Any mummies feed their baby on expressed breast milk only?

hi blueberries,
i beh tahan and went out to buy another pump and the faulty pump sent in for servicing. went without clearing my milk for more than 8 hrs and the block ducts came back and i have to endure another painful massage yesterday again.
now it's all cleared.. yeh!
the supply does not increase much but at least both my breast feel so much lighter.
LC said that it's quite common if baby does not latch on and mummy have to express out. she's encouraging me to latch on again and asked me to bring the baby in again for a training session but i would not need to massage la.. hehe

hi mummytobe,
pigeon bottle can fit but how many pigeon bottle that you need to buy? it's very costly if you buy all those bottles just to store your milk. i think u can go back to the hospital and ask the nurse to give those glass bottle to you..

blueberries, when u say u just keep them in fridge, do u wash them first? actually i scare over sterilising the pump and the parts will die out very fast... my bb only 4mths, but he is also putting everything in his mouth, including his soapy bath water, dunno how much he's been licking off my arms during his bath already!

I'm a mummy, thanks, i'll go grab some pigeon bottles!! hee..

Hi crystalmum,
I hv a moving target....6 mths gone, then 7 mths, 7 mths gone, then 8 mths. Like that, not so stressful. Initially, I'm like you....only want to bf up to 6 mths. Then 6 mths came, I felt so sayang to wean 'cos I took great pains (literally...hehe!) to establish bfg. So, I persisted and from then on, I just take day by day, month by month lor. Ya, ya, as what alittlemiracle say, when bb starts solid, not so stressful 'cos bm slowly becomes supplement. And you may not hv to pump so much.

Hi alittlemiracle,
yeah, my bb is 8 mths plus. She's a small eater. She only takes 1 solid meal for lunch, 1 fruit serving before her afternoon nap and a quarter piece of bread when she wakes up at abt 9am. Sometimes, we skip bread. If we go out and she sees us eating and she wants some, we will give her 1 biscuit....hehehe! V stingy with biscuits hor

Hi Phoebe,
aiyo...go back to clear block ducts again? Wah, you v daring to go back so soon after having just gone through the massage
. Go for the training...see whether they can get your bb to latch or not. Your bb is still young, maybe still got hope. But sometimes, bb after getting used to getting ebm in bottles, will find our flow too slow and will be v impatient, especially when 1st letdown is over and still waiting for 2nd letdown to happen.

Hi alittlemiracle & blueberries,
Huh...I think my target will be you gals..hehe..so u go on longer..me will too..haha..

Hi westbb,
Go get the empty glass bottles from the nursery at your hospital better..dont spend $ to buy the pigeon bottles..unless you really want plastic ones? btw when you delivered? my gal is also 4 mths..delivered on 16 May..36+ weeks only..but 3.11kg..my bb oso puts anything into her mouth now..so scary..

Anyone tried to latch on again after all the EBM and successful? huh..and how to get a 2nd letdown? how come i seem to have only one huh..

hi blueberries,
i really got no choice coz my whole left breast was painful, can't even massage. coz when u do it yourself, u tends to hold back your strenght mah.. hehe

baby is going to be a month old already, maybe will bring baby there by this week. i can never imagine going out if baby is on EBM. will try my best to get baby to latch on..

crystalmum, can just go and get bottles from them ah? my boy is only 1 day younger than ur gal 17 may! delivered him at MAH, what about you? my boy now drools tons and likes to stuff his fingers into his mouth, and he got lots of "pimples" on his face, clean and clean still like that haiz...

phoebe, last time i also v scare of feeding bb with EBM when outside, always use formula instead. but after trying with EBM, it's actually okay, especially if u know when ur bb is going to feed, u can warm up the milk in advance so it's not that troublesome afterall. of course best is still latch on lah, hope u can succeed!

Hi westbb,
We may have met at MAH! I delivered there too..mine is c-section..so I was definitely still there if yours is a normal delivery (if you have went for those 'lessons' we definitely have met)..hehe..who is your doc?
Ya..you can just go to the nursery and get the empty bottles from them..but the last time i went they told me to call first..just in case there are no more bottles..My gal oso like to eat her hand...always take it out but she still puts it in..haii dont know what to do oso..now she see strangers...cry like dont know what..even my dad carries she cries...is yours like that now?

Last time I oso scare of feeding bb with EMB outside, but now with the cooler bag with ice brick (only got it after i start working)..i not so worried that the EMB will go bad..cos tat is like a minifridge..but still gotta bring along a cup and hot bottle flask to warm it up..huh..actually still very troublesome...haha..latch on still better hehe...
Anyone knows where can get those pre-prepared formula bottles? do they sell those what the hospital are using to feed the babies? what brand is there around? have not start on formula yet but asking for future use..

can I check with you whether it is ok to freeze the EBM after it has been in the lower part of the fridge for less than 48 hours?

Hi westbb,
Oh i didn't realise that you want to use them to store the EBM. I tot you wanted to pump into the bottle directly to feed baby immediately heh.

in that case, why don't you transfer your EBM from the ameda containers and pour into milk storage bags or cups like the avent via cups? what i did was pump and store in via cups.

crystalmum, yup i think we've met! cos i went to all the classes leh! i remember got quite a few c-section mummies cos the trainer always like to ask who is c-section/normal delivery. my doc is hk ho, same??
i'll give my boy teether or hankies to munch but sometimes he'll "throw" them away and prefer fingers! it's good that u gal can now differentiate familiar vs unfamiliar faces, that's another cognitive development achievement! also shows that she is emotionally well-attached to her main caregivers. my boy still not v obvious yet, my hubby just returned from 1 week biz trip and initially when he carried him he'll be like a bit unhappy but my hubby insisted that it's not true! haha.

tuffy, my friend did that, she will freeze those chilled milk approaching 48 hrs. i've not tried though.

i'm a mummy, acutally i need both lah hehe. i am also considering using via cups to store now, running out of space and bottles!

hi westbb,
i tot warm up EBM can only last for 1hr? my baby feeding time varies. sometime he wakes up after 2hrs even after consuming 120ml or he might wake up after 3hrs. it's very hard for me to catch his feeding timing loh.. so hopefully this friday will be a fruitfull trip to the LC.. ;)

Hi Tuffy,
I remember reading somewhere that we should not freeze milk after we left it in the fridge or if it is chilled already..

Hi westbb,
My doc is hk Ho too! hehe..i remember you..u are the other couple (your hub with you rite?) who kanna 'called back' to the ward cos doc ho was doing the runs while we were still in one of the breastfeeding class? i am the other patient..hehe..imagine letting doc ho wait for us! cos usually is we gotta wait for him at his clinic...

Hi blueberries/alittlemiracle,
How did you adjust 4 pumpings to 3 pumpings? What is the timing like for your 3 pumps?

Is it true that sterilising the pump everytime after use will wear out the parts faster? cos now i still faithfully sterilise after use...which is 4 times a day...

hi phoebe, if bb's timing is irregular then it will be harder to catch loh. u mean once he wakes up u'll feed him? maybe he wakes up not becos he's hungry but had slept enuff?

crystalmum, oh oh oh!!! i remember that!! yes yes my hubby with me, he said he's the best hubby in the world cos only he accompanied wife to those classes!! haha.. i also remember when i walked to my room, dr ho was standing outside my room waiting for me and he looked at me walking back, i felt so stressed and started to walk faster. then he commented that from the way i walked seems like i'm recovering v well, his stitches must be good!! haa

i've the same concern on parts wearing out fast, so now i sterilise twice a day (pump 4 times per day). other times i wash with bb bottle detergent and rinse with boiled water. so far bb seems no complaints.

hi crystalmum,
ya i also heard that steam sterilizing too much will cause wear and tear faster. So i steam sterilize once a day only. rest of the time, i use sterilizing tablets.

hi westbb,
he's only 3 weeks old, so sleep most of the day. i dun feed him once he wakes up but only when he cry for his milk... it's so tiring coz i also dun get much sleep due to his iregular feeding time.... sigh...
any idea whether we can put the thawed milk back into the fridge?

i think it's best to freeze milk you think it's excess immediately. The many literature on storing milk varies. Some say can keep EBM in fridge for up to 48 hours, others say can tahan for up to 5 days. i generally try to use up within 48 hours. Usually, i just make sure there is enought milk in the fridge at all times for at least the next 2 to 3 feeds when baby was feeding between 6 and 10 times a day.
Frozen milk can take some time to thaw and baby may not have patience to wait when she is hungry...

In the first few months when my husband thought EBM was precious commodity, we used to keep the milk that baby could not finish back into the fridge... but i think the rule of thumb is that once milk is contaminated by baby's saliva, must be thrown away....so phobe, if the thawed milk haven't touch baby's mouth, i think should be ok to put back in fridge, but try to use it asap.

i din know too much sterilising can wear put parts man! i used to sterilise avent pump after every use and with my Medela PIS, i sterlise once a day (also the recommendation by Medela)

crystalmum,
my schedule for 4 times was: 6am, 11am, 5pm, 10pm
my schedule for 3 times was: 7am, 2 pm, 10pm

oh, and mummies, when i go out with baby, i try to express just before going out and then i keep this EMB for her next feed coz freshly expressed EBM can keep for up to 4 hours without chilling. This was when baby was around 4 months or so.

Hi westbb,
I must say his stitches is really good leh..his nurse told me his patients no need painkillers..i on c-section..next day can walk around liao..u normal delivery? so u seeing terrance tan for your bb? he is very good!

Too much sterilising will cause wear and tear faster huh...must cut down on that then..thanx for sharing...

hi alittlemiracle,
I am also using the PIS but it is a hand me down so I don't have the instructions. So can I check that it is recommended that it be sterilised only once a day and the rest of the time can just wash? I wonder what's the reason though - shouldn't everything that comes into contact with the milk (esp the membrane) be sterilised before feeding the bb with it?

thanks for the tips on storage. I hear that ebm that is thawed from the freezer is not as good as those that are in the frige - is that true? That was my impression so I have been just expressing and feeding within 48 hours. But lately because of low supply, have been latching on more frequently and so some of the milk is expiring soon...

BTW, do any of your bb go through a stage where they suddenly drink less milk? mine has been taking 4 oz for awhile and all of a sudden, she is only willing to take 2.5 to 3 oz. not sure that's the reason - am worried...

phoebe, u reminded me of myself when my bb was less than 1 mth old... initally when i came back from hospital i felt so glad that i've got a "3-hr baby"... then soon he started to cry and fuss every 1-1.5 hr for milk! that period of time really drove me crazy and extremely tired!!! but hang on gal, it will only get better ok!!

i read from BMSG that once thawed the milk can be kept in fridge for 24 hrs only and not to keep any milk left after a feed, it must be discarded.

crystalmum, yeah i also heard that his stitches are v well-known. i'm on normal delivery. yah we brought bb to see terence tan for his 1 week checkup. he's good and patient but his queue is extremely loooong.. there is even not enough seats for waiting parents!! so now we see another paed liao...

tuffy, there was a period when my bb drink v little, and we can even see that he become less chubby.. until one fine day we realised that it's because the milk has a metallic smell and taste and he doesn't want that! when we change to fresher milk he can drink more liao!!

hi westbb - how come the milk has metallic smell? i haven't tried my own bm.. feels weird leh. but guess if that may be a cause of her rejection of the milk, then no choice...

hi tuffy,
the medela instructions says sterilise once a day is sufficient. i dunno what the reason might be for it. I baby had no adverse reactions

The longer you store the milk, the less antibodies and good enzymes it has so i suppose on this principle, the frozen milk (assuming it is kept longer than the milk inthe fridge) will have less of these goodies. However, i saw a tv programme, it said that FM has even way less of these goodies than frozen EBM!

At one time my milk monster baby was drinking so much milk, then there will be days when she only wanted 3/4 of this amount, sometimes less. I think babies have a way of regulating their milk intake...so dun worry too much.... i also like you ...baby drink too much also worry, drink too little also worry... the worries like never ending...

hi aliitlemiracle,
heh heh - you are right - as mothers, we are constantly worrying. My hb said the same thing about me - when bb sleeps too much, I think she is too tired. When she doesn't sleep much, I think I am not producing enough milk to satisfy her.

re establishing milk supply
I see this phrase quite often but what does it really mean? does anyone know? I also read that the milk production is quite constant for the first few months (even though the amount the bb consumes increases over time) - but if the bb doesn't need so much milk at the beginning, why would the body produce that much? *confused*

Hi Tuffy,
My gal oso took a lot less milk at her 2nd month..she use to drink about 80ml every 2 hours during the 1st and suddenly 100ml every 3 or 4 hours sometimes even 5 or 6 hours! there was once over 10 hours! i was so worried! took her to the pd but he say the total consumption per day (abt 500ml plus) is still acceptable...now at 4 mths, her drinking starts to pick up again..now about 700ml plus...babies have their moods..so now i not so worried if she takes less now..

Or you may wanna check the teat u are using? It may be too small? does your bb cry when drinking (mine does)..so I change to a bigger hole and she was much better. But then, my naughty gal suddenly decided that she prefers NUK to Avent teat at 3 mths (just simply refuse to drink from the avent teat but when we change to NUK teat..she finish up the milk)...i gotta buy the standard bottles instead as I bought quite a number of Avent 260ml bottles to 'stock' up at the sales..haiiii...

Hi westbb,
I will definitely go back to Dr Ho for the 2nd one..(er..if any)..Ya..agree Dr Tan's queue is really looooong..there was once i went there at 11am..reach home only at 3pm!
Just remembered...did your hubby attend all the lessons with you or sometimes alone? i remember seeing this daddy doing it..tot so nice of him supporting the wife like tat!...hehe

My gal oso dont like the thawed milk cos got this 'metallic smell'..so i no choice always give her chilled ones..now dont know what to do with the frozen ones...not many but still store here and there cos see them go to waste a bit heartpain..

Hi alittlemiracle,
Now i pumping 4 times a day...the last one also abt 10 or 10.30pm and the next at 6am..hehe can sleep more hor..how much you pump per day? supply still the same after 9mths? heard that supply will reduce after a few mths of pumping..will it suddenly drop drasticly or gradually? a bit worried cos my gal is totally on EBM..not supplementing anything yet..

crystalmum,
when i was pumping 4 times a day, i got about 850ml a day. So when i cut down to three times, i got between 800 and 850ml a day. When i first reduce the pumping sessions, i try not to reduce the amount coz will get clogged ducts.

But ever since my baby started on solids, she dun need so much milk, so i reduced the amount i express out.

I think supply reduce after a few months of pumping insofar as you allow it to happen. If ou still want to pump out 800ml a day, your body is capable of it as long as you continue with the usual number of sessions and empty the breasts. I think usually, supply fall because babies on solids and mummies dun need to pump so much mah!

Now, at 81/2 months i express about 650ml a day. It's a little short of my baby's appetite of 680ml. Using up the frozen stock loh!

If your babes dun like frozen milk, can also trick them by mixing the frozen with the chilled milk
that means you need to freeze in smaller quantities. i used to freeze in bags of 50ml. Very sayang if dun use up the milk...all the time and effort.

tuffy,
resetablishing milk supply are for mothers who previously Bf, then have to stop for one reason or other...supply whould have fallen or disappear..so they try to encourage breasts to produce milk again by other latching baby or using breastpumps to re establish the supply. i hear it is vrey difficult to do this but no impossible.

i think in the beginning, your body does not know how much milk your baby needs so it just keeps producing...that is where baby's suckling comes into play... how often baby suckles/latch will help your body adjust to the demand/supply balance. But in our cases, our babies dun latch, then it's up to the expressing mummies to decide i guess. So if mummy expresses more, body makes more milk! Likewise, mummy can also cut down, thne body makes less milk.
Does this make any sense?

hi westbb,
it's getting on my nerves coz each time baby cry, i wanted to cry also esp these few days hubby not around and i have to take care of the baby all by myself..

plus all those irregular waking up and crying non-stop for his milk.
last night i brought baby out to hospital in the middle of the night coz he feels warm and i've no idea whether it's fever or not since i dun have a thermometer at home but lucky he's alright. those nurses there kena shocked coz i'm all alone with the baby and even more shocked when i told them i came by taxi.. hehe
even tho it's a wasted trip but at least i have peace of mind knowing that baby is not having fever.. haha

aiya, i got block ducts again!! so s-i-a-n !!! i can feel the lump throbbing pain as i type! urgh

tuffy, i'm not sure why got metallic smell too, maybe i didn't handle the milk v well while storing so the milk sort of acquire some smell from the fridge... that time i threw away quite a lot of milk, so heart pain. i even force my hubby to taste the milk to make sure really got wierd taste! haha

crystalmum, me too will go back to him for 2nd one (hope to have! hee) i think my hubby attended the breastfeeding one and some others? i can't remember leh, but not every lesson lah. ur frozen milk hor maybe can try mix with chilled ones as suggested by alittlemiracle, i just freeze a bottle of milk to see if my bb still hates it or not hehe.. I'll try mixing too.

phoebe, poor mummy, when is ur hubby coming back? i can understand how tiring it is to handle bb whole day alone! during the early days, many times i also cry whenever bb not 'co-operative'! i guess these are the "hurdles" many new mummies will face. Glad to know ur bb is ok now, u must also take care ok. come here and vent lor if u are frustrated

westbb,
hubby coming back tonight and will take over the night shift.. finally can get some rest ;)
i also cry the other day whenever baby cries, so afriad that i might get post-natal depression.. haha
this is only the beginning, can't imagine how to cope when i'm back to work after my maternity. daytime working and night time taking care of baby.
your block ducts so serious? aiyo.. u better take care loh. did u get your baby to latch on or you're solely expressing out? the LC told me that i'm common to have it if baby not latching on, so it's best to get baby to latch on loh.. btw, how old is your bb?

Phoebe,
How come you all by yourself? Aren't you still in confinement? Or am i mistaken? lucky your hubby coming back tonight to rescue you...!
In the first month, i was also very depressed... my hubby thought i was sure to go into postnatal depression. I simply could not cope with the feeding, diapering, pumping, washing routine...and that is just the baby part, have not considered time for myself like eating, bathing etc.... very jia lat... that's why i had to succumb to getting a helper...sigh....

but i think it's especially bad for first time mothers in the first month...after that it gets better...just like pumping!

westbb,
massage the lump away!

Hi Phoebe,
Me too! u are not alone!..so scare the baby will cry and I remember everytime she sleep during the first few mths..er..i sort of wish she dont wake up so fast and cry especially when I am alone..during the first month when confinement lady went out for a while and I was so lost..heng she slept through..hehe..till now i also dont know what to do when she cries..8P..westbb's bb is 4mths hehe..cos mine too as we met at MAH where we delivered one day difference...i tink she a few wards away from mine only..
you getting any help when you work? i got no choice but to get a maid cos my mum does not know how to take care of babies..

Hi westbb,
Think i will also try again for the frozen milk...i did not keep many bottles..i going to try latch her on this weekend again and see if it works...a bit too late i know but just try and see...hehe..

hi crystalmum
just went to pd today - he says bb a little on the small side. sigh.. given vit supplements. She complained like crazy when I added it to the ebm. do you mind telling me what's the wt of your little one? the pd worked out the ideal amount of milk per day based on the bb's wt. mine is 720 ml per day.

hi alittlemiracle,
thanks for the info! now I majorly regret not being more diligent in latching on the bb in the first few weeks. sigh... thought need to rest well mah - so always never latch her on at nite. sometimes in the day, also lazy cos got sore nipples.

hi westbb,
you poor thing - I hate blocked ducts. I think I have having one again. also v sian.. just bought a gerber hot compress and am using it now - feels quite comfy though no sure how effective it is.

hi alittlemiracle,
hubby outstation and i do not have a confinement lady with me. i'm still in confinement but has been going out for a few times already.. hehe
baby was hospitalised 5 days for jaundice and i've been going every day to visit him, follow by going to the LC twice by myself.
so scared of doing my own stuff and scared baby will be neglected when he cry.. do not know where to get the courage to have a second baby.. ;)

hi crystalmum,
i've a maid at home but no one to supervise the maid. dare not leave the baby alone at home with just the maid. i'm thinking of leaving baby in infant care centre.

Hi Tuffy,
My gal now at 4 mths and her weight is 6.1kg...she was 5.5kg at 3 mths..tink she is average..and doc say her growth is ok..what is your bb's weight and how old is she? I oso regret not latching her on..but she really stress me out crying at my breast..

Hi Phoebe,
i also dare not leave baby alone at home with just maid so i bring them to my mum's place when I work. initially I wanted to leave baby at those ntuc infant care but it is really expensive! at least $1k! in the end i thought a maid can do the housework so at least weekends i can spend time with my gal and dont need to worry about housework.

hi crystalmum
my gal just turned 2 months. currently she is 4.8kg. Birth wt 2.93kg. I know what you mean by the stress - also din help that I am not one of those who are blessed with lots of milk to begin with.

re quality of milk
sometimes when I pump, I noticed that the hindmilk is rather thin and not that creamy. Do you gals know what food I should take to make it more creamy?

mummies who are trying to latch their babies,
when my baby was 3 months plus, she showed signs of wanting to latch...like when she cried and needed to be comforted, she was only calmed at the breast...i thought that was the beginning of something good...then the sore nipples came, then i got a LC to come help me...then it became really painful to feed girl, i was so scared everytime it was feeding time man.... LC told me not to give up...but the pain was too much to bear...then by which time, expressing was not so much of a chore and was definetely easier...then baby suddenly also dun want breast anymore...cry and cry,dun want to latch. So mummies, some of your babies may eventually latch although they did not at first.

The other day, I itchy itchy nothing to do, go and try latch my baby girl for fun, hwah...boy am i glad i am not breastfeeding....she prompty sank her 2 sharp teeth into my breast.... i told myself i am glad to have my medela....that does not bite!

phoebe,
me like you also go out during confinement
my baby also hospitalised for jaundice. me went to taka in the 3rd week...so sian to be at home...i know what you mean when you say so scared to do own stuff....i used to take a shower in less than 5 mins...gobble down my food...er,,,what food? when my mother went back to work after confinement, i had fererro rocher and sausages for lunch! It was horrible! Now got maid, then life is better.

tuffy,
not sure if it matters if the milk is not creamy...my best friend's hindmilk was always thin and bluish.

Hi Tuffy,
My gal is 3.11kg at birth...delivered at 36+ weeks..cant imagine how big she will be if full term...heng she decided to see mama earlier..but then i c-section..doesnt really matter though hehe..
Sometimes i also notice my milk is quite thin..was wondering is cos i had too much water that dilute it???

Hi alittlemiracle,
I remembered when in the hospital..so scare to hear the sound of the 'bb trolley' cos tat means they pushing the bb for me to feed..when the trolley pass by my room..i was like whew..hehe..you using the medela dual pump? i am using the single one and avent manual..so quite tiring on one hand...gotta return the medela pump to my friend in a few months cos she is due then..considering to get a new one. how much is yours?

hi crystalmum,
haha...me also very scared to hear the trolley, especially in the middle of the night! After using the electric pump, i could not bring myself to go back to my avent manual... i paid 599 or thereabout for my meduala PIS.

TGIF!!

woohoo.. manage to clear the blocked duct yesterday! instant relief! i was telling a friend that everytime a painful blocked duct is cleared, the feeling is better than getting epidural! haha.

phoebe, guess u had a good nite sleep last nite cos hubby back liao! i'm solely expressing, no more latch liao. i also went out a few times during confinement, my hubby thinks i'm going too stress at home so he bring me out a few times, but always need to rush back to express or feed bb one lor. i even went to Motherhood fair to grab diapers! hehe

crystalmum, good luck to your latching this weekend
btw why u go for c-section uh?

re latching, i tried to latch bb a couple of times cos trying to 'make use' of him to clear block ducts, and both times he will give me a "what-is-this-thing-in-my-mouth" look and then bite on my nipple and at the same time pull away! *OUCH!* i never dare to try again liao...

tuffy, so the compress works?

re quality of milk - mine freshly expressed milk also thin and bluish leh... not good ah?? but after i chilled it, it will separate into three layers, the topmost part is creamy thick thick one.

crystalmum:
my gal was also delivered 16 May at MAH! also c-section.. and i am also unable to latch bb on, so been giving her EBM up till now. Looks like we've got lots in common!

westbb:
i also just managed to clear a blocked duct tis morning.. wah the feeling is really great - the sudden burst of milk flowing out.. heehee!

hi crystalmum,
i've got no choice since my mum is not here. i guess it's either i leave him at infant care or find a babysitter..

hi alittlemiracle,
hubby not letting me go out too often coz i'm on confinement. he's afraid about those myth that he heard from those aunties.. haha
i'll be free soon since baby is coming to a month old already.. my confinement jail term is going to be over soon.. hahaha

hi crystalmum,
i've got 2 medela mini pump. are you interested or you planning to get a new one? a new one cost ard $150

hi westbb,
glad to hear that you've cleared your block ducts..

yah, i finally get to sleep for a few hrs without interruption.. haha
but my poor hubby kena bully by his son and didnt get to sleep for whole night, he's now sleeping soundly.. hehe
guess he's not used to taking care of him after he's been away for almost 2 weeks.
i'll get to go out later..yeah!
will have to visit LC to help latching baby and also going to get those voucher for bb first month celebration on this sunday...

mummies using Ameda, have u tried using the pump with rechargable batteries? The pump doesn't "on" when i use rechargable ones, but ok if i use normal batteries, v wierd leh. i even recharge all the batteries to full liao.

phoebe, 1st mth liao, congrats! bb will grow v fast from now on... and demanding even more milk from you.. scaring you

westbb, really uh?
in fact i just bot rechargeable batts yest to use for my ameda.. my batts still charging. will try and feedback to you.

hi alittlemiracle,
Ya ya!! esp in the middle of the night..i can still remember the fear till now! hehe

hi westbb,
Now i tink of weekend to latch her on..oso scare..haha...but gotta try lah..maybe let her wear a mask so wont wet her whole face AGAIN..hehe..i went thru c-section cos tat naughty gal's head was at the side! not up or down..and i got high blood pressure during the last trimester..so ex! gotta see doc every week and take blood test...heng she come out earlier so i pay less as the initial stage i oso gotta take injection twice every week cos i got bleeding..doc ho oso say tis is a precious baby (maybe i shd call her diamond not crystal..hehe)..but then..see her grow each day..every cent is worth..

hi jas03,
We must have met too! like westbb...did u attend the lessons? which room were you in? skarly same room dont know is you..hehe..i m at ward 327B..huh...i remember walking pass a ward nearer to the nursery..hearing the sound of the motor of the pumps..could it be you? i was thinking to myself then..just like me..need to pump out milk..how heavy is your gal now? my gal is still botak...yours leh?

hi phoebe,
I intend to look around this weekend and compare the prices then decide to buy or not..you selling yours?

hi crystalmum
Wah! your bb is really big.
I heard from my friend that we shouldn't drink too much water cos that would affect the milk. But normal 8 glasses should be ok.

hi westbb
not sure how useful the hot compress is leh. only used it once. but when I do use it, it is quite comfy.

just finished another pumping session! always feel physically lighter after a pump

crystalmum, i'm in room 328B, just next door! i find the room v far from the nursery, every time got to walk v far. did u shave ur gal's hair? my boy's head is v patchy now, we have not shaved him yet, still comtemplating whether to do it or not. everytime i ask my hubby he'll say "dunno leh"

Hi Westbb,
hehe..just next door..got hear my bb cry at night or not? so paiseh when she did that..ya the nursery so far..i gotta walk so long then reach the nursery after pumping the milk to pass to nurse to feed my gal.

Aiyo..this hair problem oso headache for me..my gal has very little hair..so patchy too..i kept changing my mind..to shave or not to shave..hehe..cos if shave the hair will come out thicker but i tot gal, hair should be finer mah..but then if dont shave so botak..also in a dilema..but if boy hor..frankly i would shave liao cos boy botak ok..hehe..

last nite i tried to latch her on..she is like..'huh, wat is tis too..head kept turning here and there then start crying'..tis morning got good chance but i forgot and went to pump out my milk liao...haiii..so much for trying..
how much your boy drinking now? how heavy is he?my gal is taking abt 6.5oz every 4 hrs..

crystalmum/westbb:
i was in ward 331, also at far end, hv to walk down the whole coridor to nursery. we were quite close huh! but at that time me pump & pump, got no milk leh. just abit of colustrum, me use finger scope out from pump funnel and put in bb mouth.. pathetic hor?

not sure if my gal still wants to latch on liao.. i got a fren, her gal reject her breast.. but at 4th mth, want to latch on. so good hor?

i only attended the baby bathing lesson.. there were 3 other couples there, not sure if they were u all !!

hi westbb,
thanks.. seems like baby is crying for no reason these few days, me very headache. he also has lots of wind and his little tummy is so bloated.. poor boy. guess there's more challenge coming up with baby growing each day. lesser sleep and more crying...

brought baby to LC yesterday and he got no problem latching on but when i reach home everything is back to the same problem. he simply can't latch on and keep on crying. really losing hope in latching bb on and am thinking of giving up feeding him with breast milk..sigh

hi crystalmum,
yup, i'm selling one of the pump but not brand new tho and only used leass than 3 weeks. both pump has been used before, coz the other pump was sent for servicing. still come with warranty. let me know if you're interested, planning to let go at $80

Phoebe, dun give up.. if bb can do it at the LC, then he can latch on one.. jia you ok!!

try ru yi oil or put few drops of infacol in his milk to prevent too much wind.

hvg a block duct again. this time i notice some white milk stain on nipple that cant be washed off. i read i think in earlier post, to clear this by using pin or something?? (EEKS!!) is it true? sigh....