Anyone TTC in July 2006?

mich, u agree with sweet with the shopping for boys. Good Good. Btw, u know or can recommend some 'mixed' school with good values and all rounded circulum? Which school are you planning for Serene?

Gal, serene is most likely to go to marymount convent... I only know a few near my area foe mixed schools. For example, kuo chun presbyterian. And maybe fairfield methodist. What are the schools near your place?

mich, is marymount convent 1km from your home? My place would be CHIJ Kellock but it's not a mixed school. Would like to think of other options too. Marymount is a girl's school as well? What's your plans for no 3?

Hihi...

Peg, congrats to the arrival of your baby girl.

Gal, I have been converted to a perm staff after 1mth plus. I am enjoying the working life after so many yrs. But it's really a mad rush everyday.

I dunno how u girls can stay with a maid. My myanmar maid is finally here after 3 mths. She is young and looks innocents. Looks quite guai but I am not sure if she is really what she seems like. Sometimes I think if I shd continue to be a sahm but sometimes I really want to work.

Irene, think have to give the new maid more time to adapt, and since u are not at home, then some things just close an eye,... That's how I keep my maid fir 4 years already!

Sometimes also enjoy working and sometimes I think maybe I should quit since serene is going to primary school soon... Sigh

Mich, yes I am also thinking if it's better to work or not. To work is more for myself. If I don't work I will feel very lonely and empty but it benefits my children.

Yah, I try not to question what my maid does everyday as long as she does the basics and she helps me when I am home.

Her salary $400

Irene, I guess other than the rush. It's nice to go back to the workforce again. How do u think your kids are coping with you not around 24 X 7?? Is there anyone at home guiding the maid while u are at work?

Mich,Maid salary is on the rise. From 350 to 380 to 400 and latest bio data not enough so they raise the apy to about 450.

Gal, they are ok with me working. When I don't work late, I will go home straight and eat dinner with them.

There's no one home so my maid is alone. I will get my parents to go over my place around 3plus at times to spy on my maid. Seriously, it's tough to trust a maid when she is alone at home. I do check her work when I come home.

My kids are ok with the maid around but they refuse to let her bathe them at all. Anyway I still bathe them myself in the morning and at nite.

I still don't like having a maid so whenever I cannot take it anymore, I will be back to my hectic life without maid.

hi irene,

ur maid is from other agency ah? i am taking new fili maid from same agency, but was told by them yesterday the maid failed to board the plane...she got to try several times , just to try her luck cos she is not under POE term.

Do u have communication prob with ur maid? my colls all taking myanmar maids and it seems they have prob wiht the maids..

Irene, do you have to work late often? Your mother is helping to pick the kids up from cc? It's never possible to get used to having maid in the house, after so many years, i still prefer to have the house to myself... Someday it will be so.

I am trying not to think of the logistic nightmare u will have next year when I have 1 kid in primary 1, one in chidlcare and another one in playgroup. Haiz.

Patty, yes I went to another agency. I wanna try a Myanmar maid as I don't like the friendly and talkative personality of fili. Indo maid's are just so ex for this kind of standard (english so and action slow).

Yes I have communication problem with my myanmar maid. Her English is so so like Indonesian maid but she is willing to do anything. My previous indo maid always tell me here pain there pain. But my Myanmar maid can read English so I will write down or make her write down what I want her to do. I think no matter what nationality, we will hv some comm problem due to culture and our accent.

Mich, as long as ur MIL is around and u have a maid, I am sure they can help more or less. Unless u wanna be a sahm again.

Patty, I think hor none of us stay with ILs leh. Hahaha...although difficult to get along, but you can work OT in peace or even go out with friends after work.

Irene, that thought is never far from my mind.

Patty, even if I dun stay with mil, there are always potential issues. So have to close an eye.

Patty,
Not staying with in laws but at times staying with my mom. Even staying with my mom also got issues but I think it's usually more issues staying with in laws. U staying with your in laws?

i shifted to my in laws' house aft giving birth to my gals. 4yrs liao...initially no prob as i closed 1 eye, but nowadays my MIL always steps on my nerves..aiks..MIL is diff frm own mom, own mom we can say whatever we want, but MIL is diff..there were times i showed black face to her ler when i really could not 'ren'...recently i keep telling my hub to shift back my own house at SengKang, 5rooms flat so spacious no other ppl..syiok right. But he asked me to bear 1-2 more yrs..when my gals go K2 then shift back as he cant leave the gals with maid at home now they are still young, he said..so i have still very long way to go & to 'ren' ler..sigh.

Patty, your girls are in cc or kindergarten? If they are in cc, then u xan leave maid at home and pick the kids up yourself after work. Frankly I would also what my own space and rather not stay with in laws.

Patty, Last time my in laws came and visit me in Singapore. Stay with us for 1 month. I must agree, they did help but because a standard 5 room hdb is not really big so always feel they are staring at me. Coming into my room so on and so on.... Sometimes I even think if they touch or look into my things when I go out or not. Very difficult esp we girls gets paranoid un-necessary. 4 years also not a short time for you leh. I will 'kena' again after or during confinement when they come again.

So quiet again. Now latest hot topic is P1 registration. I think many 2007 mummies have already signed up for parent volunteer. I saw that Rosyth has 200 applicants for 25 places for parent volunteers. Anyone doing PV?

Mich, I am following the MOE numbers in each phrases. It seems if we do volunteers in some hot schools. We might even need to ballot or being phrase out. 2007 PV starts already?? I also not aware. Still dun know which school to put Serena. How's Serene? which school is she going? Any not so stressful mixed school that you can recommend? U planning to PV for #2?

Gal, I kmow a mummy who did PV for rulang and she didn't even get to ballot, as she was between 1-2km. That is so sad. Yes if you go to rosyth website, you will see the list of 200 parents who registered for pv for their 2007 kid. Serene is going to Marymount convent and I cannot be bothered to do anymore PV for joy as I already did for serene. Joy can follow to the same school. Which area are u under? Then I can probably recommend some schools based on what I know?

Mich,
If I were to put my mom's address. It's eunos side so school will be eunos primary school that sort of neighbour school. For my address, it will be CHIJ kellog that sort of area. I am like less than 1KM away from CHIJ. Was planning that school but now having no2. Best to go mixed school. My nearest mixed school from my home address would be Zhengde primary (all bukit merah area). But if we dun PV, most likely it will be Phrase 2C. Something I am quite confused about the system is will there be always a certain number allocated in each phrase ? let's say ai tong for example. it's such fierce competition in 2B already. Thought all space will be gone , but in phrase 2C. There is still spcae again.??

Gal, unless you are going to be staying with your mum in the long run, I think no point considering eunos schools. There are 2 ways you can consider. First send both to Zhen De. I can see that Zhen De is in a ballot situation at phase 2C but I can't tell if it's below 1 km balloting. If traditionally they accept all 1km applicants in 2c, then even without pv is a safe bet. Second choice is send Serena to chij where the is no balloting within 1km at phase 2c. Then go PV for your son at a place where you are fairly confident tat there is no balloting at phase 2b. Are there any boys schools near enough to consider?

How it works is this, places left over after 2a2 is divided into 2 equal lots for 2b and 2c.

Mich,
Oh it's the left over divided equally. Oh. no wonder I still see lots for 2C. If I send my children to the zheng de pri, then it's quite effortless. They can wake up later and just walk to school if i were to go back to the workforce. Other than that, it will be others like River Valley Pri etc etc where I need to drive. My mom keeps nagging saying since I am not working, must do something for the kids. Cannot easy way out like this. Just curious how u decide on the school for Serene and Joy? For no3, which boy's school are u planning? For PV, what did u do?

Gal, I guess can always take school bus if its not within walking distance. My hb did most of the PV since he was on no pay leave. He went for excursions, wrapped books in the library etc. We were also invited to give a talk for some parents, and that filled up alot of PV hours. But otherwise, the school also offers PV activities such as doing reading for weaker kids, helping at school camps etc.

The truth was I didn't think about Serene's schooling till she was 5 years old, because I kept thinking I'll send her back to my old school. That year, when I wanted to do PV, most of the schools said it was too late. Except Marymount. My hb said that since he was on leave, he will do the PV and take it as an opportunity to learn more about the place. If it doesn't work out, we still have my old school to fall back on. He did the PV, talked to students, teachers and even the principal and he loved the school. So that's how we ended up there.

As for Isaac, he is going to hb's old school (Catholic High) because it is just across the park from my house. It's near and the only boys' school that we can get in without balloting. Generally, all the boys' school are so competitive!