummy i dun wanna go school!'

MaoZai,
how to say leh.. i find gess environment
like not so good lor.. my friend's daughter ever kena beaten up in school when she's in p5, my daughter was bulied by upper primary too.. once she came back & asked mi some kinda vulgar wat does it mean, she said some student who went sec sch came back & bully them.. last 2 weeks i met my other friend's mom she oso told mi her p6 grand-daughter kena bullied in school.. aiya duno how to explain oso.. regret to place her in gess cos i tot its easier for mi, wrong liao lor.. so hope to place my #2 to better school..

considering CHIJ or Zhang De..

Hi Snow,
How r u? Thanks for the info, my children are taking Pediasure & Isomil2... CHIJ is worth considering, Zhang De standard is average only

HM,

CHIJ is all morning session, ZhangDe is bcos they have before & after school care but heard waiting list beri long wor..

i think if try till no place to go still can go gess cos cfm left many slot =X

I am trying to help a mummy who has 4 kids and separated. 1 in Sec, 1 in Pri, 1 in K1 and now 1 who is 4mths old.
She has asked me for old clothes for the baby boy but I have a girl. I have given her preloved clothes that are not too girly but my girl is already 3.5 yrs so I hv limited stuff for her. Want to buy new ones for her but will cost me quite a lot and she won't want me to do that. I would appreciate if any of you mummies who are clearing your baby boy's stuff to let me know. I don't mind paying a small token but at least they are preloved clothes and I can let her know I have collected them from friends. I can collect the clothes from u and by the way, I live at Strathmore so mummies living close to me, it would save me a lot of time picking them. She is an incredible, strong woman and I try to help her when she asked. So mummies, pls help me out so I can help out a mummy too. Thank u all. Pls pm me if u don't want to list your address here.

hi mummy1030,

i have some boy's clothings given by my god-bro, i go pick some for yr friend cos i think mine is a baby girl, can u pm mi yr contact?

how abt her other 3 kids? boy or girl? need any clothings? i've donated some b4 cny but can try to sort some out cos my friend will pass mi her girl's clothings, pls let mi know.

all the best to yr friend!

Hi Snow,
Thank you for your fast response, she did not mention about her two older ones but the K1 is also a boy and he is wearing 5-6 years clothing. I don't hv any clothes for the K1 so I pass him toys and schoolbags, etc. I will pm my contact to you.

Thanks Snowy and Hapi Melodius. Will now seriously re-consider about GESPS. I have a boy who is 2 years old this year. If I put my gal in CHIJ, then 3 years later, got to headache about boy again. Sigh. But its good news to hear that CHIJ is all morning session.

Hi mummy1030,
Will go back & check, think have some old clothings as maid just packed 2 days ago
Strong Mummy, "Jiayou"...

Hi Maozai,
Welcome, Pri & Sec sch is very important to the child development, etc.... hence school culture is very important, as I know GESPS standard is not so fantastic & heard of my neighbour's son who is from this sch can scold "The Four Letter" word, OH MY GOD
agree with you if girl go to CHIJ & then boy have to face the registration problem again. My 2nd is a girl, intend to put her in CHIJ if pobbible as girl sch & mixed sch is different, really headache

I dun stay near commonwealth... but have the intention of sending my duaghter to Radin Mas, which is my alma matar.

Does anyone have any comments on this school?

Hi Hapi Melodius,

Your hubby from that school too? Which year did he graduate.... skali he's my classmate! haha

When i was studying in that school, i didn't think that the standard was very good.. but that was like so many donkey years ago liao
Now, maybe the standard really improved after i graduated! haha