Any mtb/moms staying at Woodlands area?

No problem...This thread is quite quiet..haha.

paisey paisey
recently very busy as hubby away on business to Denmark. Left with 2 kids keep me busy that I hardly online.
Did anyone go to the Halloween party at Woodgrove?
It was crowded but fun.

I missed the Halloween party but my kids went. they took some pics and i was like "WOW". i didn't know the ppl there can be so crazy and imaginative, the costume were awesome. They were wild!!

yes ... the neighbours also decorated their houses. some are pretty scary.
any plans for holidays? well will be doing a drive up 2 Malacca.

my maid is coming next tues...so i guess we will be staying at home celebrating christma..and moreover will be in my 6mth..so stay home guai guai.

the woodgrove Halloween 31oct falls on sun. so if u had drop by, u would have enjoyed it.
Bee
stay home also can celebrate christmas. I always have mini bbq

Hi sorry to side track a little.. anyone sending their kids to any school at Semb area and is taking transport?

I need to find transport for my girl from Marsiling to Semb CC.. her class start at 12.30 - 3.30pm.. currently there is no one taking transport for the afternoon class but I need to have transport to bring her to school so need to find at least 1 or 2 more kids so the transport operator willing to take her..

Oscar, so nice..bbq. hmm, but i wun be able to enjoy it as much, as i cant take bbq food..hehe.
going 6mths..so dun want to take charcoal food.
maybe a steam boat instead hehe..will suggest to my hb.

Hi Bee,

Me only going for a short trip to Bintan on 16 December....

I am so tired today... just came back from Bangkok last night and my back and legs are aching....

Hi Ling,

Take a few days rest..dun do so much things liao..
Must be fun..tats y now legs aching..
I haven't been to BK yet..haha. prob next time.

Oh, bintan..good. i just went there during my hb's birthday in Sept..not bad.

Enjoy urself.

Jin sianz...still thinking of wat to do during the last week of the yr as me and hb is clearing our leaves...

haha.. bee go walk walk and eat buffet or chill in a massage in beauty salon
can plan alot of things.

Just to check anyone's kids in phonics class?
thinking to enrol my boy in one.

Oscar, yalo hor...will consider.

Phonics class, hmm.. last time i went for the Zoo-phonics, like their teacher,
but one thing i find not very good is that the age grp my boy was in was abit large.. and thus their focus is abit not there.

GUG prob will be a better choice.my personal opinon..la.

Bee,

Cannot take leave lor... as other colleagues on leave... so no choice... just have to bear with it... one more day to weekend then i can rest....

ling
soon soon

bee
i managed to find a phonics class in Yishun. Thanks.
Oh ya, can email u how's yr boy in CMA? I might changing my son's abacus class as Tr Vernon is shifting to Sembawang. I couldn't cater to the timing

sorry gals... gonna need some updates... pls advise...

Looking for childcare at woodlands.. any recommendation....

hi eniale,

CC center: hmm..i guess i visit only a few.
1) Kinderland CC @ Civic.
2) Kinderland CC @ Blk768.
3) CC next to blk788B.
4) LV @ orchid Country Club.

Wow, very limited.haha.

eniale, there is a nuturestars somewhere right? (notice it cos it change to 7.30pm from this year..but website said got waiting list).

Else can try those landed ones at sembawang... or the previous phyllis ricca at woodlands ave 1 (went by during the halloween visit).

eniale,

hope i can provide u some info on cc in woodlands as i went to cc hunt for my gal a yr ago.

1) LV at vista pt

Pro - nice and bright environment and classes are held in individual class room. The children look happy.

Cons - fully aircon environment and fees are on the high side. i think it is ard 660 after subsidy. And they cater food for the kids, no cooking auntie

2) Kinderland at woodlands mart.

I find that the environment is very dark and physical struture is very messy. Too many corners. And one thing i dun like is that the centre is also an enrichment centre in the evening. Human traffic is high.

When i visited them at noon, i noticed the kids eat/study/play/sleep in the same area (their classroom) there is no separate dining area.

I am told that there is not much outdoor time, which is a negative pt for me

The centre manager sounds very friendly though.

3) Kinderland at civic centre.

Overall environment is nice but the air con temp for civic centre is too cold. As this is a central aircon, they cannot control the temp. I am not comfortable with bathing in a cold environment.

The fees and material cost are beyond my budget. Hence i did not consider.

4) MMI at blk 750

Curriculum looks good but it is open concept, meaning no individual classroom for each level.

In the end i choose to enrol my gal in phyllis riccia sch mentioned by bloom75.

The teachers are passionate and they are very into speech and drama. There are activites in the afternoon (cooking, gym, speech & drama etc)
I like their positive attitutes.

Cons : floor can be dirty at times. i feel the sand grains in their first storey area. It can be abit disorganised in the mornings.

Bee,

So enjoying your 1 week break?? It can be over so fast that you wish you have a longer break...

Go and catch movie and shopping and spa lah..

Hi woodlands mummies,

Chanced upon this thread while searching for playgroup/cc recommendation for my daughter who is turning 18 months old in about 2 months' time in the woodlands vicinity..

nice 'meeting' all of you! looks like all of you have known each other for a long time?

I have actually shortlisted a few playgroups/cc. anyone can help provide some updated feedbacks on these schools:

1. Phyllis Riccia at Woodgrove
2. Little Sparklers at Woodgrove
3. Starlearners at Sembawang
4. Star Tots at Woodlands Ave 9

Many thanks in advance!

I was browsing for schools in Woodlands and found this thread.
I have a 14 mth old boy and currently, I'm also looking for schools in this vicinity.

I am quite interested in the schools at Woodgrove. Any mummies have been there and any feedback on the schools.

Many thanks!

Chanced upon this thread when looking for pre-nursery (N1) for my girl for 2012 Jan intake... I've went to a few cc/preschool ard the area but some doesn't allow us to visit the centre (eg. My first skool), so I was unable to see the environment, etc... At the moment, I've shortlisted the following:
1) Kinderland Preschool @ Civic Centre
2) Little Treasures @ Woodlands Circle
3) Creativeland Childcare & Development Centre @ Blk 715
4) Learning Vision @ RP (last choice coz they dun offer half-day care)
5) Kinderland @ Woodlands Mart

I've just been to Purple Train yesterday and was informed that they will revised their fees to $600 per month for that 3hrs Montessori playgroup... Other than the high school fees, hubby & myself dun really like the environment, we saw school bags, etc outside the classrooms along the corridor... It was v messy and unsightly, kids may jus run out from the classrooms and easily trip and fall...
We have quite a good impression of Kinderland Preschool that's y I'm trying to find out more on this school in the forum b4 we pump our moolah to register for the school... However, seems like Kinderland Preschool doesn't have pretty good reviews after reading the threads... Would like to check with mummies whose kids r still at Kinderland Preschool whether things have improved now? The schools fees at $1300 per term, pretty expensive too... So I'm hesitating now...

My girl is currently attending bilingual playclub at Chiltern House... Intend to let her complete 4 terms till end of year b4 switching her to a preschool in woodlands...

dear ladies

i would like to comment on Phylis Riccia sch in woodgrove.

My gal is with them for ard half a yr. my gal, my hb and i love the sch and the teachers. the whole environment is very positive and cheerful and the teachers are really good. My gal is an introvert and shy gal. The teachers keep encouraging her and have been very patient to her.

the sch emphasis alot on speech and drama and the teachers speaks good english. A very plus pt is that there are activities in the afternoon for full day students. activities are from 3.30 to ard 5 pm. they do not let the kids watch tv during evening time. The teachers put in lots of effort in organising parties and celebrations.

they also update the communication booklet daily.

As for starlearners at sembawang, my friend put her gal there and i also heard positive comments regarding this sch.

hi gal long time no see...
i be shifting to jurong after CNy...
next time got gathering i still can join in...

happy CNy to all you ladies ok???
Huat Huat Huat

happymrskoh, for star learners, i think currently there are more than 100+ students in that property, so tend to get crowded.... (it was forced to close during last year's HFMD due to too many cases)

Right now they have 'compulsory (incl in school fees)' akido and gym for the older kids.

Becky_cat,

You sold your flat too???

Shift till so far... it has been a long long time since we have a meet up.... hee hee....

Dino-mum,

My son previously was studying in Kinderland Preschool from Pre nursery to K2 but the whole management changed and also lot of teachers has left and I feel that they keep increasing the school fee. Last June, I withdraw my son from here and we went to Tumbletots at Sembawang, Jelutung CC. I love the circulum there and the school fee is much more reasonable than Kinderland. The things that are taught are more fulfilling. Eg the teacher will bring the children to NTUC to introduce money to them and bring them downstair to learn abt plants etc....

Hi mummies, I am staying in woodlands too..

I see lots of question on childcare & nursery.. Can anyone help me on the Primary? Which neighbourhood primary in woodlands is good that you think you will put ur DD/DS there in future??

Cashewnut,

In Woodlands, my fren told me a few schools are Admiralty Primary School, Woodlands Primary School, Woodgrove Primary School & Fuchun Primary School.

Becos now I am shifted and my son's school is not around the area.

Hi Ling, thanks for your feedback, so you have move to Sembawang??

Woodgrove is just opposite my house & my husb is Fuchun's old boy, Innova got after school care in the school. Will definetely not sending my sons to 名校, but hope can send him to a better school at neighbourhood. I do not have frens with kids in Woodlands, really dunno where to gather the info. I read from somewhere that Woodgrove has changed their principal, so it is not as good as previous. As for Fushun, my husb himself is not very keen ler. Quite interested in Innova's after school care although they do not have any academy result yet..

Any mummies here can share about your experience in sourcing of primary in Woodlands??

Ya Cashewnut. I have moved to sembawang. But Fuchun is one of the school that vacancies are filled fast so you might consider and they said it is a good school... I was also from there too...

Hi Ling (slquek)

You mentioned that your son was studying at Kinderland Preschool. Can I know which branch was he at? I was pondering whether to put my son at Kinderland at Woodland Civics or not. Thank You!

Thanks Ling!
Most prob, I will not be putting him there. So, now I have to start looking for schools for him again.
Btw, is Tumbletots a childcare or enrichment centre?

Hi Ling,

I tried searching Tumbletots on google but only managed to find tumbletots CCK. Do you have the school's website for the outlet at Sembawang? tthx

bloom, thanks for the reply!

most prob I will send my daughter to a kindergarten instead after 2nd thought. I have actually shortlisted Kinderland Preschool at Woodlands Civic Centre. Is it not as good as before? Anyone can share what the kids do during the 3 hour lesson? TIA.