Any SAHMTBs?

Hi Happie, I finally manage to read the PM, thanks.
Do you know how many hours the 1-day class take?

I've difficulties on deciding the BB's name. Cannot come to an agreement with hubby. He is very choosy, this cannot, that cannot, but he is unable to come up one himself. I told him, last resort is to wait until we've BB's birthday and spend money to get a prof to name her.

EnfaMama, the choc flavour I find it much better, maybe still sweet, but somehow not so yucky lor.

Hi Huggy

Tats very good...even b4 i got preggie, i have constipation. So its lagi even tougher for mi to s**t after i got preggie. Tried taking lotsa papaya (and this seems to help a lot) during my 1st trimester, but my frds told mi cant take too much, cos wait bb jaundice. So now back to the same prob again.

Oh u mean theres a difference between Enfamama & Annum? I mean the benefits/vitamins?

HI Vanilla,

I think u can still take papaya, but in moderation lor.
I heard from other mommies that they actually consult their gynae about the constipation problem and they were given something and solved the constipation problem. But I'm not sure what it is. Maybe u shd ask your gynae about this at your next visit.

re:EnfaMama Vs Anmum
Actually I'm not too sure also, but hubby compare the nutritional info on the packaging, and see that Enfa has a longer list of vitamins lor. And it also contains "choline", although I dunno it is good for what part of the BB

Other than that, heard from a mommy who has fren working as a PD or nutritionist (*not sure*) mentioned that enfa series for BB has the best nutrition for BB. Although I also heard that some PD will say most of the Formula Milk in the market are equally nutritional. But dunno why I believe that Enfa series is good lor, hehehe...

Hi Vanilla,

Mayb u can try drinking Yakult, if worst come to worst, u can get some liquid call duphalac frm yr gynae. Dun take too much papaya.

I manage to solve my constipation prob by drinking fresh milk. Not sure if it works for u.

Hi Huggy,

I think the 1 lesson is a few hours.If u can wait i can help u ask when i visit my gynae on the 5th.

I think names is the one of the hardest part. Mi n my hubby are each thinking of some christian names each before we start deciding on the one. As for the chinese name I'm oso thinking finding a fortune teller.

Hi happie,

Pls help me to ask, I can wait. Also, whether hubby shd attend together or not. Thanks in advance

Hi Vanilla,

Oh ya, I will drink a big cup (0.5ml) of warm water 1st thing in the morning, even b4 I brush my teeth. Think it shd help the bowel movement. After brushing my teeth, b4 breakfast, I'll drink either yakult or vitagen daily. If got constipation, will drink one more time in the evening (but do that only once a while)
You can try see whether it help u or not.

Hi Huggy/Happie

Oh i was given some kinda liquid (i think its the same brand as wat happie has mentioned) to drink to ease my constipation prob, but nothing seems to reali help much, until my 'papaya saviour' comes along...haahaaa. I tried drinking fresh milk in the morning..but realise will have reverse effect - diarrhea, so stop taking it already. Now trying Yakult, see if its helps

u can try Fybogel if you still have constipation. my gynae prescribed me this & i think its pretty good. till now, i still drink at times.
or try prunes?

happie,
i've already received your pm le. thanks!

btw, my boy is ok le except he is very cranky at times, machiam PMS! lol.

Hi Huggy

Thanks for the link.

Heard Medala is quite good (had an ex colleague who used it) and if i'm not wrong Medala has a 're-sale' value. The staff told her tat she can sell it back to Medala at a lower price if she decides not to use it anymore. Duno how true is it...

The nursing wraps looks interesting...but think too early for mi to buy yet.

I'm new on this forum. I'm now 24 weeks and a SAHMTB. Hope to meet more friends here
I'm expecting a girl (gynae say 80%) and delivering at Gleneagles.

Hi Huggy,

I did some research and decided to get the Medela Swing. I think Medela or Ameda are better cos they are focussed on purely pumps, unlike Avent or Pigeon whom makes all kinds of baby stuff. I'm going to get the Medela Swing. Cos I think the manual one will be too tiring to use and some forum say it's quite noisy also. As I won't be going back to work, so I think a single pump will be enough for me. But the lady at the breastfeeding workshop says that when using a single pump, the other breast may leak .. but a dual pump is quite ex .. and unless you need to pump from work, it's really an extravagant to have.

Hi Catherine,

A big welcome to you clipart{kao_welcome2}
I'm in 32 weeks now.

Hi Vanilla,

I found one even more interesting nursing shawl. But since I already have something like that and also bought baby sling which can be used to cover up also, so this became quite expensive to me lor. So tempted to buy because it looks so beautiful to me.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1384137.html?1209518424

Re: Breast Pump
I think the noisy one is Medela Mini series (still consider electrical, not manual).
Medela manual is silent, just tiring on the hand, same as other manual pump. But I found out that medela manual looks a lot like Tollyjoy manual, just different price only.
But I think a manual one shd be good to bring out when we need to go shopping & etc, light and not bulky lor. At least can pump something out during emergency. So, I might get a cheap manual as a spare, like Tollyjoy, cost only $26.90.
Not other brand because I heard feedback that it work well too & really same design like Medela manual.

Vanilla, I think it is true that Medela has resale value. That is why I am considering also. Other than selling back to Medela (which I'm not too sure about), I think u can also try to sell it to other mommies here. Same for the Ameda. Both were sold away quite fast lor.

Catherine, same here, I also heard Medela Swing is good, just that the other side might leak. That is why I am considering the dual pump. Because to do TBF, must pump every 3 hours during the first few months, even at night. So, I think it is quite tiring lor, using dual pump might save me more time for me to go back to sleep. Because I am a light sleeper, always has problem with sleep.

My hubby found out that buying online straight from US, can save 50% than buying locally. Only problem now is the warranty. So I'm in dilemma now, whether want to bet for the quality of the pump from US over the 50% of the price, haiz......
Which one more worth it huh?

For Ameda, buying from US only saved about 100++ after conversion, so not so worth it lor. So if I want to buy Ameda, I will buy from Mumsfairy ($365), unless there is a Bulk Purchase which can get lower price than that, still waiting, and also waiting for GSS, see any places offer discount

Recently I am so into the Bulk Purchase & Oversea Spree.

I've bought a Bumper Playmat, Zojirushi Lunch Jar, Vacuum flask, Baby Crawler cover (like Baby leggings), some quite baby shoes & socks, even first teeth toothpaste (because it is so cheap!).
All waiting for delivery now

I also want to buy the Bean sprout chest pillow but too bad the 2nd BP is just over, I am waiting for them to start new one again. The person have not reply me whether can still take in new order or not, still waiting....

But as we are all new here, we can't post in the Oversea spree, instead we can PM the person who start the spree & communicate thru email. This is how I buy the First Teeth Toothpaste, because they bought it from US online Drugstore, so consider oversea spree.

Guardian selling S$21++, but here can get S$5.78++ some shipping charges, cheap or not???!!!

Hi Huggy

Glad to hear that u r all well prepared! Ya i love overseas spree too. A lot of things can get cheaper. Think i'll end up buying lots too when my delivery date draws nearer. For now, just maternity clothes...

Hi Catherine,

Welcome welcom..I'm oso a aug mtb, in my 23wks now. I'm oso havin a ger. Seems like the few mtb here are all having little princesses..hehe

Hi Huggy,

I will get the most prob get the swing but will only get it after mayb 1 or 2 weeks after birth when i'm sure that i've establish TBF with my child otherwise i will b wastin money liao..
Guess buying frm Sg will b more worth it, in case there is problems with the pump ( touch wood, hehe ), u can still get it exchange or repair easily..

Btw, thanks for the links, think i will b getting the vaccum flask n shawl..

Seems like everyone is addicted to the spree. hehe. Me too, I'm oso addicted to the overseas spree, Been buying little baby hair clips and oso quite a few ralph lauren dresses. Now waiting for delivery.

Lotsa stuffs are so much cheaper.

Thanks Happie for the link!
But to become member, must pay $25 per annum. Saved not much as compared to the BP price($674 vs $659).

Are u interested in Baby socks? Take a look.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1384392.html?1209458466

How about Bumper playmat? But only got limited readt stock now. If not, maybe wait for the next BP if u really like.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1336952.html

For BeanSprout husk pillow, u can take a look here, maybe wait for next BP if u want or u can email to the person who start the BP.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1338867.html?1207289112

I am like tempting u guys to spend money here

Hi Catherine & Happie,

Just curious, since Medela Swing costs about the same as Ameda Dual Pump $300++, why do you still opt to buy Medela Swing which is a single pump? Isn't it more worth it to buy a dual pump by just paying another $60++?
Care to share your opinion?

Hi Huggy,

no special reasons i think cos the medela seems more popular and more commonly seen around the shops. And most of the forums seems to give good reviews on the Medela.

Hi Huggy,

Coz Medela seems to be more talk about n the Swing seems to have gd reviews even in other forum. So i guess with so many gd reviews, it should b quite safe.. haha.
But mayb will go see see look look n understand more, since i still got so much time left..hee

So have u bought yrs??remember to do a review on yr pump with us after u've bought it. hehe

Hi huggy,

So sorri, the nurse was off when i went for my consultation. But i guess the lesson should b few hours. So hows yr baby coming along, another 2 more mths n she'll b out. Very exciting !!!

Hi missybluey,

Thanks for the mags.It should keep mi occupied for awhile. =)

Hi vanilla,

How have u been?

Hi happie

Hows ur consultation? Hows bb?

I'm going for my routine checkup tmr. Hope everything will be fine. Hope blood test results will be ok. *touch wood* if anything wrong with my blood/urine test..gynae will tell me rite??

Hi Catherine,
Thanks for the info.

Hi Happie,
I have not bought any breast pump yet. Still considering...

Hi Vanilla,
Just relax, keep an open mind, don't stress yourself. But I think I went thru the same thing also

Don't worry, if anything wrong, your gynae will definitely inform u.

So, do you guys know whether the Robinson or Taka sales still on?

Hi vanilla,

so far so gd.. bb is 700 gms now. But the onli thing is i keep havin yellowish discharge. Hope its alright. Anyway, gynae has send for test so now jus waitin for results.

Dun worri, if there is anythin wrong, there will definitely inform u. No news usually means gd news hehe..

Hi huggy,
there is still time, slowly consider. I oso ain't sure if the sales is still on..

Hi huggy & happie

Thanks for the encouragement. My appointment is in the late evening...so anxious to c gynae and bb soon.

happie, me oso have slight yellowish discharge, and i din think much abt it lei..I thought its normal for us to have discharge often. Dun worie too much either. SO when will ur gynae get back to u?

Huggy, last week i went robinson, din c much sale going on lei..was rather quiet. Duno is it cos i went on a wkday afternoon.

Hi Vanilla,

Its only a few hours away, start counting down.. hehe.. U should b to know the gender later. Remember to update us.

Think my gynae should get back to me these few days, if no news den should b oki. So just hope no news.. haha

Hi Happie,

I went for my 26weeks checkup yesterday .. bb also 700g. But my gynae said bb abit on the small side. How many weeks are you in now ? Was abit sad when the gynae said that. Esp since I put on almost 4 kg since last mth, even thou I dont feel that I ate exceptionally alot

Hi happie

Came back from my gynae earlier on. BB is fine, and my blood test result has shown that i m a Hep B carrier, so gynae said bb will need to receive a jab immediately after he's out. Quite worried..though gynae said bb will be fine after getting the immunisations.

Btw, i'm going for my 20-wk scan next month. Me rather blur la..what r the procedures like ah?

Hi catherine,

Dun worie...I read that bb will grow rather fast and put on weight as long as u eat healthily. Take lotsa calcium food & protein.

Hi Vanilla,

My 20 weeks scan was like any other checkup.. done by the gynae thou some clinics it was done by a sonographer (or something like that). In the 20 weeks scan or the detailed scan, they will show u the organs like kidney, heart, lungs, etc. Measure the skull etc .. But I read on some threads that their gynae seems very detailed and will explain to them. But my gynae didnt really do anything more than show me a few extra organs. Cos each visit she will always let me listen to heartbeat and also measure the head. So in a way I was quite disappointed cos I thot it was suppose to be something really detailed.

happie,

The bugaboo bee do you feel it's very narrow ? Actually we have shortlisted this but when hubby went to see and he said it's too narrow. Quite surprising for an ang mo brand to make it so narrow. So in the end we decided not to take this. And also it's very low. Abit lower than other prams, even the saleslady at mothercare said so. I'm so strssed out over the pram issue. So hard to find something that has all the criterias you want. Thought my search was ovr with the bugaboo. I'm not very into the combi/aprica cos I feel it's too light. Though very handy esp if you go out alone cos can open close with 1 hand. But it's so light that I feel it's not sturdy enough.

I actually like the Emfamama milk. Maybe all along I like milk so I didn't feel the taste was too strong. But I agree it's abit on the sweet side. Once I took a glass of the milk and went straight for my checkup and the gynae said the urine got sugar and asked me what I took. I told her only the milk lo .. after that I notice on the days that I do not take the milk before the checkup, the urine will be ok. Even thou I can take a can of coke and walk into the clinic also no sugar in urine :p (that day weather was so hot so I drank half a can of coke :p)

hi catherine,

i m now in my 24th wk+, went for my checkup at 23th wk +. Mine case was a complete opp of yrs, I did not put on any weight tis time round but yet bb put on quite abit. But dun worri too much. From what i understand frm my gynae, the av. weight for a 28th wk baby is only 1 kg n the weight gain before our 3rd trim usually goes to us. Only in 3rd trim will the weight gain goes to baby. i've oso put on 3kg in my 20th wk but baby was onli 340gm den. So just stay positive n i'm sure yr little baby will grow fast. Most impt is bb is healthy.

Hi vanilla,
Dun worri, all the jabs will help bb.
My 20th wk scan was done by my gynae, its more like a detailed scan where she showed me all the vital organs n checked for any defects, as she scan she will explain some of the stuff to me, she oso check the blood flow of baby, checked for cleft lips etc.
Its pretty much like our normal scan just that it much more detailed n it will give us a peace of mind knowing that bb is perfectly healthy.
So yr bb is a prince or princess??

Hi catherine & happie

Thanks for the info. I have to head down to TMC next mth to do my detailed scan. My gynae's clinc doesn't have all the eqiuipment i guessed. The reason I asked cos I wanna make sure I wun get 'poke' by any needles la... :p If even if i do get 'poke', i have to make sure, am mentally prepared for it.

Happie...gynae said will confirm the gender wif mi again during my next visit. But he's 90% sure that its a prince.

Hi vanilla,

Hehe, u can rest assure that no needles will b pokin u . U can look forward to yr 20th wk scan coz u will b able to spend more time lookin at yr little bb n by then, his growth will be measured by his weight rather den the length.

Ohh.. finally we have a little prince among us.. happi happi

Hi happie

Ya my detailed scan will be in June...seems a long way to go.

Haahaaa gynae told hubby & me not to buy any bb clothes yet, until he confirmed the gender again next mth.

Hi Vanilla,

June will be here soon. hee.
Understand wat yr gynae meant, there r cases where bb boy become bb girl coz wat they saw previously might b his finger not not his genitals. hehe. But if u wan, u can buy those unisex colour clothin first.

Hi catherine,

The bugaboo does seems pretty narrow but frankly speaking, it seems like the only pram which fits mi n my hubby criterias of sturdy, light and it oso look pretty gd. haha.But that day when i went to Harbour front mothercare, i saw one of the pram which is oso pretty sturdy , think th weight is round 8+kg, but i dun realli like the colour, grey. However i m still considering it.Can't realli remember the brand but i know its a germany brand, the price is round 1200+. Same as u , we wanted sturdy n yet light but it seems so diff to find. Haizz..stokke n quinny buzz are far too heavy for me n bugaboo cameleon is oso pretty heavy. End of the day i still think european brands seems more sturdy but yet the choice is sooo limited.

Hi happie

Ya...anyway me try to refrain from buying baby clothes 1st. Hahaaaa...btw, u know where to shop for nice and yet affordable bb clothes? I went kiddy palace. Oso not tat cheap either.

Hi Happie,

I'm most likely going to get the Orbit Baby. It's heavy, about 13kg, but hubby said since I drive so really not too big an issue. And better to be sturdy than light and flimsy. I didn't like the Stokke cos of the way it's folds. And to compare the weight of the quinny buzz and bugaboo cameleon, then might as well get the Orbit Baby.

hi vanilla,

i think mayb u can try online, like baby mallonline etc for rompers or when there is sales at taka or robinsons. I think cute baby clothing nowadays ain't really cheap unless u buy frm the neighbourhood shops, coz i've heard frm my fren that she bought quite a lot of clothin frm this shop at amk central, n its really cheap. But i wouldn't say it looks really gd. Hehe..

Hi catherine,
Orbit baby is pretty cool, i like the rotating function but the weight is so out of mine criteria, Though i'll drive too but i think if there is any steps in the shoppin mall, it would kill mi just to carry the stroller + the baby down especialy when bb grow bigger n heavier . hehe. Dats y for mi, its still a headache for stroller.

Hi happie,
Ya the only reservation I have is the weight. I also have been thinking about some of those steps in the malls.. Really stressful. But it seems that havent see anything else. I dont like the peg pergo type whereby they put the infant seat ontop of the pram like 2 in 1. I think it's abit bulky. Let's share what else is available and see if we can find our "ideal" pram. hahaha

Hi happie

Thanks...ya maybe mi 'sua ku' la..i never expect such a small piece of cloth cost like $7 - $12 per pc when i went kiddy palace yesterday.

Hi catherine,

I nv like the 2 in 1, it just seems so weird to me. hehe n besides that i'm sure its heavy. Guess we r the fussy ones. Haha. ya, let continue to scout around n if there is any better prams, lets share.

Hi Vanilla,

Hehe, Its like us adults, paying alot for veri little cloth. haha. But online do has veri cute n affordable clothings. U can scout around. Or if u have frens overseas like US, Australia n Shanghai, u can get them to buy for u.some r reallie cheap n the clothin there are cute too. My fren bought some clothes frm australia for my bb n they r real cute, as compare to sg. haha.

hello all,
peeping in for a short while...

just to share:-
im using lucky baby stroller.
1411833.jpg

something similar like this except the handle (for pushing stroller) is the other way. it's actually not bad other than it's quite heavy (to me), but like what catherine had mentioned, stroller is better to be have some weight, more stable. im not sure of the price as it was a gift.

as for baby clothes, some of them are preloved and most of them were bought by my mil (in fact, i saved more, wahahaha!). i only bought a few from kiddy palace and those stalls, quite cheap.

Hi all, hmm, seems like we have many newbies here.

missbluey, your elson's molar is sprouting? That's pretty early... My Linc only has 4 front teeth on the top and 2 front at the bottom at the moment. Must be having lotsa nutrients huh? ;)

Anyway, is he feeling better? Hope he has recovered from his fever and flu. I can imagine how it is when he is teething.

For those considering getting a breastpump, i strongly recommend investing in one manual and one electric pump. Manual is mobile and less noisy while electric is less tiring and convenient. If it is manual, either Avent or Medela is gd. If it is electric, Medela and Ameda are gd. I tried many pumps - Medela Swing, PIS, Ameda and Avent ISIS for electric. Still prefer Swing/PIS and Ameda for electric pumps. It is alright to get a single pump even though the other breast may leak. Single pumps are more manageable as your other hand can be free while expressing. I have Ameda but i never pump both breasts at the same time. Swing is quite delicate though as it comes with a tubing that may crack over time. There are also chances that your milk can back-flow into the tubing and your milk will go to waste. So there are pros and cons for all pumps lah. But in terms of efficiency, Medela/Ameda are both good. Can pump the same amt of milk in a short time.

As i travel for my work very often and is constantly on the move, i bring along my trusty Avent manual pump everywhere i go. It is also more discreet to use a silent pump in public toilets. The parts are also easy to clean. This u can do with electric pumps. That's why it will be gd if u have 2 types of pump - one for going out and one for home/office use.

Just wanna share my personal experience with the MTBs here as i know it can be quite hefty investing in a good breastpump.

You may not need to get a breastpump until u deliver actually as u can rent the bp from the hospital to try out first. You can decide on whether u need a pump or not after that and what type to get.

Hi Huggy,

I've asked the nurse. The class is app. 2hrs but if u have any questions, jus feel free to ask her coz like wat i mention, its one to one. If u have any other questions bout the class, just give her a call, oso, she recommended that its better to attend the class at 34wks. Hope its helps.