BEDOK mommies club

I have no regrets signing up as I can see the results.

However, currently I suspend my membership due to health problems

yawn,
You can also consider Yoga. Those at the CC have it on weekdays. I'm contemplating taking up yoga next year.

Hi Yawn & Jun

After the christmas celebrations, I will have to find time to go down to the Popular Bookstore to get the stationery & assessment books for my gal.

I find Dec is always such a short month. And there are so many things to do. Moreover I am busy at work too due to year end

winniebear

Merry X'mas!

For stationery & assessment - have you signed up for popular membership? I think quite worth because you get 10% all year round and 20% twice a year with cut out coupon from popular magazine

I am new here and staying in bedok currently, would like advise from the mummies here if there is any good half day play school for 18th months in bedok to recommend.

HI mummies,
Hows everyone? Elise is 3 mths old now. Lucas is on full day childcare, so not so tiring for me already.

Pink,
My boy is at Brighton Montessori in Frankel. So far so gd.

Kris,
Is Lucas used to full day childcare? I intend to place Jayden in half day in Feb. But still haven't decide which CC yet. I wanted to view Starlearners which has good reviews.

Iwg26

what time does your dd go to bed?

Mine sleeps close to midnight. Alamak, no luck getting her to bed earlier. She told me she's going to stay up late to watch the new year countdown on tv. Don't know how she's going to wake up early for school next year. Need to adjust body clock

I finally bought school uniforms 2 days ago. Must be one of the last few mommies to buy uniforms because the smaller sizes went out of stock! Oh no!

jun,
Lucas is used to the full day care already. Initally for the first few days he cry a little as he see his friends queue up to go him like what he use to do. Everyday i go to the school to peep at him everyday few hours for the first few days. He seems happy in sch. So now i just pick him at 5pm everyday.

Yawnyawn,
My boy sleep at 12midnight everyday. for the past 1yrs.. i'm trying hard to ask him to slp early.. but don seems to improve..

Jun,
My kids sleep at 10pm and wake up at 8am. Cos Mummy wants to have "free time" from 10-11pm. LOL.. I wonder when next year morning class, will she have enough sleep and whether she will take nap in the afternoon. If not, sleep at 10pm and wake up 6am, it's only 8 hours of sleep. At their age, should have at least 10 hours of sleep.

Kris,
Full day childcare seems v long. Maybe I bu fan xing.

Happy New Year!

Jun,
I thought so too initially. But i want to train him to be more independent. As my maid pamper him at home, feed him food, chase him around just toweaar clothes. So when i peep him secretly in sch, i see that he start to eat himself etc.. Maybe peer pressure will help at times.

Anyone if u have a good dentist to recommend in Bedok area?? Intend to bring my 35mths old dd to see dentist for checkup.

Hi felimum,

Lee Dental Surgery at Bedok North St 2 is good with kids. Charges will be around $70-90 per tooth filling. Need to call to make appointment.

Another place which is cheaper is the School Dental Centre at Health Promotion Board Tel:64353782. $9 per tooth filling, long waiting time for appointment.

Kris,
I brought ds3 to childcare centre for viewing. He was quite shy and watch the other kids from far. But when we leave, he kicked up a big fuss. We should be starting him half day next month.

cdajun,
I went HPB before. Long waiting time for appointment because they do not accept walk in. But the place is very child friendly. If you are not so urgent (i.e. can wait), then can consider that place.

Yawn,
How's your dd1 first week in school? Now is still honeymoon period. Let's see when will the real work kicks in ; p

Hi Jun,

I had ever bring my dd for walk in (big filling fell off and next appt is another 2 months). You have to go very early, reaching there at 8am. A dentist will access the condition and be prepare to wait for 2-3 hours. My dd got her filling done at 10am.

My dd's filling does not stay long on the tooth. Can't afford to do $70 filling every half year as she has 3 molars with filling.

dentist> someone intor me to my dentist's clinque. the lady dentist attended to me. very clean job. but not cheap. :p $90. saw many kids outside too.

Blk 418 got bedok town dental clinic. see long q there too. havent tried though

bedok lib got a prog for 1-3yo on print awareness.

7:30pm-8pm. starting form 25 jan.

cost is $2 for each pair of parents and child.

interested can go and ask. but the counter quite blur. say that it's full though the person in-charge tell me it's not. :p

Iwg26

This week not much school work. I think teachers only started teaching yesterday. I brought my dd to watch movies & have hi-tea in the afternoon. Relax first, haha!

Uniforms still out of stock!!!

Hi yawn2 / jun

Finally the first week of school is over. I was quite stressup last week, worry about the school bus timing, whether my gal can find her way in the school, etc.

Now I have become naggy ... keep reminding her this & that ...

Btw does the Pri One at RSPS have year end exam? My gal will only have her first exam at Pri Two semaster 2. Think I will be stress thru out the year as the school will used regular tests and other means to assess the child's understanding ...

I am realising I have not enough time for everything ... Have been reaching home about 8 plus after work for these few weeks, spend not enough time with my no. 2 and CNY is also coming and there are so much things to do ... sigh

Leetai,
You will get used to the schedule soon. ; )
Last year was qt crazy for me too. Coaching 2 of them no joke. Hopefully as they grow older, will be more mature. Then no need for me to nag at them. Sigh...

Last year ds P1 has only final year exam. Not sure about this year's P1. No exam also qt xiong cos many small class tests. So must be on the ball all the time. Last time still can 'last min hug buddha leg'.

Re; Confinement lady
Mummies, any recommendation for confinement lady? I'm helping a friend to find.

Hi jun,leetai,xin n all the Bedok mummies...

Hws everyone...? Looks like everyone mus b pretty busy with the kids gg into pri sch... Next yr will b my turn le... Time realli flies like rocket Loh! I ve jus celebrated my boy's 1st bday yesterday!! Small celebration with family only... After went Chinatwn walk walk.. As usual it s super crowded Loh... N unluckily it was raining after our makan... So can't shop at e "pasAr malam"...

CNY is coming in 2 more weeks.... Hws everyones preparation? Gt all e new clothes, new shoes for u & ur kids Liao? Went OG Chinatwn yesterday...saw many pretty dresses... But find all the price abit too pricey leh...$50+_$70+..do u all buy clothes ard tat price range too?

Lee tai
Hws ur gal doin in P1 after graduating frm BLC?
heard tat the new principal at BLC more relax... As in academic wise not so Kiasu... Reali dunnoe if my gal can catch up if she go P1 next yr anot. Ur boy still at BLC yah? Nursery or K1 le?
Ur bb gal is v pretty n cute!
(saw her pic on FB)

Hi Bedok mummies,
I'm a lil late comer in this Bedok thread since I only discovered it just recently. I have a 18m-old girl and I have just started her with Zoophonics Siglap, even though a couple of rants on the outlet was a little disturbing, but I'm giving her a term/ rather 2 months to try it out since it returns me a little more sanity than traveling to JG forum/evans in town last year. Meantime, I am still a SAHM, but looking to return to work when the opportunity arises, which is why I'm planning to place her closer to home where my ILs can take over if I return to work.

I'm starting to realise that I should probably get started on signing up for nursery some time soon? Mostly out of convenience like ZP now, I'm considering Bethesda Kindergarten (Frankel) since I got a direct bus there/other arrangements for transport. Has the impression for Bethesda change in the past year? I used to have Holy Grace on my radar, but since reading some negative comments on the new change of hands, it has lost my consideration, unless things aren't as bad as it sounds.

Otherwise, have a Happy Chinese New Year ahead!

Hi Jun

Hopefully I will be used to the schedule soon ... my gal started her ting xie last week and spelling this week.

Even before the ting xie and spelling my gal was afraid what if she got them wrong how? I told her nevermind, if wrong, mummy, daddy or teacher will not scold you. Just try harder next time.

Sometimes I don't understand why my gal has this mindset that she must get all correct and she cannot lose out to others in the class.

We have keep reminding her that it's okay not to be first all the time, but she seems not to understand ...

Hi Carrie

my gal is enjoying her Pri 1. Likes to take school bus as she can play with others in the bus ... Faint ...

Now that she has pocket $$$, she has learn to go book shop and buy un necessary stuff ... Faint again ... I told her repeatly that the pocket $$$ is to buy food not other things, if she needs them we will buy for her. Then she asked me what is she supposed to do after eating the food? I told her she can go library to read books etc. Ever since she started Pri 1, she has been arguing with us alot. I guess more to come ...

Yes, my boy still in BLC. Nursery this year. So far I am still ok with his performance. My boy is a late bloomer in speech. When he started BLC last year, don't know how to talk and a lot of things don't know like ABC and 123. So he has learned quite a lot during his pre nursery. I always feel guilty that I didn't spend so much time on him like on my eldest gal on academic. Hope after the CNY when have more time I will be able to concentrate on his academic more.
Actually when the children are in k2 they learn quite a lot. When the class work were returned to the parents at end of term, I realised my gal was taught past tense, present tense, singular, plural etc ... So you don't have to worry too much about your gal. I guess the most you send her for hanyu pin yin class to prepare for Pri 1. My gal attended for 3 terms last year with Magic Moments @ simei cc. She learned quite alot and enjoyed going to the class. The first term in Pri 1 for chinese concentrate on hanyu pin yin only. You can consider about it ... Or probably you can get some k2 assessment books for her? My gal didn't attend any Pri 1 preparatory class except for the one @ simei CC.

Thanks for your compliments on my baby gal. She is cute but also very fierce. Don't know is it beause she is born in the year of Tiger.
She like to "roar" or shout when no one gives her attention. Faint ...

Hi Leetai,
My ds3 is also very rebellious and fierce. His recent favourite is Ipad. He’s quite an expert with it and will play with the flashcards, nursery rhymes, photographs and videos that we downloaded. Once I refused to give to him cos he spent like > 30 min on it. He got mad and started throwing things down my bed, including my HP. Sim Tia….

Sam,
Welcome. Which part of Bedok do you live in? My #3 is 20 months now. You’re so fast, starting your dd with Zoophonics. Is it a childcare or a parent-child playgroup? I didn’t know they have classes for toddlers. I’m placing my ds in half day childcare in Simei next month. Cos he’s really very active. He wakes up 6.30am (most days) and sleeps at 9pm. He only takes 1 nap. If we’re lucky enough, he will sleep for 2 hours. Sometimes he wakes up in 1 hour. Everyday, he demands to go for several long walks downstairs and will bring his shoes to me. If we reject, he will cry until the roof falls. Sigh… Wah, you are very fast, looking for kindergarten now. I’ve a friend’s kid in Holy Grace. She has withdrew her this year to transfer to PCF for K2. Ya, heard some negative feedback… Do we have to start contacting the kindergarten now? I am also considering Bethesda Katong for #3.

Carrie,
My friend gave me a contact for a Chinese teacher who teaches K1 level to primary opposite BLC. Not sure if I’ve given you the contact before. If you need, let me know.

Hi Jun,
Thanks for the welcome. I stay in Chai Chee, close to the Siglap side. I had already spent 2 terms with her at JG playnest, was concerned that the program for JG Playclub is not very active in kick-starting recognition of letters and phonics because a substantial amount of time in JG is spent playing warming up for class, and playtime in the playground. I am not against encouraging learning thru play. Just wanted to try another style of learning and see if it works, which is why I'm giving her a term at Zoophonics, it's a twice-a-week 1&ahalf hr parent-child playgroup for Tods. So far after 4 classes, it's a pretty difficult to get thru the entire class with a 18m-old when 5min snack time is towards the end of the class and she gets low on sugar level to sustain thru both Chinese and English portions of the class. In the past, snack time is pretty long ard 10mins at JG some time in the middle of the class.

About the kindy, I know some mother in my EDD group have already started sourcing for CC+preschool locations for their tots. Whilst I have yet to settle into an arrangement at home, I was wondering if I need to start calling up for places in kindy before she's even 2. As I haven't returned to the workforce, so I need to be fairly flexible with my choices atm, kinda a pain when I have to shortlist options.

I am dealing with feeding issues atm, battling between self-feed and making sure she eat enough for her solid meals. Plus she's been diagnosed with sensitive rhinitis, so things just gets busier to keep her play and sleep areas dust-free and see funny looks from parents in her new school since I didn't bother to tell them her runny nose is something I'm in the progress of finessing a cure, apart from hoping it doesn't develop into asthma.

Sam,
Actually not too late to start sourcing kindy since u will be too busy after returning to workforce. For me, the issue is slightly different. My time is fully occupied by the 2 older schooling kids and their enrichments which is fully packed. So I don't really bother if #3 learns his ABC or not. I guess eventually he will know. Anyway, he gets a fair bit of stimulation from his siblings at home. I just need to keep him occupied so that mummy can take a break. Phew... If u do enquire at Bethesda, do give some feedback. There is also a Bethesda Bedok-tampines in Bedok area. My friend's kid who's a year older than my #3 just started pre-nursery there.

Iwg26

Have you decided on CCA for both your kids?
Can I also check with you for Chinese Dance, how often is the practice? Once a week only? on Thur? Do you need to pay for costume for performance?

Yawn
Chinese dance is once a week only on Thurs. The teacher said only some kids will be selected for SYF (next year). Those kids will have to stay back longer to prepare for the perf. Dd performed on graduation day for the past 2 year. No need extra lessons and no need to buy costume. Not sure if the costumes are 'recycled' or 'sponsored'. I haven't pay anything since she joined.

Dd want to stay at Chinese dance. I ask her to choose another club, likely to be chinese club. Cos she likes to talk so suits her well.. Lol.

Ds initially wants wushu. But now he is also comtemplating Bowling.

forgot that she bought black tights for dancing shoes. Both cost around $20-30 and can last for about 1 year.

Iwg26

Thanks for the info!
By the way, why would you want her to switch CCA if your dd is still inerested in Chinese Dance? I plan to sign dd2 up for Chinese Dance.

My dd1 has been changing CCA every year. Her interests very fleeting leh, I kanna tick off by CCA teacher for requesting to change CCA again, aiyo so paiseh. So this year must think carefully before signing up. Told her better stick to whichever CCA she chose from now on, cannot switch again. She's now contemplating badminton or Chinese club. So far like no news leh, no consent form given yet.

As long that CCA is once a week I'm fine. I don't want those CCAs with twice a week commitment, very shiong

Yawn,
I am not switching. I asked her to take 2nd CCA - to try out new things instead of sticking to the same 1 for 6 year! I think this school generally qt relax. Only when competition then increase frequency. Anyway, if she doesn't sign up CCA, she also laze around at home. I think P3 still qt relaxed so far can afford to have 2 CCA. if need to drop next time, then ask her to choose 1. Just when I am 'complaining' no extra classes, I received letters for leadership trainings for the P3

Iwg26

oh I see. I plan to let dd1 start music lessons, need to set aside some time for daily practice , cannot afford to spend too much time on CCA lor

Your dd is no longer taking piano?

She's still taking piano but I let her go at her own pace (slow and easy) because we can see she is neither interested or talented in music / piano. LOL. After spending 3 years learning, I don't want her to give up so easily or think that she can easily give up if she doesn't like. I think should at least attain grade 5. Everyday she practices about 30 min. I don't think it takes up so much time. CCA is more like non-academic enrichments to me.

Iwg26

My dd already taking speech & drama, art classes on weekends. I asked her to drop her art classes and join school's art club instead, free mah. She doesn't want leh. Will monitor her workload this year before deciding by end of this year. I heard P4 workload will be very heavy

Dd also attends Speech & drama on saturdays. I always thought it's better to join CCA in school cos just stay back after school instead of us travelling to and fro to fetch.

BTW, there will be overseas trip to China for all P4 and stay in school camp for all P5. My dd is excited and tells me she wants to go overseas (without us!). I can't imagine how I can take it when I send her off at Airport. Sob sob sob...

Hi I come into this thread on and off so many of you may not remember me. I am thinking of starting a pilates private class to soothe my aching muscles. The instructor will be from Inspire Mum & Babes. We need to have 6 pax for a class and my friend staying near Tanah Merah is offering her place on a Sat morn. 10 sessions for $300. We still need another 2 more. If any of you is keen, PM me k?

happy new year to all!

My eldest boy will be going to pri 1 next year too. Going to enrol my 2nd boy to N2 soon aft CNY. Sometimes find challenging to manage my 2 elder boys and my comin 3months old girl.

Can i seek advice fr mummies here who have 3 kids, how do u manage?

Hi rachel,

Is
Can try oasis clinic Bt the clinic always very crowded. It located @ Blk 56 new upper Changi Rd..