Calling mommies staying near commonwealth

Hey Joyce,
U teach arts in Learning Seeds, since ? My girl was at Learning Seeds before I transfer her to MMI at Bt Merah Central.. she kept falling sick during her N1-2..

Hi MamaYeo.

I started to teach there last month. It was only every sat. They engage our company Hans' Art to teach their school.

Does she fall sick @ MMI compared with @ LS?

oh, yours is a Sat class.

Well, she pratically stops falling sick every month after leaving the school. Probably the environment doesn't suits her.

Hi Joyce,

So you are like a part time teacher? Who take care of your dd when you teach?

I am a researcher working in NUS. Quite 'shiong' after having the 2nd one. Thinking of quit and become a full time mom but no courage to do that....

Hi Ivena
I find Capstone's pre-N school fees rather steep lei, though its a 3-hrs class. Can share with me how u find the school? i suppose he will continue his K1 there too?

Hi Snow74
The PCF kindy at Bukit Purmai & T.B Cres Blk 21 do not have classes for pre-N, only starts from nursery. Not sure if there's other pte preschool nearby? which blk are u staying? i am at blk 14.

Hi Joyce
Sparketots is a CCC. Btw, my son is currently attending Children's Art at Radin Mass CC, he enjoys it very much.
U really very kia-su lei, your baby is only 18mths, still long way to go..hahaha

Lastly, any comments or feedback abt Bethesda Kindy at Depot Walk? Have called them but no one picks up the phone and now waiting for them to call me back.

it's been a while since i posted

just to refresh, i am a sahm, staying at strathmore... and have a p1 son; who attends daddy's old sch - acsp.

it's exam period... so been helping him to prepare... but seems like nothing much to help him along also... haaa...
his weakness is chinese and that's quite tough for me too, as i'm non-chinese, and totally lost touch of what i had studied donkey years ago...

anyone knows of a chinese tution teacher, pls do share the lobang... his present teacher, is heading back to china by jan, so will need to source for 1 soon

many thanks in advance

Sorry kk, I can't remember the exact info. The info was provided by teacher from another pre-nursery @ Bt. Merah View. She told me that nursery accept 18mths to 3 yo kids, and its newly open....think 3 mths back lor.

I'm a FTWM with a 23mth gal, living in Blk 25. Both our blk are very near, can meet up for breakfast 1 of the weekend morning. =)

Hi Jasmum,

i'm staying to Bukit Ho Swee with a 9yrs old boy.

Just like to recommend you my son chinese teacher. I find her quite good,pL pm me if you want her contact no.

Hi kk

Yup yup...e sch fees i more ex as compared to other kindy....its a 2hr session for the 1st semester n subsequently 3hrs session as they wanna let the children have a smooth transition to school. Will let him continue his K1 there.....

me at 17A, t.b. cres. Girl, P1 at CHIJ kellock. Boy, 1 yr old !

ya, agreed with Fionn, it's tough & take lots of courage to quit as SAHM, i salute lor, not easy.

Hi jasmum, me also realised dunno what to guide them for the exam.. she don't feel the stress.

Very happy to find this thread!! I m staying at Depot road n my bb is taken care by a bbsitter @TBC....very happy to know that so many mummies live near me.
My bb will be 1 year old this coming NOv.....

Thinking of putting her in childcare when whe reach 2 years old next year....any mummies can advice which childcare is good and when is the right time to register her?

Wow....only 1 long weekend break, and see so many new mommies joining liao. =)

kk, great! We need to enrol my gal into a preschool near my sis house, cos wk day my sis is the 1 helping us to take care of her mah. So, most likely will be somewhere in Henderson area. Now she is in Shichida Method, so the daddy suggest to wait till next yr then decide abt pre-school due to some financial planning issue.
U decided which pre-school to send ur gal to?

Hi Fionn

Yes, I am a part time teacher for Arts an Phonics. Ususally my class are in the evening. So my MIL takes care of my DD.

Often salute to those FTWM. Btw how old are yrs kids now? What exactly do you research?

joyce:

thks for the warm welcome.

staying at boon tiong area; expecting a girl due mid-end dec 07.

to all mummies,

do u noe if there's any ctr tat does infant care in our area?

hi Joyce,

I have 2 boys - 3yo and 4mo. I am doing biomedical research. DNA, protein, bacteria, human blood, cells, mice and ..... (the list goes on...), are the things that I 'play' with.

hi Joyce,

I have 2 boys - 3yo and 4mo. I am doing biomedical research. DNA, protein, bacteria, human blood, cells, mice and ..... (the list goes on...), are the things that I 'play' with.

Really envy you, work part-time...

Hi Joyce,

Thanks, My bb now is taking care by a babysitter @TBC, will only put her in childcare when she reach 2 years old so thinking of enrolling her playgroup when she is 18mths.

Zion bb is inconvenient for my bb sitter.
so can only find those childcare near by TBC....radin mass cc only accepts 2yrs old onwards into thier playgroup, so might try Eager Beaver @ Safra...anynone know is it good?

Miorei,

U can consider Zion baby at depot road recomended by joyce.

Hi Joyce,

Shichida Method is a way to train a kid's brain, in term of memory and speed. =)

But going to pre-school should still be placed at a higher priority I think...

long time no post here. been busy. so pai seh, wow wow wow, the list of commonwealth moms are really growing.

welcome Fionn and piggy_mum and miorei

Seems like MamaYeo and Joyce are holding the fort now =)

Fionn
I'm from NUS too =) hahaha, u can always request to convert to part-time scheme: either 21 hours or 28 hours a week. =) I'm on the 28-hours scheme but will be resuming full-time come november =) have applied for internal transfer

Hi MamaChan,

I do know that there is a part-time scheme. But I am doing research, so part-time is not so suitable... Anyway, what are you doing there?

Maybe one day we can meet up for lunch

Hi Miorei,

You may want to try Learning Seeds at Bukit Chermin Road (Off Telok Blangah Rd, near Keppel Club. They have infant care.

Hi Snow74,

So far how do you feel about shichida method? Does it benefit for a child with short attention span or long attention span? Heard there is ESP thingy? Is yr DD still on the program? Which center did she go?

Hi Fionn,

Yr job sound interesting leh. Biomedical is never a sunset industry.

Hi MamaChan
Quite good that NUS has this flexi scheme.

Hi Fionn,

Yr job sound interesting leh. Biomedical is never a sunset industry.

Hi MamaChan
Quite good that NUS has this flexi scheme.

Can I join? I stay at Lengkok Bahru. FTWM to a 3 year old and a 8 mth old girl.

MaMaYeo

My boy goes to MMI at BM Central too! Who is your daughter's teacher? My son's is Ms Jahan. Actually I wanna transfer him to another childcare leh... cos he has been falling sick quite often after going childcare (stomach flu especially), but afraid of staring all over again. He took 6 mths to get used to school. Was crying and whining every morning. How long did your girl take to adapt to the new school?

Anyone knows of good swimming instructors around the area? Looking for 1 for my 3 year old son.

Hi hello kitty,
i'm sure everyone welcomes U !

My girl already in P1 this year, she attended MMI 2 years, K1 & K2, she was with Teacher Laiha.
I guess it's a pharse that they starts to get ill begining of childcare, I've heard many kids includes my girl too. I've checked with PD, it's very very common to them, I even thot of stopping her initially, but the Dr says, she will have to starts all over again to get use later if I put her back to childcare or kinder again. So I just bit my teeth tight & went thru it lor..

Last year, my girl took up swimming class in SAFRA Mt Faber, lots of kids taking, you may try there.

hi joyce

thks for the recommendation but it's a bit out of the way for us cos both my hb work in town but dun drive. :p

Joyce
it depends on which field you are in within NUS. I'll be going over to a more biomedical-based research lab, so I won't be part-time anymore. Like Fionn =)

Fionn
I'm a L.T with NUS. I'll be going over to CeLS building soon.

Suitable playgroup around the area
I'm still searching and visting the playgroups around our area...such a headache....

Hi MamaYeo, may i know how much is the swimming lesson at Safra Mt. Faber? Thought of letting my gal learn swimming. She's 4 but she's quite scared of water.

hi maozai,
my girl already stop lesson early this year.. we paid about $50 for 4 lessons. SAFRA member will be cheaper.
Initially my girl was afraid of water too.. she will cry during the 1st few lessons, but the instructors can handle the kids, don't worry.

hihi, can just check if anyone giving away maternity clothings & baby items or selling cheaply?

mi preggy wif no.4 now, edd is 15 july 2008 but most of my things had passed down or donated

many thanks!

snow (foxy)
CONGRATS !!

so long didn't come in to post...

as been busy heee...

i am also preg. with no.2 now 4.5mths (i lost a baby gal last year july at 24wks) so this time, was put on bed rest as my blood is rather thick, so have to take asprin & prop up legs.

also... am shifting house... sold away our 5A unit to buy a 4rm unit across the road so, still staying at strathmore
but have to temporary rent a unit at Holland, as yet to collect keys and must do reno *sigh* busy-busy but taking things slow and easy lah

by the way, what size are you ?? i have 2 pants from 'marebella' size M and can no longer fit me, as my butt has grown bigger

let me know if you are keen, i can sell both at $10 to you.
well, do take care...

Hi everyone, just found this thread. Can I join too?

I am staying at Depot Road, a SAHM to my 2 sons, age 7 and 4. Have been staying at home since the birth of my elder one. My elder son going to P2 next year, studying at RVPS. Glad to know there's a thread around.

hi jasmum,

congrats on yr pregnancy~~

b4 i'm preggy wif my 2nd girl, i have 2x miscarrige too.. but all come back at last

i'm wearing s-size b4 preggy, u think m size will suit mi?

hi lay koon,

rem mi? i jus went to pick up the maternity from u last week

welcome to this thread

Hi snow, of course i remember you. didn't know you are active in this thread too. I just found the thread and I am so happy. Glad to find more friends cos i do have a smaller social circle after I become a SAHM. Thanks for your welcome.

Hi Commonweatlh mummies,

I have 3 sets of M size girl uniform from Sparkletots Childcare Centre (PCF), located at Queenstown Community Centre, to let go.

It is worn less than 5 times and are in excellent condition. Suitable for 2-3 years old. Selling at less than half the original price. Please PM me if you are interested.

Just visited Bright Kids at Leng Kee CC and found it quite good and was almost glad we finally find a good childcare.

However saw that some mums mentioned that this childcare, the teacher is not that active/enthusiastic.

Anyone have their kids there and care to share your view ?

Hi Maozai,

You mentioned that your daugther was there and intend to move her to a childcare near ur hubby's
workplace.

Can you share your view on the CC and why you want to move your daughter ?

If not convenient to share publicly, please do PM me.

Hi WTP,

yes, my daughter has already moved to my hubby's work place since beginning of December. Actually, we find that BK is an okay sch. Nothing much we would like to complain about as I do not think we have very high expectation. In fact, I think they did a good job when controlling the spread of HFMD.

Teachers wise, perhaps not all of them are active/enthu. I would say they are not very initiative. Most of the time, we need to ask or probe if we want detailed answers. But so far the teachers who are in charge of my daughter's class are pretty good. I think the Chinese teacher "Kong lao shi" really teaches well.

Main reason why we shifted my daughter is because of my younger boy. He is 1 year old and my mum is not able to continue to help to take care of him and we have no choice but to send him to infant care. Since my hubby's workplace has both infant and childcare, we decided to shift my daughter there as well.

Let me know if you decided to send your child there and wanted to get some second hand uniforms. I have a few sets to let go for some tokens.

Happy Holidays all

Welcome;
Koh Lay Koon (lkkoh), meng (meng)
glad you both found your way here... but a few mums seems to lost this thread... maybe i'll post the link up again... haaa !!!

snow (foxy), so sorry... i have shifted to a temp plc at Holland Ave and don't have those pants with me already... they are all kept in storage with clothes that i could no longer wear *paiseh* forgot to take them out lah...
wow... you 's' size... so envy :p

i had a very busy week, packing and moving and now... for the next 3mths will be here in Holland and i still am looking for a chinese tution teacher for ds in P2 next year... anyone knows anyone, do share

many thanks !!

here's wishing everyone, a very blessed new year and good health always.