BEDOK mommies club

hi hippo
thank for the info

caymom,
i just got tat 180 cluster durign the recent ballot. I dun really like too but no choice just wan to be near to parent.

xpink
my girl sch is along upper east coast road.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Wendypooh,</font>
I find that cluster ok leh but my hb prefers the cluster near Pizza Hut. Now no hope liao.

<font color="ff0000">Hippo,</font>
The purple blks are where my mom is.
I want somewhere near here because I grew up in this area. All my schools are located near here. I hope my gal can get into my primary school.
My first girl is 2yo, second girl is 2.5 mths.
How about urs?

xpinx xuanx: u r welcome!
hi hippo: been busy of late.. looking for school hehe. I actually had decided on temasek a bit far but good sch.done my homework hehe.. I just checked MOE website got abt 69 places left for 2c.I checked previous year got abt same amt of place but 105 ppl phase 2c must go for balloting. the yr before that all places taken up so I think my chances are slim but die die must try this tues.if not I settle for bedok green abt the only one accessible by taking one bus and nearest to my hse.

Caymom

my girls are 5.5 years old and 3.5 years old
your kids also 2 years gap.

I grew up here too. my parents also in that purple cluster. which schools did you attend? I was from Bedok View

Istina02

are you within 1km from Temasek? Temasek is good although a little too far for me
my primary school is now merged with Bedok Green.

Good luck to your P1 registration!

Hippo,
Wow, your girls so big already. My gals still so small.

You handle your gals all by yourself? I cannot leh, my elder gal very cranky... at terrible two stage. My younger girl cries a lot. So daytime I have to come over to my mom's place for her to help me and to keep me sane. I will be returning to work soon, dunno whether my mom can handle my girls. Luckily my workplace is nearby and I can come home early to help.

I was from Red Swastika. I hope my gal can get in as it is quite a good school.

hippo
my gal now with Elfa childcare at simei cc. she takes a sch bus to and fro from school and home.
cldnt find an ideal childcare ard bedok when we moved here and those i want all fully alr...

how abt your gal?
are u tracking the news on P1 registration and decided which school to enrol next yr?
very stressful hor...phase 2c dun have much plcs left..
my hubby from pingyi pri also...
u from pingyi too, right?
same batch?
he 31yo
kao_welcome2.gif

Caymom
ya ya..i gave birth in mid april, have gone back to work abt 2 weeks...very sianz...miss my bb boy.
my in laws are helping to look after...
u gg back to work soon?

Hi all mommies,

Am a SAHM, staying at bedok north, i have a 4 years old son.

xpink xuanx, did you try sunflower childcare at kaki bukit cc?

My husband was from Feng Shan pri, but don't intend to enrol my son for p1 there. I prefer either Red Swastika or Yu Neng. Pls share your views and comments on these schools.

Ywong,

thanks for the information.
Will check it out sunflower child care.

I think feng shan pri now is better than last time.
My sister and brother enter the new school, merge with ping yi and fengshan.
Red swastika also a good choice.

But as for Yu Neng, i don't think i will put my child in.

Just my opinion.

hi hippo yea! my kids two years gap and the best thing their bday falls exactly on the same day.24/10/03 & 24/10/01 hehe smart planning huh. they go same kindergarten now so afternoon very peaceful for me can catch up with hse chores. temasek more than 2km fm my hse but got 1 bus abt 20min there.neve mind just try la who knows my kid lucky star shining. she also wanted go there as one of her classmate will be going there too.I used to stay geylang area I went to a few pri sch as my mum keep moving hse but now all the sch no more already.

istina02

wow, so special, same birth date! do your kids get along very well?

my kids like to quarrel leh, although they love each other very much most of the time. Starting next year, for their kindergarten, I intentionally enrol them in different sessions, 1 in 1 out so that they see each other a few hours a day only. hehe, they have to wait till year 2013 to be in the same session when they are in P3 and P5

Ywong

I'm at Bedok North too. Where is your boy attending his kindergarten now?

I heard good review on Yu Neng, Red Swastika and Temasek. You can start enquiring about volunteering work in the school of your choice since all these 3 schools are popular. Need to start volunteering 1 to 2 years before year of registration if you want to try phrase 2B

Red Swastika is the most popular. This year phrase 2C left 40 vacancies only

xpink xuanx
why Yu Neng not good? pls share leh

Spagoh
Yes, I am following P1 registration very closely. My favourite topic this year!
I was from Bedok View, not Ping Yi. But my primary school merged with Bedok Green liao

Caymom
You are so lucky! you will get priority for Red Swastika. This school is the hottest in whole of Bedok
I was asking my mom why never enrol me in a better school like Yu Neng or Red Swastika or Temasek or Tao Nan? then now no need to stress about P1 registration

<font color="ff0000">xpink,</font>
Wow, you are one young mommy!

<font color="0000ff">spagoh,</font>
Yah, going back to work in another 2 weeks time. Will surely miss my bb as well. My mom is looking after my gals for me, hope she can cope.

<font color="119911">Ywong,</font>
Welcome!

My sis was from Feng Shan Pri too.

<font color="aa00aa">istina02,</font>
So coincidental.
My two gals are both born in the month of May, two weeks apart.

<font color="ff6000">Hippo,</font>
My mom was very determined to put my elder bro in RSS. Once he got in, it was easy for me to go in too. I thought my gal will stand a high chance to get in so I want to shift back here for convenience.

hippo2002,

in the past, i always mix with the nearby school students.
Yu neng, red swastika, fengshan, ping yi, temasek and a few...

and Yes, i've bad impressions with the teachers on how they educate the students from ping yi and yu neng.
We also manage to share around our homeworks and so on.
Though it had been about 8years or more?

But i still have the bad impressions lah.

Feng shan pri now is getting better in discipline.

My hubby is from Tao nao and he say that his pri school is great.

Just my opnion.

caymom,

haha. i believe there's even younger mummy than me.

2 years later, we can apply our own flat.
I will still choose bedok.
Maybe let the child go in to my old pri school, she can 'chop' the place earlier right?

But ping yi no more alrdy

Xpink,
Sometimes, I wish I had my kids earlier then I have more energy to take care of them but having a kid is definitely the last thing on my mind when I was less than 20.

caymom, i think its not about engery bah.
i after giving birth oso no energy to run and look after my girl.
But because no one looking after her so i have to.

But i think having kids earlier, you might able to communicate with them well.
At least, your childhood is not 'far away' and you still can remember your childhood then you will understand why your kids behave this way and so on...

I always wanted to have kids at 16years old.
But only manage to conceive at 18yrs old.

<font color="ff0000">Xpink,</font>
Hahaha... perhaps you are right lah. Nowadays the kids are so full of energy. No longer so guai like us in the past. Even my mom also wave white flag when she used to be a bbsitter.

I understand that part on able to communicate better because we still remember childhood. That is why I can try to understand why my gal behaves in a certain way.... although my childhood is rather far far away now....

Wow, you must have married at a very young age.... how old was you when you got married? You know your hb at a young age too?

<font color="aa00aa">juz me,</font>
So your mil is helping you with your kids? Are you a FTWM? How many kids you have?

I'm considering getting a point blk unit... those that has only 4 units each floor but not easy to find a good one. How's your searching?

Caymom
Yes, MIL is helping me to look after 2 kiddos. I am a FTWM, How old are your 2 kiddos?

I have not actively looking for 1 yet. How is the asking price nowsaday?

Caymom

Point block is only worth it if very high floor. must pay a steep premium too

if you want privacy, can consider the upgraded unit. those upgraded cluster has private lift access, only 2 unit per floor

<font color="ff0000">Juz me,</font>
I see. My gals are 2yrs and 2.5mths old.

Depends on the location and size, it ranges from $280k to $400k. I'm looking for at least 4-room flat, hoping to get one near Red Swastika.

<font color="0000ff">Hippo,</font>
Yah lor. My fren just bot one point blk unit at nearly $400k.
I was just telling my hb this morning that can consider those units with balcony in the upgraded purple cluster. Are those the ones that has pte lift access? Those are larger units right? At least 4-room? My mom's blk only have 3-/4-room units.

juz me,

haha.
maybe only you 'pei fu' me.
other ppl might think i'm crazy. lol

caymom,
me and my hubby is very long story. lol
but we get to know each through 'internet relay chat'. haha
we had custom marriage when i'm 16.
then ROM when i'm 18, so don't need to go for counselling.

Caymom

yes the purple cluster has lifts on every floor. 4 rooms are along the corridor so not that much privacy. 5 rooms are door to door units with private lift.

If you want 4 room door to door, I remember Blk 95 and Blk 119 are among the few blocks with 4 rooms door to door units but not sure what's the upgrading plan

Does the seller require alot of upfront cash i.e cash above valuation?

Xpink:
How many kids do you intend to have?

Married at 16??!! Wow, cannot imagine leh. I was only concerned with my 'O' levels then. Your parents din say anything abt u getting married so early?

Hmm.. I can consider 5-rooms also but those are with 4 bedrooms is it?

Caymom

I had not come across any 5 rooms flat with 4 bedrooms in Bedok during my search. Now that you mentioned, hmm...maybe I missed out some in my search?

From my observation, I think not much difference between 4 room & 5 room flat, just one additional dining area only. Bedok old flats layout quite similar, squarish, mostly north south facing. Only point block layout different from a typical 5 room

my friend bought a 5 room flat in Tampines with 4 bedrooms near St Hildas Primary school. Age of property is newer and she paid less than me. So good deal but no direct bus from my mom's house so cannot consider lor. St Hildas primary school is popular

Hippo,
My friend's 5-room flat (point blk unit) has 4 bedrooms so I thought older 5-room flats have 4 bedrooms. My current flat in Punggol is 5-room flat and the size of the rooms are extremely small.

Juz me

I bought last year so property not hot yet. At that time, most sellers asked $5K to $10K above valuation & can negotiate. Some original condition even selling below valuation.

hippo2002,

My boy attending N2 at St. Hilda's Kindergarten.

I have called Red Swastika, the school said my son born in 2003, too early for volunteering work, call back next year. And Yu Neng, can walk in to register for volunteering work anytime. Still, seeking views and comments on these two school, but seem like Red Swastika is more positive.

Yu Neng, like what Xpink share, from this moment i will monitor their behaviour closely. Anyway, Yu Neng is very very near to my flat, i can see them very clearly. I also can heard parents gossiping the principle and teachers while waiting for my son to come home.

However, i can't stand the kiasu parents and grandparents.

Xpink,

Since your hubby from Tao Nan, you should have send your child there, it a very good school, lots of people wanted to send their child there, but no priority. For you, priority is always there for your child, sure have place for phase2A2. Usually, balloting only start at phase 2B.

+++++++++

Share with mommies looking for HDB flat at Bedok. There is a owner at Blk 413 (Pt blk, just next to Feng Shan Pri), wanted to sell his flat at $500k (valuation at around $375k). Just b'cos is high floor, with sea view. When broker call to check it out, said he is asking too high$, this owner very ya ya..., he said if too expensive don't view my flat. Not sure, if he is just testing the property market.

There are a few pt blk around bedok north, advertised for sell on sat newspapers. Can check it out.

Ywong,
Thanks for sharing. A lot of home owners asking for sky-high prices to take advantage of the hot property market. I think even if market is good, not everyone will pay so much above valuation, it is just not realistic lor. Maybe they are just trying their luck.

Ai yo, so envy..., flat owners just near St. Hilda's Pri... Phase 2B within 1km still have high chance.

Even my son from St. Hilda's Kindergaten, cannot go directly to that Pri sch.

Wow! asking for so much cash? I guess got to take my time looking for one and hopefully, the price will not keep escalating up....

Btw, Bedok got 5 exec flat? THanks

Ywong

Yeah lor, she has foresight. Now still trying for a baby already bought a house near good primary school

Some owners just trying their luck. Who knows? maybe really can find one cash rich buyer. I heard one HDB flat (can't remember which estate) transacted at $700K+ recently !

Juz me

I viewed one flat with 2 units merged into 1 whereby the owner bought over next door unit and became executive. valuation even higher than point block.

Other than those combined type, I didn't come across any 5 room executive flat

Hippo,
Yah... $700k is too high lah, I rather buy a condo. My friend paid $500k+ for a resale condo unit near MRT, really a steal!

Anyone know what is the procedure to change passport photo for children? My gal looks very different from her passport photo and I heard non-biometric passport cannot change photo after Sept.

juz me,
not sure also.
actually thought of having kids every 2 years till i'm 40 yrs old.
but in SG, survive with 4 or more kids can jump down from building. lol

caymom,
my parents did. or rather, both our parents object our marriage because we are too young.
But hubby manage to convince them.

ywong,
oh, didn't know that there's piority.
still have 6yrs to put my girl to pri school.

now reselling flat is crazy.
my estate here, they bought at 350k now selling at 500k also.
but still manage to sell 2 flat.

caymom

Brought my younger girl to update her passport photo in early Jul on a weekday. Not many people, done in 1 hour 15 minutes

If you want to cut short the waiting time, get ready your passport photo first. we spent 35 minutes just to queue to take photo. processing time to update photo in passport is 40 minutes

Your hb must be a really trustworthy guy. I think I wouldn't want my gal to marry so early. My hb even hope that my gal wun get married. I guess daddies always dotes on daughters more.

The phototaking is done by machine or people? My gal only 2yo, she will not sit still and look at camera.

I took my gal's passport photo previously. You mean it will be faster if I print out the photo and bring to ICA?

My friend told me it's best to get professional to take in case pic kena rejected but I'm worried no one wants to take my gal's pic because she can't sit still. That's what happen to one of my friend. The photographer asked her that it's best for her to take on her own.

caymom

photo taking by people. separate queue. 1 queue to take photo. another queue to update photo.

no need to queue 2 times if you have an existing photo. You can show the photo to the customer service. They will let you know whether it is acceptable

Hippo,
Ok, thanks but now I cannot take my gal's pic because she is having an outbreak of rashes. Hope I can get one decent photo for the passport soon.

xpink,
Wah, every 2 years - one kiddo... till 40 years. I guess you and your hubby like to have a big family!!

Passport
Oh yeah! that remind me got to update my children photos by 1 Sep...

caymom,
u staying in Punggol now? me too but just sold our unit and got a ballot unit in bedok north.
when u intend to shift back? is yur kid Nov 06?

property
we just sold our punggol 5 rm unit in June, valuation at 308k sold at 325k. price is not as good as those central area.

hippo
ur current hse is under HDB loan or Bank? I havign big headache over loan now still waiting for HDB reply.

18X series kaki
where are u all ah? I in the mid of shiftign there. Can check with you all, for bedroom is there and recess area under the window? any one stay in 4rm>

xpink
wow admire yur courage to commit a marriage so young. Even now I tink back still regret never play enough then give birth to my girl at 26yr

Wendypooh,
Yup. We are taking our time to look for a unit in Bedok. I hope I can move back when my 2nd bb is around 1yo. She is 2.5mths now. My kid is not Nov06. Yours is?

Wow, you got a good price for your unit. BTW, how do you know the valuation? How long does it take to sell your unit?

You are also another young mommy.