BEDOK mommies club

hello mommies

what is your child doing on a typical week?

my 5 years old is attending:
- Kumon (thrice a week)
- Arts (once a week)
- Gymnastic (once a week)
- PAP kindergarten

my 3 years old is attending:
- Chinese (once a week)
- Gymnastic (once a week)

Hippo, i still here.. was supposed to induce today but i told doc to wait till friday cos wanted to spend the PH with the kiddos.. Weekends are super packed.. Tomorrow bringing them to the beach..

my schedule for 7yo:
Monday - Friday : school and homework
Sat : Takwando
Sunday : buddhist studies and violin..

My 1yo boy's schedule:
Monday - Friday : Half day school
Sat : bring kor kor for takwando (and he picks up the takwando too.. haha)
Sunday : Send gor gor for classes.

hi hippo, where do u bring your gals for gym?

my schedule for 7yo:
Monday - Friday : school and homework
Wed: tuition
Sat : ballet/berries
Sunday : church

dorothy, what do u plan to do with yr 7yo for this holiday? My boy will be do nothing but only his revision books and going for sat and sunday classes cos i popping this friday liao.. cannot bring him out till the 17th when we will be going for a cruise..

Dorothy
gym school is in Bukit Timah. location ok? I try search the web link. lost all my bookmark because laptop broke down. very far for me to travel from Bedok. the other one is at Bishan. equally far leh

Nicky's mom
wow, Friday you will have a new baby!
Are your kids looking forward to their new siblings?

June programme:
I signed my elder girl up for English Speech & Drama organised by cc. It's a 3 day camp from 9:30am to 3:30pm. For 4 to 8 years old children

for this June holiday:
weekdays morning my elder girl will do her Kumon worksheets and read story books if she finishes early. they have about an hour of DVD time. the rest of the day, read more story books, play puzzles or lego. my kids sleep for at least 2 hours in the afternoon so the day is not very long.

planning to do:
going to buy majong paper so that they can play with playdoh without dirtying the floor. if I'm not too lazy, will bring them downstairs to ride bicycles lor

weekends they have 4 enrichment classes so they are extremely busy

Hippo,

Haha.. i didn't ask if they are excited.. but i think they should be cos sam (my elder son) keep asking when is meimei going to be born and Nick (the younger one) keep looking at my tummy and call "meimei".. haha

I have to admire you.. hehe.. all the way to bukit timah for gym school.. I was thinking of letting nick join the zoo-phonic at bukit timah area too, but decided not to because of the distance.

Good that yr gers read books.. Sam don't.. I have to force him to read and do his homework in the morning otherwise he can play and play the whole day.

Dorothy, yr kid also in P1.. Does he/she lose the pencil/ruler/ rubber almost everyday? My son's been losing these every alternate days.. and i have to resort to putting penalty fines and funny is that the items stop disappearing after the fines are imposted.

Hippo,

Re: inattentiveness

I don't think my son is tired cos the kindergarten teacher has made the same comments. I will be bringing him to see a doc soon as he keeps blinking his eyes...afraid there is something wrong with his eyes...

Nicky mom,
Wish you have a smooth delivery

Juz me
another child joined the Chinese enrichment today. There have been 2 additions since the beginning of the term. I felt that with 5 kids, the attention is spreaded.

initially was told by the center they will keep a small class size but now they allowed students to join half way through term and teacher has to spend more time coaching the new students.

they even told me they can take up to 8 children, gosh! I might as well join other chinese school at $160 for a term of 10 weeks if I don't mind big class size

I enquired at another branch at different location previously and was told there was only 2 kids in the class. I think every parent would prefer smaller class size since we are paying a flat fee anyway

Hippo,

Really! I preferred the class to be small too...
I thot 4 is a quite okay. They did tell me they can take up to max 6 but 8...is kinda of big

Can we request/feedback to have the class stick to a small size?

I already feedback to the admin staff yesterday and the admin replied they can take up to 8 kids

my girl is only 3 years old so I'm a little concerned. the only reason I enrol her in this center is because of its small class size

my girl said her new classmate drawn on her arm yesterday. took a lot of effort to remove the black marks, rub till her arm was reddish before washing it off.

but the teacher was totally not aware of this incident when I called & asked her just now

my girl said she told the teacher in class. but with her tiny voice the teacher probably didn't hear her. she is not very confident in speaking Chinese

Hi Christina,

u staying at Blk 183 too. I got my unit too balloting too. That was 2 yrs ago. Which floor r u staying? Me staying at 9th sloor. So u meeting Janet at the playground? Btw i don have a kid now. How?? Still can join? Hehee

Hippo,

Ah yah yah! seemed that the new classmate pretty naughty... drawn on your daughter arm.

Probably, I will call and feedback so that they are more aware that one of the reason we sign up the center becos of the small class size... hopefully, they will take into consideration our feedback......

The 2 new additions are boys?

one boy and one girl. the boy started a few weeks ago. the girl just started this month

I didn't want to over react over such incident. kids are just kids. as long as there's no physical injury and the teacher can pay sufficient attention to prevent such incident from happening again, I'm ok lah. that's why a small class size is very important

hehe, my girl always said her 3 boy classmates very nice to her :eek:)

hello
i mia for so long alry hope u all still rem me.
really busy wif all the hse thing, very stress

hippo 2002
i understand u DIY all yur hse reno, can share wif me those good contractor. if u dun mind can share wif me how to co-oridnator, eg which one muct do first and who cna i look for. i really at lost and cant really spend much very tight budget

Thank you in advance

how did you know I DIY ?

I felt it's not worth paying for interior designer. since I'm a SAHM so I have the time to supervise the renovation. I knew exactly what I want for the house so I designed everything myself including false ceiling, lighting layout, cabinet drawings & interior dimension, everything! I'm the ID lor. my hubby says I multi-task as real estate agent, interior designer. no choice lah, everything so expensive

I wasn't too pleased with my wet work contractor. the carpenter was worst. aiya, long stories...anyway, my wet work contractor did almost everything for me. I sub part of his work to other contractors for windows, electrical work, curtains and carpentry because his price was not competitive enough.

my wet work contractor will tell me to arrange when it's other contractor's turn to do their work. I will then call the other contractors & coordinate timing. after wet work & painting, my wet work contractor officially hand over the house to me. then I get the carpenters in & finally curtains.

Wendypooh

just my 2 cents worth. the 3 most important things in the house are

1. tiles (permanent fixture, must gel with everything else in the house)
2. lightings (down light & cove light, design of false ceiling, dining light all very important to create the right mood)
3. carpentry (look at the whole piece of laminate at their factory, not just that tiny peice of sample in the catalog)

Other things like
4. curtains (can enhance & soften the mood in the house, don't buy ready made ones that look like ready made ones)
5. Bathroom accessories (WC, designer basin, designer taps all help to elevate the class of your house)

Interior design is all about creating the mood.
By the way I'm not ID trained. I'm just a very involved owner who select every single item & design everything in the house :eek:)

Visit more condo show flats especially those in district 9, 10, 11. will give you a lot of ideas and inspirations. happy renovating !

hi hippo
cos i rem chating wif u b4 and u mention u DIY all th way yut hse. Ur hubby so lucky to have such a ,multitask and creative wife i so envy.

thanks for the advise, well i looking at a more budget hse so i will only go for basic need so will not do all those false celing and light box.
basically i need to do the flooring, carpenty, pumbling , elctical.
i have contact for carpenty and electrical but no idea on flooring. wat i worried most is who shall come in to do first and follow by wat.
btw did u take loan from hdb or bank loan.
do u mind if we dicuss thru email? my email [email protected]

hello all bedok mummies daddy...
i declare i almost a bedok mummies soon, had selected my unti at bedok yest, now waiting for all the paperwork to be done.

Welcome wendy..

Though I am staying in Bedok but it is my in-law's place. I am looking at a unit at Bedok? Any lobang?

Care to share how much you pay for your house? I understand the property prices have gone up and the asking price is about 20-30K above valuation...

Wendypooh

I think the most important first step is to engage a reliable wet work contractor, since you already have the contact for carpenter & electrical.

the wet work contractor will advice you who shall come in first and follow by what. for my case, I just follow my wet work contractor advice. anything not sure I asked him. he will tell me to arrange when it's other contractor's turn to do their work. I will then call the other contractors

there is a useful web site on renovation for your reference http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/409/409.html?1181222000

hi juzme
i got my unit thru the ballot so not much idea, so sorry.

hippo
thanks for the info. How shall i look for a wet contractor? i was tinking if i buy tile form Nam fa or soon bee huat etc, will they have contractor to do, is yur wet contrctor still doing>?

Wendypooh

I would rather not recommend him because he didn't perform to expectation. That web site has a lot of contacts for contractors. tiles shop just sell tiles, I don't think they supply tilers.

how did you renovate your first house? engage ID?

Juz me
current resale price is available at this web site http://www69.hdb.gov.sg/bb33/ispm051p.nsf/Search

hi hippo

my first hse was reno by a ID, he "chop" us real hard tat why i got scare tis round.

so now i really headache to find contractor but not enough budget to get ID again

wendypooh, u mean houses now come without the wet works or toilet flooring, or house flooring being done? if it's done by hdb liao, then best not touch them cos any defects, hdb is responsible for the repairs.

i can recommend u my contractor, but some of his items are cheap, others items are on the expensive side. those expensive ones, u can either engage another person to do or, try to get him to reduce price. he's very responsible n when i have problems after that, even those that r not done by him, he helps out as well. do mention to him that u are on a budget n if possible ask him what items u can get on yr own to reduce cost. i got my kitchen cabinets n cooking stove table from ikea. u can go there n get some ideas. but do be prepared to make many trips there n have to take yr own measurments. Mr Lim : 90096723. i usually ask him to follow up with a email quotation n receipt when i pay him cos he took cash from me as he didn't want cheque payment.

hippo, thanks for the swimming info.. that timing, the water is very cold so prefer not to let him swim at that time as he got asthma. will prefer afternoon / evening slots.

nick's mom, welcome back! any pic of yr newborn?

hippo2002, thanks for the link. dun think can make it too! cos we will be in church...

hi nicky
welcoem back, easy and fast labour tis round, how dr tham skill?

thank you so much for the info. well new hse only come wif 2 ready toilet and kitchen wall and floor tile the rest are all not done.
u mean u bot kitchen cabnet from ikea. mr lim handle all your wet stuff?

Hi hippo
Thanks for introducing me to this thread. Was search through but can't find...hehe...

Hi all mummies as well
I will be registering my girl next month i.e. she is 6 yrs old now and I have a boy who is 18 months.

Was very stress last year trying to volunteer and have to call 3 schools (Red, St Anthony and Yu Neng) and end up rejected by Red and St. Anthony.

Hippo
No, in the end decide to go to my old-school so will register under 2A2. Confirm place as don't want to take the risk. What happen if volunteer already still can't get in like my friend who volunteer in Tao Nan and end up still have to ballot and did not get in.

since making that decision, have less stress.

hello mommies

brought my girls out for a day tour today, organised by cc. went to Qian Hu fish farm & farm mart
not very interesting leh, nothing much to do in Qian Hu and most of the stores in farm mart were closed. Even the vegetables farm in itenary was closed today
my girls still find the trip fun (huh?) ok lor, worth my effort, so tiring under the hot sun!

Juz me
hehe, still volunteering in the school, wait till I confirmed getting a place

Yu Neng is good. my neigbhour's daughter went to Yu Neng. also need balloting under phrase 2C but she got in under phrase 2A. was asking my mom why she didn't send me to a better primary school like St Hilda's or Temasek or Red Swastika or Yu Neng or Tao Nan, then I can relax now mah

Juz me
From my research, hehe was monitoring the registration for the past 3 years as my office alot of kids so every year also got people registering their kids, so I kapo. I find Yu Neng quite good and need to ballot under phase 2C. Nearly sign-up for volunteer then think and think better don't take risk, so will register under phase 2A for old girls as confirm in.

Yuen Yuen
are you outside 1km of Yu Neng?

if within 1km, higher chance even if phrase 2B need to ballot

for example
if 50 vacancies in phrase 2B, and 45 parent volunteers/grassroot leaders within 1km, all 45 will get in
the balance 5 vacancies will be ballot among parent volunteers living 1-2km
parents volunteers outside 2km become free labour lor

however, if there are 50 vacancies and 60 parent volunteers/grassroot leaders within 1km, will need to ballot
need to check with the particular school what is its past statistic

Hippo,
Which school you care to share you are currently volunteering?

Yuen2
Which school will you be registering your daughter?

Last time, I heard people got stress out when deciding which school for the child. Now, I know what is like....;p

Hippo
I'm walking distance of both Red and Yu Neng but lazy la, so will register with my old girls school. I still have 3 weeks to think about it and is still thinking.

I checked previously, Yu Neng not many volunteers, I think less than 10.

Statistics for Yu Neng and Red for 2006:
Yu Neng - Ph1 - 136, Ph2A1 - 2, Ph2A2 - 32, Ph2B - 9 and Ph2C - 91.
Under 2C, there are 118 children registered so 27 of them are rejected.

Red - Ph1 - 166, Ph2A1 - 5, Ph2A2 - 64, Ph2B - 57 and Ph2C - 68.
Under 2C, there are 112 children registered so 44 of them are rejected. In fact, Red took in too few volunteer as they have 63 space but ony 57 volunteer. For 2007 intake, they took in more than 60 volunteers.

I have the numbers for all the school near our place, so if anyone of you need other info, can let me know. Don't ask me about other area as I gave a few of the pages away to my colleague last year.

Sigh... Red Swastika cut down student intake this year... so there goes our chance... last year was 360.. this year only 300...

Yuki
that's a drastic cut. what about other schools in Bedok? all reduced too ?

my hubby's friend bought a condo in Bishan next to a good school but that year reduced 1 class size so end up balloting, even though previous statistic 1km no need to ballot.

this school holiday is a milestone for my girls
- get rid of night diaper for my elder girl
- get rid of both nap diaper & night diaper for my younger girl
- get rid of milk bottle for my elder girl
- starting today, try to get rid of milk bottle for my younger girl. she drank from her cup pitifully this morning

and a milestone for me too. I finally kicked my coffee addiction. used to drink at least 2 to 3 cups a day. I will yawn and feel sleepy if I do not drink coffee 1st thing in the morning.
although it was always an action item but I never had the determination to do it
I survive a splitting headache for 1 whole day and that's it, I'm cure from my addiction !

where do mommies usually go on weekends?

not many places to go in the East. besides Parkway, just Tampines Mall/Century Square. Ocassionally I go to East point but nothing much to see. Been to white sand once since moving to Bedok, also nothing much. no anchor stores

Where are all the Bedok mommies? come & chat leh

my day off yesterday. met my girlfriend for movies, sakae sushi, shopping at Marina Square. GSS seems over even though supposed to end in July. didn't see any good stuff on sale

I renew my subscription for Young Parents magazines. road show at Marina 20% discount until today

juz me,
can I ask abt the swimming instructor William u mentioned? He teaches in Tamps, where, what age group?
My 3yr old and 1 yr old kids been attending Aquaducks Suntec but I'm stopping cos the travel is killing me. We are between Bedok and Tamps. Now thinking of trying Swim21 to conduct at condo pool or something.

Hi all mummies
School cut their intake this year as last year they increase the intake (dragon year ma). so this year it is back to normal.

Hippo
Normally I shop at Tampines, Bedok have nothing and ya East point and White sand also have nothing much but isn't all shopping the same nowsaday with all the standard brands?

I normally shop during lunch hours near my workplace.

Wow you not bad what, you went Marina? How old are your girls?

Yuen

my girls are 3 and 5 years old. hubby babysit on Sat lor

he says I can have a day off every month. hehe, like a maid

Did your girl attend any enrichment classes?

Paw,

I got the contact number from Eleanor, one of the mummies from this forum. Not too sure which age group is he teaching. You can provide me your email address so that I can email you the contact number.

I am still half-hearted of my son learning swimming...

Hippo,
So good! Your daughters are now diaper-free... Still trying to train my elder son from nite diaper...I think he is not ready yet to be nite diaper free...

my target of getting my 3 years old off milk bottle is not successful though

she goes on hunger strike so I gave in, return her the milk bottle

will try again in a few months time

hi hippo!
want to ask u about good swimming teacher . I want for my doughter. she is 2 years and 3 months old.

hi!
I will like to join bedok mummies club.
searching for new flat for us and gymnastic class for doughter.please reply.

I went shopping today, to Zara sales!

Aiyo, I think everyone took leave today because both Zara stores at Orchard are so crowded. the queue to fitting room is long. the queue to cashier is even longer!
I gave up, don't know how to shop with so many people

Luckily I managed to buy a dress from Chomel and 2 tube top from Taka. At least didn't go home empty handed