Boon Keng Mommy's Club

Hi Bel

Thanks for your offer. My gal has 2 sets of both so enough for now. I didn't notice the teachers turn over rate. Do notice there are some new teachers though. Her form teacher and former form teacher are still there and occasionally, they update me on my gal's progress. There is also a comm booklet that her form teacher will write their weekly theme.

I was thankful that Mrs Wong and the teachers watching out for my gal. Mrs Wong feedback to me that there is a guy that usually hang around whenever my maid is there to pick up my gal. If not for their feedback, I would still be in the dark.

Hi Diana,

That's gd! At least your gal's teachers did update you on your gal's progress. As for me, I was the one who initial the comm book. I was the one who always jot down but there wasn't any noted or reply from the teachers. As for my son, the teachers always mix wrong clothes and also misplaced his pants 2 times. With numerous reminder on assisting my son to apply diaper rash they always forgotten and lead to my son had very bad rashes. With weekly theme it is good, at least you can revise with your gal.
Yes there are new teachers and from one of the parent, the chinese teacher, surname of Bi had left. Now changed to another new and quite elderly chinese teacher, heard that she is a bit slow and confused type.
Who is your gal's form teacher? Not Teacher Marine? How is the guy who hang around there? Did you manage to know who he is?

Hi Bel,
Hope your boi recover from the rash soon. I also feel that my gal didn't pick up much Chinese. But we are English speaking family so quite common.
Her form teacher is teacher Sabrina. Both teacher Sabrina and Marie is good.
I stop getting my maid to pick up my gal now thus didn't bother to find out who he is.

Thanks Diana!

My boy rashes is ok during the weekend but come to weekday back again.
How about ur gal? Toilet trained already?

Your gal is put in CC daytimes ... hmmm.... wondering your maid alone at home during the daytimes?

Oh ya heard that the kids are going to Botantic Garden this thursday, did u receive any noticifcation from the centre? hmmm... if yes just wondering how come I did not receive at all!

Bel
My gal is not fully trained. But at home she is off diaper and still have accident. In sch, teacher Sabrina started her w/o diaper for the morning before lunch.

No choice, I need to travel for business and both hubby & myself tends to work late so can't pick my gal up by 7pm. Maid does housework and cooking so very free actually.

Yes, there is 2 field trips. One to Botantic Garden and next to SCDF. I got the notice in her bag. You might want to check with the school

I'm new here. It's really nice to know that there's a boon keng mummies club.

I delivered my baby boy in Feb and he's already 3 mths old now.

Initially, I planned to go back to work end Jun but a serious of incidents had caused me not able to do so. My confinement nanny fed my baby with the wrong milk-Mamil MAMA during the 1st wk when I was still building up my milk supply. After that, my baby's tummy got bloated and he started crying and sreaming non-stop everyday.

Even up till today, he has not completely well. His tummy has become sensitive and can only drink my breastmilk. I've been latching him on all these while and he's now rejecting the bottle. I've tried all the diff teats in the mkt but still no use. Don't know how to put him in infantcare since he can't feed on bottle...

Sorry for my looong intro.

Hi Lolaz,

Nice to meet you here. So sorry to hear about the incident you have met. How come the confinement nanny so blur and give wrong milk to the baby.. your baby must be suffer a lot with tummy uncomfortable all this long. Since not comfortable, they will cry a lot.

Did PD advise of anything? Hope when he grow up, the problem will be getting better and better.

I have a 28 mths boy, taken care by my mil at Boon Keng. So, I'm a weekend mummy, will bring my boy back to punggol during weekend. This thread is not moving that fast, but on and off the mummy will come back and post something..
~

Hi Evelyn,

It's nice to have your mil's support. I don't have support from parents & in laws so it's quite tough.

I'm now looking for an infantcare for my fussy baby. Hopefully, he can accept the bottle before that. If not, not sure what to do...

Hi Lolaz,

Ya, just try to feed with some BM with bottle, maybe slowly he will able to accept it, just need some time. Dun worry
~

As what I know, Bestcare & Ci You childcare centre has infantcare service, have time you can check it out.

Hi Evelyn,

Thanks for your info regarding infantcare.

As for the bottle, I've tried all methods, including putting in freshly expressed breast milk but still no use. Maybe he really wants me to stay at home with him...

huggies ultra going at $25 for 2 pkts at motherhood fair and if buy 4 pkts got free tent or little tike animal torch light.

Anyone knows of any taxi driver staying at our area? I need to find a cabbie to ferry me and my boy to the childcare centre in the morning. Or any driver who can offer rides to town area at a reasonable rate?

Lolaz,

If really like such kind of situation, maybe you be a temp stay at home mum, enjoy the bonding time with your baby
~

playpen,

Where you need go to? Is MRT accessible to you?

playpen> how much is the pool? seems our place to city quite convenient already i thot

lamagier
thanks for all your homework. can i know which u decided to go with?

my baby 8+month old. doing a bit of research see our area got what options first =)

Hi mommies! I'd appreciate any info anyone may have on playgroups in this area. My boy just turned 2 and I'm hoping to let him attend playgroup to interact with other children.

So far I only know of Early Learning@Bright Years (Blk 22 Boon Keng Rd).

Hi Evelyn,
I need to go to Bugis or City Hall area.

Hi Juz Us,
I have not gotten the quote yet. My only concern is that it gets a little tricky when it rains and its difficult to manage if I am taking public transport.

Playpen,

If you need to bring your kid to PG at town area, let's say City Hall..For normal day you may let her take the MRT. If happenly rainy day, just call a cab lor.. still able to save some money lar...

Or find a walking distance PG at boon keng area.

so long no come in. very busy.

shelled,
got talentplus group @ the geylang west cc @ upper boon keng..

BTW, if any mummies wanna move to st. george/ upper boon keng, and looking out for hdb, PM me ok?

the kitchen aunite has tendered, last day in aug... why eh? any mummies know why? me like her very much... ha!!!! coz she take care of my gal lah... my girl is very picky/ fussy so aunite always make special food for her just to make sure she eats... sigh!!! sob!!!

Just got to know about this thread. Been looking for mummies ard this area for the longest time and didn't realised there is one already.

Currently my son is in Creative Star PG. This is his 1st CC since he started at 16 months old. Was in infantcare for 2 months. Not sure what is the standard as this is the 1st.

Heard from my MIL (who sometimes pop by the CC to look at my son) that they actually make the kids lie on the floor to have milk. I think it is absolutely unhygenic. Any mum observed this before? Also, I heard from my mum who brings him to CC in the morning that they serve lunch with little ingredients. Usually rice/noodles with some carrots and teeny-weeny amount of chicken/fish. Is it normal? I really am not sure what is "standard" and what I should expect. When they increase the fees, I just pay...thinking its inflation can't be helped. But after reading thro' some of the threads, I can't help but agree that the increase is huge while standard dropped alot. I also noticed the high turn over rate of the teachers.

Arghh...am in a dilemma as I feel the urge to change his CC but yet I see that he has learnt quite a bit. Most remarkable is that he learned to sing alot of English and Chinese nursery songs from the CC. He used to keep his mouth tight whenever I tried to speak to him in Mandarin (as we only speak English at home and daddy's Mandarin is hopelessly hopeless).

Any mummies feedback is welcomed. I'm thinking of switching to Agape Kallang as my mum stays there. I stay around Mountbatten.

P/S: I just learned from his form teacher that his best friend (also in PG) is Ray. Is Ray's mummy here? Hehehe...

Hi EiLiya,

Hi, Rey mummy is here ... lots stories about Creative, not so nice to post here leh! hmm.. maybe u can drop me an email, I can share with you what I know.... [email protected]
Btw, what is your son name?

Hi Leereiner,
My baby is in Agape! But in infantcare..Heh.. I guess your child is much older rite? Since the cooking auntie prepares food for him/her. Wah, u actually talk to the auntie? I don't really dare walk all the way into the kitchen side nowadays, scared the teachers unhappy.

Eliya/Bel22,
Your child is in Creative Star?

I'm staying very near Creative Star. Everyday walk by and see the young children sitting around the void decks with 1 or 2 teachers who can't really take care of each and everyone of them. I find that it's very dangerous as there's a drive way and many a time there are lorries or cars driving in and out to unload things. The young kids may be run down by a vehicle anytime. I hope this observation is useful for parents with children there.

Hi Lolaz,

I saw that just 2 weeks back when I took leave that day and brought my son to childcare around 10am. I was shocked at first cos' the kids (about 10) were hanging around the resident lounge area with 2 caretakers and then they take turn to walk around the void deck with another 2 teachers, one holding 2 kids and the other holding 3 kids. You're right! If they got lose and run out, it is very dangerous as there are alot of lorries and cars there. I too drive to the round drive way so I know there are lotsa of vehicles there.

Anyway, I'm currently looking for a new CC. Most likely going down to Agape to check out the place. Otherwise, I might check out Ascension too. Thanks for your feedback Lolaz!

Hi bel,

is your boy same cc with celest blur one? care corner?

wow... what happen to Creative? irresponisble centre to let the kids in such a dangerous site... knew that they will have am walk cum singing along, before start of the day @ the void deck... and 4-5 teachers/caregiver and the principal will be walking with them...

lunch - portion @ Agape is okie lor... saw some kids even ask for 2nd serving... and kitchen auntie always give them leh... and kitchen auntie knows who need more, like rice, soup or dishes... so find her caring and attentive to the kids meals...

sing songs - my girl didnt really sing a lot when she @ Creative... but she does when changed her to Agape...

Hi Lolaz,

how old is your jr? there's are 2 girls in the infant group yah... others are boys... the youngest is 2 months plus only... my niece is there too, most probably the oldest one, 17 months girl... so she'll be in PG next month.me may need to send my boy there too...

Hi Reiner,

How are you? I switch my son to YWCA instead of Care Corner. Care Corner was under my list that time too but they only take in child when reach 2 yrs old. That time wanna to move him out from Creative so I didn't want to wait till he is 24 months.
So far so good over at this new CC. Lunch, teabreak everything is fine and portion quite ok.

How old is you boy now? So nice, one girl and one boy, can close shop liao ....
Who is looking after ur boy?

Hi bel22,

Your son is at YWCA? My gal also? Is your son in NT1?May be I see you before?
My gal joined March this year. I have an elder son in K1 now!

Hi EK,

Yes, my boy in YWCA N1T same as your girl hee ... hee ... what is your girl name? Maybe my son and your girl are good friends ... I usually saw a girl quite closed to my son .... U know the class have only 4 girls. I enrolled my son in June.
How is your elder son getting on? can cope and learn a lot in k1?

I am going down to Agape tml to check out the centre.

Leereiner,
Just a question,do we need to pay for mattress at Agape? I remember paying $50 to Creative star at enrolment for the "new" PVC mattress which I have never seen. So in the event that I need to get my own mattress in the new childcare, can I take it from Creative Star and bring over since I have paid $50 for it?

Bel22,
Did you take back the mattress? If the new centre doesn't require for us to buy new mattress I won't bother to ask Creative for it...I just treat the $50 as sunken cost.

Hi EiLiYa,

Yes we have the right to take back the mattress since we paid for it.

Yes I took back the mattress even the new centre does not required me to bring or buy new mattress.
Imagine if you didn't take back, they will pass it to the new child and charge the new parent $50.

@ Agape... need to buy the mattress cover, 30 bucks for 2 pcs... 4 sets of uniforms 100 bucks... principal is diana sng, pg ic teacher is teacher jessica - she's a reg nurse...

my boy is 4 months old... yap gotta close shop... tentatively my boy taken care by MIL... may change...

I am a new mummy staying at 3A , UBK. My baby is now 2 weeks old. Now sourcing for care taker. Any feedback on agape infant care?

hi baguana,

how come so early to source for care taker now?

my gal is in N1 @ agape... unsure of the services for infant... pay them a visit lor...

Hi Leereiner,

Initially my mum suppose to be the care taker but due to some her health, I got to source for alternative. So started to panic.

How you find the service with agape so far?

Hi Baguana,

I went down to Agape on Friday to check out the place. They didn't let me tour around the place due to H1N1 so I only spoke to the principal in her office. I saw the infant room. It was big and clean with only a few infants in there. There was this middle age aunty who takes care of them. She was very pleasant and friendly.

The impression they gave me was great. I feel that they are very professional and the place is very clean. Smells of dettol (which I love)...keke. I think you should take a trip down to the centre and have a feel for youself as you are your best judge.

I am putting my son in the PG next month

Oh really? I didn't know about the recommended person thingy. Will do it when I fill the form. Your full name arh?

My son is starting in Agape 1st Sept so will be classmate with your niece...but hor, he is much older. By then already 32 months old...and he seems to prefer playing with boys rather than girls. Is it the same for your kids also?

my girl will play with boys and girls leh... she can run, chase after my nephew and sit down to play with my niece (more of snatching) leh...

pm you my name... hee!!! thanks... t&c that gonna stay with them for at least 3mth then can have the NTUC voucher...

hmmmm... do they mention of Name Tags? these name tags gonna sew on the uniforms, err by yourself hor - think will be given 5 pcs...

Hi Leereiner,

Is your niece XueQi, the pretty gal with big eyes? I like her very much...

Today I'm very sad n angry... Cos found some bruises n a cut on my baby boy's head when I picked him up. The teachers didn't tell me, only when I asked what happened, they told me he hit some toys when he's flipping on the mat.

Do u think I should have kick up a big fuss? I think I'll need an explaination fr them at least... Sigh.. Is there really no perfect infantcare?

Hi Lolaz

Sorry, allow me to jump in. Hope your boi boi not badly hurt. I think you should feedback to the in-charge or principal tt they shd at least tell u and not wait till u asked. Hope the bruises be gone soon and cut heal in no time!

Thanks for your feedback, my gal is in Creative Star N1. I'll monitor and review again end of this year. She has been there since infant.

Bel, glad to know that your boi boi settle down well in the new center.

Looks like alot of babies and tods in Agape now