Calling mommies staying near commonwealth

snow (foxy),
i do have a brand new milk container like what you wanted. it has 3 slot spaces - brand is 'Japlo'... if you are coming to the cc food & art fair, let me know, i can pass it to you there

oh... i am manning the Eclairs / Choc fudge cake stall
do come and support me hor...

jasmum,

thks so much, have got 1 from another mummy & will be collecting from her in the evening

will go down to the food fair tmr

Hi all, been a long time since pop in...been busy with my new job recently.

jasmum....i will be in milk n honey tomolo...hope to see you there.

hi mummies...those staying around the area pls do come down and have a look at the art n craft tat the children has done for the event...it will be amazing too see how the children participate for these events from the photos taken by the teachers.

yeah !! do come and support

just finished helping the set-up and tmr morn' left to do the preps of food

yummy - yummy !!
Shalom.

a big hello to all mommies here!!!

i would like to check if anyone interested to let your kids attend Chinese enrichment programme?

i am planning to engage this lady teacher (from China) to teach at my place at telok blangah crescent on thurs afternoon. i am looking at starting a class for my son who is born in Dec 2002, and need to have 3-4 more kids to form a class. The child should be born in 2002 but will also consider those born in early 2003. The lesson is about one and half hours and it costs only $20.

let me know if you have any question or you may email me at [email protected] to discuss further.

does she give chinese tution to pri kids (p1/2) ?

i would need one... if anyone knows of a good chinese lang. teacher, please to let me know

many thanks!!

hello jambalaya,
there is abit of sharing on this thread, you need to scroll up to read about the sch... are you staying nearby too ?

LTNC in this thread, been so busy with preparing for my exams for my special dip. course.

jasmum
I visited Milk and Honey CC the other day, I really like the place and hoped to put ds there. But they are lacking in teachers, that's why cannot take in anymore toddlers for playgroup. =(
I visited Bright Kids at the Lengkok Bahru CC...it's not too bad, I like that it's quite well ventilated but the teachers doesn't look very "alive" except for the principal whom I spoke with.

Moral Childcare Development at Viking Road
I passed by this morning and didn't realize that this centre is there. Wondering if any mummies can provide feedback or whether your child is there?

Hi jasmum, I stay in Redhill.. Thanks for the tip, I scrolled up and read about GESP. Don't look like a recommended school though..

MamaChan (babe_agape),
yap... lack of teacher, 1 was hired recently, but last mintue on the day to turn up for work... called in sick, then say not coming... [shake head].

jasmum
that's so sad...could tell that the principal was a little preoccupied. Not much was said b/w us except whatever comes to her mind, she will share. My boy went fanatic in the centre when we visited! He joined in the plagygroup for a brief while for the singing part and went to explore on his own when the group was seated down. I just hope they will get good and long-staying teachers soon.
Did you hear any feedback on this Moral Childcare Development? very near my place.

Moral Childcare Development at Viking... never heard of it... thought that area was housing some senior citizen like a day care for old folks... maybe changed liao...
the only Moral i know is at Tiong Bahru - Jln Minbina... that one is really expensive, but heard from the clinic below (Kao&Tan), alot of HFMD in that centre.
sorry... not very helpful [paieseh]

jasmum
Haha. It's ok then. No worries. I suspect the one at Jalan Membina could be fully air-conditioned? Yah, I thought the Viking Road Area was a day-centre for old-folks. BUt I passed by and saw one or two children running around so walked in down the road to check it out, it really is a CCC! If they are not too bad, can consider since so near and no need to cross major roads, though it's not my ideal type of CCC. Still very much prefer Christian-based centres

MoonCake Festival Gathering

I was wondering if it's a good idea for the mummies living in this area come together for a MoonCake Festival GAthering? Bring the kiddos together to light their lanterns...maybe at Tiong Bahru Park? Or any other places?

hi mamachan

i m also looking at childcare 4 my 25th old cos delivering in sep. i went to c moral at viking rd thanks to dear hb who happened to c it when he goes swimming at the swimming complex.

i like moral for its enclosed place, own playground n teacher's willingness to help toilet train my gg. i find it abit small though.....

brightkids at lengkee cc is well ventilated and teachers like not very enthusiastic like wat u said. dun seemed very willing to help toilet train my gg. hb would prefer to send gg to a cc within walking disance. only seems like we hv these 2 ccs around.... not much of a choice

how old is ur child?

dramaqueen
My boy is 19 months now. If intend to enrol, would be Jan 2008 where he'll be 24 months. I'll really go have a look next Thursday. The teachers on the Moral CC development look really erm...older than the normal CC teachers you see around. But I guess they might also be the longer staying ones compared to the young ones.

can I join in? My ger just passed her 1yr old birthday in August...am an Aug06 mummy staying at telok Blangah Area and shuttle to queenstown quite frequently as my parents are staying there...

I am thinking of sending my DD to half day playgroup prog ard the vicinity and still searching... any recommendations?

mamachan,
you may wanna consider Cambridge CDC at Belvedore Close (next to Cresent Girls school)...

Hi Mamachan

I stay at Telok Blangah Heights. My girl is now 13 mths. Interested to join yr mooncake gathering. Which date? Btw there is a mooncake festival at Telok Blangah Rise Pri Sch on 23 Sept. Tickets are sold at CC an RC.

Have been to LV @ Surbana 1 located at ex HDB offices. The envirnoment is gd. school fee is around $720 for full day b4 subsidy and GST.

Actually we hve plan to put my girl at Daystar located at Holland Ave Blk 8. They are christan cc and the teachers are good. Their fees is around $400 after sub and no need to pay gst for full day.

I'm a SAHM with a 22 months old boy staying at Clarence Lane (10 mins away from Dawson Place). Can i join your thread?

Hi Pinny

You stayed near to my mother house. How long have you been putting up Queenstown area? I stayed at Bukit Merah area. Maybe we can meet up when I go back to my mother house.

Hi Joyce,

I've been staying at Clarence Lane for nearly 4 years liao. Your mother also stay here? Which block? I stay at blk 129.

need some advice. My 22 months old son is having stomach flu. He wants his milk but after tasting 2 mouthfuls, he doesn't want it. Doc told me still can give him milk, but y'day he's been throwing out after each milk feed. Sigh.... should i cut his milk?

Welcome Pinny and piyo!
I'm new to this thread but would like to get to know more Bt Merah/Redhill/Queenstown mummies =)

I'm staying at Henderson Crescent =)

Joyce
I did consider Daystar too as they are affliated to the church I'm attending, but theirs only full-day programme, I only need to place my boy for 1/2 day to expose him to a CCC setting and also make it as a routine for him while hb and myself plan to TTC next year to have a 2009 baby.

Pinny
Actually stomache flu should avoid giving milk right? Which doc or PD do you go to in our area? If he's on soilds, just concentrate on giving him solids and avoid the milk feeds? from my understanding, stomache flu can cause our stomaches to be temporarily lactose intolerent.

MamaChan,
I nearly stayed at Hendersen Crescent when i got married... hee... nice area.

My boy misses his milk. But everytime he drinks a little, he'll give me the "I wanna vomit" look. Poor thing... Brought him to GP at Dawson Place. Heard that just have to let his body system expel the virus (either via vomit or LS). I heartache ah....

Piyo,
Is the CCC at Depot Heights nearby to your place?

Pinny
Oh, I always bring my boy to Fuxing Clinic at Bt Merah Central. I find them very good. They are a family clinic and does not charge exorbitant pricing unlike the PD at Tiong Bahru plaza. Of course they will charge slightly higher than usual GP visits but other than that, I find my boy's condition improving faster and better. I think should avoid giving milk for the time being.

Joyce
I must see which other mummies also keen for a small lantern festival gathering. =) if not only both of us liaoz.

welcome

i'm staying at strathmore...
my family GP is
Dr.Chan Hian Kiang - Dawson Place Clinic
at Dawson Place (along Alexandra rd opp. komoco bldg)
#02-03 tel: 6475 0889
8am-3pm / 6pm - 10pm

p/s: heard his immunisation jab packages are rather cheap and he is a baby/kid friendly doc too.
we have been with him for coming 3yrs.

Pinny,
try to keep your boy's food simple non-oily and milk maybe dilute it, could help.
by the way, it's perfectly ok for your boy to skip food too just allow him to snack on plain biscuits and drinks lots of water could help clear his tummy. it usually take a few days for stomach flu to clear and ensure everyone at home step-up on hygiene.

hope this info helps

jasmum
really long time no see you posting here.

Moral CC Development
I visited the centre last week. It's a quiet corner along Alexandra Road. Hmmmm, though it seemed like a nice place, I was quite concerned how the kids were during their bath time. They take turns to bathe which is quite alright but what I didn't like was the fans were still turmed on at where they are standing to wait their turn to bathe without their clothes on! They had switched off the air-con, but the air was still cool and the fan nearest to the toilet was switched on and blowing at the area where the children were (of course not at the toilets). And after their bath (i would think they were somewhat dried abit) they went back to the same area (under the fan) to change into their clean clothes! I nearly wanted to faint....the teachers are not young 30 something teachers, they are about in their late 40s and 50s. I was really surprised, given that older folks would nag us mums not to let our children stand under the fan after their bath least they get chilled. So i guess that's a closed door for me though fees are really cheap after subsidy for half-day

Hi mamachan,
is Moral CC air-conditioned? how much are the fees? I am also quite particular about how they bathe out kids, on top of other criteria... very difficult to find a good CC around our area...

Hi Pinny,
I stay at Telok Blangah Drive
Do you mean the Baby Zion Childcare at Depot Rd?

Hi joyce,
I stay very near you! Can you describe more on LV at Surbana? I heard it is quite small and no outdoor playground compared to the MMI in the same bldg? Is it open concept? what are the fees like?

piyo (secret_garden)
Hmmm, Moral CC's main supervisor told me that they do not on the air-con throughout the day. Only from 10am to about 11am prior to their bath and lunch and perhaps maybe when they are napping in the afternoons. I'm ok with air-con for certain timings of the day, just that I'm really surprised that these "older" ladies do what our parents have naggingly tell us not to do when before and after bathing our kids.

So far I've visited Bright Kids at Leng Kee, Milk and Honey CC, Moral CC, and this daily playgroup at Indus Road (Opp Beo Crescent) which totally turned me off... I actually witnessed the teacher smacking (with her hand) a boy who was not behaving and disruptive and there were no teacher assistant to help control the children. She was leading the music and movement and trying to keep the class together, so the whole session seemed disruptive. Worst of all, a boy pooped and the teacher disregarded him though the smell was so strong! Think he was about 2 yrs? He felt uncomfortable and actually sticked his finger into his pampers and came up to me to show me. Good thing one of the children's domestic helper was there and initiative to bring him to change and wash up.

Hi mamachan,
Do you mean the "mysmartbaby" at Blk 77 Indus Road?

I have visited quite a few CCS ard my area and ard COmmonwealth cos my parents stay ard there-can help fetch but seems like most CCs are a bit run-down? or m I the fussy one? so far only MMI at old HDB centre meets my std but it's open concept... when I went in the morning and all the classes are being conducted.. very noisy! haiz...

Heh Piyo,

Maybe we can meet up one of these days. Since we are also from SJCK Club

Don't really like LV@Surbana 1 cuz I realised there is a room where they placed their kids to watch TV while waiting for their turn for take bath(Full Day kids). Just infavourable of that TV thingy. Currently my girl is attending playgroup at Julia Gabriel @Evans Rd. 3x/wk for 1.5hrs/session every Mon,Wed and Fri. You may consider that or Lorna Whiston at Winchester. Both of these school has big playground for swimming, water play and sand play.

For mysmartbaby, just find that the prinicpal is a bit pushy. I am planning to send my DD to Newton Kinder for their playgroup in 2008. That is for 18mths onwards 3x/wk for 2.5hrs per session. They allowed accomapnied parents to be in playgroup. Fees $700/term ie 10weeks.

Hi Joyce,
ya! perhaps we should meet! Huh? TV? I am also put off when I see a TV in the CC..*faints*

You mean playnest or playgroup? OUr babies not yet 18mths cannot join playgroup right? all English classes?

I went to LW at Winchester road a few times.. the latest was last Sat's open house... they have a luxurious env but what puts me off is
1. the toddler class next year is in the afternoon
2. there seem to be alot of PRC teachers and I hardly see English teachers. I am not impressed by the English teachers too.

I dropped by mysmartbaby b4.. din really like the env to even walk in :p

You mean Newton Kindy haf playgroup? seems reasonable price! got waiting list? can be "unaccompanied"? cos I am working and I would like my DD to be more independent

piyo
Yes, that's the one. Over the phone, I tot it was quite good the pricing, daily 2-hr playgroup Mon-Fri, $400 per month. But...I was really turned off when I saw what went on.

Joyce
Where's Winchester and Newton Kindy? =)

I quite like Milk and Honey CC though, coz maybe I have a preference to as far as possible, place my boy in a church-based kindy.

Hi MamaChan

Winchester is off Alexander road. It is opposite Gillman Heights (old condo) http://www.lornawhiston.com.sg/psweb/wearehere.html

For newton, it is quite far from our area. We choose that cuz near to my hubby office.
http://www.newtonkindergarten.com/contact.asp

You can also try Carpediem Kids (beside Lorna Whiston) http://www.carpediem.com.sg/cu.htm#1

Or Capstone Church (near harbourfront) http://www.capstone.edu.sg/

The above are my shortlisted centers before.

I like Milk and Honey CC they hve been around for several years.

Hi Piyo

Actually Julia Gabriel has this playnest (ie playgroup) from 6mths onwards. My DD joins when she is at 8mths. Oops I plan to visit their open house in this Oct

For newton kindy, the principal is starting a playgroup for 18mths onward. Actually it is unaccompanied. For me, I wanted to accompany my DD and the principal can for a term. Have not visit the school yet, how about we go there together..

thanks for all your advice. The bad news is my boy spread his stomach flu to both me and my hubby. It hit me quite badly y'day and my poor hubby had to take care of both of us though he's also not well. Today feel so much better liao, phew... thank God!

hi piyo and joyce,
my boy is attending julia gabriel's mandarin playclub, and he loves it!

Joyce,
What's SJCK? St James Church Kindy? (hee... who's enrolled to that kindy?)

Hi Pinny

Oh really, is yr son attending at Evans or Forum? How many times per week is he attending. My DD will be going to Playclub Mandrain in Feb 08. Btw who are the teachers?

So far for commonwealth mummies Piyo and me. There is another mummy, Purin who stays near Upper Bukit Timah area also enrolled in that kindy.

Was really confused which are do you all stay. Below are some consolidation. Correct me if I am wrong or left out and welcome more mummies to add on

Mamachan - Henderson Cresent
Pinny - Clarence Lane
Jasmum - Starthmore
Piyo - Telok Blangah Drive
Joyce - Telok Blangah Heights

(^&^)

Hi Joyce,
My boy's attending JG at Forum. twice weekly. His chinese teacher is Zhang Yuan Yuan.

When's your kiddo going to attend SJCK? My boy'll be attending SJCK in year 2008.

Hi Pinny

How is Yuan Yuan Lao Shi? Is she the type who are able to control the class? Can share?

My DD and Piyo's DD are attending N1 in 2010. Both of our DD are on waiting list for PN in 2009 where there is a chance of getting in if they managed to find a place to build the school.

Hi Joyce,

Yuan Yuan is not bad la.... since the class is usually accompanied by 1 care-giver, it's usually quite controlled. Actually i find that it also depends on whether the care-giver can control the kid! My class consists of mostly mothers and grandmothers as the accompanied adult, so not too bad.

My boy will be attending SJCK N1 in year 2009 (NOT 2008.. sorry i blur). No place for PN in year 2008, so my boy will be attending Faith Kindy next year.