Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

rona
Hmmmmm...... I think prob. you are right size 11 and 12 may be beta... but julien quite poor thing, each time if we buy 2 pairs of different sizes, end up it may be chara who gets to wear the 'smaller' size first... chara's feet are fat/fleshy while julien's feet are slim and slender..haha
Thanks... if you can find lah, no worries.

Staying with inlaws - you all never talked abt it before marriage??
Imagine I stay with hb/kids, stimes it drives me mad, what more if add another two ppl!!
Mil always noticing my stuff, my things, if I hv new things, she wl notice... Argh...
But now I hardly see her, cos when I come home, she wud hv left say, 15 mins ago kind of thing...

joy
HCM = Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam...

tam
Then how is he going to feed? Can he take normal food, is he on liquid diet?
Hope he wl be fine.

I don't know what imperfections you have, next time I wl try to meet you...hahaha

joy/rona
Don't know about u all, stimes eating with kids quite stressful, topple cup lah, mess up clothes lah, once julien was eating her spaghetti at Ikea, I really don't know how she ate until the bowl can topple over and onto her beige capri pants!!! and the contents dropped to the floor!!
It was like bowl here, then bowl disappeared!

I reckon it's better if we sorta help or feed them first, then we eat, otherwise they don't eat properly... but we also notice they are more settled at restaurant..maybe food is better...hahaha...

styloBB,
My father can swallow food, it is just that some of the food will get into his lungs. The doctor warned that he may get lung infection again. We are giving him pureed food now

Yesterday we celebrated Chloe's 6 birthday with lots of balloons. Then I used to Skype to let him video call my cousin(his sister's daughter) in London. His elder brother and his 3 grown up children also came to visit him at the same time, and they all talked to my cousin on Skype video call. It was like a big family reunion. My father was very happy.

Kids at restaurants
I also found it very stressful to eat with kids at restaurants when they were 3 years old or younger. We normally clear everything in front of them in case they break something. Chloe was able to feed herself since about 20 months old. But for Jerome we still have to help him, otherwise there will be a lot of food on the table/floor/his clothes etc.

Tam

Happy belated birthday to chloe.Old folks always like big family gathering....

Kids at restaurant
I always clear all the things on the table before anything happens...Fortunately, my boy loves to eat, so he will stay quite still...but after he is full, he will be restless..

Stylobb
Thanks....hcm never come across to me VIT...My fourth sil is from there.

Tam:
You can make an appt with a speech therapist for your dad, to get tips on how to feed him, in case food goes into the lungs...I used to be from the healthcare field, so you may want to consider...

Shape Run:
I cannot believe its full too...guess many women are quite fitness concious...
I made a "resolution" of sorts to do some things when I hit 35, such as a small marathon- since I jog every weekend- I missed both the Shape and GE run last year due to heavy work travels...so hope this year I have better luck- although I already see 6-7 trips lined up in the next 3 months!!

BTW- collection of goodie bags can only be done after the participant completes the run- so smart of the organizer- I think they do not want people signing up then do not turn up =)

Managed to do 5km yesterday in the blistering heat...so ridiculus this weather!!!

HCMC:
I love this city- best place to tailor clothing such as suits, separates, even cheong sam...i have the contact if any mummies want- only takes 1-2 days, and the quality of vietnam silk is very tough- can handwash, no need to spend $$ to dry clean, and still maintain its shine...

Fairyprincess,
can give me the address for the tailor? also can recommend me places for makan or not? bringing two the two older kids with me...

TAm,
Happy birthday to Chloe! Wish her health and an alert mind and sail through her life with lots of laughter!

Hi Rona,

Sure- I do not have the exact address, but there are 2 shops I go to:
- Mangrove
- Saboten
Both are on Dong Khoi street in HCMC District 1

I have made vietnam silk tops and skirts for work- very nice sheen and structured- looks excellent and smart for work- about US$30 each= S$50 which I feel is reasonable

I have also made cheongsam- about US$50 I think for double binding...I do not really care much for Ao Dai although many s'proeans make such costumes- how to wear back home?- not practical I feel

EATING:
I always go to Pho24- they are everywhere- beef pho for about S$3-4 and fried spring rolls for about S$2-3 and absolutely delicious vietnamese ice coffee for S$1-2- soo cheap and consistently good quality!

My colleauges brought me to eat great seafood and more ethnic vietnam cuisine- but I am clueless re the location/ directions to get there...

Aftn mummies
Today is another terribly warm day..I bought Ice cream & cone for my colleagues to enjoy..pity I had a full lunch..unable to take in too much ice cream, esp I hv not been exercising that regularly as well :p

Stylo BB
Got rain leh..it was raining heavily for a moment when I was at Bk Batok..at least much cooler after e rain..but on e way home, I realized it didn’t rain at my side :p My home is like an oven! Terrible!
Hee…guess u also like me, rarely switch on air con type right? My boy will say..So Colddd…Bbrrrr…& pretend to shiver
I cant stand the taste of raw food…the wobbly feeling gg down my throat..my hair stand even typing this! Kekeke…I esp detest liver…got bloody taste somemore…even when it is cooked totally.
Wow..ur mil so observant? Kekeke..but u can let her know politely that u r spending ur own $ mah..hee

RE: Meeting Hubby
I got to know my hub via internet. Posted my pen pal search application on a website & he replied, met up & got together..i guess I’m lucky cos even meeting quite a no. of friends frm the web, I’m lucky that none of them were ‘predators’ but honest & sincere people who were out to make friends. Pity..I rarely keep in touch w any of them now. It has been 10 yrs since we 1st met….how do the mummies keep their love alive after spending long long yrs tog w ur hubbies??

RE: Kids In restaurant
Kids being kids..tend to be restless, my boy is no exception..so usually, I’ll bring activity books, story books to keep him occupied..meantime, he can put his idle time to gd use mah..hee
Though he will insist on feeding himself, he will still make a mess occasionally..so eventually, still I’ll feed him..cos I cant stand him being so slow…hehehe

Rona
Thks for offering to get us s.t..Hope u enjoy your trip! How many days will u b away?
So fast the Shape run is full?? Wow..I tot I just read that the registration just opened??
Hmm..u r currently living w ur in laws? How is ur r/s w them? I used to stay w my in laws b4 they shifted back to their home a yr ago. Actually, they shifted to stay tog so can help me t/c of my boy after I gave birth…but I still prefer having the home to myself though they were a gd help at the hsework & cooking..but still, I prefer my privacy.

Taramind
Happy Belated Birthday to Chloe!! Hope to see some photos of her happy face on your blog!!
Think I’ll arrange for collection of my Amazon items once u r free…dun wanna disturb u now ^_^
Do take care of yourself as well..not easy having to look after the young as well as the old..

Fairy Princess
Thumbs Up for your preservance & effort at running in this blistering heat! I cant imagine myself doing that..

Long time no posts liao but I have been reading almost all the postings! kinda missed someone here. Cowandchick, where are you?

Tamarind
Hope your dad gets well soon. My mum underwent treatment for liver cancer about 2 mths ago. I'm not sure of effectiveness yet. Just got the CT scan about 1 week ago. Cost of treatment so expensive! We are under the B2 subsidise rate and yet we had already spend more than $10k! Its really unfortunate that she got liver cancer since its not common for females to have it. Its not within the 10 most common cancer among females. Moreover she got another cancer on the breast! Luckily after taking the oral medicine for breast cancer, the tumour had soften already. But doc advise that it will not totally cure only under control....

Shape Run
5km!!! OMG I think I even have problem completing 2km. You gals are really fit.

What did i eat for dinner?
Had Jap food at Sushi Tei at EastPoint. Bought a terrapin with the complete set from the Safari. Cost me $55 even though one terrapin is only $4.50. These ppl really knows how to make $. The complete set with container, deco, sand and 2 terrapin cost $33. Then they ask you to get pet food and some anti dont know what for the water and it cost more than $50! My son insisted on getting a pet. He was like pulling us back to store, almost wanted to cry. His daddy then give in, cannot bear to see him cry. What to do? sian...

Need help here. The gap inbetween my floor tiles is turning from white to black. Anyone knows what to do? I had tried using Mr Muscle on a small patch. I think its quite effective but seems like its very strong. Some area of the tiles also turn bleach white! So ended up having uneven colour.

What do you use to remove the dirt in the gap? Really very hopeless in doing housework.

Rona
You going for a tour in Vietnam? I might be going there too, but dont know when. Any idea HCM or Hanoi more suitable for family? Anything to do there? heard from my sis that things over there much cheaper than Bangkok.

Pantone,
i'm on free and easy trip there, leaving on 30 april and back on 3 may. not too long. main purpose is to visit my sis, she there for work, for a year already. when are you going? i heard this is not a good time to go cos its hot and rainy. wat to do? its the only time my sis is free cos vietnam is having their public hols too so sis no need to take leave. i will check out and report.

Feeling so sian today, not sure if it's the weather, or work or just plain tired.

fairy
Impressive! You did 5km? WHere? Stadium?
I'm afraid of getting heatstroke if I run in this kind of weather...haha... I feel like I'm emitting heat from my body as I walk, it is just as bad in the evenings...

pantone
Long time no hear.. how's ur boy getting on in school?

Buying stuff - eversince we gave pocket money to jesse, if he wants to buy sth, we wl check his money, if not enuf, he cannot buy. I told him he has to save up first, he said ok and told me to bring him back to get the toy once he has saved enuf..

shylyn
Yah, I told hb to tell her if she asks that I buy my own stuff.. altho there was once he kinda sponsored part of my bag... but that one she didn't ask.
Anyway quite a lot of sagas with her, I prob. can write a book! but best not to have any friction....
It's best to stay on our own lah. Fort. I never had to stay with them. I don't think I can tahan it. Somehow wl be stressful and difficult.
I read about those forum stories about mil snatching grandkids and trying to make the mother feel useless, I think it's terrible. I mean, if such behaviour is not curbed, it can really lead to divorce.

Wah, fort. you didn't meet any bad character! But I guess we are more sensible than those school kids huh...

I'm only into my sixth year of marriage leh... I think it's impt to spend time with each other, esp after the children come along.
Don't know leh, single or marriage has its 'pros' and 'cons'....
I find a lot of sacrifices come with marriage/kids.... v different frm being a single person.. gotta care for so many ppl, stimes it's rather tiring... I also find I no longer hv any hobbies, shud be glad if I get to read and able to run, go out with hb... I dun even hv the luxury to say, loiter at the bookstore anymore...

tam
Happy Belated B/day to Chloe!

Glad to hear ur dad is ok. I hope he wl be able to eat = nutrients.

So nice to do that.. the skype thingy.... and celebration.

Yah, I find I cannot enjoy my meal when they mess themselves up.... but it also depends, stimes they love what is in front of them, they will eat it all up...
I have to gobble up my food or halfway thru, one or both gals wanna go toilet!

rona
I was in HCM many yrs ago... not sure if it has progressed a lot.... according to my gf, who is stationed there now, there is no major shopping centre... she did ask us to go and visit her. I'm like fairy, need to shop shop if on holiday ..hehe....
I only rmbred staying in a dinghy hotel, the place was rather back dated, going to watch the water puppets, shopping for lacquerware and handpainted cards, eating in an exp restaurant, roads full of motorbikes.... do share what it's like now...

shylyn,
yes, am staying with PILs. yes we are constantly at each other's throat. But mellow down a little. These days the house is under renovation so we are out a lot and hence don't see each other that often. No sure if anyone of us change or not. Its always better to be staying on our own lah, but no choice lor, cos hb is the first and only son. his sister moved out first when she got married much earlier.

Stylo
My DS is fine. Your Jesse going for excursion tom right? BTW did you order any Scholistic books from the school? I only order 1 book but yet to receive it. Check with the teacher abt 1mth ago she said she is not sure.

Rona
I really peifu to you. Need to be very gracious and patience to stay with in-laws. Stylo agree with you. i think I also can write a book about in-laws. My fridge is full of herbs that my mil used for cooking. Dont even have place to put my mother's medicine. Dont know how to tell her politely. Regarding HCM just want to jalan jalan for a few days.

long time no post (but've been reading all your postings silently)

Stylo,
My luke's also going for excursion tomorrow.... don't tell me same kindy ah...haha..

pantone
Stimes I think about the past sagas, they are rather funny yet ridiculous....

I ordered three books stime back, already got them long ago! NOt sure if it's the Scholistic ones leh...

rona
Hope one day you can move out on ur own... !

Actually my hb is the older son, but he just moved out once we married... inlaws didn't say anything...hahaha....we just went to look for a flat and then moved on with our lives..

pinny
The potong pasir one? pantone's boy and mine are there..haha

Luke is 5 ??

pantone
Me too, dare not feedback anything that displeases me because fear of displeasing her. Very tough hor

styloBB
May not object to son moving out but may bear grudges leh. My MIL ticks me off years later for that even though she never say anything when we applied for flats. When BIL moves out after married, also my fault because he's 'following' our example

rona, pantone

Recently MIL has some dissatisfaction with SIL (BIL's wife) but she dares not voice out. Very strange lor, I kanna 'eaten' by MIL, MIL kanna 'eaten' by SIL. Only SIL can manipulate her, I very pei-fu !

Anyway, MIL is going to a relative's house for a short stay as a silent protest. Now I'm worried after MIL's short stay is over at that relative's house, would she want to move to my house?

The previous time she stayed with us, hubby & I had lots of conflicts. Totally oblivious to MIL because I dare not show any displeasure or disrespect, can only complaint to hubby. If she really moves in this time, it's a disaster because I see history repeating itself, definitely a strain on our marriage

But I cannot turn her away if she asks. sob sob sob

Pinny
Our boy is of the same age..common topic...How is he progressing in school?

Staying with MIL
This is one topic will go on and on...Just wonder, when my turn comes, how it would be like...

Staying with MIL,
I'm definately NOT going to stay with any in-laws or out-laws... having been through all the suffering, still not enough huh? still want to suffer meh... and i also want to maintain healthy relationship with all the in and out laws, so the First step is not to stay together. So once they are married, out they go, don't care if they got place to stay or not. and... i'll choose not to be the primary care-giver. and if need me to help, please zip up all the mouth on the methods i use...

Hi Joy747,
Luke loves going to school. He's a rather quiet and conservative boy. So i'm actually quite pleased that he's enjoying himself and learning to open up (in terms of speech and sharing with others).

How old is your boy? He likes school?

Staying with MIL - no no for me...haha... I think my hubby will go crazy cos i'll complain to him about this and that of my MIL. So best is to stay on our own.

Hi Pinny

My boy is very outgoing.He is yet to attend school...cos mummy wanna spend more time with him...

He will be four year old end july...

wow Joy 747... you very noble... I always look forward to weekdays AM cos Luke'll be in school for a couple of hours, and i've some time to myself and my baby. Wicked mommy....haha

joy
It's true this topic wl go on and on.. hence I just brush it aside... after all mil is older... and no point lah... v tiring...

stylo,
yes, maybe we shd just follow their style blindly and then we start a thread here to compare their birzzard methods!

Yawn Yawn
I dare not use white marker leh. Yesterday i tried using CIF instead. Quite effective but very xiong got to scrub quite hard.

Stylo
What happen to my book then? Oh dear got to call up the school and ask.

Rona/Yawn
Regarding MIL. I got no choice as hubby is the only son. So my hubby and mil think that my house is my mil house also. Further more the ancestor table is at my house. MIl even has my house key. What to do? She just come as and when she feels like it. kinda no privacy. Theres once she never call or press bell, just come and caught us by surprise. Sigh...

Good morning ladies!

Tam,
First and foremost, HaPpY Belated BiRtHdAy to CHLOE.
SO sorry I missed it. I am sorry to hear about your dad too. That's what my dad had also, lung infection and for an old man, it takes a longer time for the infection to go. I felt quite helpless then cuz there's nothing anyone can do, Doc keep saying wait and see, kinda thing. I couldn't bare to see cuz my dad was very active and to see him so weak lying in bed. But now he's ok, still active but not like before. I'm staying over his place this weekend to keep an eye on him cuz mom is going away for the weekend with my aunt and uncle. Well, just hang in there Tam. That was nice of you to give him that "family reunion", I'm sure it means alot to him.

Wow! what's this with in-laws and out-laws ;)
I remember we had this discussion awhile back. Lots of stories shared ... lots of heart ache, tears, sometimes happines & joy, other times abit of sufferings, lots of patience and perseverance, sacrifices ... sometimes it's worth it, other times it's not, plenty of backbiting, backstabbing, insults, scarcism etc ...

Well my MIL passed away about 3 mths ago, now PIL lives with his daughter (my SIL) but when I last visit them last weekend, it seems that she wanted her father to move back to his rented flat. He is not even sick and is very independant, don't need any care and attention but yet SIL don't want him around. And that is her OWN father! I voluntarily asked my hubby to advise his dad to move back to his place to avoid any 'trouble' and perhaps a few days a week, we'll keep him company. My PIL is ok, for a typical old man, sometimes jovial, other times cranky for no ryhme & reason etc. But he's a pretty happy go lucky guy. I don't mind living with the elders, I can take their crap and crankiness but don't mess around with my family especially my kids, I will boldly tell them off, if diplomacy does not work. I think my PIL knows that by now, cuz when my MIL was sick in the hospital, he would order my hubby to drive him around to do his errands when I had to do my chores too, so I make it known that I come first, my errands have datelines while his doesn't. I hope he remembers that or he'll be sorry cuz I think he only have us, and I control us. His other children and grandchildren whom he raised from young, seems to forget him.

Eating out,
I hate eating out with the kids, not so much for the mess, cuz my kids eat pretty ok, and I can't feed them cuz they wouldn't want me to. They start feeding themselves from 20 mths onwards. The problem is, once they've finished they get restless and they are also always getting at each other, making alot of noise and after eating, start to running around, going in and out of the toilet etc.
kao_dizzy.gif

I also agree with stylebb about the sacrifices that we have to make after being married and having children. We almost lose our own identity. Now we are someone's wife or mother. I am trying to do the stuff I enjoy but this time trying to involved my kids, well actually influence them so that my interests and hobbies become theirs too and we can then enjoy together.

Swine Flu
What is your take on this? I think I might cancel any travel plans for June and just stay at home for some indoor activites or just visit places of interest in Singapore.

HFMD
There's also an increase in HFMD cases in the kindergartens and childcare, even in my daughter's primary school!

5km run
Wow u ladies are strong and fit. I could do 5km, but not running, just briskwalking.

kao_byebye.gif

Stylo
Hows jesse excursion? My DS's turn next week. Need to bring his school bag along? Just call up the school and check the book. Its been given out long ago. Dont know wheres my book now. Luckily just ordered one.

hi Fairyprincess,

Yes still living there, well atleast I'm still paying the rent there but I've been staying at my aunt's place in Bt Pjg since my car accident for the last 2 mths, infact exactly 2 mths. Been waiting all those while to get approval from the Insurance company ... then the work on the car itself took almost 4 weeks! Almost an overhaul! My hubby just got a call from the workshop this morning and the car is ready to be pick! That's why I sound cheery this morning. Yey! My hubby is picking it up this afternoon so atleast we can go back home. Though I'm not so sure how's it's going to work with the strict health measures at Singapore's entry points. I'm afraid the traffic jam going to be alot worst. If that's the case, we may stay in Singapore for a little while, either at my parents place or my FIL rented flat, which is a 2 rm flat in Toa Payoh.

This holiday, just plan to stay at home and visit indoor attractions; science centre, singapore discovery centre, museums, ... what else ... well I think we have quite a number of museums to cover. If things improved by June, I mean the flu thingy, then we'll take a short trip to Malaysia. Initially I actually wanted to go on those short trips to Bali but now with the swine Flu, I dare not. Saw quite a number of cheap packages @airasia.com, includes airfare & hotel from 2D3N-3D4N, though I think those packages are from Malaysia, most likely from KL cuz the price quote is in RM. I don't mind flying or driving up there, then fly off to our holiday destination, then on the way back, spend another couple of days in KL before heading home to JB. If we r at home in JB, we'll travel around the nearby states ... maybe to Malacca or Negri Sembilan or Rompin or Mersing. Probably Malacca so my hubby & FIL can stay a couple of days at his kampung, then we'll leave FIL at his kampung while we venture to the city at the waterworld and other attractions and stay at the hotel a couple of nights and on the way back, pick up FIL from his kampung then send him back to Singapore.

So my dear Fairyprincess, what are u up to lately? So you got several trips coming your way. You are so lucky to get to travel alot. Tell me more about HCMC. Did u like the place? I heard they still call it Saigon there. Did u go to that mountainous region Sapa and the beautiful Halong Bay. I heard Hanoi is good too. I hope to backpack Indochina (Cambodia, Vietnam & Laos) next year and I've been reading alot about them from www.travelfish.org , also www.talesofasia.com and of course from the travelforum of lonelyplanet. Rona, u could go to these websites for more info, especially travelfish, they r like specialise in travelling around Indochina. Well happy travelling, Rona, Fairyprincess!

Hi pantone,

Have you tried Bleach on the "in-between" of the tiles before? It works for me. I put concentrate bleach on a toothpaste and scrub, the dirt usually comes out quite easily.

So bz today and left at 7pm - that's late to me! Tkfully my mom said nvm, she wl fetch jesse back.

rona
You must be flying to HCM liao (and fairy..) btw I got mixed up with Hanoi and HCM... so I was thinking which one is Saigon then..haha

I hear HCM is more happening... I went to Hanoi last time...

precious gem
So nice to hear from you...

Since we hv kids, we are responsible for them, I'm sure all of you gals are like that too.. but stimes we do wish for a break, right???

pantone
He did enjoy, my dad went w/ him, my parents were worried he wud get motion sickness ..haha... but all is fine in the end.
No need to bring school bag, just wear the PE attire and bring a water bottle but me /my parents being ks, brot along extra set of clothings, and some biscuits.
Tkfully my dad also enjoyed it... hahaha... apparently the kids were asked to pick a plant, and jesse picked aloe vera, brot it home to grow.

Book is missing ah?? O dear, prob. forgot to take...

So bz today and left at 7pm - that's late to me! Tkfully my mom said nvm, she wl fetch jesse back.

rona
You must be flying to HCM liao (and fairy..) btw I got mixed up with Hanoi and HCM...as I was thinking which one is Saigon then..haha

I hear HCM is more happening... I went to Hanoi last time...

precious gem
So nice to hear from you...

Since we hv kids, we are responsible for them, I'm sure all of you gals are like that too.. but stimes we do wish for a break, right???

pantone
He did enjoy, my dad went w/ him, my parents were worried he wud get motion sickness ..haha... but all is fine in the end.
No need to bring school bag, just wear the PE attire and bring a water bottle but me /my parents being ks, brot along extra set of clothings, and some biscuits.
Tkfully my dad also enjoyed it... hahaha... apparently the kids were asked to pick a plant, and jesse picked aloe vera, brot it home to grow.

Book is missing ah?? O dear, prob. forgot to take...

Pinny
Like those Kao Bleach? Will try it next time. Will it cause the tiles to "bleach" too? I dont want ended up with "white" spots. Thanks for your suggestion.

Stylo
Now kinda worried because no granny can accompany him. At first my hubby ask me to go with him but I very lazy lah! From morning to afternoon, very sian. Now abit regret.

I suppose Jesse's teacher left the book in his bag right? I check my DS bag everyday. Nothing!

Dear mommies,
Thanks for the birthday wishes

Fairyprincess,
When my father was at SGH, a speech therapist examined him. Her recommendation is that if he does not want the feeding tube, we can feed him with pureed food. So far he has a good appetite, but still very weak, unable to walk by himself.

Shylyn,
Nice meeting you on Friday
I realized that you are very willing to invest on good books for your son. I think very few people I know are willing to spend on books for young children, because they think that it is wasteful if the child reads it only once. But the fact is that if my kids love a book, they will read it over and over again, so it is really a good investment.

pantone,
$10K is a lot of money, do you have insurance to cover ? Hope that your mom responds well to the treatment.

My father has no relapse of cancer, his is just a case of old age. When a person is old, organs start to shut down. We just want him to be at home, to be as comfortable as possible, and surrounded by the laughter of his grandchildren.

I used a type of toilet bleach, comes in yellow or orange cover. It did not cause the tiles to bleach, the lines turn very white. I will let you know the brand later.

precious_gem,
So nice to see you here
I guess we are at a very stressful age, when our parents are very old, and our kids are still very young. My father lives with me, and I really want to set a good example to my kids, because when I am old, I want them to treat me in the same way as I treat my father.

sleepy,
How is your girl doing in P1 ? Got mid year exams right ?

Swine flu and HFMD
Quite worrying. I am very paranoid, have not been bringing my kids to the swimming pool because it is easiest to contract diseases there :p I carry antiseptic wipes and sanitizer everywhere and clean my kids' hands diligently.

Piano
Chloe has been to 2 piano lessons and she likes playing the piano
Now I am thinking whether to start Jerome now. At his age he must join the group lessons at Yamaha, I wonder how much he will learn. Any mommies send your child to group piano lessons before ?

Tamarind
Pinny also recommended bleach but i dont know which brand.
Yah $10k is very expensive. As she is under a new kind of treatment, a special radiation. That is why its so expensive. Infact she is only the 2nd singaporean to go through it. The 1st singaporean got it FOC under trial programme. My mum is not eligible for trial as she has dual cancer. She is insured under incomeshield, no other health insurance. Cant claim much because its not chemo and its not operation. We need to pay at least a solid $6k CASH plus for this treatment That is not inclusive of the pre treatment stay in hospital where they do a trial or a "dummy" to make sure the radiation goes to the right place. For what i understand most ppl that had gone through this are foreigners. They have to pay like $14k for medication only(non-subsidised rate, may only apply to singaprean, not sure foreigner), singaporean abt $8k for medication only. (under subsidised patient)
That is why i feel so insecure now adays. My father had left a small sum of $ for my mum and the 3rm HDB flat is fully paid up. She can also rely on me and my sisters to pay the bills for her. What about me when i grow old? I dont think i can rely my one and only DS on the bills and my hubby doesnt safe at all!!!

Hi ladies! Good Morning!

How's everyone doing this morning? Had terrible news this morning. It seems one of the new staff has been badmouthing me, well she's gonna get it from me. We had an event last week and she screw up alot of things. I was very angry with her but kept it within the committee but instead she went around telling almost everyone saying that I screw up those things. I knew this because people keep on approaching me asking about this matter and they ask me because they know me too well. Well we are going to have a post-mortem and I make sure after this, she'll be gone by the end of this year. Well this is not the only time she stir things up, she've been badmouth about two other people that she had to work with. She also talk to other people outside our organisation about 'our work' but our industry is kinda closeknit so people talk and that's how my boss find out how she badmouth our organization. She also post 'stupid remarks' about work on her FB and on a few occassions she claim she was too ill, with severe headache and could not come to work for a few days but during those few days, we noted that she was on FB or online from 11pm til 2am! That's why she got the headache, cuz she didn't get enough sleep! Today, she's on MC again with severe headache

pantone,
don't sound so alarm and feel insecure. right now, just focus on taking care of your mom. your mom can apply for financial assistance, and I guess so can you when you grow old. well that is worst case scenario. but you can start saving from now or take up a medical or retirement plan. your flat is an investment too, perhpas in the future can downgrade so can get the extra cash. you worry too much. take care ok.

Precious Gem
Keep your cool and thanks for your concern.

Well, I tried to enquire for assistance like eldershield but heard that its for elderly staying alone with no kin.

You take care too!

Today's thread is moving very slowly...

Anyone has bought anything from Amazon before? Amazon is a website for consolidation of items, they dont physically sell items right? Whats your experience? Is it safe?

Thanks you.