Breastfeeding Support Group

justen mum, for a 10 day old babe, latching almost every hour is NORMAL... becos their tummy still small to contain too much milk so they digest whatever little they consume so have to latch very often... i latch my bb almost every hour, for almost 1 hour each time at that age... yes, it's tiring... dun think there's a problem with ur pump... most pumps are standard size... u can however, check with the LC if ur latching is correct or not...

Jen, serrich,
opps, i hv been trying to freeze my EBM for backup when i rtn to work. I still feed bb fresh EBM, i keep some in fridge, some in freezer. So i should freeze less huh. Anyway not as if i got alot to freeze ...

Jen,
my ss still can't keep up with baby. Can't seem to express out enuf ley. Now i'm latching and epxresing inbtn feeds or tandem pump to store EBM. When i feed bb EBM and i pump, can't pump out the amt bb require. sigh. I wonder if i got a let down problem or got block ducts ? But i don't feel pain or anything ley and no lumps in breast. Any advise ?

Justen mum,
Me no expert, bb only 3 mths old. But all i can tell you is BFg is not ez and milk doesn't come in as quickly and abundantly as you expect. So you have to be really hardworking, patient and perserve. Best is to latch bb ALL the time, EVERYTIME. esp now u're still establishing ur milk supply. I only manage to TBF my girl when she turned 2 mths old, even then i had to latch cos when i pump, i can't get enuf milk out. Till now, it's still a struggle and everyday i just think of supplementing her with FM again. That day will come when i run out of EBM totally...

shane,
Dont be dishearten. I am sure u can make it. I believe that ur gal is taking in a lot of milk tt y u get little everytime u pump out.. Remember she took 215ml at 1 go before?? Tats realli alot.

I noticed that i onli managed to pump abt 20-40ml after latching on my gal at the same breast. Whereas i could get 80-120ml from the other breast. Its good to start storing ebm. Lets all jiayou together k!

serrich,
thks for the encouragement. really helps to keep me positive. i also don't know wat's wrong but tt's also the only explanation i have to console myself with. i can only tell when i start to pump regularly at work. will keep trying...thks

hi shane,
Sometimes when I pump - also v pathetic amount. It could be due to let down reflex. Cos after I pump, the breast doesn't feel empty all the time. nowadays, when that happens, I will hand express a bit and continue to pump - seems to help.

Hi Jen
Oh I tot after Direct BF BB will only cry after 2 hours, so is normal that he will get hungry after 1 hour? Ok I will latch him more often so that I can simulate more milk supply...
I think I get too stress up fighting to meet his demand.
Hi Shane
Thanks for your words, I am hoping my supply will able to meet with Justen demand, so now the only thing I should be concentrating is latch him more often... 8)

Tuffy,
thks for the tip. I also feel my breast is not totally emptied. will try wat u suggested

Justen mom,
Just in hang in there and keep latching !

I am new to this thread and am also facing milk ss problems... always feel not enough.

My bb is now 6 weeks old and i have been bf her every 1.5 hours for the past 5 days. i just feel that my ss is not enough for her cos she cries at my breast after she had a few sucks... plus, she doesn't have poo everyday... so its like she didn't eat enuf so maybe that's why no poo? At least that's what my MIL told me.. i always feel stressed by her cos she likes to ask me everyday if my bb got poo a not.. if no poo, she will hint to me that my baby never eat enuf BM from me.

Since my milk ss is still so low after 6 weeks, do you all think its advisable to take medication to increase my milk ss? I understand that i can get medication from GP. Only thing is that i am not sure if there will be any side effects. I am already taking Fenugreek for more than a week but haven't seen any positive effects..

hi i need milk,
my pd says it is normal for bf bb not to poo poo everyday. I was quite surprised when he said that cos I thought bf bb poo poo all the time. He explained that breastmilk is so digestible that there may be nothing left to poo poo out. I am not sure if the advice apply to 6 week old bb - mine was 2 months when I asked him that qn.

re crying - mabbe your bb cries because the letdown is not fast enuf for her.. do you wait till she cries before feeding her? you may want to try latching her on once she is hungry but not crying yet. They tend to be more patient.

re eating enuf - you may wish to monitor the urine output. If got 4 to 6 heavy diapers a day, she should be having enuf. btw, have you expressed before? that may give you a rough indication of your milk supply - but be forewarned that some pple have difficulties achieving let down with the pump (so the milk would appear less when the kid is actually getting more with direct latching).

hi shane,
good luck!
but get a towel hoh - every time I hand express, v messy. Always feel sticky all over.

i need milk:
haha... ur nic is really what's in the hearts of all mummies!
my gal is now 3mths old. at abt 2 wks, i experienced what u described. I so happen went to gynae for check. told him the prob. he prescribed this medication that we can take. But it comes as a nose drop. VERY GOOD!
But a bit costly. $20 for tiny bottle. you can't get it off the counter. I had to bring prescription to hospital pharmacy, and wait 20min for the pharmacist to MIX THE MEDICATION. It's called oxytocin.
Need just one drop in nostril, wait abt 10 min, and it does something to your supply, and it improves. I used it for 3 days, and supply was estb.
You may want to try that!

shane, nice to see you here too!

handexpress is quite messy... I feel like i'm a baby playing with food!!

tuffy:
re crying
do u mean that i should wake up my bb to feed her? cos i usually feed her when she wakes up and cries.

re eating enuf
yes - she pees alot. Need to change diapers for her every 4 hours. I have expressed since week 1 and i seem to notice my ss decreasing. Previously can express 60ml each time but for the past 1 week, i can only express 20ml. Dunno if its becos the bb is eating more or my ss is really dropping. I am now direct latching her almost 12-14 times a day!

mckee
i just went to see a lactation consultant and she recommended me to take domperidone tablets. I started to take the medication today. Hopefully it works...

mckee,
didn't know u tried oxytocin. read abt it but was apprehensive to try. so i shld go to my gynae if i want a prescription of it ? does the medicine go into the milk ? the only thing tt holds me bk is the administration of it-hate nose drops!

i need milk,
ha ha, ur nick describes exactly how i feel.
. wat does domperidone do ?

shane
yup, tried oxytocin very long ago (actually only about 2.5months back... feels like long time ago)

the only part that's tough is the dropping in the nose! I dunno if you can get it from normal GP, but I do know the prescription is like a chemical concoction. 10% something, 90% something else!

I don't think it goes in the milk cos this prescription is for opening up milk ducts and stimulating flow. even if it does go in the milk, should be harmless, otherwise they won't prescribe it... u can try!

I need milk
let us know how effective the domperidone tablets are...maybe fountains of milk will pour forth thereafter!!

hi I need milk,
did the consultant explain why there is a sudden drop in the supply? re crying - does your bb give some early signs of hunger? eg sucking fingers and looking hungry? it may help if you feed the kid earlier before she starts to cry and gets cranky.

hi mckee
wah! it sounds like a miracle drug! may I know how much your supply increased by after using it?

tuffy
actually the consultant did not think my ss has dropped. She thinks its becos demand has increased, therefore it seems like my ss has decreased.

However, since it's been 6 weeks and my ss has not been established, i asked for medication and she recommended domperidone.

shane:
according to the LC, taking domperidone should increase my milk ss by 25% or 50% (depending on the dosage). Takes a few days to see if there is any effect though.

It's been awhile since I come to this thread. Came here about 2 mths ago to express some of my breastfeeding concerns. Now, my boy is coming to 6mths old in 2 weeks' time and I've totally weaned him off BM 2 days ago.

All along I had very low BM supply. So he takes FM once in awhile also. But usually I was able to provide him with just enough BM every day. That means if my supply drops a little, I got to supplement a feed with FM. I latch on during my confinement and when I started work, I switched to latching on twice a day, then decrease to once a day.

Few weeks ago, he was down with flu and stopped latching on cos he had blocked nose and will fuss when I tried to latch him on. That was when my supply dipped drastically. After that I fell ill too and got so busy at work that I could only express once at work. Another blow to my low BM supply. Thinking it was a natural weaning process, I began to stretch my pumping schedule and finally stopped pumping yesterday. For the past week, my boy only had a feed of EBM per day. And 2 days ago, he started to take TFM. I started him on rice cereal when he was 4mths old, currently he has 2 feeds of cereal everyday.

Just these 2 days that he is on TFM, he has been refusing FM. Cereal, he will still take some. He just had his jab on thurs, not sure if that's affecting his appetite. My mum who's the main caregiver now, is concerned. So am I. She commented that my boy may be able to take more of BM.

But I'm unable to provide him BM now. How? Should I try to get my supply back? I struggled very hard before I decided to wean my boy off BM totally. I thought with my low supply, I could at least persist for 6mths. Didn't expect it to happen so early. Really tempted to visit my gynae to ask her prescribe the oxytocin after reading mckee's post. Any idea whether it can bring back BM supply after weaning?

zyp,
i'm no doctor but i read up on oxytocin and domperidone. Oxytocin is more for stimulating let down reflex while domperidone encourage milk production.

U might want to monitor if it's due to his jab. If u want get back ur ss, u can start with latching him on. I think that will be the fastest way to kick start ur milk pdtn again. I have read that it can be done but it's an uphill task, just like when we just gave birth and waiting for milk to come in that period.

shane,
Since I've weaned off naturally (in fact no engorgement all the while, don't know whether I should be happy or not for that), I'm not really keen on using drugs/supplement. Already very apprehensive about using Fenugreek and my hubby strongly against it. Now he's not supportive of me getting my supply back.

I also thought of try to latch my boy on again to stimulate bm production. But abit scared of rejection leh. I was upset for awhile when he refused my breast the last few times. Tried in shower, still able to squeeze out some bm. hmm... I got to decide fast huh... today I saw his appetite getting better already though he still fuss a little during feeds. At least I see him drink more...

I need milk,
Your nick feels so close to my heart now!! Haha...
I've started pumping now. But at a 6hr interval. If only I'm a SAHM...
Each time's getting about 10-20ml now. Hope to see improvement slowly... =)

Hi zyp,

Try papaya and fish soup and eat more of fish meat & soup stuffs. Although I am not sure if it will work on you, but certainly soup meal can more or less increase liquid in our body.

Sometimes when I take soup meals (handmade noodle soup, slice fish noodle, lotus soup etc...) will increase my milk ss. The other day I ate 3 slices of papaya at one go and can get about 50% more of milk I normally can express.

You try. Good luck..
318995.gif

hi zyp,

you can try massaging your breasts or taking a hot drink before your express. you will probably need to pump more frequently - maybe you can do that in the weekend. Try 2 to 3 hours per pump or latch on more often (even if it is for comfort suckling).

Hi Mommies

I have a Pump In Style Traveller for sale. Bought in June 2005. Used for less than one month since beginnign September 05. Warranty unfilled.

All pump parts in contact with milk/breast can be sterilised.

Asking for $450. Interested, please email [email protected]

Very sad and reluctant to sell the pump but my milk supply is very low so no point keeping it as I am giving up breastfeeding. I tried papaya/fish soup, fenugreek, pump every 3 hourly, visit to lactation consultant and still no milk after almost a month.

hi angel

i also have low milk supply.. i started out with pumping air (no milk) in the 1st week, then a few drops to 10ml in 2nd week and now in my 6th week, can pump 40-60ml each time. Its still considered lower than most mummies who can pump 100 - 200plus ml but i figured out its better than nothing.

just thought that maybe u should continue with bf for another 2 weeks to see? think its good to give our babies some breast milk for the anti-bodies.. esp since newborns are vulnerable to viruses. Don't have to stress yrself to give yr bb breast milk for every feed but at least some feeds will be good.

just wondering if the lactation consultant advised u to take any medication? it usually takes 4-6 weeks to establish milk supply. My LC told me to take domperidone tablets and i think after 3 days of taking it, my milk ss got increase.

SusanY,
Please avoid using cold cabbages to relieve engorgement. It can greatly reduce the production of milk. When u are just starting to BF, your most impt aim is to establish milk supply. Try hot shower, hot compresses, latch on lots, if baby dun latch enough to help, pump n pump.

Hi bitbit and tuffy,
Thanks for your advice. Papaya with fish soup, though my exactly my favorite, I try to have it quite frequently. Fish and soupy stuff is definitly part of my meals every day...

The only half-hearted action is increasing pumping frequency. I get demoralised when I only get 10-20ml of BM each time. Though I tell myself with more sessions, supply will increase. So long never latch my boy on liao... gotta try later. Wish me more luck! =)

zyp,

As i seldomly have fruits after meal, I wish to make up the fruits session that's why 3 slice of papaya, hahaha... juz kidding. Well maybe I could take it? I mean 3 slices of papaya. i enjoy chill fruits and when bite the juice drip, I just enjoy the fruits like this.

Back to the pump session, think if you eat more of soup meals and continue to pump the ss will come back juz tat it's lesser. You cannot hurry on that for it takes time also. I am on total EBM so i duno about latching on baby, but the thing is I am juz like a "pump" expert... (after training for so many months since my baby was borned last Dec..)
319487.gif

Actually my baby is supplement with FM now also. Still hv ss, juz tat it might not be able to last him a whole day coz I m working plus he is a big boy. He was a 3.8kg baby at birth.
319488.gif

Let us know if you had succeed to pump more ok?

Really hope your baby is getting enuf.

Hi angel and I need milk,
I just want to share my experience with you, hopefully it acts as an encouragement to you all that even with low BM ss, you can still provide bb with the best
I started with very low milk ss right from the beginning. Like you i need milk, I was getting about 50ml for each pump session when my gal was 6 weeks old. It got to the point where one side of my breast only can give me 10ml per pump session.
Now my gal has just turned 10 weeks. Her intake is about 100 to 120ml. I am only able to pump about 120ml per 4h interval. At night, I get more and my first pump in the morning can fetch me about 170ml now. It might not be alot for many BM mummies, but at this supply, I can do the following:
I start my gal's day with 1 FM. After that, with my stored 4 bottles of EBM at home, my gal gets just enough of BM till I come home from work in the evening to latch her all the way. In the night, her last feed is another FM that will last her through the night. In total, other than the 4 bottles that I EBM for her, she gets another 2 feeds at least from me latching.
How I get the 4 bottles of EBM? I pump before I go to, at work and at night when she takes her last feed of FM.
Dun be discouraged that you are not able to provide all feeds with BM. My SIL feeds her gal with 1 BM before she goes to work, then EBM 2 bottles to come back for her gal and she is happy and satisfied with this arrangement. Like you all, I know EXACTLY how it feels when baby cries and you ask yourself if this time the milk ss is enough or not. Keep in trying. Of course there are days that ss will dip, just take it calmly and keep pumping. Work out a schedule that is comfortable for you. It helps when there is a routine.
bitbit,
good to see you in this thread
Was on a thread with musicgal on BM too? tell you something, my BM ss still not increase yet
I think I eat so much papaya already that the fruit seller see me only will start selecting the papaya even without me telling him. hee !Hee!

Hi zyp,
do not feel discouraged and I agree with bitbit, it takes time to build up your milk ss. I am still trying too!
diarrhoea? Hee! Hee! no lah, I take papaya soup and then papaya for dessert at times still ok leh
Just hope can get out of my papaya shape soon though. Have not really got back to my "regular" shape after birth yet!

esther,
thanks 4 the encouragemt... i hope to bf for at least 3 mths... and yes, i have started to feed my bb 1 FM feed at night so i can get at least 3 hours rest. currently, she's feeding every hour or 2 hourly! so quite siong.. think its becos she can't get a full feed each time so she needs to drink more often from me..

My baby is 2 wks old now and I've been trying to BF her since the day she was born. However I've always failed in properly latching her on. She sucks but doesnt seem to be able to get the milk. I have no choice but to feed her EBM now. Am really depressed because I really would like to directly BF her...

I know this may sound silly but is it possible that because my nipples are big it is too big for her to suck properly?

<font color="ff0000">bitbit,</font>
Wow pumping expert huh? Haha... I'm using Avent manual pump now. Realise the suction is not as strong as before. Though manually operated, sometimes the funnel doesn't seem to be able to 'cup' the whole of my breast, thus making it very difficult to pump. I wonder whether it's because my breasts are not full enough to fill up the space... hmm...

Hey guess what, I had a slice of papaya during lunch today! Hahaha... I like chilled and juicy fruits too! Esp watermelon and papaya! Yummy!

<font color="0000ff">Hi Esther,</font>
Thanks for the encourgement too!
Before this, my schedule was quite similar to yours! The only difference is that my boy's FM feed was before bedtime. The rest all with my EBM, pumped before I go to, at work (twice) and come home. Each time getting about 150ml average, fluctuation quite high. I did this for 2 mths until my supply dipped drastically till now.

<font color="aa00aa">Hey Jas,</font>
You are here too! =)
Me trying to build my supply lor... no chance to latch Zavier on last night cos he was already sleeping by the time I reached home from work and this morning I left home he was still sleeping. I tried to express this morning. Got 10ml again. And the whole day until just now shower, both my breasts are still soft and saggy like I've just emptied them.
kao_confused.gif

But overall his appetite is improving... Some feeds good, some feeds drinking less. Wonder if it's because some have little EBM added inside.

Hi Ineedhelp

Since your baby is newborn and you have desire to BF, you must persit in latching. Don't give up. Why don't you get a close friend/relative to "help" you to get baby to latch on. If not, you should see a lactation consultant.

not sure if this helps .. when i pump my milk ... i will look at the photos of my son which i store in the HP ... i realise that it will helps me to relax and thus allow me to pump out more milk and in a shorter time ....

read somewhere before that when we are pumping milk ... we need to relax ....

Zpt, no ar.. i dozed off while trying to put my gal to sleep, hvnt express. Mid of night wake up aiyo so full! so surf net and express lor. hiaz..

zyp,
Can try massaging ur breasts everday before, during and after pumping.. Hopefully this will help to open up ur milk ducts! Jia You!!

SeaBreeze,
Hi hi... Hows ur confinement?? When is ur bb full month? If can have let-down, will be able to pump more milk at shorter interval. Have u started storing ur ebm?

<font face="Calisto mt"> Hi all,

Chance upon this thread, it's really very informative &amp; useful...

Need to check something, my girl will cry &amp; search for my breast despite feeding her regularly for at least 25 mins every 3 hrs interval. Is this jus a bad habit or is she not getting enough milk? She need a change of at least 4 diapers so does this means she shld be getting enuf.</font>

Bfg mummies,
do you continue to BF ur baby even when u're sick ?

jenifur,
my guess is she just want some comfort sucking. My gal will almost always search for my breast the moment i cradle carry her. Definitely a habit for mine case

Sherilyn is down with bronchiolitis and has been rejecting my breasts since then.. I am veri sad that she no longer wants me to nurse her. Everytime when i try to latch her on, she will start to scream and struggle, pushing her face away from my breasts. So i gotto bottle feed her now. I realli miss e bonding lei. Any of u ever encounter this? Hopefully she will want to latch on when she recovers..

Serrich,
Maybe having bronchilitis make it difficult for Sherilyn to nurse. Last night my boy had blocked nose. It was v difficult nursing him as he kept struggling and pushing me away as if rejecting me.

Jas,
So envious of you leh! I don't know how long never feel my breasts full liao...

Serrich,
I got a feeling that my milk ducts have 'gone to sleep'. Today my colleagues asked me why never see me pump nowadays. I told them I dried up liao... hai...

You got to keep on trying to latch Sherilyn on cos I encountered this when Zavier was down with cough and running nose few weeks ago. His nose was blocked so didn't want to latch on. After few days of not latching on, he's not keen on latching on now. Will turn left turn right don't want to suck lor. I guess my supply slowly dropped partly due to that.

So don't give up...

Oh so its quite common for bb to reject breast when they are sick. I tried latching her on this am and she finally gave in cos she's too hungry and i refuse to bottle feed her.. Hahahah.. She was sucking quite hard and fast so i believe she's realli hungry!

shane,
Sherilyn no longer takes my breast for comfort sucking cos she now has her pacifier.. Hahaha..

hi everyone, i'm also having baby rejecting breast problem. out of the 8 feeds per day, i could at most get through 2 feeds with minimal fuss... the rest were simply nightmares. I'm contemplating going total EBM. Any advise on how to start? I dun really know how much my boy drinks cos have been on total latching, and how to maintain/increase my supply to see him through his growth spurts? He's only 8 weeks old, and has to go thru a few growth spurts leh...