BEDOK mommies club

I am new in this club, though I dont stay in bedok (actually i stay very near bedok - kembangan), but hope u all dont mind.

I was trying to read all the previous post but ended up feeling groggy now.

Anyways, I noticed alot of mummies here are buying flats at blk 9x series ah? is it becos it is near RSS or TPS? I also thought of shifting to Bedok so as to be eligible for the within 1km fm TPS category. Are the flats near TPS exp?

ssm

are you doing volunteer work in any of the schools? popular schools like Temasek, Red Swastika, Yu Neng all need to ballot even for 1 km radius in phrase 2C. Feng Shan balloted within 1km last year although this year no ballot

better chance if you can volunteer in the school itself or join grassroot to qualify under phrase 2B

hippo2002,

i think its abit too late to join parent volunteer right? In fact, i think its abit too late to do anything......

U mean for this year's phrase 2C, within 1 km still have to ballot for Temasek??? OMG!!

Hi SSM
Ballot means still got chance. If >1km, then totally no chance liao. Is your kid born 2002? Mine is 2002 and 2003. Mine next yr is registration. So 'Gan Chiow' liao. So I hope if 1 get in, the other auto get in too. Keep my fingers crossed ; X

Mavis, welcome. How old r your kids?

hi mavis,
are yr kids registering for next year's P1?

hi lwg26,
OIC, but are there incidents whereby u are within 1km and yet didnt get in thru balloting? I have a 2002 boy and a 2004 girl. I now super gan cheong also, so worried! keke. Are u planning to send yr kids to Temasek?

<font color="ff0000">Hippo,</font>
You sold before buying? I think I will take a shorter time to sell my flat than buy a new one so I am sourcing for a new place first. My bro took more than a year to find a house.
The asking price of 118 is $400k for high flr.

<font color="aa00aa">Welcome Mavis and SSM!</font>

caymom

my time was buyer's market. Thought will be harder to sell because some of our neighbours took many months to sell. A lot of flats selling because all matured around the same time.

So we test market & advertise first before buying in case kanna stuck with 2 flats. Didn't expect to receive 2 offers within 10 days. No time to source for a flat & didn't want to miss the buyer so sell first lor

Rented a flat for few months while waiting for 2nd appointment as well as renovation. Very inconvenient

SSM,
I volunteered at RSS liao. But after that, I realised for 2007 intake, RSS more popular. There was only abt 90+ place split equally between Phase 2B and 2C. Whereas Temasek has abt 140 places. So my hubby regret say we should have volunteer Temasek instead cos higher chance. For both Temasek & RSS, even 1km also may not get in as they're the popular ones in Bedok. I met a parent stay in Tampines who volunteered at Temasek. Cos Tampines also no good school.

Hippo, which sch r you considering?

Hippo,
I see. Your unit must be really good to receive 2 offers within 10 days. I have an old neighbour also rented a place to wait for his new place because the new owner of his old place refused to extend further. The timing must be just nice or else will be very stressed.

hippo,
*sigh* didnt know it is THAT popular. can't do anything to make it better, so gotta "ding tian you ming".....

lwg26,
wow, very competitive hor? Well, at least u know u are secured with a place in RSS, better than me, dangling no where.

cayomon
yes for rule is u must sell within 6 mth after you buy new flat, but i heard if really cant sell can appeal one with valid reason. but tell u lah after my recent incident i lose faith in hdb and really hate theirstupid sys.

hippo
oh u rented a place before new hse ready ah? did u shift yur furniture over? i facing this problem too really stress and headache. stupid hdb drag my appeal and till now my key still not ready my 2nd appt on 1st nov. i still need time for reno. lucky the buyer agreed to extend 2 week for us, but we feel bad lor. shiftting the furniture is no joke leh .

<font color="ff0000">Wendy,</font>
Oh dear, I think I will have my share of problems with HDB when my time comes. Think of it already very sian.

<font color="aa00aa">Hippo,</font>
Did you do any reno for your bathroom? I realised that the old bathrooms are too small to differentiate between the toilet and bath area. My friend hacked two bathrooms into one and created a bath area with tempered glass door. But that means she only have one big toilet. I think I need two toilets leh.

<font color="aa00aa">wendy</font>

mine is BIG project! my landlord didn't have place to accomodate all our furniture because hers not a vacant unit, she has existing furniture. So we left big bulk of our funiture at MIL house. MIL has 1 vacant room. We only moved 2 beds & 1 wardrobe to landlord's place

We engaged movers 3 times. 1st time move out of our previous flat & furniture to 2 locations. When reno almost ready, move furniture from MIL to our house. Delay in reno & MIL needed the room so we moved out the furniture first. When all reno done, shift remaining furniture from landlord's place
I was so busy the whole of last year & need to oversee renovation. Faint!!!

<font color="aa00aa">caymom</font>

I only overlay the floor tiles, change all toilet accessories & WC. No need to redo much because wall tiles & sewage pipes are quite new. The bathrooms are not back to back like new estate. In fact, bathrooms are very far apart, not possible to hack two bathroom into one

yeah lor, Bedok bathrooms very small. I think my previous flat's bathrooms were at least 40% bigger. In exchange, we get bigger rooms, so ok lah. My previous flat rooms were so tiny, we had to hack & combine 2 rooms into 1.

<font color="aa00aa">Iwg26, ssm</font>

A mommy in this forum balloted for Red Swastika this year but didn't get in. She's within 1km. She subsequently enrolled her child in Tanjong Katong. Seems quite good too, a mini international school according to recent Straits Times report. I am quite neutral between Yu Neng, Red Swastika & Temasek. All very good schools. Back up plan is to go St Anthony, sure get in because I have 2 girls & within 1km

<font color="aa00aa">ssm</font>, what are the schools within 1km from your house? your house near Kembangan CC?
St Stephen seems quite popular too, for boys only. Is it within your 1km?

Hippo,
That is true. One thing I really like about my house initially was the big bathroom but now I kinda dread it because the thought of washing it puts me off. I would be willing to trade the bigger bathroom for bigger bedrooms. My only concern is since there is no way to divide the bathroom, the floor would be wet after a bath, kinda dangerous when going in to use the toilet.

hippo,
oh really ah? anyways have to risk abit since we want our kids to be in one of these popular schools. I heard abt Tanjong Katong too, will put it in my backup list...keke

actually there are only 3 schools within 1km - telok kurau, eunos pri and east coast pri. telok kurau is very popular, i think also have to ballot and both me and hb not keen in the other 2 schools. since i've a boy and a girl, going to a mixed sch would be preferred, so st stephen's is out. So our plan now is to move out of the estate. hv also looked at tao nan and ngee ann, wanted to buy a flat there BUT boy, the price there is crazy!!!! for that kind of price, it is as good as buying a condo. so now, we were thinking since bedok is quite near us, we thought of temasek but didnt know it is THAT popular too.....*sigh*

ssm

Tao Nan is very good leh. How much is the asking price in that area? there's a condo at the junction opposite Marine Parade library & walking distance to Tao Nan. That condo looks nice from outside when we drove pass, don't know what is the project name.

If you are considering Tampines, might as well go for St Hilda's. There is also a SAP school in Tampines. Poi Ching if I remember correctly. I think both better than Ngee Ann. A friend's son is in Ngee Ann. She doesn't like it, trying to transfer to Red Swastika but principal said no vacancy.

At least you have a choice where to move. My primary objective is to move near my parents so can only choose Bedok. Tampines better, flats not so old. My girlfriend bought a flat next to St Hilda's to standby. She is trying for a baby. Great foresight!

hippo,

Ya, tao nan is indeed very good but also very difficult to get in. I called 2 different agents to ask abt the pricing of a 5rm high floor with sea view, seller is asking for AT LEAST $710,000!!!! Unless u want a low floor, i.e. 2nd or 3rd floor, no view, cheapest is $550,000. OMG! very exp HDB leh! That condo u mentioned is called D'Ecosia, abit balinese resort style. Went to kpo view a penthouse unit, going for 1.3M. To be honest, not really fantastic, very small for a penthouse. Now my weekend outing will be going around to view houses, it is fun intially, but now getting sick and tired liao.

The only setback abt Tampines is the human crowd, really scary. Before married, I used to stay there. Then after married moved to Katong, Sengkang, Kembangan and now...dont know where still. Think I'm kinda used to a quiet estate. BTW, is Poi Ching a new school?

Oh, do u or any of u here send yr kids for music lesson? Where is a good school? Also any good ballet school nearby?

ssm

hehe, as long got sea view, sure ridiculous price. As good as winning toto first prize if anyone owns a sea view house

hmm...not sure whether Poi Ching is a new school. I have the impression it is a SAP school like Red Swastika & Tao Nan. maybe you can surf MOE web site for more info

my girl not attending music or ballet. She has no interests leh. What enrichments are your kids attending?

Hippo,
I'm bringing my gal to the trial.
My hb always hope that my gal can learn music from young and if the class is suitable, we will sign up.

hippo,
yalor...anyways dare not think abt that area already....keke

oic, nvm lah, i dont think i wl buy a house at Tampines. Still prefer bedok area.

My son attends mandarin, swimming and phonics lessons. As for my daughter, she is not attending anything at the moment but she's very keen in ballet, so most likely will sign her up starting next year as well as mandarin lesson.

The timing for the free trial doesnt fit my son's schedule, abit too rush as he finishes his swimming lesson slightly after 12nn. have to give it a miss. is this a new music sch? btw anyone heard of sempi music?

ssm,
I tink Hippo is right. Heard that Yuneng and Fengshan is also good school. On Tanjong Katong Pri, ST said that their average PSLE score is only about 320, which to me is very low. Heard that bcos they've so many foreigners, the teaching there is very laid-back as foreigners dun focus on academic results. Personally, I'd want the school to emphasize on academics as ultimately my kids have to go thru PSLE to get into a good Sec school.

My gal is attending 2-year Yamaha Children Course at Kembangan CC. I went Juzmusic. It's qt good but I find it ex. The Yamaha course is taught by Yamaha teacher and the kids sing, dance, learn to read notes and play on the organ. Upon completing the course, a Yamaha cert is issued to the child. Siempi is in White sands. My friend used to teach there. Heard that it's quite good too.

lwg26,
Yup, taken note. Will have to study the schools and the houses available within 1km.

But that Yamaha course at KCC is always on waitlist, right? Cos i called to enquire sometime back and the staff told me i am on a long waiting list. So parents have to sit in with the kid throughout the lesson?

Iwg26

your girl has interest? do you need to nag her to practice everyday? Yamaha using the CDE method of teaching?

I engaged a private tutor for my elder girl when she was 3 years +. She hate to practice & I hate to nag. So we both gave up after 1 year.

Now thinking of sending my younger girl to a music school instead of private lessons but probably not so soon. I think I started my elder girl too early, waste money

by the way, how to check PSLE average score? Is it published somewhere? hehe, maybe can do a comparison for Bedok schools

ssm

Where is your son attending Mandarin & phonics lessons?

my elder girl learnt swimming (24 lessons) from a female instructor. Scream & cry in the pool. Aiya, I gave up. She's not ready

I cut & paste some recently transacted bedok flat prices. Can refer up the page

hi caymon,
yes u right lor hdb just chnage rule wheneve they like so sian, tink after all these epidso i will stay put at bedok forever.

hi hippo
guess my plan will be abt the same as yur if the buyer wan us to clear by then. we will camp at my sis hse, we tot of puttign the furniture at those storage area still quite ex now still hanging ard so sian.

hi ssm
wow u shifted so many time ah, i so sick of the shifting process.

My gal wasn't on wait list. But they open class maybe once every few months (when existing course ends). So probably they'll call you when they open a new class. U can get the tel of the Yamaha coordinator from the CC and call him direct. Ya, has to sit in with the kid. My gal is not v keen and I've to nag but she'll still practice when I ask her. It helps that it is group lesson so she get to sing and dance with about 5 other kids. I wanted to go through the Yamaha music appreciation so that she knows some basic about music. Plus the course is so cheap so even if she's sick or miss a lesson I won't feel so 'sim tia'. I guess if it's very expensive, I'll have higher expectation cos must make $$ worth ! Yamaha is teaching 'do re me' not 'ABC'.
Hippo,
I dun think psle average score is published. Happened that Straits Times reported Tg Katong Pri is popular and that their PSLE score improved from 205 to 220 (can't remember exact fig). It's popular w foreigner but probably not w local. Usu. popular school will have no more vacancy after 2C. Even Feng Shan / Yu neng is snapped up after 2C. You can look at their % of students getting into express/special. This will give indication of the score. I think RSS and Temasek has 75-79% students get into express/special.

hippo,
my son is attending mandarin lessons at berries, so far, i've seen tremendous improvement as he know nuts abt chinese characters when he first started early this year. As for phonics, he's attending thru his PAP sch, cant recall the name of the sch organising it. It is very cheap, so cant complain much, and he can make up alot words after attending.

yr girl dont like swimming? phobia? or the coach too fierce? keke....my son has been learning since early this year, the coach commented that his hands and legs coordination is very bad!!! He has suggested to us to send my son for golf lesson which will help in his coordination. Not sure how true it is. Just wonder any of yr kids has got such coordination problem?

What so special abt the blk 94 series? looks exp to me or it is the market price for 5rm in bedok?

wendypooh,
no choice, i dont like to shift house so many times too, esp the packing and unpacking!!!

lwg26,
it is better to learn ABC or do re me?

ssm

she water phobia. Once her feet can't touch the floor of the pool, she will panick. She can swim properly (strokes are ok) if her feet can touch the floor, her security blanket

94 series have newer lease. The rest of Bedok flats were built in late 70s, almost 30 years old. Hence the price differential

hippo,
OIC....she reminds me of my son's swim mate who also had the same problem and her mum got fed up and withdraw her from the lesson. I'm sure yr girl will overcome it, give her some time.

Taken note. Are the 94 series point blocks?

ssm

I'm not too sure whether blk 94 considered point block. I have not viewed any unit there.

I just recall, blk 140 is also one of the relatively newer block

<font color="aa00aa">ssm,</font>
I dun think 94 series are point blks but they are rather big with 4 bedrooms.

<font color="ff0000">Hippo,</font>
I was just about to mention that 140 is a newer block as well.

hippo, caymom

Tks! i will probably drive around that area tmr and mark out those "ideal" blocks and see if there's any unit available for sale!

u mean 94 series are 5rm flat with 4 bedrooms? Now then i realised that these 94 series are nearer to Tanah Merah area. Looks very quiet but abit inconvenient. I will drop by this weekend to look see.

ssm,
You are right, the 94 series are nearer to Tanah Merah area, just at the edge of Bedok North. Very quiet... which is very different from the rest of Bedok but definitely not convenient.

Actually, this is a bad time to find a flat in Bedok. A lot of sellers, especially those with better units, are asking at least $50k above valuation and the reno is really bad. Unless you have a lot of cash to meet the asking price and still able to do a decent reno.

I am also see see look look but I will probably wait for another two years before I commit.

Actually during the high time in the 90s, a lot of owners bought above $400K for Bedok 5 room flats, some even high $400K. Negative sales even if they managed to sell at $50K above value. By selling, must lost a big part of their CPF. Hence now is their chance to minimise that loss rather than making money. The ones who really make money are the 1st generation owners. Bought at $18K direct from HDB & now cashing out

Hippo,
Yah, I agree. So all the more I wouldn't want to buy now because it would be hard to sell above what I will be paying now if I want to move out of Bedok 10-20 years later. My mom at first told me to stay at Bedok forever but when she realise the amt of cash involved, she said I better wait.

caymom

yeah, no harm waiting out this crazy cycle since your child is still young. Although market can swing either way, even more crazier price or stablize.

by the way, how's Juz music?

Hippo,
Yah, I can afford to wait for a while. But it is a good experience to view houses and know what to look out for. Oh, I viewed the unit at 118 liao. Very nice view and layout but the condition of the house was rather bad. Probably need to throw in another $50k to reno the whole place.

Juz Music was interesting. My gal was quite attentive... quite unusual. I think the teacher is able to capture her attention more. My gal attended a phonics class before and she refuses to listen to teacher at all. I guess she prefers classes that involve songs, games and music. We signed up one term. By the end of the term, she will be attending play group already. We'll decide whether we want to continue then.

caymon/hippo,
WOW! thats alot of cash involved! Saw the ad in the papers that high floor units at blk 66 & 68 are valued at $420k. Not sure how much cash they are asking.

Actually most flats condition is quite bad. Even if they said marble tiles but marbles cracked liao because 30 years old marbles

Although my seller said his renovation was only few years back but condition also very bad leh. He only did partial reno & retained the 30 years old kitchen wall tiles

Sure must renovate. Cost at least $50K to overhaul whole house

<font color="ff0000">ssm,</font>
If you are not in a hurry to move, maybe can wait a while longer... although like what Hippo said, the situation can get worse or better.

<font color="aa00aa">Hippo,</font>
Yah, the unit I saw was marble flooring too but cracked already. I think I have to save up for reno. Anyway, dunno what will happen in two years time. Like what my hb said, we may not decide to shift to Bedok eventually. I can feel his relunctancy lah... good things also can say until bad.

You know the lift serving two units per floor. I told him very good, very private. He said the lift stopped at a few floors when we came down, like that good meh. Sigh but also true lah, if the lift breakdown, will have to take stairs. My current flat has 3 lifts at the same lobby. Usually can go down smoothly without stopping.

hippo/caymom,
If I am keen to send my son to Temasek, then the ONLY chance would be within 1km, which also mean I will have to purchase a unit at least b4 the registration in July. I dont want to buy last min and get myself caught in a situation whereby i have no choice but to buy THAT unit which i may not like it so much. I am giving myself more time to look around and if anything catches my eyes, I may have to action fast.

BTW Caymom, how old is yr gal and where u residing now?

A few of my colleagues are also looking at flats opposite/next to Temasek Pri to get a good chance for balloting next yr. The few point blocks directly opposite Temasek Pri, my friend said is asking for skyhigh $100k cash. After viewing a few he gave up and bot a unit opp Bedok Swimming pool. Tink you should visit the sch to see exactly which few blocks fall within 1 km. they usually display a map outside with those flats within 1 or 2km circled.

lwg26,
OMG!!! so much cash??!?!?!!
kao_dizzy.gif
really crazy sia!
Oh, u mean the school has got a map which shows the units within 1km??? Keke, maybe I can call up the school to ask for a copy hor?

ssm

1km radius is very big. Even the condo Tanamera Crest & some of landed properties at Tenah Merah (seems so faraway) is considered within 1km from Red Swastika & St Anthony

They won't give you a copy. I tried asking before. Better to call the school if you already have a specific area in mind, to confirm really within 1 km before you commit to any purchase.

I have 5 schools within 1km. Yu Neng, Red Swastika, Feng Shan, St Anthony, CHIJ

Anyone send their precious one to Little Gems at Kembamgan?

Want to find out more before enrolling my 2yr son to this playgroup or nursery.

<font color="ff0000">ssm,</font>
I see. Hopefully you can find your ideal house soon.

I'm staying in Punggol currently. My elder gal is only 2yo. My parents are residing in Bedok and they are taking care of my two gals. I was hoping that I can shift to Bedok earlier so that it will not be so taxing on us to bring my gal to and fro everyday. The morning jam is frustrating. But the resale prices are too exorbitant already, I decided to wait.

wow all the mummies now talking abt hse in bedok now.
i see alry also so stress leh, dunno I make the right choice to shift back now. anyway no chance to reverse just move ahead
my hubby alway tell me treat the hdb levy as our above valuation price as we buy a resale

wendypooh,
what is this hbd levy abt?

caymom,
ya, i hope so too!

Since u are not in a hurry, can wait a while and take yr time to look around and hopefully prices will drop by 2009.

hippo,
wow, yr area so good, at least u have many choices within 1km. I didnt know there's CHIJ in Bedok, where exactly is it?