Any mtb/moms staying at Woodlands area?

Hi all just completed the registeration. Becky my son in admiralty primary sch. For him, he had just confirmed a plc at admiralty pri liao. Don need to wait for next week result. I done my pv last year

Hi thinker! oh..im curious wld like to chk w you..for the PV, u did in Admiraty Pri?
I wana enrol my boi in Admiraty Pri, but not too sure on how to do the PV.

Can advise.?

<font color="aa00aa">pearl,
where have u been?
change your nick again yah?

good schools in wdlds are admiralty, woodgrove, woodlands ring and innova.
those who wana go admiralty, make sure your kid knows how to read simple books, can count and know simple times table.
then the learning will be accelerated as the pupils will be exposed to higher order learning.
admiralty is not advisable for weak pupils as they are not so good in nurturing the weaker lot.

becky,
try not to put at greenwood.
its not so good in terms of the teachers and teaching.
unless u dont mind giving your gerl extra personal coaching out of school hours.</font>

Lynzi, me been busy w work lor. Travelling to shanghai and malysia for these two mths. Me change once in a while for fun lor.
Becky, admiralty primary you will need to do pv in order to go in as phase two b. Greenwood is my nearest too but nt so good review on greenwood.
Bee, for pv, you need to go to admiralty pri and get a form to fill in, they will call u once there is event to help, I heard they are restricting number of pv so that all pv can go in no need to ballot. Next year pv could be closed for registeration Liao you may want to call them first

hi lynzi, tks for your advice, wow you so information than me le... tks

aiyo headache le. must do PV huh??? aiyo if dun do, these school so far from my place sure no chance right ???

other then greenwood which is the nearest school ? how is innova? hear they focus on sport and music is it???

admirathly - seems pretty pressuring in terms of academic based on what you wrote... hmmm

even do PV also must think hor????

ya other than green wood where is woodgrove ???

cluless abt how they do balloting also... my hubby say just go with the wind see what school she can go in.... Hmmmm

i still deciding , innv my client hubby teaching there he say it good ... if those more than 1km is it that no chance?

which school in our neighbourhood is ok and like have activities that balance the whole child, not just like academic... wonder if admiratly higher learning will it put too much pressure on my girl... ????

or should i leave it to god will ????/

any christian pri school around woodlands . sembawang ?

becky cat
Woodgove too far for you ...

Innvo is good as it is new and there is before and after school there too.but it is more than 1km for us.. need to do PV in order for us to get in

Admiralty Primary in my view not really higher learning these days.. your gal can make it one lor.. and she is better than my son too,,,

Me pick Admiralty becos of the convenient as it is walking distance to MRT where I can pick him up for the first two years,

Below is the result after Phase 2B
End of Day 1 of Phase 2B

School / Vacancy for Phase 2B / # Registered

Admiralty Primary School 62 left 36
Evergreen Primary School 60 left 29
Fuchun Primary School 57 left 2
Greenwood Primary School 63 left 5
Innova Primary School 76 left 6
Marsiling Primary School 101 left 0
Qihua Primary School 78 left 0
Si Ling Primary School 93 left 3
Woodgrove Primary School 65 left 19
Woodlands Primary School 68 left 0
Woodlands Ring Primary School 63 left 4

If you look at the result, Admiralty Primary is no longer so popular liao...

hello everyone.

hello annie, welcome to woodlands thread.

hi becky,
On balloting, it is best you go to MOE website to read out more. I think lynzi has given quite a few feedback liao. Otherwise, it will be good to check the school's website to find out more.

Pressure? Well, so long you are born in Singapore, you will definately feel the pressure. I have been putting 'pressure' in my girl since she was one! I don't think there is any Catholic or Christian Primary school in Woodlands or Sembawang.

Leave it to God's will? Erh....sure you can...but do note that there are some primary schools that are not really that established in terms of academic. Ultimately, paper qualification is still very important in Singapore.

<font color="aa00aa">becky,
i personally like innova and woodlands ring.
nice schools..all rounded.
i got friends teaching there and i like the Ps too.
err..affiliated sec schools?
if i be u, i wouldnt consider the sec schools at our area if there is a choice.
i dont like the school culture.

wendy,
hi darling.
have u moved to sembawang?
u moved also never tell me..sob sob.
chongfu is good!
my nieces and a nephew are there.
chongfu and another school near khatib mrt are the popular ones in yishun.</font>

aiyah....i have not moved to Sembawang yet. Will be getting my key in either late Aug or early Sep. i have to move to my aunt's place in Tampines during the National Day period. Damn sian to move twice....

I think the other one you are referring to is Northland. Both are good schools. I was very surprised to find that Chongfu is in the top 15 ranking in terms of primary school academic. Will visit the school once i have settled down in my new place.

<font color="aa00aa">no no..not northland.
hmm..let me think and try to remember the name ah.
oh yes..its peiying primary.
good school..thumbs up.</font>

erh...not that popular leh...i only know Chongfu and Northland are popular ones in Yishun. Strange..never mind lah, will check them out when i have officially shifted into my new house.

Remember to take care of your health. Don't catch cold.

well i think choosing schools are a headache now for most of you. there are no afflilated sec school in woodlands.
I know Peiying is quite a good school but not as popular as Chongfu and Northland.

wesim, my nephew is in chongfu.. i know they have compulsory higher chinese... 60hrs of PV.

re Admiralty pri sch ... i called abt 2 months ago and they told me to come back next yr for those born in 2006 (don't know if i got the wrong answer!)

lynzi, take care!

morning bloom75///

for PV it will be 1-2 years from the year of birth of the kids,, so for 2006, kids registeration will be next year. Wat I did is I go into the office and fill up the registration form two year ago (2008) and I start doing PV from 2009 to 2010 (Feb)

Anyone got recommendation for Before and after school,,>?

Hi Pearl,

So our son are born in the same year.

Becky_cat, are u willing to look into Sembawang area. I think Endeavour is not a bad school as Cclyn told me the principal was from dont know where.... hahaah....will check out for u....
And you are too late to do PV for Admiralty already lah...

Mummy to Princess,

Chongfu is a good school and if u are in Hokkien Association you do stand a chance too... if not then you be PV lor...

thx..oscar..oh..haha. i v blur.
haiz..but PV need to be done during office hrs rite?
i scared i dun have enough leaves..haha!

Morning bee

Depending wat school you intend to let your kid go lor... some school in Woodlands don need ballot at Phase 2C where you easily can go in.

Yes PV is normally done during office hours.. I normally take one full day and do about 4 hours of PV so It take me about 10 days,, But Admiralty allow both parents to do at the same time.. so Hubby 5 days,, me 5 days lor

For Admiralty even you are within 1km, the chance for phase 2C for ballot is high,,
so it will be better for you to do PV since you want to go Admiralty lor

Hi hi any one here has any good nanny in woodland to recommend? In fact I'm looking for one who can come to my place to take care of my bb from 7 to 7.... Anyone? Else bring to her house also ok la

hi ladies,, ha been sick for 1 week plus alreay, now still have the headache and very bad block nose...
tks for all your recommendatuon and advise...
hiya,,, i think i just leave to god will la... since i am late for any PV, and also no idea which one my gal wil go...

so i think let god decide la.. hehe terrible mum hor me, never really go read up and analyse..
i think most pri school abt the same since MOE nowsdays have certain guideline... what we think best to her may not be also and i think also heng sway which teacher is assign to them that particular year also ... so just see how ... i will try to pray harder... haha.

i think most important she must have a ok foundation, we learn from in home and ect so she not so pressure when she goes to any school ... Hmm we parents can only do so much la...

Mod- hee you mention my gal better tha your son, hee why do you say that ????

actually my girl prefer mandarin to english , but only conversation skill in mandarin not so good, english she ok la but she love mandarin more... ask her do mandarin spelling she no1 , do english will do after mandarin.... math she ok i think, teacher say she ok with addition , substraction still getting the concept....

i think maybe i am stressin my self... hee myhubby just say anything la. if she good , mean good , if not willing to learn go to good school also no use ... Hmmmmm ???????

wesim - i heard that chong fu popular but hard to get in,,,,,

Stressful mummies......

when got gathering huh ling???

hee

hi becky, u take gd care.
A colleague recommended me to take zhenzhen herbal tea (u can get frm the chinese medical hall, in tea bags), when down with flu.

maybe u wana try.

Becky_cat,

It is always very difficult to have gathering....

Ya my fren's daughter just got ballot in yesterday and her name was the last one to be called out.... they only have 21 seats and 37 applicants... now my fren is safe becos all her other 3 children will have no problem getting in.

Need some advice, is 冬虫夏草 suitable for children??

My boy v prone to cough, I just bought some 冬虫夏草, havn't started giving him, but i heard not recommended for children..is it true?? the worm not cheap somemore leh...

hi serene,

i started to know of this also when he was abt 3yrs old. my MIL will give my boy some when he recovered frm a big storm(i mean sick for many days kind). i think no harm giving a small portion.

hey, if u dun feel safe, u can chk w the medical hall pple.
I dun mind giving my boi, provided he takes.

I think after 3yrs old shld be okie.

bee- tks will check it out... i just buy some herbs from eu ren sheng to take not bad after 1 day

pearl- ok la tks
but she bookworm one, come home only i wan to do home work.. and she keep pester me to do home work with her.. ha sometime i so tired i just say wait, but she will keep , mummy mummy, i got home work to do, die die must do when come home... ha may be i am the lazy one...

ling , ya lor.. thinks sept la... try to organise ok.. hee still got any lobanf go paris? ha now euro down le...

serene (melodyme)- fot that you need to ask the dosage cos different age you take the dosage differntly. usualy i cook with soup for my children once while, then the 冬虫夏草 adult eat that,,,, it good once a while to build the body, but just follow the medicial hall advice,,,, this is called a " yellow" herb, ha i learn that from a taiwan master.. so it neutral not too heaty , not too liang....

if having cough you need to see what type of cough , usually Chuan Bei is good for cough,. even normally also good, clear the lungs ( can cook with pear and white fungus soup along with a few herbs ) :p)

bee- yes 冬虫草 = 冬虫夏草 the actually name 冬虫夏草 , ha we singaporean lazy la alway call short term,,, but this 冬虫夏草 also got differntr grade,,,

serene, is okie to give 冬虫夏草 to kids. I use it to boil soup for my boys (1 yr and 4 yr old) to build up their lungs every 2/3 mths. 2 exp to boil regularly