Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children?

i damn lazy these days. my last pump was at 7.30am this morning. have not pumped yet. but i'm tahaning - i think the cold cold aircon helped. so its 9hours now. but i think cannot tahan already... better get pumping soon.
today also don't know do what. sit in the office tabao back to eat and still so hungry now. have not even pump yet... so hungry leh... think must go pump first and then make a nice hot thick milo for myself

Tam:

Visited your blog. Very interesting and learn a few pointers from you. I really hand up to you esp you are a working mum and yet finding time to teach your children. Pretty inspire by you, hopefully, I will find some "energy" to teach and play with my sons...sometimes, I am plain lazy... just want to "wind down" after work - and will ask them to play on their own

Mine - both are boys - K1 and Pri 1. Any recommendation of books for boys?

Thank you =)

juz me,
yes, Tam is a very encouraging and dedicated mother! I also very peifu...
I'm thinking of getting the roald dahl collection from school link website in uk. its a collection of 15 books for about S$75 in total i think...

rona

Can borrow from library. I found quite a number of Roald Dahl & Enid Blyton books from library. Winnie the Pooh collection also very nice.

yawn yawn,
can find dr seuss? i want the blue back ones to read with the gal and the bb... one stone two kids. heheheee
which library do you go to?

rona

Yes, plenty of Dr Seuss. I frequent Marine Parade, Tampines & Bedok libraries.
Tampines & Marine Parade have a wider selection of books.

Yawn2,
Bedok and MP ones are good for me. will try to go tonite.

I'm thinking of bringing the kids to sentosa, maybe stay a nite there cos they all like the beach - minus the baby maybe, unless the hotel is very very cheap... any recommendations or see any promo? got any lobang?

Morning
Brought my boy for his 3yr old assessment at Polyclinic on Tues, c a doc, collect his passport, went for his yrly checkup at KKH, dentist and speech therapist session as well. Indeed a fulfilling day!

Yest was r&r day for me...took off to do my stuff...so now back at work

Taramind
Is there any diff in terms of learning an electric piano & normal piano? Pardon me..cos I’m a music idiot..hee..i rem hating music class when I was in pri sch, always hv diff rem the musical notes!
Glad to hear tt ur dad is back at home. Home is still the best place to b..
Oh yes..I read your blog b4 abt Chloe making her own jewellery..tt’s wy I suggested letting her do & sell them off. She will surely feel a source of pride!
Hey! It’s def not money minded to train your kids to learn to b financially independent. I will also want to train my boy to earn his own money rather than depending on his parents when he is able to. It’s a shame that some of the young working adults still depend on their parents to lend them money.
I just bought a cash register for my boy yest..partly to expose him to money concept as well as Maths. It’s really cute & cheap…looks really like a cash register.

StyloBB
Yaloh..really worried for the kids these days..so many ‘predators’ around..i started telling my boy not to let anyone else touch his privates beside Papa, Mummy & his grandparents. Wonder whether he will rem…kekeke…

Pantone
I bought my Mickey Mouse DVDs from BP. Really worthwhile..$30 for at least 20pcs of DVD! As for Dora, I got it from a VCD/DVD shop near to my office. Cost abt $26.00 for 8 VCDs. Think those departmental stores usually sell the English version, hv to get from neigh shops instead.

RE: CPF
I’m really ignorant abt CPF & the issues …kekeke..think when the time comes for it, then I’ll read them up.

RE: Hubby teaching kids
My hub is hands on…last time, he only plays with my boy..now, after ‘naggings’ from me, he will coach him to do worksheets or teach him basic Maths. He’s also tired after a day’s work but will take it as playing & spending time with our boy. Told him that work is work, family is more impt..kekeke

Juz Me
Oh yes..i was also very inspired & impressed with Taramind..& got to know abt her way b4 I joined this thread..kekeke…she’s a popular lady eh?? Though I hv not applied her mtds to teaching my boy, still…she’s my inspiration..hehehee..

RE: Blogs
Beside Taramind, which I hv linked to my blog..do u all wanna share blogs?

Blogs
I'm too lazy to have a blog... heheheee... i also don't know how to and don't bother with the how to...

Predators
Yah lor. I also kept telling my kids not to let anyone touch them, including their cousins! my SIL's son is very naughty. There is once he pull down my gal's shorts! I was very angry and told him off. That boy huh, he always kicks Arnold when they are playing together and when no one is looking. very sly.

rona

You live in the East?

Can consider Sentosa Costa Sands Resort. The usual chalet facilities, nothing fanciful but location quite ideal lor, few minutes walk to beach front

Rona
I also dunno how to blog int he past..but eventually learnt how to..& it is easy. Basically like how u reply in forum. Would b gd to know more abt u frm ur blog!
I cant stand kids who play rough & will tell off those kids even their parents r nearby...all e better if related, just tell ur sil..it's for her son's own gd...must control them rather than let him play rough mah.

Shylyn,
I asked arnold if its ok for his cousin or anyone else to kick him. if its not ok, what should he do? I want him to learn and fight his own fight. i cannot always be there for him leh. anyway, i think his cousin has been kicking him whenever they are together, so has been for years! there's one time he kicked too hard and arnold cried and told me about it. I didn't know (that arnold has been kicked all teh time then) and kept telling him that its ok, most probably its an accident. how i know after that, my mum caught him twice (and only during birthday celebrations that she came along for dinner with my hb's side of family) by chance trying to kick arnold and most recently, my FIL caught him kicked arnold too. So i'm going to open my eyes and ears to see if he's going to do it again and i will ask arnold what is he going to do about it.

Shyly,
think this is not rough play already. its bullying... his cousin is 2+ years OLDER than Arnold. so arnold has been kicked by him since very young...

Yawn,
i've lived in the east until i got married. but i go back very often to my mum's place. now when the kids are young. next year maybe only once a week cos arnold will be attending primary school near ghim moh. I'm already beginning to dread for my mum. Suddenly the house will be so quiet!

Rona
Must train Arnold to stand up to his cousin..so what he is older? My heart will def ache if i see my boy kenna bullied..luckily, my boy is also a little chilli padi...though small in size, he has a fierce character. Heard frm my hub tt there was once when we were outside, there was this bigger size boy who wanted to snatch what my boy is playing with..1st time, my boy let him play, 2nd time he pushed my boy ..then my boy cried a little, 3rd time, my boy shouted at him & after that, he don't dare to go near my boy liao. Inf act, tt boy's mum was nearby but couldn't do much.
U must teach him to stand up & dun let others bully him. I also agree no point having the parents to look after him all the time, tt's why he must stand up & fend for himself.

Haiz...
My younger son (4 plus)kena pneumonia. Did a chest X-ray and paed said he has pneumonia.

Any mummies have similar experience before?

shylyn/mummies
I also ever told jesse not to let anyone touch him except for mummy/papa/grandmas... didn't wanna make it so serious that wl make him scared but told him nicely, saying that strangers shud not touch him.

rona
Hey, that's bad - ur nephew's bullying! I think you shud speak to ur sil (if it's possible). Tell arnold to stand up for himself and tell the nephew off!
ANd the pulling of the shorts, I would do the same to tell him off too!
I told jesse if anyone bulies him to tell the fellow off firmly...
I hate to see/hear about bullies!

Btw chara has toilet trained herself, she stopped peeing in the night! julien is still on diapers for the nite, in time she shud be ok. Saves us a lot of having to wake up...!

juz me
Thanks for sharing the tooth album.. but er, pardon me, won't it look a bit gross with all the teeth in it? hehe... Btw hv your kids dropped their milk teeth??
I postd here before that jesse had to see specialist cos he had multiple cavities.. the dentist managed to save one of his milk teeth by crowning it.. so far all is ok, his next appt wlbe in june...

Oh I think a mummy asked me for contact for dentist which I forgot to give... the place is The Kids' Dentist, can google and find the details..

fairy
I'm too tired to plan anything, cos my maid wlbe back to her country the first two weeks. My hb has a major event first week so he can't take leave.
I wl take pm leave to watch them w/ my mom's help. Mil wl jagar a while.. she is more gan jeong, I just said no need to panic, I wl take pm leave and all shud be ok... haiz.... she comes up with new ideas every other day...

For the 2nd week, I intend to sign jesse up for a 3-day 3 hr holiday programme, so that takes him off my mom's and not so rowdy if all three are around.
Actually, just watching the twins alone is not difficult at all.

styloBB,
There's speech and drama class run by CCs, for June holidays - 3hr class for a week or 9-3pm for 3 days. I always sign arnold up for that. Both chinese and english and that's 2 weeks of 3hours at CCs (as in community centres).

Pulling of shorts - yeah, that incident i told him off and because his mother saw it too, she also told him off.

Kicking,
I told arnold that he has to fight his own fight, either he tells his older cousin off or inform his gu gu (no need to inform the father cos his cousin's father will side his son). I will keep an eye too and will try to catch him in the act. problem is this nephew is very sly, only kick when he is sure no one is looking, so unless by chance, else hard to catch leh. so i think its up to arnold liao. and arnold... haiz... he is very ching chye leh. not pain never mind lor kind of person, how?

juz me,
oh dear, is your son hospitalized? must take antibiotics and keep him away from his other siblings/children. food wise, temp don't give fish and fruits, cos fish will cause more phelgm. Speedy recovery to him!

My aircon was spoilt and yesterday we installed new aircon for all 3 bedrooms. We have to move out the furniture and everything was so messy ! I was so tired moving and packing, even with my hubby and my maid's help. But now I feel so happy with the aircon. I really cannot live without the aircon now :p

precious_gem,
Thanks for your compliments about Chloe

pantone,
I have heard about the CPF top up for parents too. But I have not tried it before. Let me know if you manage to do it

juz_me,
I like that babytoothalbum ! I may organize a spree when I am free

Glad to know that you read my blog

On Tuesday I went to meet my kids' teachers. Chloe is doing well, but Jerome's teacher said that he is always dreaming in class, like in his own world and does not pay attention to what she is saying. But she said that he can do all his written work independently and reads well. I think I am the only one who can teach him ! So I have no choice but to teach him everyday.

For boys, try Roald Dahl books like Charlie and the chocolate factory, George's Marvelous Medicine, the enormous crocodile, etc. I also like the Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling, about Mowgli, a human who was raised by wolves since he was a baby. I read reviews saying that no child should be allowed to grow up without reading the Jungle book ! But the original is quite difficult to read. I found some good adapted versions at Popular bookshop. Also try the Little Prince(by Antoine De Saint - Exupery).

If your boys like dinosaurs, try Harry and the bucketful of dinosaurs, suitable for your younger boy. I have a web page about dinosaur books.
http://tamarindphonics.blogspot.com/2009/05/books-about-dinosaurs-intermediate.html

rona,
Thanks for your compliments

styloBB,
I hope that the law will punish these offenders severely !

It's great that chara can toilet train herself ! I remember that I felt so happy when I do't need to buy diapers for the kids anymore.

Shylyn,
Glad to know that you find my blog inspiring. I hope that my blog can inspire other mommies to teach their kids at home, because by doing so, they are spending quality time and bonding with their kids. Parents should use whatever methods suitable for their child

I asked Chloe's music teacher whether we can use the electronic piano. She said that at lower grades, it is still OK. But when she progresses to higher grades, she will need the real piano. She said there are some differences, but I did not understand what she said :p

Fairy,
I don't have any plans yet. The new SAFRA opposite Jurong Point is open, I think they have some places suitable for kids. May be we will try to go there.

rona,
Oh dear poor arnold being kicked by his cousin, arnold is a sweet boy, not pain never mind. Both Chloe and Jerome will scream very loudly when either of them got kicked. May be can tell arnold to stay far far away from his cousin ?

StyloBB
Hmm..true, cannot scare e poor kid until he is fearful of people..but then again, being kids, they r usually very trusting of pple..my mum used to teach me not to trust people easily.
Wow..Chara is toilet trained at night? Tat's gd..can save on diapers already...wondering when will Ivec be able to toilet train in e night..every morn, his diaper is heavy! Though surprisingly, there was this one time when he spent e night at my parents' place & insisted not to wear diapers...so when i reached home & settle down, I didn;t even know he was w/o diapers..until he woke me in the middle of the night saying he need to go pee...I still tell him, u r wearing diaper mah...but he persisted..& i then realise he is w/o diapers :p
I'm the mummy who asked abt kids' dentist...eventually, we managed to see a dentist at KKH as part of Ivec's Speech therapist session yest. Luckily, Ivec's teeth is ok..no plaque as initially feared...but staining of the tooth & some plaque. He was initially v reluctant to go on the chair but eventually coaxed into it.

Rona
Oh yes..i know those speech & drama class conducted at CCs. In fact, there are many interesting & educational courses held during the sch holidays at ur nearby CCs.
Must stress to Arnold not to be too chin chye..next time kenna bullied/taken advantage...

Juz Me
Oh dear...i hope it is not too serious..do t/c of yourself as well...it is very tirring to look after a sick kid..get your o family members to help out as well..else u will be shag

Taramind
Kekeke...for me, I do not sleep w air con on...despite such hot weather & my sensitive skin, i still sleep w/o air con as my boy cannot tahan air con. He will hv blocked nose...so gd in a way, energy & $ saving loh.
Yep..understand that learning music must use the original piano..though i also dunno e diff..kekeke..just tt they look & sound different.
Hv u been to the new Safra? Heard it is oredi open & many interesting things there!

tam
How much did 3 aircons cost?

Teaching - I have been teaching jesse mandarin like 4-5 times a week now.... even my mom has been roped in to help..hehe.. I will pass her a stack of new words for her to go thru with him at her place..

I just read the section today about abused kids, aiyoh, v angry again! Apparently this is this gal who avoided going into the lift w/ this man, scully she took another lift and he waited on another floor to enter and molested her!!! How can such things happen? What sort of evil ppl are these? Don't they know they just ruin young kids' life like that? Really something v wrong with them! I hope they get severely punished!!!

shylyn
I checked jesse's teeth, look ok, he can still tell me he is looking fwd to his dental visit! I told my hb that and my hb said if he were a kid he wud also love to go there since the place is decorated like a playground!

juz me
O dear! Sorry to hear that.. how did he kena that? Had he been coughing for a long time?? Did you not notice anything?
Hope he'll be well soon.

rona
Sorry to say, ur nephew is not v nice ..tsk tsk tsk...

My two nephews are like in their teens and they absolutely adore my kids! My older nephew is more than 1.7m and at times when he holds jesse's hand to walk, they both look v cute, big guy and little guy... hehe

I think first week is out, as we wl hv our hands full with the 3 kids w/o a maid...

Sentosa - jesse also said he wants to go there again, er, but I find the place rather boring...

tam/rona
My maid wl be going back for leave, do I pay her salary in full now for her take back or do I prorate and then pay the balance when she returns?

pantone
CPF - I think my brother is doing it for our dad.. he mentioned to me before....

shylyn
Toilet training - yeah we are just too tired to wake up at midnite to make the twins go pee so we didn't do anything. It was a nice surprise that chara eventually trained herself. julien at times will be ok but my maid still lets her wear diapers... anyway I'm thinking, not too bad, unlike jesse's time, we trained him, in the end, he kena scolded for wetting the bed, and our sleep was disrupted too...

GSS
So fast GSS is here soon, but it seems that sales happen every week. I see ION bldg every week and it looks like the workers are working OT to make it ready asap...

Uniqlo and Muji wl hv their stores there too...

shylyn
HOw come Ivec has speech therapy session?
chara used to hv to go when she was two... then they discharged her altogether at 2.5 yrs old.
Now she says the funniest things!

Bullying - I somehow feel that when certain kids are bullies, it stems from sth that is not right in their families, cud be they do not hv attn, or they see similar behaviour at home.

Oh I read somewhere one way to prevent ur kids from being bullied is to ensure they are not obese, they dress properly, look neat and be confident. Does this make sense?

shylyn
O dear, I'm too accustomed to aircon, plus if we leave our windows open, we can hear the traffic, the cars passing by, v irritating. IT'll be so humid I doubt if I can sleep well.

Gd Morning ladies!
Since I’m quite free these days, able to reply promptly..kekek..compared to a few days then ‘appear’

StyloBB
Wow..gd job! How u manage to make Jesse like gg to c e dentist? Being kids, they will sure hv some initial fear for a new experience right? But I’m glad, when I asked Ivec whether is he still scared to see a dentist, he said no…now I’m thinking to let him hv his eyes checked…kekek…another tough one….actually, I’m still facing a prob..how to overcome his fear for a hair cut. He will still cry & refuse to go for a hair cut everytime.
Think for my boy, despite a nice environment…doubt he will overcome his fear of hair cutting. Any suggestions??
I also cant imagine there r people who hv weird thinkings for children..these sorta people really hv a unbalance state of mind. Of cos, we cant say much ..mabbe their family background makes them this way?? Rem the infamous case of the Father locking his daughter in the underground cell & having a number of kids with her? Think becos of his mum…which resulted him to be like dat..wonder whether he is truly sorry for what he has done.

Toilet Training – Kekeke…think Ivec will kenna scolding frm me for wetting his bed & making me wake up to change…cos I’m those type whereby my temper will be bad if I’m woken frm my sleep. Yep..i know we shouldn’t scold e kid if he/she wets his/her bed…but when it comes to practical, its diff to control one’s temper.

Sleeping with air con
I think it’s a norm to sleep in air con these days…my hub was trained frm young not to sleep with even e fan! So can u imagine how much electricity & energy saved?? His parents as well..despite how hot & humid,both of them can sleep w/o fan as well…for me, my habit is to switch on the fan to sleep…not much of air con though.

Speech Therapy
Actually, Ivec had a cleft palate when he was born but we didn’t realize until he went for his 1 mth polyclinic assessment & the nurse spotted the hole at his throat when he was crying. After that, we were referred to KKH for follow up. He had operation when he was only 5mths old…we were really heart ache but glad we made the choice to do so..as he is speaking fluently & accurately now. In fact, just now my dad while applying the cream on my boy's mosquito bites, he asked my boy how to pronoun "Nixoderm" & he pronouned accurately. Think I also not sure of the pronounciation!

StyloBB,
arnold is just too chin chye so he let the kickings passed without bringing out to us. Maybe also due to the first time when he complained to me, i let it passed assumming that it's an accident. How i know that that was no accident at all and that was not the first time he kicked arnold but that it was too hard and arnold felt that it was too painful to endure. I just cannot believed that SIL's son is so naughty... I mean i always know that he is very cheeky, smart and very very playful. but i never think that he could be like that...

shylyn,
yah, i was wondering how come you need to bring Ivec for his 3yo assessment and so many tests. Now i know why. But its right to get the cleft palate corrected young, cos it's better right? Thre's a hole at his throat? you mean inside the throat? else won't the milk he drank dripped from the hole? Sorry huh, I'm just curious.

Predators
I think they are sick sick sick! Even the men who abused the boys. really sicko. I hope the relevant authorities are giving the help and care to the kids who are abused - either sexually or physically. I read that there are a few cases where this young boy was physically abused by the mother's boyfriend to death. I felt like punching the abusers!

Actually, I was molested by this school bookshop sales man when I was in primary school. I was too young to understand. This man molested all the gals who went into the shop. I like stationery from young, so i lingered at the shop for a while everytime i went there, which is at least like twice a week. then this man will start to touch my back and my pte parts. Glad i'm too young to understand. This ended when I was at P5 when we moved to a new school compound and we cannot enter the bookshop anymore... sometimes i wonder what happened to the man.

Rona
Poor Arnold..but he is def one easy gg boy…must be really sweet natured ^_^ but sometimes got to stress to him that he cannot easily let others take advantage of his gd nature.
Actually, not many assessments and tests lah…just once per yr since he is older & the doc assessed him to be ok..but becos of e operations, they also inserted tubes into his ears so he also need to go for ENT check up as well..that is another one which he feared of. Poor boy…mabbe that’s why he got such a phobia for all these experiences.
Erhh..i dunno how to describe..it’s a hole at the back of the throat..u know, each of us hv an extra wobbly thing at the back of our throat which will vibrate when we talk? Ivec do not hv that when he was a bb..instead a hole there..we didn’t realize cos his feeding was ok..though he didn’t know how to bf directly..dunno whether due to this loh…after the operation, we hv to feed him using spoon & really poor thing to see him with his mouth with stitches & unable to feed properly.
Oh dear..u were molested b4? Luckily it didn’t put a stain to your life…not many children will be this lucky. Some will hv phobia for r/s for life..

rona/shylyn
Predators: Yah, they always claim they kena this and that when they were young, hence they exhibit such behaviour. I don't know if it is just some lame excuse.

Victims: I feel so sorry for those kids! cos they are small, young and helpless.
I guess this is partly the reason some mothers do not remarry cos they want to ensure their kids are safe from the step-dads as some cases happen within the family too... close relative, etc... yucks!

rona
O dear! You mean that man molested so many gals and no one reported him!! That is so so terrible!
I think we all females sure kena molested at some point or another when we were young. I rembr I was in the bus and this stupid man used his hand to keep rubbing my shoulder, I got so fed-up I leaned back very hard on his hand! I think a lot of such incidents happened in the buses... like man sitting v close to us...

You know once I let jesse go to the toilets at Berries. Now that I read all these, I don't allow it anymore. He will go to the ladies' toilet and I will wait for him there. And I told my hb not to let him out of his sight when they go to the gents.

Besides this, there used to be this mental man who was at my mom's block.. I never dare go into the same lift with him....

shylyn
Oh, thanx for sharing. So his problem is not so major, right. Sounds ok as all has been rectified.

Oh, hmm... actually jesse all along has been a rather independent boy. He went to school on first day also ok. Hardly cries. Never had problem asking him to go to a new environment. Even the specialist remarked that he is v 'zai'..... cos they had to do x-ray on him. He operated on the tooth to put the crown while under LA.. no need for GA.
It could be Ivec felt the 'trauma' since young hence he is not so easily settled.

Tell you all sth funny... there have been these reports of ppl calling old folks on the handphone claiming son kena kidnapped and screaming in Chinese ... Recently my mil got such a call, you know what she told them? "My son cannot speak Chinese!" hahahaha!!!

Stylo,
your MIL very cool!

aiyoh, we all don't know mah, last time this kind of topic is taboo leh, our mothers also never warn us about it, how we know its not right? 7-10 yo, very ignorant leh

BB Jerold started to crawl! and he can pull himself up to sit from crawling position. zai zai some more and can crawl very fast... yesterday still cannot leh, suddenly can. hehehee

rona
Oi! Can answer my query re maid's salary, ie do I hv to pay her full or pay her pro-rata?

SO cute, Jerold...

I feel like a zombie now... brain's not working, v tiring week at work... next week's gonna be worse...

pantone
What time u going to school tmw?? I think it'll be so crowded.... btw jesse's teacher called just now, asked whether they can use the project that jesse submitted (with my help lah)... if u see this wooden game of fishing rod and fishes, it's done by us...hehe...

stylo,
u mean so late the teacher still call you to ask your permission? wow, they are even more hardworking leh...
salary? i think on the safe side, you can pro-rate her salary. i actually come across maids who promised to come back to work but did not come back. she got kids? i actually buy some gifts and give angbao to the kids.

Stylo BB
yaloh..I think in the past, people are not open enough to tell young kids abt all these ..so many chose to ignore..hence even when the child tot that this person should not be touching him/her, they will also ignore & didn't think much until they r older than they realise that this should not be e way.
Not sure whether it was due to the operation which led Ivec to be unsettled easily...or he is too close to us? He is ok if we attend the class tog with him rather than he himself alone in the class..tt's why he enjoys Shichida so much compared to CC/Berries. But again, when he goes for doc check ups/ENT etc, we also accompany him...yet he still cries..just hope he will outgrow his fear soon.

Rona
Indeed a joy to see ur little bb growing. Pity i started blogging late, missed out on these impt dvlpment of Ivec..
I hv yet to intro Ivec to games...though he enjoys typing his name, our names on word doc. kekeek...

styloBB,
I laughed when I read what your MIL said, very funny !

The maid is entitled to the 2 weeks leave. You should still pay her the full salary. Or you can pay her the pro-rated salary before she goes in case like rona saidshe does not come back. Then when she returns you pay her the rest. You can check the terms in the employment contract.

You got to take vacation leave to take care of the kids when your maid is gone ?

The 3 room aircon cost $1899, cheaper than my old 2 room aircon ($2200 in 1999). Electronics/electrical goods get cheaper and cheaper.

At Berries the teacher will accompany kids to the toilet, right ? At woodlands the teacher brings both boys and girls to the ladies' toilet.

rona,
Oh dear that man at the shop should be hanged. I really hate those men who molest children. They must get their retribution. If I were the judge, I would give them the death penalty ! Or at least life imprisonment.

The worst thing I have encountered were men who flashed their private parts at me, in public ! It happened twice when I was a teenager. I walked away immediately and pretended that I did not see anything. Although nothing happened to me, I felt terrible for a long time ! I hope that these crazy men get what they deserve !

Shylyn,
You must be very worried when Ivec had his operation at such a young age. Glad to know that he is speaking fluently and accurately now. Medical technology today is amazing.

Wow he can read Nixoderm, that is amazing for a child his age. What books is he reading now ?

Lee Kuan Yew once said that the greatest invention of the 20th century is the air-conditioner
I read somewhere that our minds can think more clearly and learn more efficiently in a cold environment. I will turn on the air-con when I ask the kids to read to me, or when I teach them maths.

But I don't turn on the aircon throughout the night when we sleep. I turn on only for half a hour to cool the room, then turn it off.

rona,
My kids only play www.starfall.com. I don't want to introduce too many fun computer games to them :p

Shylyn,
Berries should also allow parents to accompany the child, if you insist. I have seen other parents staying with their kids at both Bukit Batok and Woodlands. Just have to be more thick skin and insist to stay. But I think that N2, or 4 years old is a better age to start. They don't teach much at N1.

How often do you change your handphone ?

My old handphone is almost 3 years old. I just upgraded to a much better one at $0 ! I changed from singtel and starhub, and I am paying about the same monthly fees, plus free incoming calls

wow... threads move real fast.

Thanks Mmmies for your concern.
So far,no hospitalised is required. He is on 2 bottles of Klacid (anti-botics), seemed a bit better.. however, when cough - sound very phlegmy. Just started giving him flumucil satchets in addition to his venotlin and flixotide puff. Hope flumcil will helps to loosen/dissolve his phelgm.

Me - also down. This year - my health seemed pretty bad. On 2 courses of anti-botics - in Mar and April for my bad cough. Now, down again with my cough and sore throat. Did an X-ray - Thank God - its okay. Me,alot of phlegm too....Doc also give me another course of anti-botics - Klacid... Haiz... too much anti-botics. I guess no choice...

Anyone heard of Yuo Guo? Something to do with massage... is it effective in improving one health?

Any remedy to improve one's health or get rid of phlegm? Thank you

Aircon
My kids' lungs are not so good - quite prone to cough. Hence, I will switch on the aircon to cool down the roon. Before I sleep (usually about 12 pluc), I will switch off and turn on the standing fan....

Tamarind - thanks for your recommendation of books for boys - will take a look at your recommendation.

Handphone
I will probably change handphone if the batteries "drains" quite fast that is have to charge my phone within 2-3 days as compare to last time...

Terribly hot weekend!
I feel dehydrated, napped for 3 hrs cos felt unwell... then jesse/julien started to hv fever! Aiyoh....
If they are not well, then v siong for me cos it means 2nd shift, and I will be bz at work this coming week...

pantone
Did you go yesterday? So many ppl, I had a headache after that!!

tam/rona
Phonecall-btw mil is stating a fact! haha

tam
I charge my hp every nite.

shylyn/tam
Predator- I also kena exposed by some sicko before... so shocked... haiz....

Continue later...

styloBB,
I mean "change" new HP, not charge hehehe

Oh dear, hope that jesse/julien get well soon.

I have been turning on the aircon for a few hours during the afternoon :p Don't dare to look at the utilities bill :p

juz_me,
Hope that you and your boy get well soon.

For adults, I find that Ling Yang water, available from Chinese medicine hall, is very good for sore throat. But must be careful not to drink too much because it is very liang. Now whenever I have sore throat, I will drink Ling Yang water.

For phlegm, I am not too sure. My boy also sometimes have a lot of phlegm. I also give him the flumicil orange powder. It takes quite long to clear.

To prevent cold and flu, I drink lots of fresh orange juice. I find that Sambucol is good for both adults and kids.

My 3 year old Sony Ericsson is still very good. I charge once and it lasts for about 5 to 6 days.

I like it so much, my new HP is also Sony Ericsson, the T700, in shining pink which is my favourite color

tam
Oh, change ah, after the contract is up loh...
Mine is E63...paid $48.

Very hot here, they still feverish. Only chara is ok.

I mean the sicko exposed himself... these ppl are sick in their minds...

tam
My hp is RED which is my favourite colour..haha

I'm vexed cos I don't know how come they suddenly hv fever... haiz.... plus I don't feel too good either... if their fever persists, I'll hv to get up tonite...
But these two hv been healthy the past six mths..
Hb has gone to get dinner, I told him I'm too lethargic to go...

I find Sambucus good for my kids. Hb/I try to drink orange juice regularly.

juz
I heard of Yu Guo, cos some other mommies mentioned before but I don't know much...

rona
The starfall website which tam recommended.

There is one software called Doozla.. they allow 30 day trial, google it and you should be able to find out more...it's colouring and drawing.

jesse plays those games like airplane shooting enemies, another one which he has to solve.. I'm not sure what is the name as my hb got it for him.. Eversince we implemented the schedule, he is allowed to play games only on Fridays. He does not get to play on weekends. I only let him play one game just now cos he was really not doing anything and I was checking his temp. He tried to sleep but cud not, only at 4pm+ he finally dozed off...

tam/rona
Tx for advice re salary...