Any comment on Dr Joan Thong of Raffles hospital

tks, i have gotten her email.

My first appointment with Dr Thong is in 2 weeks times. Can i know the estimate cost for the first visit and any thing to expect for the first visit?

irene: each visit is very individual. but please expect the consultation fees to be at least $100 excluding the Folic acid.

Hi ginger and Carole

Thanks! I am getting a little bit excited about my first appmt..

Do you all hv any idea whether Raffles Hosp is supportive of breast feeding? I hv heard from friends saying that some hospital may not be very supportive and may not be patient to guide you when you hv problem.

Irene: wah... tts a good one.. RMH is very very supportive of BF! i kena nag by Dr Thong for not breastfeeding during my checkup the week after discharge from hosp. Actual fact, i did breastfeeding lahz, but not siao on cos my supply hasnt kick in that time. whahaha.. now i am very proud to tell Dr Thong, that my girl is on TOTAL Breastfeeding. kekekeke

Irene,

As carole mentioned, the docs are pretty supportive of breastfeeding. I see Dr Thong, Dr Wong a dermatologist and Dr Tan (PD) and they always ask whether I am breastfeeding.

The nurses are ok in helping me to breastfeed, but not all. Some just pass you the baby and left!! But the LC is very very very helpful and she took extra care to visit me to ensure I am ok with BF and she also give me notes and told me to visit her if I have any problems.

Hi Carole and ginger

Thanks for all the information. It really made me feel more assured. I think the next thing is my mind would the $ already.. hehe

I hv heard from fren who gave birth in Mt Alevernia that she didn't pay any cash for her delivery and hospital charges after medisave deduction. She stayed in 2-bedded, natural birth with no epidural. But it seems that i still do have to pay a few thousand after medisave dedcution at RH.

irene: cant compare $ lahz. simple, i got friends deliver in MtA and TMC and many plc. its all up to individual and gynaes one is with. given a choice MtA is gng to be out for me even , it is close to my in laws. I am with Dr Thong since 2000, and i find her services is really good. we are paying for the peace and comfort and their medical attention. rest assured ur $ is well spent at RMH. I ever ask my HB if he wanna to change gynae n hosp after my deliver as he had paid 5k for total package, he said, why change? he find RMH is good and we are paying for new pte hosp and new equpiments and medical attention too. the experience with RMH is good. trust me, u will enjoy ur delivery and stay there too.

irene, i second what carole says. its true overall raffles hospital tends to be abit more expensive, but i dun mind paying as i think the hospital is very new and nice and the staff service level is very good. also i like Dr thong very much n i will go back to her for my second birth.

honeyjul, i did the amino test and it was done by dr thong. what did you want to ask?

Hi, I am currently seeing Dr. Thong. I am yet to sign up the package with her and she quoted me $2.2K. Is it normal? Sounds like she used to quote lower than that (1.8-2K)

in the past, her packages are 1.8k, but tt was like yrs ago. she coul dhave increase her price this yr tts why 2.2k. is her price really ex? i think its affordable if you are looking for someone really good. when i was in the delivery suite, she was there in the hosp till 12am, and i still havent given birth, i told her to go home, and she is back in the suite at 2.15am. She hardly gotten any rest and back to the hosp liaoz. and she is really fast when there is an Emergency. she can reach hosp, within 15 mins.

Hi Carole, thanks. I have read so many good references on Dr. Thong, and that is why I chose her as my Gynae. It is just that a friend of mine was quoted $1.8K (sometime in Sep-Oct'05). Thus I am surprised that the price has increased quite alot.

chris: dun compare, is she a returning patient? i was being charged 2k. seriously, 2k compare to many others is ex, my hb was the one who compared with his colleagues... but end of the day, when i need to see her, i was never failed to see her even due to the slightless issue. I am glad to have her as my gynae. Well, we paid for her expertise and i gotten naggings and scolding from her too.
she is overall a very nice gynae. oppss forgotten to add, i was with her since 2000.

Im checking of Dr Thong charges comparing of the other gynaes.
Hw much does she charge for the 1st visit and the subsequence visit? Hw much is Dr THong packages starting from 12th weeks, does it inclu ultrascan, vitamin, urine test? I heard that RH is quite an ex hospital, is the charges oso that ex?
Anxious MTB

Ger11, sometimes it's not the price that matters. Throughout the pregnancy, u'll be facing the gynae, so u must choose someone whom u're comfortable with. No point, getting a cheap one, then realise he/she is not detail, unapproachable.

I'm seeing her, as compare to my 1st gynae, she's very patient & understanding. She will give u assurance and answer to your doubts. My 1st gynae - he's even expensive, but everytime he's in hurry to get u out of the room, just scan, tell u normal ok, that's it. Don't even hv time for extra questions.

I second wat stressful say. I'm currently seeing her now and she is really very good and patient.

Her package is abt 2k and it includes ultrasound scan, vitamin and urine test.

Although RH is slightly more expensive, i tink its worth it.

Anyone had c-sect at raffles? i m considering raffles hospital... not sure if I should go to Dr THong as I have seen Dr Karolyn Goh in the past.

I will be delivering at RH next month
looking forward to it

Can some mummies who delivered b4 at Raffles share with me what RH provides when we 'check-in'? :p

Butter: u r seeing Dr Thong? I am considering her for my next pregnancy. currently, i see Dr Goh. Do u recommend Dr Thong?

I just tested positive on a home pregnancy kit. I have just made an appointment to see Dr Thong this weekend based on the positive feedback that i have seen so far.

Very new at this, so not sure what i should ask during my first appointment. ALso, who will explain about the charges? Has anybody tabulated what is the total cost (from pre to delivery)? Care to share?

Thanks in advance!!

Hi butter,
According to the nurse, RH will provide you with the toiletries bag which includes toothbrush, paste and showering items. Besides that, i dun tink they provide you with any other free items. have u went for the hospital tour? the nurse will explain to u this in detail.

Hi aleixise,
congrats on being a mum soon! I think dr thong might do a vaginal scan for u to check the status of your baby. the first consultation might cost $80 not including the cost of ultrascan and vitamins. my first appt at RH cost me abt 150 if i m not wrong.

Usually the nurse will explain the charges to u. Dr. thong has a very patient nurse, u can ask her.

Hi HoneyJul,

Thank you! Also, thank you for the infor. Are you also giving birth soon? How long have been you seeing Dr Thong and what has been your experience so far?

Hi aleixise,

I'm giving birth in sept 20th. so still another 2 mths plus to go b4 i see my baby. I've been seeing dr thong since my 3rd mth. I was seeing dr. vincent lee when i discovered that i was preggy bt he is leaving raffles hospital and referred me to dr thong. dr thong delivered his baby as well.
She is a very skillful dr and reassuring. I had my amnio test done by her and it wasn't painful at all. i m seeing her in 2 days time for checkup. looking forward to see my baby again!

Hi HoneyJul,

Congratulations! You are almost there already! Wow, you must be really excited!
Am really happy for you. Met up with Dr Thong this week and felt really comfortable with her. Going back in 2 weeks time for hospital tour and another checkup.

I am also with Dr Thong..

just saw her and could be delivering earlier then expected around Aug 18 time frame.

Thanks HoneyJul,
i did go for the hospital tour (some time back) my memory is getting bad hehehe i prob was more concerned on whether the rooms were nice

Hi butter8,
the rooms are pretty nice rite?
I am going to see dr thong later. so excited to see my baby again.
What was your original EDD? How early u b delivering?

Hiz

Anyone know what complimentary gifts does RH give to mother and bb? I heard that MT A gave free bbb bathing tub.

there isnt any tubs, only a bag with some bb toiletries and remainder pampers from the bb stay at hosp.

Dr Joan Thong Pao-Wen at Raffles Hospital is really a very caring doctor who takes her time to clear any doubts, one may have and always willing to answer any questions, even when they may sound "silly".
she is one of the senior partner in RH, as such, her rates are at the higher end...
upon consult it's $80~$90 / pharmaceutical & supplements $36~$50 / ultra sound $60

package is only given at 12wks onwards = (dr Tong's)$2200 (1st payment is 70% ~ $1500+)
package incl:
antenatal visits - monthly start from 12wks
- 2 weekly from 32 - 36 wks
- weekly visits from 36 wks onwards
antenatal supplements (pharmaceutical)
urine tests for sugar & albumin
3 routine ultrasound examinations at appropriate intervals
normal delivery fee with 2 nites stay
1 post natal visit 1-2 wks after delivery

at Raffles Hospital
if you have DBS Platinum credit card (& the DBS lady's card i think... not too sure), you are able to get additional 10% discount on bills and there'll be more benefits later with the stay as there's room upgrades, free carpark, welcome baskets, priority services, etc...

10% is for Ala-carte packages. which means not inside the 2.2k package. to enjoy 10% you will have to take individual things then u entitle to 10%
ur final bill from the Antenatal package wont be entitled to 10%. u may wan to cfm this again.

with RMH you already enjoy priority, so DBS card wont serve much purpose.

I have jus delivered at RH last week. Dr Thong is great and i have all the trust in her in the labour ward. Her stitches are gd and i don feel any pain.

I must oso say that the caring and approahable nurses in RH have made my stay very pleasant.

Thumb up for Dr Thong and RH!

Irene: Congrats... faster plan 2nd one.. kekekeke...

i am gng pap smear on 14 Dec, and my SIL is using Dr Thong too. Hoping to have a 2nd one soon, to see Dr Thong for a longer time

Hi Carole

I am goin for my another post natal cum pap smear review in Jan 07. I will oso recomment Dr Thong to my brother. ;)

2nd one?? hahaha... i need a break first.. perhaps in 1 to 2 yrs time..hehehe

i am busy adjusting to my bb's feeding pattern. Initially, i bought the nuk teat for her and find it unsuitable cos she keeps drooling out the milk.

Then i went to buy avent teat no 1 and find that she is using a lot of energy to sulk. So i went to buy teat no 2 for her to try and is monitoring.. tough isn't it... not easy.

Hw abt urself? Experience to share?

Hi, has anyone done laproscopy by Dr Thong? I'd to find out more 'cos my tubes r blocked and she urge me to do lap asap. Shd I seek 2nd opinion?

Appreciate your sharing.

Dr Thong did once laproscopy for me to remove the cyst in one side of my ovary. I was very comfortable with her after seeking 2nd opinion from my family doctor. I couldnt conceived for 2nd one after my first one. Went through many gynaes, eventually Dr Thong found that my tubes r fully blocked n she gets 2nd Dr at 2nd level to do one more test to confirm. Insert some solution to test. The following year I got my 2nd child. I believe the final flush could b part of the clearance of the tubes. My 2nd child pregnancy was handle very well by Dr Thong. Very smooth and successful delivery.

Hi Doris,
thanx for d info. Your words really comfort me. I feel pricky pain at both sides of my abdominan 6 mths ago so I suspected smthg is wrong. Initially thot it's appendix but later decided to go to Joan Thong & cfm FULLY Blocked tubes. Do you experience such pain before you knew it?

Heard from my friend who delivered in TMC that the hospital or pediatrician there provides new parents with cord spirit and some cord powder (which will help with cleaning the umbliical cord for infant babies) before they check out of the hospital.

Wanted to check if RH provides that? If not, then we may have to buy some soon. Thanks!

Alexis,
RH provided me with the alcohol swap which I used to clean the umblical cord. I did not need to buy any, was enought for me to use. HTH.

Anyone seeing Dr Thong? Seems that the thread has been quiet for many months. Juz wondering whether she is still as good as before. Thanks!

larryle: your question very cute.. kekeke..

of cos she is as good as before, but her charges is higher than before.

hope this info helpz

carole
u mean her charges went up?? package still same price rite? cuz i sign up package last month still the same lah, dunno about other misc stuff.

her waiting time is getting much longer!!!

Hahaha, Sorry, it sounded like a silly question.

I did see her a few weeks ago but she doesn't seem to talk much and I dunno wat to ask also coz it was my 1st visit to gynae..

Hi ginger,

Is it ok to share how much you pay for the package?

Based on feedback that i saw on this thread back in July 06, i went with Dr Thong as my gynea. I delivered my baby girl in early Mar07. I must say that i was very happy with Dr Thong and also the nurses at RH from beginning to the end. My husband and I got on very well with her.

I do agree that she does not really talk much sometimes. However, she will take the time to answer any questions that you will have. So, Larryle, dont worry that you dont know what to ask at this stage. You have many months to do that.
For me, i always note down a list of questions that i want to ask during my visit each time.

Congratulations and enjoy your pregnancy!