Any mummies feed their baby on expressed breast milk only?

phoebe - he still reject med ah? still got diarrhea or not? crystal is still 9.8kg leh..she oso put on 200g over a mth only..haii..

Hi Westbb, tuffy, and bitbit,

I saw in your posts back in 2005 that your babies had drinking problems. Like to ask you for some advice as my dd is going through the same problem the 3 of you described. Thank you.

Weight: 6.2kg (birth 3.17kg)
Diet: Total EBM

Problem: She used to drink 150ml when you was 3 months old. However when she reached 3 months+, she suddenly reduced her milk intake. At first she will cry when left with 20 ml. Now worst, sometimes doesn't even want to open her mouth to drink. She will cry and scream. But at times she will just finished at one short (very rare though). We have tried all sorts of methods e.g., changing teats, sitting at different locations, feeding her using different positions, on light, off lights, sing songs, rock her, dance in front of her etc...but none work.

Just like to find out if your babies are now better in their feeding and when will it get better? Is there any suggestion on what I should do? Thank you so much

Desperately need help...my Nat was biten by mozzie again last nite but this time round..its even wprst....her whole finger is swollen like pig hand cos got 4 bites.....and her foot also swollen cos got 2 bites...I have tried all method but still there r mozzie........any adv???

Any adv to make the swell go away fast??? I see Nat hand n leg i so heartpain and I very moody the whole day......till now the swell still as bad......

aiyo so heart pain to hear nat kana mozzi attack... got put zambuk on her bites? should help other than tt sorrie cant help much

hi ski, babies also have their own appetite.. there will be times when they just do not have the appetite. for your girl's weight, she's doing perfectly fine as she had doubled his birth even before reaching 6 months..
most importantly is not to use force.. maybe can try dragging her feeding time.

love, aiyoo.. poor Nat. did u apply mozzie cream? did u spray the room before bedtime?? have to be careful loh as its raining season, tends to have lots of mozzies..

as for the swells hor.. can try zambak cream. it will take some time to go off.. at least about 2 days..

ski - me gal oso on and off refuse milk..me already immune liao (now is i worry she not eating her porridge..arghh)..but of cos i still worry when it happens..you mention change teats..izit bigger hole or changing another brand? maybe you try both hor..cos for me i try so many teats and then found one she ok with..

love - crystal always swollen after bitten oso..super big kind..but i only apply tat zambuk..take quite long to go away..or u got see doc? maybe got more effective cream?

Nat bites are super big n swollen one ler....last time her swell not that bad....this time round is really very scary...look like those burnt hand lor....got a bit of blue black one.....so heart pain.....cant really apply cos its on her hand n finger wait she rub her eyes...I brought her to see doctor liao.....but think its not so effective ler the cream....

I did put those anti mozze patch...anti mozzie essence oil and anti mozzie switch kind but she still kena.....

crystalmum - I tried different teats also...pigeon, Nuk, Avent and also different hole size but all don't work
But I guess will have to try harder

Phoebe - I guess you are right...Some are big eater some are smaller eater. I sometimes very impatient, my wife is more patient with bb

Justen also have the same problem, that is after I start introducing Frozen EBM to him... His diet start to become bad to worse... Could it be due to the milk? As frozen milk have a kind of metalic smell that some of the BB don't like. Some of the BB here drink only chilli EBM. Or you try let her drink on the bed instead of carrying her. Maybe she don't like the body heat. Justen very troublesome we got to distract him with something while drinking, even now he don't drink from bottle at home he is drinking milk from straw.

hi ski, for my case, i think i found out that my boy didn't want to be carried while drinking, so we let him lie on a pillow on the mattress or mat to drink and he started to drink again! wierd hor? but got to watch him while drinking lah cannot just leave him there to drink alone. so far the occasional refusal to eat/drink usually pass quickly and has no effect. hope ur gal starts to drink more soon!

ski - how long your boi like tat? my gal has a period of few weeks her milk intake very low oso..so is jz a passing phase i guess..

ya lor could be frozen EBM..my gal oso dont like..so i gotta to give her the lower compartment one..cannot freeze..

tat time crystal refuse milk..gotta feed her when she half sleep half awake..

Poko - Her behavior still the same be it frozen EBM, chilled EBM or fresh EBM...Haiz, so young got "drinking problem" ;)

I think I will try what you and westbb suggested. Will put her on the bed to try.

Westbb - Thanks. I do hope this will pass soon

Crystalmum - She has been like that for almost a month liao.

SP really gone a long time leh... Didn't tell me how is her Penang trip too...
Ski how is it? Can your girl take the milk better...

Poko - Haven't try out the method yet. Last night came home too late so didn't want to experiment new things. Can I check if it is ok to put her on the bed to drink as she is only 4months+? Afraid she will choke leh.

Ski
You can try put a pillow if you afraid she will get choke. But for me I didn't. Just let him lay down on the bed and he drink with some distraction...

hallo ladies!

long time no post - been busy at work.
re milk drinking - I remembered my gal also went through that phase in her early months rejecting milk. At first, i warmed up her milk more and she liked it better. After a while, she started rejecting again. so just struggled on for a week or two (and change a million teats) and suddenly she is ok drinking again. hai... think it's just a phase. I know it is rather frustrating for a parent but sometimes it's hard to fathom the kid's wishes.

Alternatively, you can try feeding her in her car seat - this method still works wonders for my gal. hee hee. but expensive lah - cos now must factor in petrol.

As for now, she suddenly rejected her pigeon teat (the small one) which she has been using for months and we reverted back to nuk teats (which she rejected when she was younger). they are v fickle.

re eating - my gal also started rejecting her food. So I bought the type of plate which has different compartments (like army tray) and separated her staple from veges and meat. She likes it leh. Now she is quite happy spooning or picking up the food to eat on her own. We also concurrently feed her with another spoon - been working so far. I think she feels more empowered that way and it makes the meal more enjoyable. cm - perhaps you would like to try?

ski

Sometimes the prob is not in the milk, its the position of drinking milk, as they grow they might want other position of feeding, i remember tat Alden was rejected and we tried putting him on the bed to drink and he can finish his milk with the new position!

have to trial and error lor..or maybe its her growth spurt stage too.. they can make noise or throw temper for no reason de.

We tried putting her on the bed last night to drink. Although she seems more at ease but still won't finish the last 20ml. Is as if her tummy got sensor one. 20ml left then stop liao...Haiz...will continue to try today again.

tuffy - i tried to let her self feed..but hor kanna scolded by my mum leh..haii..say is messy for her lor..so revert back to feed her..so far she have improve lor..from a few spoons to half a bowl and sometimes got one bowl..so now not so bad..also i switching her over to pediasure so not so worried liao..

ski - 20ml is ok lah..at least got drink mah..

CM
Not true leh, the 1st time I express I only got 3 tea spoon, so 20ml left every feed very heat pain one leh... Even after my SS increase and Justen waste the BM I will get angry with him too... My ang waste my BM I angry too... Very emotional...

Yesterday and this morning, we tried putting her on the bed to drink and you know what? She finished all the way till the last drop and in a record breaking time of 6mins+. And for the first time after a long long while she finally knows how to cry for milk. I hope you will keep her drinking power this way
Thanks for all your advice ladies. Really appreciate it.

Ski

Do u mean tat everytime she nv cry for milk u still stick a bottle into her mouth? Must try to recognise her cries..

She cried for milk only when she was up to 3 months old. From then on, she can go without milk for many many hours without crying abit.

poko, u reminded me of the expressing days when every drop of ebm is like liquid gold!!! really our blood and sweat!! i would also get very heart pain with every drop of unfinished ebm and watching them kenna pour into the sink... goodness, i can't believe it i will be going through it all over again! *cringe in fear*

ski
Have u highlight this to her PD? Whats the advice?

Westbb
hehe.. u can even share the milk with Benwei! I wonder if he will suck from u anot.. kekee btw u can drink back yr milk if u want to mah :D

chenoa

I tried once.. one whole bottle of 150ml.. cos i left my ice pack in the office, and i went Orchard for dinner.. scared the milk gone sour.. so i drank it lor :p dun waste...kekee it tasted quite refreshing to me leh.. no after taste like cow milk :q

Fun - Yes. We highlighted this to the PD when she was 3months+ old. PD asked us to start her on solid but me and my wife not comfortable and would like to do that only when she turns 6months.

ski - so glad to hear your gal drinking liao..my gal oso pass the crying for milk period after first few mths..after that is always time to drink liao make her drink one cos she also never cry for milk..now oso dont..unless she wanna sleep..

din realise you are daddy..not mummy..haha..lucky we din tok abt you getting your gal to latch..keke..

poko - ya hor..i really forgot abt wasting the precious milk..hehe..cant imagine going thru again leh..

westbb - who knows your 2nd one will be able to latch on and you dont have to worry abt pumping leh!

wow ski, very rarely we have a father who is so concern abt bb's feeding ley... ur wife is so lucky!

fun, BW definitely will not latch!!! before i stop eexpressing, he already gave me a disgusted look whenever i offer him!! sad man....

cm, from the "success" of my expressing history, i think i will very fast give up trying to latch

crystalmum - hope that she will continue drinking like that lor...sometimes when she drinks, we really hold our breathe and heart like stop beating like that bcos so afraid that she will suddenly stop. Heng u never ask me to try latch on, otherwise i blur blur go and try then how? hehehe...

westbb - aiya, dnt make me face red leh...I just doing my part as a parent lor. I guess every father also concern about their children lah juz that some men express it in a different way. Btw, congrats to you.

My wife wants me to express her thankfulness to all of you here. She really appreciate the suggestions you provided.

westbb - ya lor ya lor..if my hub check it out here hor..will be to see i got join bp or spree or not..haha..

let's see if bw will 'compete' with didi/meimei to latch or not..hehe..

ski - yes yes! i oso got tat feeling! hold breathe and tink 'dont stop dont stop' actually now oso have tat kind of feeling when i feed (tat lazy gal 20mths liao still refuse to hold her own bottle..arghh) and also now her eating..i also hold my breath..dont know when she would juz shut her mouth tight and refuse to eat!

cm - good to hear that crystal is eating more now.
yah - self feeding is v messy. lucky my maid doesn't complain about it. But I still think it is good training loh - eventually have to self feed mah. unfortunately, the mess can't be avoided in the early stages.

ski - one thing you must be careful about feeding while lying down is that you should at least prop her head up a bit - just in case kena ear infection from drinking while lying down flat.

aiyoo..i wanna go and kok the wall..now she eating but not drinking her milk liao! yesterday whole day din finish milk..left 3 or 4 oz! this morning also..

cm, dun worry too much, crystal quite big liao, she can take most nutrients from solid food, as for milk, you can try add into cornflakes for her? or she can actually take fresh milk, buy those full cream pasteruised packet milk, maybe in a packet form she will guai guai finish, cos BW has got this mentality anything in packet form must be nice!! hehe.... recently i also bought the goat milk sweeties, BW likes it very much, my fren said every 10 (or 15?) sweeties is equivalent to one glass of milk u may want to try!

WestBB do you try the candy? Is it sweet? I got one can in my fridge from my sis IL, I afraid is too sweet so haven't open for Justen yet.

poko, yup i tried it's quite ok, can taste sweet lah but not too sweet. definitely not as sweet at those sweets we normally eat.

ski - I think it has something to do with the milk flowing back into the ears from the inside.

cm - I just brought my gal for 18m check up - doc says each kid different and some kids will drink more milk than others. So he doesn't seem concerned if kids drink less. maybe it is just a bad milk day for her... maybe can cut down a bit and see if she wants to eat other things? don't be stressed hoh - I kinda given up on my gal and just offer her milk at regular times. If she doesn't wanna drink, so be it loh.

harlow ladies!
still got so many familiar nicks around!

thought i will drrop a posting here since i am back to the good 'ol days of expressing!
for those of you who still remember me, i gave birth to a baby girl on 28 Dec 2006. She can latch but this mummy got such sore nips that i gave up. Now i am exclusively pumping again. haha..but this time more experienced liao... not so blur.

anyone still expressing?

cm, maybe you can make milkshake for crystal... i have not tried it myself...just a thought.

westbb, bw will be getting bm soon again! Angel is now on bm again!...yes! i have so much i can give two babies milk! so scary hor... or maybe i should say, angel is so lucky.

me everyday try to think of ways to cut down on the number of expressions a day! i tell myself, i shall target 6 months... sigh... i want some freedom back!!!

wat a surprised..

how are u, alm?? think those mummies which on EBM will still stick to the same old way hor.. i think for my no#2 will be the same coz in dat way i can gauge the amt that bb is taking.. hehe

still remember tat your output was a lot leh.. still have extra for yourself??? hehehehe

cm, i remember that i read some article about toddler eating habits.. there will be up and down on their appetite. dun worry too much as they won't starve themself..

cm-my little one also had a bad milk day yesterday. Gave her 120 each feedshe drank only half. We told ourselves that it's juz her lor... When she hungry she will drink one.

Tuffy-Thanks for the explanation. I'll make sure she has a pillow. Hopefully that helps.

phoebe, are you expecting number 2?
my hb wanted me to store up everything for baby but i freezer soon filled up in 2 weeks, so i give the extra to angel and even then still got 100 to 200ml extra every day... but i garang... dropped my 3am expression so dunno if my ss will be affected... last time 3 months then i dropped 3am pump, now 3 weks i cannot tahan liao.

alm, wah so nice to have so much milk, post some photos of your baby leh....

phoebe, you really sound like you are expecting ley... hehe

wow hehe second round of expectancy????? kekekee me still hv nt pop then pressure at wk increasing... felt like in a pressure cooker... sianz