Any comment on Dr. Adrian B Woodworth from Thomson Women Clinic

DS, Bao Bao, Puea, Jen,

hmm.. i think at least mayb if he measure the bb's length then will b good also. tat day he oni measure the 'tail bone' n i dun know wat tat is... any idea?? i had expected him to tell me like 'oh, ur bb is now 12cm long' tat kind thing.. haha but he din measure..

ya, like wat baobao n Puea say, so long as bb is fine n healthy mayb i shouldnt bother so much. thanks everyone!!

Celine

Think u won't ask he won't say one. But i find him kinda chatty if u willingly to start the conversation. That day when i go check up, we been chatting and laughing with the nurse. Maybe my joke kinda funny.

Baobao/Celine,
But from our postion to view our baby thru the scan tv, a bit difficult to see properly. I always not so sure what is Dr Adrain scanning, lucky he got explain a bit.

But he is really fast in answering your questions. From my 2 visits, i prepared some question on a pcs of paper, show it to him. He see liao, very fast in replying. Other then that, he also no talk much liao.

DS

But me find him very chatty leh. But he very assurance , that wat i like abt him. The question he every ask is u want MC. Haahaa....

Last visit i went to checkup, he was late due to someone given birth but still ok not a long wait. Waited abt 45mins.

celine, back to my explanation... ur bb is probably too big to "fit" into the ultrascan screen leow... so how to measure the length leh? correct or not? after that he will measure oni the thigh bone and then the tummy to estimate the weight of bb see if healthy or not...

Ya, ya, ya, he always show me the baby's head, tummy, spine, and the heartbeat during every visit...

But the machine, can't see very clearly lor, my HB always tot tat the bb's tummy is head! Hahaha!

Baobao,
From my 2 visits to Dr Adrian, he never once ever ask me want mc a not wor. Wonder izit because i went to see him at night and not morning ah.

MH,
I know lor, so i wonder izit morning then doctor will give mc. If we visit him at night, he can also give us mc for the next day mah. :p

MH,
What about you? Normally when you go see Dr? Morning or Night?

oh, so my bb is too 'big' in a way to see everything... no wonder... i abit 'sua ku'.. haha, first mum mah

i agree on the mc part. last time when i had bleeding and got to b on bedrest rite, after one week mc, go back c him, he stil ask me if want mc...hes reali very 'nice' hee...

baobao, i saw u in the jan MTB thread.. u did the NT scan? u requested for it? Dr adrian ask me 2wks later do blood test, he say more accurate. but reading fr the other posts, it seems like its not.. wonder y he din ask me to opt for NT scan... and im too late for tat now, cos bb stepping into 16th week today...

Celine

Abt NT scan actually me ask him abt it. Blood test all preg woman got to do mah. But NT scan is to check whether baby is down syndrome. me kaisu so go check got to pay 90+ this have to be done within 11-14 weeks.

There another one triple test Dr adrain say not so accrurate , the third one is Oscars this is more ex. This is NT scan & triple test together.

NT Scan 80% correct
Triple Test 60%
Oscar 90%

Than it up to me to decide which one i want. So i choose NT scan so he send me to thomson medical to take the test.

baobao

so tat means i cant do it aldy lor? cos triple test not accurate, then NT scan too late.. then why did Dr Adrian tell me to do blood test to c if bb is reali growing well n is more accurate..?? i thought he was referring to check for abnormalities.. its getin confusing..*blur*

celine

I oso not very sure leh. Dr Adrian oso got take blood from me leh. I oso don't know for wat. Haahaa... We all getting blur liao, im goin to visit him on 08/08 than let u noe the outcome.

will ask him take blood for wat purposer. But to wat i noe all preggy woman do have to take blood.

Baobao,
Oscar test got to do when we are how many weeks?
Dr Adrian also never ask me to do?
So you only choose to do the NT scan?

Dear Mtbs,

I heard from the radio program, dj says that those mum whom are expecting a baby boy, her face will be swollen, for those whom are expecting a girl, her face will be very pretty.

I still doesn't belong to either category, my face still like the same, just that got a few pimples/rashes.

What about you all?

Hi all MTBs,

I din do the NT/Oscar test too.
Dr Adrian just let me do the blood test then he said the result turned out is ok, so no need to go for extra tests.

DS, har?? Swollen face?? I'm expecting a boy but only got feets & hands swelling, so far no face swelling ley... *touchwood*... :p

Puea,
Oh, so your feets and hands swelling, when it take place during your pregnancy?

That time my coll who is expecting a boy, also got that. Face forget to ask about it.

Angelia,
Not my theory, is heard from radio lor.
So what is your findings?

Ds: I see him at night. When I first see him in the morning, he also got asked me whether I want MC or not...my face also does not change much...

Cel: I was quite surprised that he did not ask me to do NT scan too. But I got my NT scan done at SGH.

Puea: My hands and feet swelled the last time in late pregnancy too.

BaoBao, Cel: I have my blood tested at SGH at 11 weeks, the test include the blood components level, test for Hep B/HIV and my own thyroid test. Hopefully he won't ask me to do blood test again.

MH

But the blood test is inclusive in the S$ 550 package.

DS

Me ah oni feet swell abit oni, as for face, abit pimple here and there. Even neck and shoulder oso have abit.

They oso say if having boy nose will swallon abit. When my nose start to swallon they all guess im having boy.

DS, MH : I got the water retention as early as when I was abt 14th weeks... quite shocked tat time, but Dr Adrian said it's ok, some preggies will get it very early stage during pregnancy. My auntie oso got it when she was in 3rd mth.
So I'm not so worried... :p

Bao Bao, the blood test is not inclusive inside the package right? I remembered I paid for it ley... then paid for the Detailed scan at 20th week.

Puea

Blood test. Normal blood test tat Dr Adrain do it at 4mth. Mine i didn't pay leh.

I think u all do the triple test is it? Triple test is oso take blood. Yap Detail scan got to pay cos it done at TMC

MH - how come u go ur tests at SGH? u under Dr Adrian, but delivering at SGH???

DS - there are reali so many many theories ard..haha.. my whole ofc betting over breakfast tat mine is gal gal, cos they say my complexion stil very clear and my stomach also abit 'oval' instead of 'round'... for me , i relai dun bother, after all tat stress in 1st tri wf the bleeding n staff... nightmare...!!!

woo... water retention. i reali hope i wont get it, cos if i do, i reali dun know where i can get my heels.. haha cos im a size 8 :p

has anyone done pre-checkup before pregnancy with Dr Adrain? any idea of the pkg his clinic has? Btw, saw he frequent 2 clinics, one in CCK and SK, meaning he is not around in any 1 of the clinic on some days?

Bao Bao: I know, but it does not include thyroid test. I heard about the nose swollen thing too...
I did not do the triple test.

Celine: Went to SGH initially cos I have a pre-existing thyroid problem. That time dunno whether got complication. Now still under control so think won't be going there already. Will be delivering at MT A I hope.

MH

Yap me too did not do the Triple test. So when they tell me Dr adrain charge them for normal blood test is impossible unless they are doin triple tests. Or they did not sign up the package.

When sign up package he do say blood test is inclusive oni detailed scan got to pay and it done at TMC.

MH

Goin see him tonite ah? So many u can ask for the gender. but u must ask baby to kuai kuai let doc see.

As my last visit , me kip talking to my baby asking to open leg let Dr check. Lucky he cooperate with me.

Me oso kinda excited leh but got to wait one more week. So miss to see my baby.

Good morning all,

Hmm, seems like you mothers have started to talk to the baby?

Baobao,
You started to talk to your baby? Me haven yet.. A bit shy to talk to my "tummy" in front of the Dr and the nurse.

DS

not talk infront of doc lah. when u abt to see doc, just tell baby to let doc see. Or the previous nite oso can. That wat i did. tell baby the whole day.

And indeed he follow my instruction, the day of check up, he open his leg wide wide for doc to check. So cute.

Bao Bao, sorry, maybe I remembered wrongly... :p Really can't recall what I have paid for... :p

Celine, to prevent water retention problem, you need to drink more water ley... that's wat I read from other threads, and it really works for me.

One of MTBs said her gynae asked her to drink 4-6 liters per day! :p
I think if I were her, I need to sit beside the toilet liao... hee hee hee!

DS,

Ya, talk to the baby "privately"...

My bb oso crossed legs when first time Dr Adrian checking his sex... then 1 week before the following checkup & the detailed scan, I kept talking to him to open his legs wide wide so that can let Dr Adrian to see clearly... and my bb really opened his legs & hands wide wide ley... very cute... Hahaha!

And another thing is, mummy should always talk to baby so that they can "understand" us & build the bonding...

For me, I always talk to my bb when bathing, cos once the baby is borned, usually they will cry loudly when bathing cos of scare, so if you start talking to bb and tell bb not to scare when u bath, it will help.
My cousin did the same thing & when her baby heard her voice & talking, the baby calmed down alot.

Puea.. more water? oops.. tat will mean more n more visits to the loo... haha but to prevent tat, i think i hav to abide then.. been puttin gmy legs up on pillow when i sleep ad stacking my legs on the files under my desk in the ofc :p they say it prevents water retention too...

talk to baby? then i think i hav to start to ask bb to open legs to let dr c next mon when i go for check up... will love to know by then cos it happens to be my weddng anniversary on tat day too
double happiness then..haha

baobao,

me going nite one... not as lucky as u, can go morning then work..*sob* gota queue n wait for a little while to c bb, not like in the mornings...

gals, i dunno if ur have this, but i seem to hav a little gnawing pain/soreness at my lower right abdomen.. i thot i read somewhere tat soemone is having tis too, cant rem which thread.. its not obvious but think i might have slept in a vy bad position tats y..

Celine,

I read a book, it says that we pregnant mothers, better to sleep on your left side than right side, if you got to habit to sleep on sideways.

But think Dr Adrian says any position also ok lor.

I think i experience a little pain in tummy early in the morning today, but cannot remember which side.. :p

baobao, DS

the pain not obvious la. but when i lean twds the sink n my tummy hits it, i can feel the pain..not tat i purposely go n hit myself la, but it was fr there i realise also.. but if no pressure then it cant b felt also.. think its when i get upor shift a little suddenly, then can feel the sharp pain.. oh.. is the uterus stretching again..?? *ouch*

Bao Bao, Celine, DS:

Yes, we got to drink more water in order to get rid of the water retention problem. Contradicting, right?
But no choices lah...

Ya, i read from other threads too, saying, sleep on left side is better for us, cos we will get better blood circulation, and you can feel baby moves quite alot when you sleep on left.

Bao Bao :

Talking to baby when you bathing is to "calm" baby down... so that when the baby is borned & having bath, he/she will not be so scare & cry.
Usually when you bath the baby (especially those newborn babies), they will feel scare & cry very loud. So if you used to "talk" to them when you bathing, then they won't feel "insecure" when bathing (after birth).

Actually, once you reached 20th weeks, when you can start feeling the bb movements, you can start "talking" to baby, cos at that stage the baby already developed well for most of organs & they can "sense" the environment changes.

What I do is, when I doing something, I will talk to my baby & do it together... Eg. like when I ready to bath, I will tell my bb, "OK, baby, we're going to bath liao, don't be scare...", "OK, baby, now we wash face face...".

It's part of "tai jiao" mah...

Puea,
Wah.. so many "tai jiao"..

But when i asked a senior consultant about whether the bb can hear us talking when the bb is still inside the tummy. She told me and my hubby, who say so that the bb can hear? any scientific report? Then advice us not to just read blindly from those articles leh.. still wondering...

Jialat, i don't really like to talk leh.. want to b "A gao" (hokkien).. :p.. still must talk to bb ah... Maybe wait till i know the genda 1st then start lah..

ds: bb can hear when their ears are formed. I think in the last trimester. But I guess when u talk to bb, your mood will be transmitted to them too and they will know.

Ds

yups baby can hear when u last trimester. I read from magz too.

Peau

Ok.... so fm today onwards i will talk to my baby as much as possible.

There is one day i carry my dog was telling my dog mummy love u. And my baby give me a big kick. Ouch kinda painful leh. Don't know is it baby kick or wat.