Any mummies feed their baby on expressed breast milk only?

Kaelynn

1451963.jpg

natmum - so sweet..her posture so good!

cheona - cant remember the consulation fees at kk..a year ago liao..i go in jun then tell u..hehe..anyway hor..i was referred to kk by pediaoptix lor..cos they say crystal has 600 degrees astig leh..but heng the accurate method measures only 200 astig lor..if not crystal may need to do patch or wat..

fruitiesnuts - remember to bring a container to put the hot water..last time i bring those metal 'ti gong'..keke..a bit auntie..

Hi Poko & crystalmum,

Thanks for your advice.
If i bring my own hot water in those vaccum flask, will it be hot enough?
How long will it take to heat up the milk?

fruitiesnuts
You can try at home to see how long it take also depend on how hot your bb like. I don't make it too hot for my girl. Just slightly warm can liao. BTW can also bring frozen milk if your bb okie with it like that don't need to bring ice block.

cheona - hers is one eye only so will develop into lazy eyes..so the patch is to put over the good eye so the 'bad' eye will 'work'..ya tink astig cannot correct one..but she was too young to make any correction yet..so doc say to observe lor..

happymum - tink will have to leave with it liao hor..hehe..

Fruitiesnut - works for me..usually manage to warm it up..how long to warm up guess depends on how hot is your hot water and how warm u wan the milk to be ba..your bb how old?

caymon

where is cay learing ballet?? Nat learing at crestar...

Ya kaelynn is chubby...but I like...hehe...

It's really nice to hear from everyone.
All the talk about expressing and live demo sure brings back wonderful memories. My no. 2 is already 1 years old! can't believe how quickly time flew by. still din managed to bf cos our friend refused to latch properly (of course I blame him lah. kekeke). after trying for 3 months or so, gave up. Still expressing for him exclusively - trying to reduce to 2 pumps a day. not v successful leh. Yesterday was surfing the net at nite and suddenly found 2 giant patches on my pj. sigh... had to stop surfing and go pump milk.

re eye test - is it customary to undergo this test? I have no clue about this...

anyone planning for no. 3? kekeke.

<font color="0000ff">Hello Tuffy!</font> So long din see you here.

The eye test is not complusory but encouraged to help detect lazy eyes and crossed eyes. Your no. 2 now 1 yr old, should be entitled to a free screening. Your child's PD Dr Keoy issit?

I also intend to let YY start tots ballet next year. Browsed onepa and see that very few CC offer tots ballet, location and timing also out...hopefully next yr will got more classes. <font color="0000ff">Natm, how much is Crestar charging? </font>

tuffy - you MIA so long..keke..u sure wonderful memories ah? haha..u planning for no. 3? the eye test that time is free thats why i went..hehe..not 'customary' lah..but lucky i went lo..if not i wont be able to know crystal's eye condition.

CM - there are times when my mind is cloudy, I will think "how nice it is to see all the kids play together". but most of the time, it is like "oh my goodness, I am going to pass out from fatigue".
How are you feeling right now? in 3rd tri already?

chenoa - he went for some screening a few months back - hmm.. forgot whether there is supposed to be a follow up. alamak, this mummy here very blur. wah! you got v good memory - can still remember the name of my PD! I will ask him the next time I see him about my gal's eyes.

I see!
nowadays his TMC queue quite short (compared to his bishan clinic). So quite happy with that. don't think he feels the same way though. haa haa.

Chenoa

U intend to let no 1 or no 2 learn ballet??
U can go crestar web to take a look...they have many branches ler...

Tuffy...u planning no 3 liao???so fast?

tuffy
mine #4 le leh... when ur #3 coming ah.... hehehe

toking abt astig... jj n jh both hv lor... jh bo cure le... jj still got chance to reduce.....

nat mum
nat learning ballet at crestar ah... think u better reconsider chnaging her ..... crestar ballet not so gd leh.... later learn the wrong thg..... jx also learning ballet... last time frm crestar also.... very jialat teacher

i have slowly reduced my pumping times as i need to go back work soon. But i have breast engorgement now. Have a small lump on my breast for quite some time but still can't clear. What should i do?

Also, what is the ideal pumping schedule for a working mum?

Do you all pump for 30mins then stop even though can't acheive the usual amount? Or u still pump even after 40mins to get the amount?

happymummum
You need to massage real hard to clear it push it towards the nipple...

I pump twice in my office 1 time before lunch and around 4pm... I think the pump schedule need to depend on your work too. Whether you have the flexibility to do it as per your plan.

I will pump to get what the amt I need will not follow the 30min time line.

sheris

y u say that?? my fren ger learning from crestar they all say ok ler?? anyway I just let her have fun only lor...I also dun know if she learn correct or wrong....

Do we have to pump at the same timing everyday?
As we pump at during the same timing, after a while, will it be faster to finish pumping? As in last time we need 30mins, now only 20mins will do.

sheris and nat,
re no. 3 - I just came back from a short holiday with my gal - damn tired. can't imagine travelling with two. much less three... hai.. think I cannot tahan 3 leh.. though won't it be fun to watch them all play together and grow up together? sheris - how you do it!!?? #4! peng san...

I just had my boy and 1st time doing bf by expressing. Cant latch on cos I think I dun know how to position him properly so it hurts!! Keen to continue to express, but faces mixed feelings cos of night wakes due to engorgement (need to pump even if baby is not awake) and hassle during outings in future. Esp when I didnt do any breast feeding my elder girl at all. And manual pumping is taking a lot of time away from my kids.... I feel guilty when the elder ask me to play and I have to pump...

Love to hear from experienced mummies...

1) How do you mummies deal with engorgement when going out?

2) Do you have to wake to pump? I feed my son on formula at night.

3) Currently using Avent ISIS. Care to share if the Uno electric is good? Does an electrical pump reduces time in pumping? I can take up to 30mins to pump 100ml. Is it "normal"? Or an electrical pump can cut the time short or produce more yield?

4) Any other tips to share?

Hi Linda

I can fully understand the guilt trap of neglecting your elder gal. When I had my second baby, I felt the same too. Cos the boy was always on my breast. But I ahve learnt that kids are highly adaptable too. They will fuss for a while but when they realise that its not getting anywhere they will give up. To ease things, I got her a baby and we nurse together. I avoid pumping too and feed direct. And also, I determined to learn to nurse with ease even if we are outside. I used a baby carrier and made my own apron. Just whip up the apron, place baby is carrier..unhook my b**, and baby feeds dicreetly while i lay my eyes on my gal while she plays and talks to her.

And to answer your qns
1) I just keep latching my baby under the apron and knead my breast at the same time. Usually I cannot last long outside with an engairged breast. SO try to go home, fill up a milk bottle with more-warn water and roll on the brest. This helps much for me.

2) Yes, i did. Did a last pump at 11pm or 12. Then sleep with baby, so he could nurse in the early hours.

3) I used Avent Manual for the second child and I liked it. To make pumping faster, I actually tendum pump. I feed one side and express the other. Cos baby will help stimulate flow with me having to do much. Up to a point, I yield about 160ml from just one side and he empties the other...kill 2 birds together.

4) try tendum pump. It really helps.

Hi dingdong
Thanks for your advise. Guess me and the elder are all adapting to the younger one. Just kills me when my girl goes "can you play with me?" Sigh...

You are an expert in bf. I could never feed nor pump with one hand. haha... Basically, I cant latch him on cos he nipple sucks and that was also the reason why I didnt bf my girl in the first place. So I am determined not to let history repeat itself by pumping exclusively. Envy those who can direct feed though, makes things easier isnt it?

nat,
I went HK. terrible weather though. totally rained out...

linda,
have you consulted a lactation consultant? sometimes it's really the positioning and a bit of expert help may ease your woes. I wished I had mastered it too.. hai. anyway, to answer your qns - yup, I used to limit my outside trips to between pumps. but if you are good with the avent manual, can pump on the go then.
As for nite feeds, at the beginning, may have to pump every 3 hours. but once suppply is stable, can pump close to midnite and try to tahan till the morning.

For me, I am happy with my medela PIS. Have served me well for both kids. The volume of milk really depends on the individual. But 30 mins for 100ml does sound quite little. Did you experience any let down reflex?

haha, me no expert lah. I actually had an expert friend who helped me.

Its really not difficult to tendum. What I do is sit at the side of the bed, leaning against the headboard, one leg unto the floor while the other is curled on the bed (like cross leg - but one leg is on the flr)Use my left hand to cradle baby's head (or body if he is still very small)to the breast while the other can be used to hold a manual pump. You don;t need to keep holding the pump. Just need to place near you and once letdown comes, you pump along. No let down, you rest.

Hopefully this small piece of sharing will be useful to all.

hi tuffy, hi dingdong
what exactly is let down effect? i have read abt this term but dunno how it is like. now i pump faster, achieving 100ml +/- in 15 mins. still thinking if i shld get the electrical pump.

ding dong
i need to massage my breast to get milk going faster, maybe really no "let down"?

Ya, compressing your breast while nursing or pumping will help to stimulate "let down" where suddenly there is a stronger milk flow and results in faster pump.
You are doing very well - 100ml in 15 min is remarkable.
Keep it up!!!!

Jia you!!!

oh, ok, I do experience a short term flow whereby the flow is faster... but that's normally short term and after a while stopped. I switch to the next breast and after the same thing happen, I go back to the number 1 breast and then #2. Gets about 130mls +/-... Good? I dunno.... hahaa

Still adjusting, now i pump after my baby takes his formula at night so tt I wont have to wake when engorement again... Getting the hang of it...

Natm,
u opt for normal post from rachel? She advise you on postage cost? I enquired for the postage cost, she just ask me to give my address...what this mean ah? I need to pay additional for postage or the payment amount can cover already or she absorb ah? she still no answer me leh...

chenoa

I have already received my stuffs from rachel...I think I already paid for the postage...thats y she didnt ask me to pay anything extra...u want to email her n chk??

i got a problem here, my 8 weeks old boy only prefer 1 breast, i seldom latch him, i stay at home, i express milk put n let hin drink, bt find it very troublesoom coz i am alone with him, i cant find tine to pump coz he keep want to be carry. somomore at nite husband n me have to wake up together, coz i do pumping n husband feed him, feel very tired, esp husband have to work.

initially he latch on, bt after i have introduce bottle, i thk he prefers bottle, may b the flow faster.so how? i feel very guilty for nt latching him since i stay at home..

mummies doing exclusive pumping, do you all experience slower flow as you all pump? is it blocked ducts? but i don't feel lumps in my breasts.

it's very difficult to achieve letdown now. my baby is 3 months now. What can i do to make pumping faster?