Any gynae good in fertility problem

meijia

Do you have any recommendation for a gynae that is good in ferility problem.

My current gynae not that detail and i thot of changing. But dun know which gynae to change to.

hi carrie,

my gynae is a reproductive endocrinologist which specialises in fertility problem. I have PCOS and he had helped us conceive thru assisted reproductive treatment and deliver our son last mth.

carrie: waliew.. u come till here... kekek.. wanna try my gyane.. charges arent gng to be cheap.. but she warrant tt its more successful.

ling,

cause i cannot make up my mind. Don't know which gynae to go to.

Hi phooy & ling,

May i know which gynae you go to??

gals,

my gynae is Dr CT Yeong. Previously I was seeing him in kkivf. He is one of the consultant there who deal with infertility etc. Currently he had entered private practice.. his clinic is at tanglin shopping centre.

I was seeing him for my PCOS condition which cause me not to ovulate and had no menses for years (unless induced by medication). My hubby had his sperm count/quality problem too. Anyway we managed to conceive our son with SO-IUI done last year.

Hi Poohy,

Thanks for the recommendation. May I know how is his charges. So you suceed with SO-IUI with your first try??

carrie,

I am not that sure abt his current charges cos I did my SO-IUI in kkh and now he is in private practice. So may not be able to answer accurately.

yup I succeed with SO-IUI in my first attempt. Previously I was doing numerous rounds of clomid(150mg)+metformin(1500mg) with no success.

Poohny: Congrats to a Baby Boy!!!!!!

carrie: Dr Thongs Pao Wen, Raffles Medical Group. u need the number let me know.. i sms to u.

poohy: could you let me know how much SO-IUI cost you in KK IVF and if it could be claimable via medisave?

i'm thinking about going for IUI if this cycle fails.

ling..

thanx !!

babymaking,

SO-IUI cost me less than $1.5k in kkivf. I forgot the exact amt liao though. At the time I did my SO-IUI, the govt had not annouced that ART is medisave claimable. So I din claim. Not sure whether can or not .... I know can claim for IVF... why dun u check with the gynae u are seeing, or call kkivf centre... they will be able to advise u better

hi pooh,

sorry forgot to reply your msg... I am not exactly sure whether dr yeong treats thyroid...

Hi chen sing, SGH has an urology centre.. you might wanna try it out. Not sure of the contact details but I'm sure you can easily find it from the website. Hope this helps. Any more funky preggy pix? ;) My hubby was diagnosed as having abnormal sperm but after giving up caffeine, we conceived after I did one cycle of Clomid.

chen sing, oh dear.. hope you guys can get a good second opinion yah? Don't anyhow go for operation as some doctors really just want the $$. I've heard Dr Foong is really good.. should stick with him. Take care.. feel free to PM me if you need to 'talk'.. I know how it sucks to be TTC and no result.. we tried for 1.5 years!

Hi chen sing,

I know how you feel.. we had both female AND male factor infertility.. talk about double whammy. We knew for sure, waaay back that I had PCOS.. but we didn't expect my hubby to have problems either. In fact, my PIL were asking and asking and my hubby didn't want to tell them that I had problems.. in fact he wanted to tell them that it was his problem. End up it was true!! So are you going to another urologist? Must take it easy and just shrug off all those nosey questions about TTC lor.

Hello Chen sing,

i have been TTC-ing quite long liao about 3 years.. dun really know actual cause of infertilty always jus went to a gyne. then in 2004, after i had a failed IVF, i decdied to go try a TCM, and my husband went to check out a urologist, and found he had varicocele. the urologist we had was very good. but he is in Changi General Hospital. he advised on day surgery, and now after the surgery my DH sperm quality improved. you may want to try him. he name is Dr Ng Foo Cheong in CGH. i am now doing IUI, actually tomorrow morning..
best of luck!

hi chen sing, hope your hubby recovers quickly from the surgery. when are you scheduling IUI? Take care.. please feel free to PM me.

I just finished an unsuccessful IVF cycle at NUH with Dr. PC Wong. This was my first. both me and my husband are devastated and would like to know any info that might be useful to us. Is Dr. Wong good? I feel that he is too busy to care about individual patients. Please help.

Hi momo,

I'm so sorry about your failed ivf. Sometimes it take more than 1 fresh cycle to succeed. Do you have any frozen embroyoes?

I also just finished 1st ivf attempt. It was a success on paper because i do get pregnant but it was an ectopic pregnancy. Ended up i had to go for laparoscopy. I fully understand how you feel, the despair and the devastating feeling is just too familiar. The healthcare here is lacking in giving proper and necessary emotional support to all patients, so i do feel your pain as well. Plenty of HUGs, ok! Don't give up, there's plenty of hopes.

I just found out that I have one blocked tube and my hubby's sperm quality is only 1% normal.

My gynae in KK, Dr Sheila Loh suggested ICISI. Can anyone advise me on this?

Hi, jeni
ICSI is when they SO you and collect as many eggs as possible. Then select the best sperms and inject them individually into each egg.
After they are ferilised, they cultured them for a few days before they put into the uterus

Can anyone advise if abnormal sperm can fertilize an egg successful? My hubby's normal sperm qualilty is only 9%. We wouldn't mind trying for a longer period. But have to ensure that the "bad" sperm would not fertilize the egg.

We've read several journals in the web which says NO. But our doc, Prof Chris Chen from gleneagles says YES.

We are so confused cos i've just m/c, wouldn't want tat to happen again

Thanks lots!

Hi toughcookie,
Very unlikely that sperm with morphology defect able to fertilize an egg. They won't be able to swim all the way up to your fallopian tube and lack the ability to break thru the egg shell. Hope that helps.

Hi, tough cookie,

I also shared the same thoughts...it is unlikely.

As you just m/c, did you go through IVF or you got pregnant naturally.

Thanks for the advice. We tried for three months and I got pregnant naturally. Unfortunately, the heartbeat of the foetus stop on the 12th week. We went to consult doctor for advice. I was diagnosed with endometriosis and went for the surgery recommended by the doctor. On the other hand, my husband did the color dopple test and minimum varicoele was found. Our doctor recommended surgery for him as he say even bad sperm would be able to fertilise the egg which may cause miscarriage. However my husband would like to seek for second opinion. Currently, both of us are taking TCM to nourish our bodies in order to minimise the chances of miscarriage again.

Hi, I went to SGH - CARE - the IVF centre there and got my 2 children through IVF-ICSI, FET.
I like them because they do not have that many patients as KK.

Hi! I am a new member. Currently, I am seeing Dr Paul Tseng from TLC @ TMC for fertility treatment. He is a good listener and u can ask him a lot of questions and he will answer u...

After one year of trying, I was unable to conceive, I approached him for advice and he immediately ask me to try IUI by natural cycle.
Unlike the gynae in KKH, she told me to keep on trying on my own...with clomid which I should not take as I dun have PCOS..as the clomid can cause me to ovulate the bad egg which by mother nature, I will ovulate good egg on my own...hence I have conceive on my 2nd cycle of Clomid but end up with a blighted ovum miscarriage which the doctor
suspect it is either cause by bad egg or bad sperm...

Hi, sorry to read what had happened to you. I have bad experience with KK too.Currently looking for gynae who is good in treating fertility. Dr Sheilah Loh in KK suggested to my husband and I to do ICIS. I am thinking of looking for another specialist in this area than to stick with KK.
kao_confused.gif

I visited DR LC Foong at Gleneagles. He is very caring, professional and encouraging. I was previously with another gynae in Gleneagles (Dr Fong) which I find that he is not that professional. Have been trying for a year and a half and then we finally found Dr Foong via one of the thread here. I got a friend who recommended me a chinese doc and we visited both of them. Dr Foong actually encourage us to try the TCM also. And last mth, went for IUI for the 1st time and was tested positive just last sunday.

So would like to tell u gals, dun give up and babydust to all of you ...
If anyone need the chinese doc who is very good at fertility issue, please let me know ... i will send the contact to u all ..

Hi Jaja,
Congrats.
Would like to know abt your TCM.
Isit convenient to post it here?
Otherwise, you can pm me.

Hi Jaja, what's TCM?
Can u pm me abt the treatment you got from the chinese physician? Also, where is it?

TCM is traditional chinese med. i went to Paragon Eu Yan Sang. Dr Xia rong. she appear on tv b4. Both me & hubby sees her. But TCM medicine quite x. So i onli took her medicine for 1 month b4 ovulation. My personal opinion.. i think the medicine does benefits me.

DR xia rong from china. As im not that good wth mandarin... so actually having hard time communicating wth her
hehe!! i had a miscarriage 2 years back. so when i conceived last year.. i went to see her. she prescribe some medicine for me to "boo" the body. i took the medicine till i was 3M preggie. The cost for 7 days medicine cost abt $100+. my hubby also took some medicine for his sperm mobility.

some gynae say dun take TCM medicine when u preggie.. but my experience i think it helps. i stopped after the 3rd month.

she does accupunture on fertility too.

i actually went to see her.. coz been trying with my gynae for almost 5-6M still no result so i thought seeing her might help. I see both dr xia rong & my gynae at the same time. I did SO-IUI wth my gynae. the 1st time not successful. 2nd time is when i go to c dr xia rong..took her medicine.. & i conceived the 2nd time when i did my SO-IUI.

hi hi.. anyone else here noes of a good reproductive endocrinologist?? Dr CT Yeong currently not in s'pore.. =(

hello all - men & women,

i've started a support group for couples facing fertility difficulties and have gotten a few medical professionals to support my thread, ie, when any of you post medical questions, they can answer. after 5 yrs of suffering, mostly in silence, i think a support group structured to help us cope with the realities, would be good for all.... well, coping with the technical bits are impt, ie, who to see, how much to pay, etc, but we have to look after our emotions as well since it does affect our overall wellbeing....

well, the thread is: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/505416.html?1157309502

hope to see some postings soon!

soulutions - CY

hi i am new to this thread, i am currently seeing dr sheila loh too, heard that she is n ow with RMG, on my 1st round of clomed but as i read some of the comments up here, i am abit apprehensive of taking too much clomed as i thought there is alot of side effects and also i am also scared coz my period had to be induced or i would hv no period at all, there is alot of questions for me, dr loh is certainly good but i feel, not patient enough

Hi, i am a new member and wish to seek anyone advice on male infertility- low sperm motility & 1% of normal morphology? appreciate if anyone can advise any treatment or any doctor that can help.

Hi, i am new here too. I read an article some time ago that Raffles Hotel which Dr Sheila Loh is now, also offers TMC and the TMC actually helps with fertility rate. Any comments?

Jaime> can you share your experience with Dr Sheila Loh because i may be going to her soon.