Boon Keng Mommy's Club

Bel
I have placed an order for the rehearsal CD for $15.

Bel/Boon
Yalor I also feel it is quite expensive with the revised. Furthermore for N2, they need to pay additional of $20 per month for the Dr John Langrehr program.

They have also change their name from Creative Star Skoolhouse to Creative Star Kidscampus

Hi Diana,

How come you did not order the actual day CD?
Is it possible for me to borrow from you to duplicate a set? Wanna to order initially but feel that is too expensive as my son is in infant grp and perform less than 5min.

For the program will start in April right? U need to pay with effect from April? they don ve speech n drama program right?

Hi Bel and Diana

Mrs Wong say wilk kick start next year Jan. However will give me a special discount of $300 till Jul when everyone will be charged $360.

Sigh.. Thk I will put my son in another childcare which cost more reasonable.

Hi Boon,

How much you need to pay after the $300 discount? $300 discount is for Jan till Jun 08 or one time off $300 discount?

Which childcare you have in mind then? Maybe can share with me cos I may join you then. Me now also plan to switch to another childcare which is more reasonable.

Hi bel22
My gal has stage fright and she stand still throughout the performance. I use my digital camera and record 60sec of the performance. She did well for the rehearsal which I wasn't there to see. So ordered the rehearsal one instead. I feel they should not separate the rehearsal and actual performance. No problem I can pass you the cd to duplicate a set.

My gal is in N1 so not eligible for the program. It is for N2 and above.

Bel,
the revised fee will start in March for new children. They are holding off the revised fee for existing children till Jul. After Jul the fee after subsidy is $360.

They have also changed their name to Creative Star Kidscampus with immediate effect.

I'm also looking around for other childcare. Let's share references.

Hi Diana,

Thanks a lot for lending me to duplicate the CD! I did not watch the rehearsal CD therefore don't know how my son perform. But actual performance also has stage fright and also sit still throughout the performance. Did not manage to go in front to capture cos all mummies in front and me could not squeeze through to get a space. Yes u r right, they should not separate out. My son this year go to PG, maybe we can meet and say hello! my email is [email protected] feel free to email me.

Which area are you staying? Me staying in St george Lane. Ya, now looking around too, sure let share references then, thanks!

Hi bel22,
I will email you once I receive the disc.

I was searching around for alternative and learn that there are 2 govt. bodies for preschool - MOE and MCYS. MOE is for those 3 hourly PAP/Church and private kindergarten that offer program from Nursery to Kindergarten. For MOE centres, not entitled to subsidy as it is only for 3 hourly. Only MCYS childcare is entitled for subsidy. I asked the church kindergarten any different in standard since one is by MOE and one my MCYS.

Thanks Diana!

Thanks for the info! I believe the standard more or less the same cos in childcare although is full day but minus away meals, teabreaks, bath, sleep is almost equivalent to 2 hrs or 3 hrs for study.

Btw, any idea in PG, what's they learn? And how is their meals time table like? I did check w Creative but they did not share much ... just say there ve a theme each term. I did not see any timetable placed on the walls One thing I feel also they lack of communication book, as normally we can't see their form teacher and the only way to communicate is to past the message to the teachers when we are there... worse thing is the teacher can only answer me saying she is only a part timer, she not sure at all. Had requested or suggested to Mrs Wong should give a communication book but till now still did not receive any.
How do you communication to the teachers then?
To me, my concern is whether my child, did he have any stools / poo poo for the day! As right now, seems like I can't ve this info at all.

Hi bel22,
My gal is now in N1 this year. Last year when she move fm Infant to PG, I did ask them abt the curriculum. That was the previous principal, she walk me through. Every term different theme and they will have the story reading, colouring tie to the theme. E.g. Nature - she will learn about trees, leaves, etc. her colouring sheets will be on the same theme.

End of last year, I asked about the N1 curriculum and the current principal showed me the books and the theme. Theme almost similar to last year but the teaching is more in depth.

I also don't have a copy of the curriculum and the daily program. I asked if there is a change in the daily program from PG to N1. They are still reviewing it.

As for communication, her PG form teacher is Teacher Marie. She is very good, my gal likes her alot. In a week, she will usually be around several days in the morning or stay till closing in the evening. I take that opportunity to talk to her.

Ya, agreed with communication. It is as and when we see Mrs Wong or the teacher then we get an update. The other thing is that I'm not sure what my gals have for meals also.

Hi bel, diana,

me encountered the same thing as you all... unable to get hold of the teacher-in-charge, always gotta talk to mrs wong... who always said "everything is good". was given a communication book but teacher didnt wrtie anything on it... now my gal is @ agape, the teachers will write in the book almost everyday, even minor things, -ve thing/ incidents of my gal... at least me know that my gal does catch the teachers attention... ha!!!!

Hi Leereiner
Please continue to provide feedback on agape. Starting Jul the fee will be revised to $330-$360. I don't see the quality improve yet fee is increased.

Hv agape started the gymkids and speech and drama? In terms of layout, I prefer agape as they hv corner for reading, real-life, etc. The toilet also better got doors and label boy and gal. But far from my house lah. Have to take bus, a little inconvenient

Hi Diana / Leereiner,

The PG teacher, who is a philipinoes, Joyce now taking over PG but due to she is taking part time diploma now therefore I did not have a chance to see her at all.
As usual, always have the feedback from Mrs Wong only, everything is good and fine. Requested a communication book and till now did not have it. Had asked for curriculum and daily program, they did not walk through with me at all. Only say have a theme. Whether do they have morning walk, really don know .... their last feed is what time ... I also dun know .... ask them what meals they ve, they only say every day is different things ... really feel ... quality is not there and yet they increase the fees so high. One time increase almost close to $80 which is a lot ... somemore is under HDB void deck.
Communication book is important so that we can work hand in hand with the teachers to help our child mah ... but seems ... over here ...

Worst thing is ... yesterday they forgotten to feed my son medicine even though i had already jot down in the medicine request form. Spoke to Mrs Wong and she just say ... will inform the teachers ...
Agreed that agape is a bit inconvenient for me too...
Did you ever heard of YWCS around towner area? Is it good?

Hi bel22
What time do you usually pick up your son? I'm usually there between 6.30 to 7pm.

Oh, sorry, didn't know they change teacher for PG. Last year, was teacher Marie also a philippinoes. I met and spoke to teacher Joyce before she is very pleasant and nice.

You might want to fix an appointment with the principal or teacher Joyce ask them to walk you through the curriculum. That's what I did last month. The principal show me the N1 books and themes. I didn't ask about meals and as or daily program they say reviewing it.

err... gymkids & s&d are extra which agape doesnt ask to pay extra so me boh chap lah.... think they have started on these...

ya agape has neater and more organize setup... but the fee is higher than creative too... fee is 450bucks leh....

agape has curriculum given for my gal, memo to tell parents who are the teachers in-charge for yr2009, daily lunch menu are pasted near to the kitchen/ eating pl, their handi craft/ works are displayed on the walls... they set fri as "fruity day" so every kid will bring a fruit to ctr, teachers will use it as teaching material... although its fully air-con, sometime they will turn on fans and open windows instead of air-con...

just like yesterday, the teacher even drop a few lines in the communication book that my gal tasted/ bite ginger when she drank the soup.... err... a bit boh liao eh.... then my hubby said, teacher write me complain... teacher didnt write me also complain... ha!!! the N1 has 12 kids with 2 perm teachers - 1 eng & 1 chinese... teachers std are not high lor... the eng teacher is a very young lady but full of energy one...

Wow, after reading I realise my ger's childcare like very simple? Cos we don't even have communication booklet...*lol* but the teachers do "chat" a bit with us when we fetch the kid back everyday
. My ger is now in N1 already and they let her attend the Speech n Drama class once a week too.

Is it norm to have communication booklet? Cos last time when in CreativeStar my ger dont have the communication booklet too.

hi blur,

when my gal was @ creative, me didnt know there such thing call communication book... is my SIL told me one.... so me asked mrs wong she said ya ya... a small blue notebook was given lor (think after a long long time)... but teacher didnt wrtie anything leh... me didnt write in too...

as for agape, they give the communication book automatic one leh...

Leereiner
With the fee increase in creative to $360, you are paying $90 more for all the extras and nearer to your house. I think it is worth it lah.

I feel that creative not very good with communicating to parents on staff movement and changes lor. Previously, when my gal in Learning Vision Tan Tock Seng Infant Care, they always hv memo to update on movement before it takes place. I appreciate the updates cos teachers are key.

Celeste,
I know that some CC practice com booklet as sometime kids are picked up and send by helper or grandparents so it is a way to keep parents posted of kids progress. Now in Creative, can only speak to teachers when we send or pick up my gal as well.

Hi Diana,

I also usually fetch my son around 620pm ~ 700pm. I did ask Mrs Wong before but she just answer me there have a theme. Ok, Will try to ask to fix an appointment with teacher Joyce or the principal. Is the principal called Aida?

Reiner,
I think Agape is more professional, I like the memo, daily lunch menu and fruity days as you described above.

I think the minumum is the time table to be place at the walls. This morning, I purposely walk around to spot the time table, to my disappontment, there wasn't. Asked the teacher, she say she is only part time in the morning and maybe not ready yet. Realised there are lots of foreigner teachers eg: Philipinoes and China Teachers. Wondering how come they ve so many quota to hire foreigner!!! Realised Creative are sending these teachers for Diploma course and maybe I guess upon they graduation probably this mid yr, therefore Creative wanna increase the fees

Hi Celeste,
Your girl is in which childcare? is it Carecorner? Is it the teacher in charge still there when you fetch your girl? You mean Care Corner provide Speech and Drama class? Do you need to pay addition?
Personally I feel that a communication book is impt. Last time my son in Sengkang infant care, they do practise this. Whatever we want to highlight, we just jot down and the teacher in charge will go through everyday and acknowledge on it. How much do you pay for Care Corner ChildCare?

Hi Diana,

After browsing through the previous posting. Realised now why make you say that you have no confident they are good from N2 to K2. And I know why you asked for comments from this, Ascension Kindergarten cos is at Potong Pasir which is nearer to us as is only one MRT stop.

bel22,
Yes, Aida is the principal.

Ascension Kindergarten is under MOE and is 3 hours program. There is another one called Ascension Kindercare, it is under the block at Potong Pasir registered under MCYS. Both operate from the church.

Feng,
Yes, I know teacher Mary. She is one of the infant teacher when my gal is there. Has she left LV? Where is she now?

Feng

Most of the LV Tan Tock Seng Infant teachers are very experienced and they love kids. They are very friendly as well. Sometime, while waiting for my hubby I will stay around to chit chat with them. There is no communication booklet instead they use journal to state the time they eat, sleep, pee, poo, what they do for the day, etc.

Your bb is now at Sunflower Babies?

my gal is in the process of toilet training...
blur's reward sys didnt work on my girl... she doesnt want to take out her diaper @ all...

dunno how come she allow agape teachers to do it on her... yesterday, she was off diaper in the daytime (agape started off for her) till 9pm... she told me she wanted to wee wee... and she did... yeah!!! a good start for me... ha!!!!

my girl told me she's a big girl now, no need wear diaper, wear panties... think these words are from agape teachers lor... but me told her these before leh but she wont listen to me... teachers words are more powerful than me leh... ha!!!! hope she can be diaper free soon... save monies $$$$ ha!!!!

Yap, my bb is at sunflower babies. Had consider Creative Star but went down and see. Didn't like it so enrol my bb at Sunflower instead.

Leereiner
I'm also trying to toilet train. Gd that agape is enforcing that. I asked Creative before and their reply is my gal is not ready. She is already 2 yrs 1 mth. So I try to let her go diaperless at home occasionally. So far not very successful, she doesn't say before she pees and keep having to clean up. For poo, she missed the first time and get it right the 2nd time.

Feng,
When creative first started Dec 07, we transfer her from LV TTS to Creative cos the introductory fee is only $800 before subsidy

Diana,

Yup you are right, same here. I tried to toilet trained my boy too. Took off diaper at home during weekend but unsucessful. Feedback to Creative, they also say he is not ready and not so soon. Worst thing my boy poo poo, he will stand up and poo even took off diaper, he just don want sit at potty or carry him to toilet bowl.
Creative Introductory fee is $800, is it for that month only. I did enquire before but she say $1200 applies to all and no discount, cos before they start up, I already called and make the enquires .... anyway that is over liao ...
Yesterday manage to speak to Teacher Marie ... she is very friendly and nice ... even though she is not the PG in charge but she is willingly to help to inform the in charge.

bel22,
The intro $800 fee is suppose to be till she is 18 months. But one month before she turns 18 months they did a fee revision and I kena to pay the new revision. So this Jul revision, total they revise their fee twice!!

My gal also resist the toilet bowl. Ask her want to sit on toilet bowl, don't want. After a while she pee!

Diana,
wow ... at least u enjoy e rate till 17mths .. the last mth need pay revised fee. Me couldn't find infant care ard boon keng at that time (as creative's fee too high), end up I put him in the infant care at Sengkang.

2x increase ... meaning every yr increasing ya ...

hopefully their quality improve or else ... need make other alternative .....

Leereiner,
Hehe...actually i don't care much about communication booklet...as long as my ger dont create trouble at sch can liowz *lol* guess i am quite a heck care parent? :p

Btw reward system dont work on ur ger? Then u have to see what things ur ger like. For example if she loves cartoon or wat you can tell her if you are good ger sit in potty i let u watch xx mins of cartoon blah?
I tink u have to target see ur child likes wat and use that as a reward if possible

Actually I feel that toilet training will come naturally for kids. Cos when they are ready they will refuse the diaper one. Sometimes my ger will refuse diaper at night then I tell her she will pee on mattress and dirty. I did try before let her go diaperless for few days and ask her to pee at 9.30 - 10pm before making her sleep. But she wont wake up herself in the middle of the nite to pee in potty one then her pants will have a bit of pee in the morning. I guess maybe her bladder is not big enuff yet. Somemore I dont wanna torture myself to wake up middle of the night ask her go pee. *lol* I shall wait till she is ready then let her go diaperless at night

Diana,
Usually i only chat with the teachers occasionally then they will tell me about my ger blah blah...they say she is a chilli padi!! Very bossy now she in N1 even though she is 2.5 yrs old but wanna boss over those N1 and N2 kids...the way the teachers describe so farnie...*lol*

bel22,
yuppies, my ger is in CareCorner. Ya, they have Speech n Drama class for N1 kids and above. I donno if its the norm but they promoted my ger to N1 even though she is 2.5yrs old. Because they previously already let her join N1 activities when she is bout 27mths old only. Thats y they let me enrol her in the Speech n Drama class.
But just received a circular from the principal the Speech n Drama class will start in Feb 09. It will be once a week affair

Fees for CareCorner after working parent subsidy is only $120. The Speech n Drama is I think addition $25 or $30 a month.

Thanks Blur,

thanks for the information! Care corner have PG, N1 and N2 right? that means 24 mths is in PG?

Once again, thanks for your information!

bel22,
Yuppies...PG supposed to be 24-36mths. Then 3-4yro is N1, 4-5yro N2, 5-6yro K1, 6-7yro K2
they have all the way up to K2.

Blur,

Thanks! OIC that means when your girl is 27 months but already promoted to N1 which is supposed to be 36months n above.

Thanks for your information! Did carecorner toilet train ur gal?

hi blur,

now my girl doesnt wear diaper in the day time lor... and me dont use reward sys on her, save my efforts... but still with verbally praise her lah... she will tell me to "go away" not to see her wee wee or poo poo now...

how about when your girl is outside, do you let her wear diaper or w/o eh? still thinking if bring my girl out on weekend shall me get her w/o diaper?

Hi Diana,

Thanks! I had managed to make appt w the principal and she has showed me their curriculum for this year.

bel22,
Actually i donno if its part of Care Corner's effort also. But my ger was toilet trained when she attended CareCorner

Leereiner,
My ger afternoon nap and go out kaikai all diaperless liowz
. The night before she surprised me also. She woke up at 11+pm and remove diapers herself and took the potty and pee inside. I heard noise thats why I woke up and pour away the pee for her and let her go w/o diaper after that and she was dry in the morning!
Hopefully its a sign that she is going to be fully toilet-trained soon bah

hmmm... your gal so great leh... mine still ask for diaper when noon nap and nite sleep... found that she managed to have it dry for twice only (since start to toilet train for 2 weeks)... and yet try for going kaikai leh... think she's not ready yet, right?

Thanks Blur! Thanks for the information!

Is it true that we have to use pull up pant when we wanna toilet trained them?

Hi Celeste
Wow, your gal very well trained!

Hope my gal will be able to do so soon. Have been practicing diaperless time but for don't know whatever reason she keep resisting seating on toilet bowl. So far keep pee pee on the floor, for poo manage to get it right about twice. She just need more time I suppose. I will just continue the diaperless and clean up mess all time til she is ready lor. Tried to encourage her by giving her sticker or books or toys and pretty panties but didn't work so well for her.

Bel22,
I didn't use pull up pant just simply no diaper.

Leereiner,
At school I not sure if the teachers still give her diaper for her afternoon nap cos I guess they afraid wait need to cleanup for them if got accident as they have so many kids. But at home I dont give her diaper for afternoon nap. What I do is before she go nap I make sure I ask her to go pee first. Like that she will not pee when sleeping
At least so far so good dont really have 'accidents' *lol*. I hoping my ger will toilet train for night soon then can totally save on diapers liowz...cos those XL size diapers more exp...haha.

For kaikai, u start off with something nearer. For e.g if you going around neighbourhood walk walk let her go diaperless. If you are going out shopping centres blah, at the beginning stage make sure u keep asking her if she wanna pee/poo cos they still not used to it at first.

bel22,
So far I never really use training pants on my ger. What we do is when she finally willing to use potty we let her wear panties at home. Of cos beginning when they willing to take potty there are bound to be accidents on and off one. Then just have to wipe lor. Then at first u have to keep asking them wanna go pee anot cos kids hor sometimes they too engross in doing some things they will forget they wanna pee. I remember last time got once/twice my ger pee on the sofa cos she too engrossed with her Barney....ahaha

Diana,
My ger refuse toilet bowl at home keep insisting on potty. But when go other ppl house or go shopping etc she will sit on toilet bowl one...funny rite? *lol*

ya ya... gonna go step by step lor... hmmmm... me is rather impatient in this area... gotta try short distance 1st... thanks BLUR...

my girl is down with cough and running nose.. so after taking the med, she's rather Drowsiness and she insisted to wear diaper for whole day over weekends.. and she slept long hrs.. so let her be lor... uh... wonder was it a wrong move?

just to share, my son also in Creative Star playgroup and upgraded to N1 this year.. recently requested to pay $64 for whole year reading program and sad to heard that fees going to increase soon.. currently my son dun use diaper during day time but i m too tired to start toilet train for night, any experience to share?

Hi Baobei,

My son is in playgroup in creative star. Why need to pay $64 for whole year reading program? What is that about? You need to buy the material or book is it? Yes the fee increasing soon, in july 09.
Just to check, your boy toilet trained during the day is trained by you or the school? Can share with me how you do it? Thanks! Me trying to train during the wkend but in sch they are still using diaper.

Hi Baobei,

I didn't pay for the books. I find it is costly $8 per book. The materials are those that you can use white board marker to write, erase and re-write. At the end of the book, you have words card that can be tear out. Content is quite good but it is not many pages. These are the English book, i didn't see the Chinese book so cannot commend. I did ask why the book so expensive, their answer is the material quality.

Bel22
I found out there is another CC at Geylang Bahru called Small World Educare centre at Kolam Ayer Community Club. I will probably check out the center this few weeks.

Thanks Diana!

Thanks for the info! Do let me know after you chk ya! But a bit inconvenient for me leh if at Geylang Bahru cos there is no straight bus for me to travel there. Did saw their banner leh is cheaper i tin. from your place to there is it convenient?

Bel22

It is within walking distance. I think about 15 minutes. No direct bus. But inconvenient from there to work lor cos it is further from Boon Keng MRT and bus stop.

Spoken to them just now to find out about teacher ratio, class size, etc. I will probably pay a visit only after LNY. She say next week most kids not around and teachers on leave. You can check out their website http://www.newera.com.sg/default.asp?ContentId=1001157. Monthly is $230 after subsidy.

Bel22

I receive the rehearsal DVD. Will burn it sometime next week (sorry, this week too busy) and PM you for the collection

Hi Diana,

Thanks a lot! Really appreciate it! Tks for the DVD and also your information! Yes I saw the web site liao, looks gd! The fee is quite reasonable too.
Happy Chinese New Year!

Leereiner,
How is ur ger? Recover from flu liowz? Saw in news this mth Jan a lot of ppl down with flu

baobei_sean,
toilet training at night not easy becos if they are still young their bladder smaller so cannot hold so much. Meaning if u dont wake them up once in the middle of the night to pee then they prob will pee in the pants unless they are older already then they can wake up themselves and take the potty to pee.

Hello Leereiner, your child is going to agape? My Baby will be going to their infant care soon. Just wondering if they have any infants now? When I went there 2 months back, no infants at the centre yet.
Are the teachers good?